728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Resilient Vinyl Planks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Use TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring to add the warm, comfortable style of real wood to your interior living space. The highly durable, water-resistant flooring is great for use in basements, kitchens, bathrooms and high traffic areas. The floating floor installs over most existing surfaces including concrete, wood and vinyl. It offers a patented GripStrip design for simple installation.
Overall rating:
4.513 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(156 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product133 of 150reviews
Rating Breakdown 156 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(113)
4
(27)
3
(3)
2
(9)
1
(4)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product133 of 150reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 111 Answers
Customer reviews for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Review 41 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Silver City, NM 88061, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

beautifull, easy to install

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
beautifull floors! fairly easy to install. fairly expensive, but will see how it holds up with traffic and use.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It will work, but....

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We installed this product in a sunroom that serves as a transition between indoors and outdoors in a moderately wet part of the country. The water resistance of this product was very appealing. I explored the options at the store multiple times and decided this would be the best for the price. I was aware of mixed reviews. Actual installation was not that difficult. Seven boxes took several hours, but keep in mind a perfectionist engineer was involved and one of the longest walls had some very unusual cuts. One of the hardest parts was getting the seams snug on two edges before the adhesive took too much hold. I noticed after installation several of the seams that seemed perfect at ground level picked up the light ever so slightly when you are standing, making it look like there is a sizable gap. After several weeks, I am disappointed. I've had seams come up, where it has taken a heat gun and roller to re-set the adhesive. It scratches easily - parts of the floor that had little use have noticeable scratches. It was easy enough to install that I considering ordering more for my family room. I'm glad I waited. The family room will get much more activity and I would hate to have to replace that flooring so quickly.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Looking Floor

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to layout and install. It bonds together very well and looks great when installed. It appears to be a very expensive floor but it is not expensive when compared to alternatives.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Pembine, WI 54156, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks Fabulous installed!

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have three young kids and several cats so we picked this flooring due to it's reputation for durability. We previously had carpet so we pulled that and the pad up so we could install on the plywood floor boards. Install is super easy. We had our room finished in several hours. Works best if you have two people working together, but could be done alone. Super durable and super attractive, what else could you want in a floor. Don't be afraid of the pattern just looking at the one plank in the store, it looks wonderful installed.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very pleased with this purchase.....I put this down in the main room of my house and it looks STUNNING! Definitely gets a "wow" effect from everyone who comes to my house now. Thinking about buying more just in case the product line ends for some reason! Installation of approx. 1000 sq. ft too about 5 hours with 2 people.....incredibly quick! GET THIS PRODUCT!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Loved the free shipping. It looks like real wood but for lower cost! I used this on my dining room floor and also on a living room accent wall. It's beautiful! I do however wish there was better directions for install. I found myself using double sided tape and spray glue in order for it to stick to the floor properly.
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End
Cons: poor directions for install
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Great product; great price & looks very nice!

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our only complaint was from the side you could see the sides or ends of joints. Still, looks great & is soft under your feet & is a great price. Super easy install was a help, too!
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Franklin, NC 28734, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We love the look of this floor!

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy installation and eye-catching floor! Very pleased with this product
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great looking, easy to install

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the look of this floor! Not for a high traffic area as it scratches very easily, but we have it in our master bath and it is perfect. This is the second time we've bought this vinyl flooring and are very happy. Easiest and cheapest option.
Pros: Good Wood, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable
Cons: Scratches Easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Wiscasset, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TrafficMaster Allure 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ordered and bought this product for the good looks and durability. It installed easily as the directions indicated. However buyer beware! The flooring still smells after 4 months. I get up every morning and open the windows in the room, in which it is installed. It has a strong vinyl smell to it. I'm hoping it will go away over time? But so far it has not! .I can't imagine what it will be like in the winter when the windows are all closed?
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Effective
Cons: strong vinyl smell even after 4 months
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product easy to install and clean. I like the look and plan on adding it to more rooms in the house.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Wantagh, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful Floors

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Absolutely beautiful - love it. Just wish there was a pattern to follow instead of random placing.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Montana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install product

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
looks gorgeos and easy to walk on. makes the house look very modern and rich. we did all rooms including bathroom, laundry , kitchen, bedroom and livingroom. as well as some stairs
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Middletown, NY 10940, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this!! SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The african red wood, is beautiful!! it's the most unique flooring i've ever seen!!! my husband had no problems installing it at all. I would def. recommend it!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Great Accent, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Anoka, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good, installs quickly, questionable durability.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this flooring to update our laundry room and adjoining bath. The product installs easily and looks good upon first installing it. My disapointment with the product lies in the claim of its durability. While it may structually hold up, its finish DOES NOT. The product seems to scratch very easy. I first noticed scratches simply from me moving the cardboard box that conains the product over a finished section. I had to be extreemly careful when placing the washer and dryer back in the room and the flooring has scratches after only a couple days of moving the laundry baskets across the floor. The manufacterures claim that the product "Is perfect for high traffic areas" is completely misleading. It is perfect if you like your floorin to be fraught with scratch marks all over it. I will live with the product, but I would NOT recomend it, to anyone. The Home Depot service was quick and fast on this product. My complaint lies with Allure Flooring, not the Home Depot.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Boerne, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this flooring

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install looks awesome. I am so proud of my install, can't wait to do my next bathroom.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Feels Like Wood, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Coarsegold, Madera, CA 93614, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Beautiful flooring installation easy after you get started.
Pros: Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from west palm beach, florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

WONDERFUL!!!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
this product is so beautiful. and it is so easy to install, no tools other than a tape measure, straight edge and box blade. We are one room down and I can't wait until it's all done. I highly recommend this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

Looks great

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We put this on our kitchen floor. It looks great! Very pleased, took us about 8 hours to lay it all down. Great for the price & pretty easy install. We did have a few corners broken in one of our boxes, but I assume that happened in shipping & we still salvaged most of them.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 6 in. x 36 in. African Wood Dark Resilient Vinyl Plank Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
from Fort Pierce, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unique installation

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Having installed many of these floors for friends and neighbors, I have the experience to atempt this unique installation. If you do not have extensive experience do not attempt to modify the installation as I have. Looking at the photos of other customers installations of this pattern, I didn't care for the long lines and interrupted look at the end of each plank so I chose to turn the planks 90 degrees at the end of each plank. The look was startlingly fresh.
The Installation in this manner required both left and right handed planks. To explain what I mean, consider all the planks out of the box to be right handed. In order to convert the right handed plank to a left handed plank, you must cut the backing Don't cut into the top layer) at the end where the backing extends beyond the top surface. You need to remove 1 3/4 inches of the backing leaving the top surface a little over 3/4 inch longer than the bottom. Carefully pry the layers apart, a 1/2" wood chisel works well for this. Save the Backing material removed, it will be needed at the other end of the plank. After putting the backing in place at the other end of the plank trim it to be sure it is less than 3/4" beyond the top surface. If the backing is too long, it will prevent a tight seam from being formed to the adjacent plank.
Just remember, never but two planks end to end for this pattern. At the end of the first plank, a 6" piece, turned at 90 degrees, will be used the next row of planks will be offset by 6" so the end of the next row will require a 12" piece, and so on. It's a good idea to lay them out on the floor, put the papers over the adhesive so they don't stick, so you can fully see how the pieces will need to fit together and the cutting required.
There is a tendency to get a gap in some of the joints, probably due to the backing being too long, once this happens you will not be able to correct it and the gap will occur on evey row till you get to the wall.
It does make a beautiful floor, Just remember, if you are inexperienced, DON'T even attempt this. If you are experienced, THINK long and hard about it.
Good luck!
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Great Accent, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: no left handed planks
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>