728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Resilient Vinyl Planks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Use TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring to add the warm, comfortable style of real wood to your interior living space. The highly durable, water-resistant flooring is great for use in basements, kitchens, bathrooms and high traffic areas. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl. It offers a patented GripStrip design for simple installation.
Overall rating:
4.517 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(149 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product127 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(110)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(9)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product127 of 143reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 110 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Review 41 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from VA

Great flooring option

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It doesn't have rounded edges, but does have a wood-like surface. Easy to install, but requires a little patience around doors, vents and closets. It's a huge improvement over the carpet it replaced and is pet-friendly. Let it acclimate to the space for a few days and lay the planks as close as possible. Easy to do if you start at the corner of each plank and force them into a snug fit. Don't let the mixed look of the African Wood concern you. If you like it in the plank, you'll probably love it on the floor.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

No glues, no nails!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed in master bath. Liked it so much we installed it in the house bath. Just need a straight edge, sharp blade and a tape measure.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: need lots of sharp blades
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Indiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If it's a High traffic area or you have kids or pets do not buy!!!!!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Scratches and scuffs very easy, looking worse every day installed in bathroom a year ago and it's working fabulous and holding up great now we put in living ,dining room,hall and kitchen but it's not meant for a lot of activity I suppose I find new scratch every day very disappointed . My dog is now outside and I'm constantly trying to warn the kids to be careful not what I hoped for at all! At first after install it does look great and pattern is beautiful but you will not be happy once u live with it awhile. Would recommend for a bathroom though it's waterproof to an extent you still need to be mindful when kids are using bath tub
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Like Wood, Great Accent, Looks Great, Modern
Cons: Hard to Remove, Scratches Easily, not pet friendly, not kid proof of every day play, not meant for high traffic areas
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Talladega County
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great floor!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went down really easy...note that using shears instead of a razor knife worked better for us.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from westchester, ny

looks great and easy to use.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to install. looks great and is very good for the money. i used it in a small bathroom and it was a perfect application. my house is middle of the road in value so, the allure plank fits in perfectly. i didn't need to use marble...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

ease of installation

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this flooring went in easier than any i have ever worked with. very forgiving if walls aren't perfectly straight. my son and i layed a 13 x 22 ft room with a dogleg and a clost to cut for in only four hours
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Yuma, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is such a beautiful floor

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was so easy to put down and looks great. We accidently damaged a plank after the floor was down, but we were able to replace it without ripping the whole floor up. this is a great product and really is beautifull.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Elk City, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

beautiful and easy to install

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this flooring is perfect for my bathroom. my theme is country with weathred wood accents and laminate flooring and dont want laminate in bathroom
Pros: Very Adhesive, Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Montana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, but not as easy as it sounds to install

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We got this to put in our entry way and a bedroom. It looks great. I love the contrast in colors. The time it took to install was quick, but was very hard on the hands. It is also difficult to get the edges to line up perfectly as the glue catches and you have to push hard to move it, or take it apart and replace it again. Once it is done though, it is super easy to clean and looks great. I was expecting it to be a flat, smooth surface and was pleasantly surprised when it wasn't. I think it gives it more character with a few ripples like wood grain. I will and have recommended this product to others.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Middletown, NY 10940, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this!! SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The african red wood, is beautiful!! it's the most unique flooring i've ever seen!!! my husband had no problems installing it at all. I would def. recommend it!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Bellingham, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation, looks great, scratches too easily

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed 30 boxes in previously-carpeted rooms on plywood floors. I did not want to remove and reinstall all my baseboard trim, so I put down 3/8" plywood everywhere to build up the floor (since the gap below the trim was about 1/2" for the carpet and the pad and the Allure is only about 1/8" thick). The Allure installs very easily. I am a DIY homeowner. I installed Pergo in my previous home, but otherwise had no flooring experience.
To cut the Allure, you score it with a knife and a straight edge, then you snap it. I think I used the same utility knife blade for the entire project. About halfway through, I started using my table saw for ripping and my chop saw as well, just to save time. The only gotcha there is to try to keep the sawdust off of the adhesive strips.
Along the way, I realized it is basically just linoleum in planks, but it does look good. You do not need any padding (or anything else) between the plywood and the Allure. It is waterproof and that was a key feature for me. It feels nice under-foot. It has a texture similar to real wood, but not so deep that dirt gets trapped in recesses.
Regarding the baseboard trim, they will tell you that you'll need to install some quarter-round trim afterwards. The planks are pretty flexible and I was able to bow the last piece in each row to get it under the existing trim about 1/8" when I installed it. So, all my edges went underneath the existing trim with no gaps and quarter-round was not needed, but I wouldn't say that everyone will have the same luck I did.
My only gripe so far, after having it installed about 6 weeks, is that it seems to scratch easily. I have some long scratches and I can't even imagine what caused them. We have several cats and a dog, but the scratches are more like something was drug (dragged?). I have several kids, so it is quite possible someone did something which most adults would know not to do on a vinyl floor.
I would definitely use the Allure product again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Clark, WY 82435, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and looks fantastic.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The flooring was very easy to install. I would highly recommend starting in the most difficult area, such as a hallway with a lot of doors. Once you get into the larger area, it goes very quickly. It took my daughter and I only 1 day to install. It is a little difficult to cut to fit around doorways. Afterward, a friend told me to try heating it before cutting. For example, heat it with a hair dryer, or something along these lines. Overall, it was relatively easy. Looks great, and has been very resilient. I have 3 dogs, and have zero marks or scratches. Adds a very warm, welcoming feel to the room.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Accent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Bullhead City, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great!

PostedSeptember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks great in my bdrm and bathroom and plan on using it throughout my house. Much nicer than carpeting.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Grayslake, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful flooring was very easy to install.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were a little concerned with re-positioning planks, but the blow dryer worked and planks were easily fixed. My high school son and husband completed the room in a couple of hours. The finished floor looks great!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Haskell, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What a great product

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to cut and install. If you are looking for something with a great price this is it
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Cons: Hard to Remove
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for DIYers

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product can be installed easily by one person alone. Cuts easily for doorways, corners, etc. and looks great. Easier than laminate or any other click plank. Durability is still a question mark as this is a new installation for me.
Pros: Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Gillette, WY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product has realistic appearance of wood

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The adhesive is very good and makes the installation easier.
Pros: Looks Like Wood
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Colorado
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Appearance is great but....

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We love the look of the vinyl plank flooring but the durability is just not there. We have only had this installed for about a month and already have nicks and other damage to the flooring. This makes us very unhappy because it does look very nice but the linoleum we had before was much more durable. The installation was fairly easy except for the more detailed work like cutting the planks to go around non-straight edges. Really wish we could recommend this product but if you have kids and/or pets and put it in an area that gets a lot of traffic, we just don't think it will hold up.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Uncasville, Ct

Best buy

PostedNovember 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used it the kitchen, it looks fantastic... It was so easy to lay down, a real pleasure to work with... No complaints from my son who put it down... WHEW!!!
I have enough left over to do a small sitting room,,, Humm, I think that is what I will do, maybe even by myself...
I had very little damage when shipment arrived, we used the broken ends for the edges of our floor, so easy to cut off...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Good product

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you take your time the finished product looks great. Installs easily but don't put the pices together wrong as they are almost impossible to separate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>