728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)

14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)

The 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack) are pre-primed for effortless painting. These planks feature a classic grooved design and white color.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product5 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product5 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
Review 1 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Material is good quality, solid, water-resistant & nicely finished

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hope they continue to carry this product. We're using it to skin over an old plaster and it's working really well. Material is good quality, solid, water-resistant & nicely finished. Our installation is glue and nail, with some sections screwed into the studs for additional shoring and support. I like this product a lot! My room turned out great. No movement in boards. Will use this again.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
from Medford, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cost Saving gone Bad

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this product several times over the years and have always been happy with it, until I just bought another batch for my own bathroom. The product is packaged exactly as it used to be and looks similar, however the manufacturer has changed the quality of the fiberboard used and not for the better! The new product is extremely flimsy and crumbles easily. It is much more difficult to slide the pieces together than before. Some executive at the manufacturer probably got a raise for cutting the cost of this product, but had no idea what a substantial change in quality resulted. I would much rather have had Home Depot charge me a dollar or two more had I received the quality product they used to sell.
+102points
104out of 106found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Product change

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased Cape Cod Beadboard Planking at Home Depot a couple of years ago and was very pleased with the product so, when I had a new project requiring the same look, I went back to the same shelf at the same Home Depot and got what I thought was the same product. What a disappointment. The original (good) product was made by PGM Products. This new stuff is made by Boise Cascade and it is pure garbage. It is thin and weak and it will not lay flat on the wall. The bead is shallow, the T&G is very difficult (sometimes impossible) to fit together. I have completed a ggod size room with this Boise stuff but if I can find the PGM board (or a comparable product) I am tearing out this Boise Cascade junk and starting over.
Cons: Difficult to Install, cheap appearance
+73points
77out of 81found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do Not Buy

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Poorly manufactured. T&G improperly milled . I should of took it all back but with a lot of extra work I was able to get it installed . Install area was 3 season porch so I could get away with installing it Rough and ready
Cons: Difficult to Install
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
from Erie, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Garbage.

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a similar product from HD 6 years ago and it was a breeze to work with. This is garbage. Even in short lengths it was almost impossible to engage the tounge and groove without damaging the board.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, Difficult to Install
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
from Palm Bay, Florida

looks great in new bathroom

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had my bathroom remodeled about a year ago. The product comes in narrow sheets and makes it easier to install. Since they are 96" tall, my contractor just cut them in half to make tjhe height 48". Just added trim on top and Coronado baseboard. Just had to paint with semi-gloss. The MDF is moisture resistant also and does not warp like wood.
+27points
33out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
from Wappinger, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great in my bathroom

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just recently put this up in my bathroom and I am really pleased with the results and how easy it was to work with. Even my mother-in-law commented on how nice it looks.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
from Vermont
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install, looks great

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We installed this planking in our family room and it looks great. It was pretty simple to install, we used the moulding that goes with it and the planks fit into the pre cut groove. It's pre primed so was very easy to paint, only needed one coat! The only problem I had was I had to go to two Home Depot stores to get enough planks for my project.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish, Seals Well
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 sq. ft. Cape Cod MDF Beadboard Planks (3-Pack)
from Rehoboth Beach, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buying Online WIth Store Pickup Has Its Advantages

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product, but difficult to install. Good product, but difficult to install. Good product, but difficult to install. Good product, but difficult to install. Good product, but difficult to install. Good product, but difficult to install. Good product, but difficult to install. Good product, but difficult to install.
-13points
0out of 13found this review helpful.