728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Resilient Vinyl Planks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

Easy GripStrip installation lays directly over your old floor; no floor prep or messy glue needed. Looks and feels like real wood feel the knots. Completely water-resistant. Perfect in high moisture areas basements, kitchens, and bathrooms.
Overall rating:
4.547 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(139 reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product119 of 133reviews
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(103)
4
(22)
3
(3)
2
(9)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product119 of 133reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 108 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
Review 41 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great flooring option that really looks striking!

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We selected the Allure vinyl plank flooring for our laundry room as a water resistant flooring. The product is easy to install and goes down really fast once you get started. This flooring has a sound dampening effect in our laundry room so we are pleased with the unexpected noise reduction.
FYI: If you do not make a very clean straight score with the utility knife your eye can pick up on the cut edges when it is on the floor. We learned that clamping the square or whatever straight edge you use with the vinyl plank to be cut to a board when making the cuts ensured that they were straight and perfect.
We are so happy with this product that we have decided to use it throughout our entertaining space; kitchen, dining, and living rooms.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

African Dark Wood Only Problem

PostedJuly 2, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased two other Allure Floormaster colors for installations I have done and I have been extremely happy with them. However, this color, African Dark Wood has a serious issue in my view. When installing the tiles lengthwise, you cannot get a decent transition between the planks. because of the very different look of the dark grainy wood and the light clear stripes on this, no matter how you try, you end up with a light streak transitioning right into the middle of a dark knot. This makes it look ridiculously fake and your eye is drawn right to that area immediately because it is so odd looking.
I thought perhaps there would be special instructions for this color that would solve the problem but there do not seem to be and no matter how we tried mixing the planks, we couldn't get an acceptable look.
On their own, the planks are gorgeous. But put down as a long floor the look is awful. Luckily I only ordered one box as a test and will be returning it.
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from westchester, ny

looks great and easy to use.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
easy to install. looks great and is very good for the money. i used it in a small bathroom and it was a perfect application. my house is middle of the road in value so, the allure plank fits in perfectly. i didn't need to use marble...
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

great looking product!!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product looks great and is easily installed. It must be wildly because it had been out of stock for over 3 months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautifull, easy to install

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
beautifull floors! fairly easy to install. fairly expensive, but will see how it holds up with traffic and use.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

Looks stunning!

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No special tools needed. A measuring device, a straightedge and a scoring tool (I used a wood chisel). Very forgiving and it installs rather quickly. I did an 8 x 10 kitchen in less than three hours.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Accent
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Coarsegold, Madera, CA 93614, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful flooring installation easy after you get started.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Piedmont al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great all around product looks great with easy installation!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with product especially the ease of installation. The end results were amazing! The only disappointment was the home delivery of product which was not by Home Depot but a freight shipping service.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Clark, WY 82435, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install and looks fantastic.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The flooring was very easy to install. I would highly recommend starting in the most difficult area, such as a hallway with a lot of doors. Once you get into the larger area, it goes very quickly. It took my daughter and I only 1 day to install. It is a little difficult to cut to fit around doorways. Afterward, a friend told me to try heating it before cutting. For example, heat it with a hair dryer, or something along these lines. Overall, it was relatively easy. Looks great, and has been very resilient. I have 3 dogs, and have zero marks or scratches. Adds a very warm, welcoming feel to the room.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Accent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Lexington, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

More beautiful than the pictures...don't second-guess, just go for it!

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1. Look/Color: I was a little nervous going with the 'special order' color and was concerned about the look of the varying wood color once it was on my floor. If you're having a similar concern--forget it! This floor is GORGEOUS once its down. Very classy and modern-looking. It really made the room look bigger too!
2. Installation: Very easy to install once you get going; getting started is a little tricky because it requires measurement and leveling to ensure it will be perpendicular across the entire room. That being said, if you have someone that's handy with home improvement, you should be good. My Dad (a printer), Mom (special education teaching aide) and I (a speech-language pathologist) installed this together and had very few major difficulties!
3: Quality: be meticulous in letting it settle in the house before installing and cleaning the subfloor from excess particles (dust, wood chips, etc) before laying the floor. This will ensure the pieces stick together well. Also, get the planks tight together and you won't even see the seams. When done correctly, the floor is excellent quality and doesn't really chip or scratch easily.
4: Value: By putting this floor in, it completely changed the look of my downstairs. We essentially remodeled 850 sq ft of my house for about $1500. GREAT value. Also, if you're careful to use the bigger pieces of scrap appropriately, you may even be able to return some un-opened boxes. My Dad was a magician with this!
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Clarksville, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super quality

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We highly recommend this product if you need new flooring.
Easy install, beautiful look and warranty.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Copperas Cove, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautiful

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Beautiful and easy to install, just still a little too expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from L. A. (Lower Alabama)

Easy Installation, looks great

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this on an antique houseboat renovation. Very easy to install, especally considering the number of cuts required for hatches, etc. Looks great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

Looks great

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We put this on our kitchen floor. It looks great! Very pleased, took us about 8 hours to lay it all down. Great for the price & pretty easy install. We did have a few corners broken in one of our boxes, but I assume that happened in shipping & we still salvaged most of them.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great looking, easy to install

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the look of this floor! Not for a high traffic area as it scratches very easily, but we have it in our master bath and it is perfect. This is the second time we've bought this vinyl flooring and are very happy. Easiest and cheapest option.
Pros: Good Wood, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Dewitt iowa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product was priced very reasonably priced and was easy to install. Installed product in 2 bathrooms,so far very happy with this product. Looks like real wood,waterproof and surprisingly warm underfoot.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Pinnacle, Yadkin, NC 27043, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful addition to the home

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We loved the color of this product prior to buying it and we were not disappointed when we received it. Only downside was no samples at the local Home Depot so we took a chance and absolutely love it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Wheeling, WV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Had some left over planks from a previous installation in my kitchen. Used the new product to finish off a space in my garage. Easy to install and looks great.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Accent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)
from Grayslake, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful flooring was very easy to install.

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were a little concerned with re-positioning planks, but the blow dryer worked and planks were easily fixed. My high school son and husband completed the room in a couple of hours. The finished floor looks great!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Easy to Install, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft./case)

No glues, no nails!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed in master bath. Liked it so much we installed it in the house bath. Just need a straight edge, sharp blade and a tape measure.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: need lots of sharp blades
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>