728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Hammers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Air-Operated Post Driver

Air-Operated Post Driver

The Striker Tools Air-Operated Post Driver uses pneumatic power to turn laborious fencing into a 1-person job. This powerful tool uses pneumatic power to lift the weight, then is driven down by the user with conveniently mounted handles. It uses only 2 CFM at 80 psi, and is designed for use with portable, small compressors (80-100 psi).
Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Air-Operated Post Driver
Review 1 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is great for soft surfaces, hard packed ground, it has difficulty having the power to accomplish it.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not recommend this product for heavy commercial construction projects.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use, No Instructions
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Sonora, CA 95370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Concept good but follow through POOR!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tool drove the first 26 posts just great but on number 27 the moveable valve/handle broke. The downward stroke of the handle is stopped buy a split ring that is inadequate to stop the moveable handle. The ring deformed and came out of the housing. I reinstalled the split ring but it let go again after two posts. The manufacturer needs to finish engineering the product. The idea is great but the execution is inadequate.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from California

Striker TS

PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased the Striker TS to drive stakes in a new vineyard.
The post driver worked better than expected. we drove 1500
posts over three days. The driver developed an air leak on the forth day, I called the manufacturer and explained the problem. They were helpful , friendly, and mailed the replacement part that day. Best of all this product is made in the USA and can be serviced or you can get replacement parts quickly.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Air-Operated Post Driver

Good but a little expensive

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This product helps with the pounding of tposts, but keep in mind it is still labor intensive. Overall, it did help alleviate physical exertion for us less physically in shape people! The cost is high, but since there are no other products to compete the company can charge what the market will bare.
Pros: All In One, Accurate
Cons: cost
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from colorado

oil it up

PostedMay 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The striker is only helpful if you oil it up. When oiled properly it can give you twenty hits in a minute enough to put in the most stubborn posts with little effort. After each posts your air will most likely be depleted and you will have to wait for your air compressor to catch up. One guy could put in a fence that he couldn't without the striker. Great product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Elko, NV

fencing

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tool does save time setting up new fencing. But the weight of tool will cause you to have an stepstool handy or an helper to lift it off the completed T-post.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What can I say buy GREAT.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Working in temp of 90+ it puts posts in the ground as easy as putting a hot knife through butter. It also makes it fun.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Air-Operated Post Driver

Can't tell, did not work and we will have to return it.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Can't tell, did not work and we will have to return it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertized

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not exactly what I was expecting but it does pound t-post using pneumatic power. Haven't had an opportunity to do any more than a test so far.
Pros: Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Central Texas

it works

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
.Striker tool took on the worst central texas has to offer, mixed rock, limestone, and roadbase.. The driver drives, but keep it oiled. I pushed oil in via airlet every 7 post or so.. i drove over 100 Tpost in about 16 hrs. Not sure I could have got the job done in 16 days with my manual driver.
If You do fencing, then you need one of these
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Air-Operated Post Driver

Worked real well

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Drove 60 tee posts in very hard dry ground in a couple hours. Would have taken all day without it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Paulden, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

let machines do the hard work

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keep a little WD40 in your air inlet every 10 or 15 posts and a small spray inside where the piston driver is and this machine took 80% of the work from my arms.It only weighs 32lbs compaired to the rental driver at 62 lbs is why I opt to purchase one avoiding further back injury to myself (Have back problems) Great tool for the money.This drives the T-post down 12" in less than a minute
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, it does 80% of your work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Helena, Montana

it is a good idea, BUT....

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
unfortunately it just didn't work as advertised. I returned it already. The air did not escape the chamber quick enough or fully enough, and it just fought you. Air lifted the pounder well enough but on the down strike it seemed you were expending your energy to force the air out of the cylinder instead of in driving the post. Also, the handles not long enough - when you place the driver on a 6 foot post, the handles are practically over your head before you even lift the pounder - very awkward. It just didn't operate very smoothly - jerky and awkward. Like I said, it is a very good idea - just maybe poor design? I found that it was more work than the traditional manual post pounder. However, I ordered this item from Home Depot.com and was able to return it quickly and easily at my local Home Depot store.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
havent gotten a chance to really use it yet to help pound posts in the ground. But the little i have used it everything has worked fine. Will update when i put it through the ultimate test, 47 posts for a fence
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Air-Operated Post Driver
from Colorado

Work-saver!

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We couldn't have fenced our 40 acres without this post driver. Easy to operate. Time-saving and back-saving.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.