728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Use TrafficMASTER Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring to add the warm, comfortable style of real wood to your interior living space. This highly durable, water-resistant flooring is great for use in basements, kitchens, bathrooms and high traffic areas. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl with no floor preparation or adhesives required. It offers a patented GripStrip design for simple installation.
Overall rating:
4.48 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(175 reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product149 of 169reviews
Rating Breakdown 175 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(126)
4
(28)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product149 of 169reviews
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 121 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Review 41 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Looks Great.... but ........................

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this product looks wonderful on the floor; the first time I had Guests for Dinner; my Son-In-Law went to fold up a high chair and it scratched the surfaces in multiple areas; even leaving a white line right thru the woodgrain look of the flooring. All that work to install and now I have a scratched floor. Not sure if this can be lifted and replaced.
Pros: Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern
Cons: Scratches Easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from boulder,wy

loved this product.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i have told people about this product. it's very easy to instal. much easier to take care of and price is affordable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Gorham, NH
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great appearence

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Although the finished product looks awesome the installation is not as easy like it claims. We have forced hot air for our heating system and even though it says just score and snap its not like that especially if it is multiple angles we had a few pieces that we scored like it said and tried to snap it and it did the entire piece past were we cut and had to start over. If you have a lot of corners or doorways it does take a long time to get it just perfect and if your an impatient person I would highly recommend you have it installed by someone.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Middletown, NY 10940, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this!! SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The african red wood, is beautiful!! it's the most unique flooring i've ever seen!!! my husband had no problems installing it at all. I would def. recommend it!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Coarsegold, Madera, CA 93614, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Beautiful flooring installation easy after you get started.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Boerne, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this flooring

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install looks awesome. I am so proud of my install, can't wait to do my next bathroom.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from St Petersburg, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very beautiful!!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This floor is just as beautiful as I expected!!. Matching the pattern takes a little more concentration than I expected but it worked out once we got the hang of it. Price was dissapointing, I purchase on line for $1.59 sq ft and when I ordered one more case from the store, it was $1.99??? I don't really care but getting your prices to match would certainly look much better.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Bellingham, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation, looks great, scratches too easily

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed 30 boxes in previously-carpeted rooms on plywood floors. I did not want to remove and reinstall all my baseboard trim, so I put down 3/8" plywood everywhere to build up the floor (since the gap below the trim was about 1/2" for the carpet and the pad and the Allure is only about 1/8" thick). The Allure installs very easily. I am a DIY homeowner. I installed Pergo in my previous home, but otherwise had no flooring experience.
To cut the Allure, you score it with a knife and a straight edge, then you snap it. I think I used the same utility knife blade for the entire project. About halfway through, I started using my table saw for ripping and my chop saw as well, just to save time. The only gotcha there is to try to keep the sawdust off of the adhesive strips.
Along the way, I realized it is basically just linoleum in planks, but it does look good. You do not need any padding (or anything else) between the plywood and the Allure. It is waterproof and that was a key feature for me. It feels nice under-foot. It has a texture similar to real wood, but not so deep that dirt gets trapped in recesses.
Regarding the baseboard trim, they will tell you that you'll need to install some quarter-round trim afterwards. The planks are pretty flexible and I was able to bow the last piece in each row to get it under the existing trim about 1/8" when I installed it. So, all my edges went underneath the existing trim with no gaps and quarter-round was not needed, but I wouldn't say that everyone will have the same luck I did.
My only gripe so far, after having it installed about 6 weeks, is that it seems to scratch easily. I have some long scratches and I can't even imagine what caused them. We have several cats and a dog, but the scratches are more like something was drug (dragged?). I have several kids, so it is quite possible someone did something which most adults would know not to do on a vinyl floor.
I would definitely use the Allure product again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Superior, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love it

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Don't know if anyone will think it is real wood but it is very dramatic.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Great Accent
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It will work, but....

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed this product in a sunroom that serves as a transition between indoors and outdoors in a moderately wet part of the country. The water resistance of this product was very appealing. I explored the options at the store multiple times and decided this would be the best for the price. I was aware of mixed reviews. Actual installation was not that difficult. Seven boxes took several hours, but keep in mind a perfectionist engineer was involved and one of the longest walls had some very unusual cuts. One of the hardest parts was getting the seams snug on two edges before the adhesive took too much hold. I noticed after installation several of the seams that seemed perfect at ground level picked up the light ever so slightly when you are standing, making it look like there is a sizable gap. After several weeks, I am disappointed. I've had seams come up, where it has taken a heat gun and roller to re-set the adhesive. It scratches easily - parts of the floor that had little use have noticeable scratches. It was easy enough to install that I considering ordering more for my family room. I'm glad I waited. The family room will get much more activity and I would hate to have to replace that flooring so quickly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Medina, NY 14103, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to install. My husband couldn't keep up with the trimming on each end with my son and I laying the planks. We installed the planks in 2 rooms in one day starting at one wall, through the doorway and on through the kitchen. It cut easily and cleanly. After 6 days it still has a slight odor. We installed the African wood pattern and it is gorgeous! The new floor is baby tested and mother approved!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

great looking product!!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product looks great and is easily installed. It must be wildly because it had been out of stock for over 3 months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Looks great, smells awful

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed this product in our retail store and it looked great. The vinyl is porous, so be sure to cover it after installation if you are going to be cutting sheetrock or creating dust. After a few days, we began to notice a strong chemical smell. Some of our customers said it was natural gas. Others said gasoline. After ruling out every other cause, I got down on my hands and knees and realized it was the floor itself. It reeks!!! It has been in my store for 4 months and the smell keeps getting stronger. If I don't keep my door propped open, it stinks to high heaven. It will give you a headache. Can not recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks High End
Cons: smells strongly for months!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOOKS LIKE REAL WOOD!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just installed this in our entryway. It is beautiful! Our floor is uneven and you can't even tell. It was easy to do. My husband and I did 334 sq feet in 9 hours. We are planning on putting it in a few more rooms. We live on a ranch and lots of pets, so durability was a huge selling point. Don't hesitate to use this floor!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superior product for all areas of the home

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
While trying to stay within a budget we had installed an inexpensive laminate flooring in a few areas of our home and found that it simply did not hold up as well as we had hoped. Then the water line under the concrete floor broke and flooded the living room and kitchen and we were forced to replace the laminate. I wanted the look of wood but didn't want any more disasters like the water line so I began searching on my favorite DIY website, Home Depot. I found this beautiful vinyl plank flooring for a truly reasonable price and read the specs regarding wear and installation. I was immediately sold. The installation is no more difficult that the peel and stick vinyl squares, just a little different process for laying out the pattern. Sharp cutting tools, a t-square, wax marking crayon and a little patience were all that we needed to get a beautiful result. I tell all my friends about this product and highly recommend it for all skill levels from beginner to professional. We loved it so much that the original kitchen floor replacement became a whole house do-over and we now have the planking throughout.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautifull, easy to install

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
beautifull floors! fairly easy to install. fairly expensive, but will see how it holds up with traffic and use.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Lee's Summit, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great and easy to install

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was easy to install and looks like wood. Cleans up easily. H
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Loved the free shipping. It looks like real wood but for lower cost! I used this on my dining room floor and also on a living room accent wall. It's beautiful! I do however wish there was better directions for install. I found myself using double sided tape and spray glue in order for it to stick to the floor properly.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End
Cons: poor directions for install
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Pinnacle, Yadkin, NC 27043, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful addition to the home

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We loved the color of this product prior to buying it and we were not disappointed when we received it. Only downside was no samples at the local Home Depot so we took a chance and absolutely love it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Covington, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome flooring especially for dog lovers.

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband and I installed this flooring in our living room after we tore up some nasty carpet. We completed this project in about four hours and were very pleased with the professional look of the job because it was so easy to install. We can't say enough nice things about this floor other than we want to do our whole house. It is very resilent, easy to clean with just water and a mop and does not scratch no matter how much the dogs run on it.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective, does not buckle when water hits it
Cons: needs no improvement
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>