728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks

9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks

The 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks are pre-primed for simple painting. The planks feature a tongue-and-groove design and a white color.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product9 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
Review 1 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gives a fresh new look!

PostedMay 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Despite some of the reviews of poor quality I still bought the product and I have to say I'm happy with the results. Like others have said it is of poor quality and no two packages are the same But with a touch of putty and some caulking to hide some of the imperfections and some of MY imperfections it looks great!
I do recommend you give this a shot, it's priced right but don't be surprised you will get some damaged pieces and a few not cut square which and I will say was only a few pieces and they were able to be used in area where they would be cut, oh and that's out of 15 packages.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, inexpensive
Cons: inconsistent pieces, packaged poorly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible product

PostedNovember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed 80 linear feet with the base and chair rail. Very disappointed in this product. I wanted the tounge and groove to hide all the joints which that was achieved. However, the ends are not square, length varies by up to 1/2", the beads are rough as a cob (chatter marks) the tounge and grooves vary but for the most part are workable. The Chair rail had very inconsistent profiles even on the same piece, which made mitre and splice joint more challenging than they should be. The groove on the base is only 1/2" would like a full 1". The overall look came out good, just a lot more work than what it should be for a manufactured product (I think I could have made better quality with my own tools!).
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks

reccomend

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy enough to install. Would have been alot easier if the mfg. had cut the ends square, 1/8th inch out of square
with a brand new combination square. Check squareness
before you buy,probably just the lot # that I bought, hope so.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from Erie, CO

Easy install

PostedSeptember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This stuff is a breeze to install. I installed 35 linear feet with baseboard and chair rail in a 4-5hrs. It would have gone much quicker if I did not have to trim out the outlet openings. I applied Liquid Nails to back of the panels and used finish nails to tack them in place.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks

Out of Square

PostedApril 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was easy to install, however the majority of the panels were out of square. this could be hidden with the chair rail, so not a major problem, but you by something expecting it to be square for an easy install.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Inconsistent
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works Well When Properly Installed

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've installed this in two renovations, once in a small bedroom and once in a bath. It's not a complete drop-in solution, but it is significantly easier and less expensive to work with than real wood. It's much easier to scribe around imperfections and outlet boxes, and doesn't require extensive surface prep before painting. It's also easier to accommodate outlet boxes, which generally require extension boxes with thicker material.
I did find some variation in panel length on the first job, but I was either able to shim the panels or use them where short cuts were needed. On the second job, I simply trimmed all panels in my shop beforehand, and adjusted the trim height accordingly.
In both cases, I made my own trim. In my opinion, MDF is not durable nor at all waterproof in baseboard applications. I installed the beadboard using panel adhesive and the occasional brad. 3M blue painter's tape is useful holding panels in position until the adhesive dries.
Noting that MDF is not particularly waterproof, I took extra time sealing and caulking before painting.
I wouldn't use this on high-end construction, but for a renovation on a moderate budget, they work well. They are certainly far easier for a solo craftsperson to deal with than large sheets of goods, particularly in situations with minimal room such as baths, or where materials need to be moved up stairs or into elevators.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from Chicagoland area, IL

Workability of paneling

PostedMarch 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall I rated this product excellent based on the following item.
Workability= Easy to cut. Standard tools needed for installation.
Strength and durability= Comes primered ready for paint. Once paint is applied product cleans up with little effort.
Apperance= Product looks great once paint is applied.
Cost= Costs a little more than full 4x8 sheets of paneling, but there is no need to make cross cuts.
Ease of installation= No specialty tools needed for installation.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from Unjcasville, CT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Watch the fit!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a decent product for what it is - primed MDF. Flat surfaces are smooth, the bead surfaces are kinda rough. I used the companion base and header strips - ditto on the primed MDF - not flat but trim screws pull the strips into place easily. Looks decent and easy to install.
The only glitch is that the grooves are not always deep enough to accept the tongues on the mating pieces. This is a definate quality issue with the product. Should not be a problem if you're aware of it and are prepared to shorten the tongue on the mating piece (no real way to deepen a too shallow groove).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from Centerville, MA 02632, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product and easy to install

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My son installed the Cape Cod wainscot planks on the walls of my bathroom and it looks great. He used the trim that matched it. He had to cut some pcs to fit around the tub and the closet door but he said it wasn't hard to do. The finish is smooth and only needed one coat of paint. It looks great.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from Sulphur, OK
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product!

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to install and really transformed our kids' bathroom in an afternoon! Minimal construction skills required, and very few tools needed to make your room look GREAT!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from Auburn Hills, Michigan

wainscot

PostedMarch 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The wainscot was easy to install and work with.
However, the directions said to paint both sides before installing. We used a latex paint and found that it created severe problems with the tongue and groove system when we painted both sides. Consequently we ended up painting the front only.
I would recommend this system to others, and am planning on buying more for a couple of other rooms.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9-3/8 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Wainscot Planks
from STL

It looks great!!!!

PostedMarch 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was a little skepticle because I thought it would look cheap for the price...but I was wrong. There was an ugly stucco looking wall panel in my kitchen with dark brown paint...I replaced it with the Cape Cod wainscot and it looks like a different kitchen!
It was easy to paint and install. I would recommend assembling the panels and then gluing the seams...this made it extremely easy to slide into the baseboards.
I love the look of this and will be using the vinyl version in the bathrooms!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.