728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Resilient Vinyl Planks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Use TrafficMASTER Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring to add the warm, comfortable style of real wood to your interior living space. This highly durable, water-resistant flooring is great for use in basements, kitchens, bathrooms and high traffic areas. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl with no floor preparation or adhesives required. It offers a patented GripStrip design for simple installation.
Overall rating:
4.486 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(179 reviews) 179
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product153 of 173reviews
Rating Breakdown 179 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(129)
4
(29)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product153 of 173reviews
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 123 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Review 41 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

very happy with my new floor

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is my second time with an allure vinyl floor. The first time I bought the interlocking floor. I was a little skeptical about trying this type that sticks to each other. It worked great. My whole large bedroom was done in a day. It was so easy to cut, we never needed the table saw. Just a good exacto knife. The one thing I would recommend id using a 100 lb roller over the floor after it is all done. It inssures that all is smooth and tight. Here is a hint we used. I borrowed the roller from my contractor and it was pretty rough. We duct taped the whole roller to make sure it would be smooth on the floor worked great.
No need to hire someone to put this floor in, it could not be easier. For the $500 dollers it cost, it was well worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from boston, MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

looks great in the basement

PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had this installed in the basement and it looks and feels great.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Looks amazing!!!!

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this style for a bedroom just to see if we liked it and now we are planning to do the same style throughout the rest of our home. We hired a contractor to do it for us, but after watching it be done it looks pretty easy to install. So we are going to try to do the hallway on our own and see if it is as easy as it looks. But it definitely looks amazing!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from South Central PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks great

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is really good for older homes where nothing is flat, level, or square. It is flexible so it conforms without issues. You still need to use an underlayment though. Anything over 1/4" change will eventually crack the plank.
My only advice is to get a good pair of shears (metal working type). It is much easier than trying to cut it with a razor.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from San Antonio TEXAS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have bought this product before and it worked well. Installed in a small kitchen. Looks great. I like the colors alot, sort of bold. And went down real easy. Just cut with a razor knife. A little expensive in my opinion, but I want something that will last. It was installed in an apartment, but I would install in my home.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Super easy.

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This flooring is the easiest I have ever laid. Living room, dinning room and kitchen done and it makes the house look completely different. Built in the 80's puke green carpet and plad linoleum was very dated. Amazingly easy to lay and looks awesome.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Washington
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install - looks amazing! The dramatic coloring of this flooring leaves so many options for decorating!
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Great Accent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from MT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a female diyer and not afraid to attempt any project. This flooring came in less then a week and I did my bathroom and kitchen in this product. It completes the total remodel and looks expensive even though it wasn't. The contractor we hired to install cabinets could not believe how nice it looked and that I was able to lay it without help.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

African Dark Wood Only Problem

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased two other Allure Floormaster colors for installations I have done and I have been extremely happy with them. However, this color, African Dark Wood has a serious issue in my view. When installing the tiles lengthwise, you cannot get a decent transition between the planks. because of the very different look of the dark grainy wood and the light clear stripes on this, no matter how you try, you end up with a light streak transitioning right into the middle of a dark knot. This makes it look ridiculously fake and your eye is drawn right to that area immediately because it is so odd looking.
I thought perhaps there would be special instructions for this color that would solve the problem but there do not seem to be and no matter how we tried mixing the planks, we couldn't get an acceptable look.
On their own, the planks are gorgeous. But put down as a long floor the look is awful. Luckily I only ordered one box as a test and will be returning it.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from westchester, ny

looks great and easy to use.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
easy to install. looks great and is very good for the money. i used it in a small bathroom and it was a perfect application. my house is middle of the road in value so, the allure plank fits in perfectly. i didn't need to use marble...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

great looking product!!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product looks great and is easily installed. It must be wildly because it had been out of stock for over 3 months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautifull, easy to install

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
beautifull floors! fairly easy to install. fairly expensive, but will see how it holds up with traffic and use.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Looks stunning!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No special tools needed. A measuring device, a straightedge and a scoring tool (I used a wood chisel). Very forgiving and it installs rather quickly. I did an 8 x 10 kitchen in less than three hours.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Accent
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Coarsegold, Madera, CA 93614, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Beautiful flooring installation easy after you get started.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Piedmont al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great all around product looks great with easy installation!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'm very pleased with product especially the ease of installation. The end results were amazing! The only disappointment was the home delivery of product which was not by Home Depot but a freight shipping service.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Clark, WY 82435, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and looks fantastic.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The flooring was very easy to install. I would highly recommend starting in the most difficult area, such as a hallway with a lot of doors. Once you get into the larger area, it goes very quickly. It took my daughter and I only 1 day to install. It is a little difficult to cut to fit around doorways. Afterward, a friend told me to try heating it before cutting. For example, heat it with a hair dryer, or something along these lines. Overall, it was relatively easy. Looks great, and has been very resilient. I have 3 dogs, and have zero marks or scratches. Adds a very warm, welcoming feel to the room.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Accent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Lexington, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

More beautiful than the pictures...don't second-guess, just go for it!

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
1. Look/Color: I was a little nervous going with the 'special order' color and was concerned about the look of the varying wood color once it was on my floor. If you're having a similar concern--forget it! This floor is GORGEOUS once its down. Very classy and modern-looking. It really made the room look bigger too!
2. Installation: Very easy to install once you get going; getting started is a little tricky because it requires measurement and leveling to ensure it will be perpendicular across the entire room. That being said, if you have someone that's handy with home improvement, you should be good. My Dad (a printer), Mom (special education teaching aide) and I (a speech-language pathologist) installed this together and had very few major difficulties!
3: Quality: be meticulous in letting it settle in the house before installing and cleaning the subfloor from excess particles (dust, wood chips, etc) before laying the floor. This will ensure the pieces stick together well. Also, get the planks tight together and you won't even see the seams. When done correctly, the floor is excellent quality and doesn't really chip or scratch easily.
4: Value: By putting this floor in, it completely changed the look of my downstairs. We essentially remodeled 850 sq ft of my house for about $1500. GREAT value. Also, if you're careful to use the bigger pieces of scrap appropriately, you may even be able to return some un-opened boxes. My Dad was a magician with this!
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Clarksville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quality

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We highly recommend this product if you need new flooring.
Easy install, beautiful look and warranty.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Copperas Cove, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautiful

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Beautiful and easy to install, just still a little too expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quite easy to install. Durable- holds up to my dog!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>