728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Resilient Vinyl Planks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Use TrafficMASTER Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring to add the warm, comfortable style of real wood to your interior living space. This highly durable, water-resistant flooring is great for use in basements, kitchens, bathrooms and high traffic areas. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl with no floor preparation or adhesives required. It offers a patented GripStrip design for simple installation.
Overall rating:
4.397 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(3056 reviews) 3054
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product2,622 of 2,953reviews
Rating Breakdown 3,056 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(2,080)
4
(575)
3
(118)
2
(100)
1
(183)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product2,622 of 2,953reviews
Customer questions and answers:
638 Questions | 2,048 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Review 41 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from West Virginia

Allure is a great product!

PostedMay 3, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
I have been researching options on new flooring for months. I finally decided on Allure Oak. I wanted to resurface my kitchen, dining room, hallway + bathroom. My biggest challenge was the hallway. I have plaster walls and oak baseboard. The door jambs go all the way to the floor so I couldn't cut them off without taking up baseboards and raising them. I was afraid I would either break baseboard or damage the plaster so every option I looked at didn't seem to work. I went to HD, bought 3 boxes, went home and frustrated myself trying to figure out a starting place, gave up and returned it. I have never laid any flooring but 12" peel and stick tiles. 3 weeks later I went back, bought 12 boxes and started. I went back for more and am getting ready to start the last room. What a dream to work with! It is a very forgiving product for a do it yourself homeowner. I haven't run into anything that I couldn't figure out how to do and it looks fabulous! It is very easy to cut, even around the curves in the door jambs that I was so stressed out over. I have several dogs and a pool with wet people in and out and I am really looking forward to summer coming, knowing how easy it is going to be to take care of the floors. Everyone loves it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from S. FL

Would have been a five except...

PostedMay 7, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Hickory Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
This flooring is easy to install and looks really good BUT, after it was down for approx. 3-4 months it started to 'ooze' what we can only suspect to be the glue from the seams. It shows up as dried, crusty white material. Cleans up with a wet mop but still. Odd thing is, it only seems to do this on one side of the room. The room was put down from right to left and only the right side of the room shows this material along the seams between the planks. Perhaps it has to do with how the AC blows across the room. It does not receive direct sun-light. It is a bit disturbing to think that the floor binding (glue) is drying out and may not hold. Only time will tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Fort Worth

Wow

PostedMay 14, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Hickory Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
We love this foor. We started in bathroom. Now we have done hallways, den, 2nd bedroom and moving on to do the whole house. Much better than the laminate flooring it has no clicking sounds when you walk on it. Every one that has come to our house is wanting it now. So easy to work with. We just cannot say how nice it looks!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Peabody, MA

Great product

PostedJune 10, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
After months of searching for a suitable floor for our bare-bones basement, this item fit the bill.
PROS:
1. Very easy to install - I literally slapped it down over plain old concrete, and it only took me 2 hours to do the entire floor
2. Cost effective - cost about $300 to do a 10 x 10 room
3. Good looking - It's been spilled on, and cleans up nicely. Swiffer is all I need to keep it looking great.
CONS:
1. More colors aren't offered in store, and samples of "tile" look unavailable
2. It scratches pretty easily. They are easy to hide with a like-colored crayola (seriously) crayon, but still. I got a scratch from a rock in the sole of my shoe.
3. It's murder on utilitiy blades. I'll be installing this in the rest of my basement, but in that one room went through a TON of blades. Next time going to use blades and tin snips.
All in all, I highly recommend this product. It took a room that used to be cold and dark, and with this floor and a little paint it has a cozy look to it. It doesn't feel like wood underneath bare feet, but sure does a good job faking it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Katy, Tx

great stuff

PostedJune 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Mellow Wood Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
easy to install, easy to lay down
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Seguin, TX

so easy

PostedJune 25, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Was a breeze to install. Looks great. Will do our dining room and the four bedrooms. Goodbye carpet. Did our formal living room in three hours and it has an angled wall. Once I scored the plank and snapped it like sheetrock it was easy to cut. You will go through blades with your utility knife.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Woodland Park, Colorado

This product is amazing!!

PostedJuly 1, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Country Pine Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
This product is all it claims to be and more! I highly recommend it. I took the time to carefully read over the instructions and even watched the installation video available on Home Depots Website. I have never laid any kind of flooring before this. The product went down fast, smooth and with very little effort. The large room now looks wonderfully updated!! I am so happy with it and proud I did it myself. Panning to use the Allure Plank Flooring in a different pattern in another part of the house. Can't wait to start this!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Chicago, IL

Looks good. Smells terrible!

PostedJuly 1, 2008
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
I installed this a week ago in my master bedroom of my third-floor condo (over concrete). Right away you smell a chemical-type odor, which I assumed was just from the adhesive -- thinking it would go away after installation. Even with the windows open, in relatively low humidity and 70 degree temperatures, the odor is so nauseating that I've been unable to sleep in my room as of yet, and I hate even going in there quickly to get something -- that's how awful the odor is. If it doesn't go away soon, I'm going to have to pull it out, throw the $450 I paid for it down the drain, and just install carpet. However, it does look good, and it was simple to install the pieces that didn't require cutting; the other pieces were extremely tough to cut around door jambs, etc, using only a utility knife. If I would have known just how tough, I would have bought a tin-snipping tool or some other scissor-type tool for harder materials. I really hope the bad smell goes away!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Marietta

Allure Flooring/Piedmont Ash

PostedJuly 8, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Piedmont Ash Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
I had a very dark living room due to its' location. Once this floor
was installed, it was as if a soft natural light had entered this
room, and it is BEAUTIFUL. The floor feels natural under your
feet, and doesnt seem to attract dust like others.
Am very thrilled with the floor.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Avilla, IN

What a floor!

PostedJuly 16, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
I wasn't sure at first that this flooring would have a realistic look to it- but I waswrong! It is easy to install - in a square room, but going around a breakfast bar and still keeping the seam pattern is a little tricky. My husband did the measuring and cutting, and I sat on the floor and did all the sticking. Once you get a rhythm it's a quick project. The package doesn't state what you should use to care and maintain the flooring, but it looks like from previous comments and people I've talked to that a Swiffer and/or broom/dustpan will do the trick! When we were finished, I didn't want to put any of the furniture back in the room just so I could enjoy the new look!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from burnet, tx

The Best Flooring!

PostedJuly 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
This product is great! a monkey could install this with ease! So simple, but looks great! My husband asked me to wait to install until he came home from work to help, but we later decided that anybody could put this floor down easily! I would recommend this product to anybody looking for a floor that is durable, waterproof, and beautiful. Will be remodeling the kitchen soon, and plan to install this in the kitchen as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Oregon

Loved it!!!

PostedJuly 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. American Walnut Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
The flooring is beautiful and so easy to install. My husband and I are your average DIYer and we had our hallway done in a little over 2 hours. Pulling up the carpet took most of the time. We had to do some cuts because of the doorways but not too bad. Next, on to the living room and the spare bedroom. We did experience one minor problem and that was the delay in delivery. We live on the west coast so it took about 3 weeks before we received the shipment. I do have to tip my hat to the HD customer service, they were fantastic. So professional and very helpful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Texas

vinyl plank flooring

PostedJuly 24, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Golden Maple Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Easy to install and looks great. The only thing to watch for is it does seem to scratch easily. Not deep but surface scratches which can be seen when the sun shines through the room. I put this in my kitchen and am having a hard time with my chair legs not scratching when you scoot away from the table. It does clean easily. Maybe the company will improve the scratchability over time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Milwaukie, OR

I Think I Can!

PostedJuly 28, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
When I first set out to redo my carpet covered concrete family room, I was a little peeved by my choices. NO more carpet, uneven floor meant rigid flooring was out...leaves vinyl, of some sort. I had a peel and stick pattern(wood-look) all picked out. Then I saw this. I am SO glad I chose this product! After floating parts of my concrete floor, I was ready to install. I was able to install approx 300sqft in about 6 hours. I found it worth the time to create simple templates of intricate cuts(doorways that can't be changed). A drywall T, a small square, utility knife, KNEE PADS, pencil and carton scraps for templates. It was really that easy! I find it to be very durable and easy to clean. A must with kids and large dogs, and husbands too! I installed this product almost a year ago, and have many comments! I consider myself a novice at home improvement.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Michigan

Looks like real hardwood

PostedAugust 10, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Hickory Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
I am usually pretty snobby when it comes to fake wood and materials, but this material I can't deny - IT IS GREAT! I installed this flooring in my office at work; it was in desperate need of a makeover. As I was installing it all of the employees were complementing how real it looked and felt (it has the texture of real wood). They wanted to take a sample home and put it in their home. It was SUPER easy to install (1.5 hr./100 sq. ft.), all I did was sweep the floors and install. I think I might be putting it in my home as well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Georgia

PostedAugust 18, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Country Pine Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
My wife and I just put down this flooring in our home this past weekend and were EXTREMELY happy with both the installation and the final results. Very easy to install! All our family and friends that have seen it so far can't believe it's not real hardwood. Highly recommend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Grand Rapids, MI

Allure, Cherry Resilient Vinyl flooring

PostedSeptember 21, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
I installed the flooring in my kitchen/dining area. I used ten full boxes. It was very simple to install. It looks really nice and is extremley durable. The only problem I'm having is that the seams keep lifting up in different spots. I think I might have purchased a few bad boxes. I followed the installation instructions to a tee and I'm not quite sure what to do about it now?
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Vanderpool, Texas...the hill country

trafficmaster allure in hickory

PostedSeptember 24, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Hickory Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
We are remodeling a 1200 sq. ft log cabin that sat empty for over 25 years. I didn't want hardwood because I was concerned about flooding. I had decided to use porcelain tile that looked like wood and it would have cost about 6 or 7K. One of my friends happened to visit me at the cabin and mentioned she had put in trafficmaster in her home after she had some flooding due to a broken pipe and that she really liked it. She said it didn't have to be glued down and that the planks simply stuck to each other. So I checked it out and decided to try it, figuring if I wasn't happy, I could afford to replace it after a couple of years since it was $2400.00, not $7,000. I could not believe how good this floor looked once it went down. I had some local guys doing the work and it only took them a day. I stand on it and still can't get over how great this product is for the price. I have pergo in my home and this looks more like wood than my pergo. But the best part and the reason I went with it, is because you can get water on it without ruining it. The day they were installing it, there was mud and dust all over it and I took a damp mop and easily wiped it off. It's the perfect product if you don't want real hardwood and also have pets! I cannot say enough about how surprised and thrilled I am with the way this looks!!! Everytime I open the door to the cabin, I smile. Of course once you get up close and examine it, you will see it is not wood but you will be amazed that it fooled you at first look. If my friend hadn't told me about it, I would never have, in a million years, considered a vinyl floor. I am SO GLAD my friend told me about it!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from msp,mn

ms informed

PostedOctober 12, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Oak Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
I decided to replace the 5 year old wall-to-wall carpet in my 144 year old duplex and knew that hardwood or laminate flooring would not work well. At work, a co-worker commented on how she had this resilient vinyl in her 'old house' and she loved it. After researching and reviewing, removing and prepping, I installed the 1st of three floors in the 1st floor apt. This is a superb product, easy to work with and the appearance is wonderful. The only problem I had was when I went to purchase the 'plank' I was encouraged to just get the case of 20 and come back any time to get the rest(10 more were needed). Even though the pattern and lot #'s were the same, the ' RUN DATE' made a big difference when I went back to purchase more. NOT THE SAME AT ALL ! ! I ended up calling 7 store in 2 towns and finally found one that had what I needed! Other than that, I highly recommend this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Louisiana

Great for design on a dime

PostedOctober 17, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This review is from:6 in. x 36 in. Cherry Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
We started using this flooring last Spring in our flip houses. We have tried other "hard" laminates, but they were a ROYAL PAIN to install and required 3X the labor hrs. Hard laminates are slippery and hard for pets to walk on. We look no further now because Traffic Masters is our flooring of choice in every home we flip. Looks realistic with the distress lines and I even fooled my realtors. The cherry is somewhat darker in person so I would recommend the next shade for a more neutral/warm tone. So easy to install with the grip strips and has the quality feel of solid vinyl at a fraction of the cost. My project manager can install a 1500 sq ft house in a matter of two days. These are FAR BETTER than the peel and stick tiles for quality, durability, and these won't shrink up or show lines like the peel and stick tiles. It's wonderful to put in wet rooms because it's waterproof.......so much better than the traditional laminates that can't be put in wet rooms or cleaned with a wet mop. For the price...you can't be this flooring. I can't wait to try the stone look in our next investment properties. So far I give 5 stars for the wood planks.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 153 >>