728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Vinyl Tile or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)

The TrafficMASTER Allure 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring lays directly over your old floor without the need for floor prep or messy adhesives. The flooring fits together using an interlocking-edge design and GripStrips for an easy installation. The plank flooring is water resistant for use in high-moisture areas.
Overall rating:
4.396 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product43 of 45reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(17)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product43 of 45reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer reviews for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
lively4Jesus
from Rathdrum, Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Our 30 yr old mobile hm sold in 2 days above our asking price!

PostedMay 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We began the project of getting our home of 21 yrs ready to sell. We tried the Allure tile interlocking floor first in our master bath. We loved the "look". Installation went well. The next room we tackled was the laundry, by now my husband was the master of installation =) we then preceded to the front bathroom. We had 3 lookers w/offers we sold to offer #1 w/2 back up offers and all the Realtor's, buyer's, inspector, and appraiser gave us rave reviews on, you guessed it the bathrooms and laundry room =) We are currently renovating our Dad's house to move to and we are installing Allure interlocking tile in the bathroom, kitchen dining room, laundry room and powder room.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
PM2013
from Andover
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TrafficMaster Allure Red Rock Resilent Vinyl Plank Flooring

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this in my kitchen and hallway yesterday and it was a full day project. I am a beginner with no experience installing flooring and found this product to be easy to work with. I will say that the planks score better when they are not cold, it's better for it to be warmer in the room that they are being installed. I plan to do the bathroom next. I found the reviews and photos posted to be quite helpful.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Jean
from Dunedin, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

TrafficMaster Allure Red Rock Resilent Vinyl Plank Flooring

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had a very difficult area to cover with this product but, overall, was pleased with the result. The only drawback I had (as a woman--no cracks please, guys), was it is very challenging to cut this product for areas where only a small part of it is needed. Since it is a pretty expensive product, you certainly have to be very careful about mistakes.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Ewok2jt
from Ogden, UT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Awesome, Allure Red Rock Resilent Vinyl

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this in our basement halls and bathroom over 2 years ago, It still looks great. It was easy to install as long as you start in the correct location and get the seams in the correct spots. We have a downspout by our back basement door and while we were gone one day the hose came off in a big rain storm and flooded part of our basement including over 1/2 of the halls where this flooring was installed. It has held up awesome and did not come apart at the seams or discolor. It has been great in the bathroom also. I would recommend this for anywhere especially where you could get water.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Great Accent
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
OhioDIYer
from Central Ohio, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product!

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The vinyl went down super easy and the seams are even less noticeable than I was hoping. Installation was even easier than I was thinking it would be. I put it over top a laminate rolled floor and it was a solid day project I wish I'd have done years ago. My house was built in 1901 and the floors have more hills and valleys than W. Virginia so this floor was by far the best option I could come up with, the texturing and contrasts in the floor actually hide the unevenness of the subfloor and the seams have been just as tight at the tops of the hills as everywhere else. Only suggestions for the future... I had a pair of heavy duty scissors (I think they are actually straight cut tin snips) for the short cuts around cabinets and molding I didn't remove that made life way easier, and when I did cut the length of the tile I found that even when I only lightly scored the top with my utility knife, the floor still broke along the cut perfectly (wish I would've figured that out sooner, would've had an easier time keeping cuts straight from the get go). This served a super affordable alternative to other flooring options.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Great Accent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
cardoc
from Colchester Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product easy to install

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We installed it in a small bath room after having to replace a piece of rotted subfloor.Easy to cut and fit with a square and a sharp razor blade,score and snap.For a few pieces I even used a table saw to rip what would be a longer piece next to cabinets or doorway.But it's hard to keep the glue strip clean that way.It went down fine over the new plywood by the toilet and the old sheet vinyl and looks great.Time will tell the durability of the glue strips etc.
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
gfruitsnack
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Looks good, easy to install

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Contractor installed; First time he had used this product and both of us were very satisfied. He with the ease of working with it and myself with how it appears. I hope with stands up to its warranty.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Scott
from Natchitoches, LA

An interesting concept in tile installation

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Using the system provided in this installation lacks some of the finesse of other older systems. This system does not require finding the center of the room to lay tile from that point. This system requires that the tile only be started at one of the corners of the room. This system also has more waste as a result due to the need to cut lengths of tile that would not work to start one of the future starts. I recommend using an 18% overage to compensate. The tile also required a bit more work to get it to meet up properly after going around the island in the kitchen. Overall, I am pleased with the look and performance of the tile, especially the ability to easily replace tile if damage occurred.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Dinsdale
from Warrington, PA 18976, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great and easy to install

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is easy to install but best to speak to someone who has done it for things to account for. Also you should have a floor roller in case you need to clean up a seem.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Grandmavic

Love this product!

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to replace an old worn out vinyl tile floor in my kitchen/dining area. After talking to a friend that had laid TrafficMaster Allure in the wood grain look and loved it, I decided to go with TrafficMaster Allure in the tile pattern. This is an easy flooring system to put down. Got the 2 areas covered in 2 days and except for being a 64 year old grandma and my knees aching I had no problems at all. It can be cut with a utility knife but it does take a little more effort than cutting the square vinyl tiles. Our house is a 100+ year old farm house so the floors are not level, the extra thickness but pliability of the Allure covered it beautifully. It's well worth the cost and I believe will last far longer than vinyl tiles. And it feels wonderful on bare feet. I liked it so much I just put the wood look down the hallway of I rental house we own.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Nice24
from Raleigh, NC

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to install. Cut with no problems and went down and stayed true.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Doog
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK product just less the I expected

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product has a good finish and look but the installation was not as simple as the manufacturer professes. Alignment is difficult because the adhesive strip has no margin for error. If seems are not aligned right the first time adhesive is removed from the strip when you attempt to adjust. Instead of being manufactured with one large piece of paper separating the tile in the box the paper should be applied to the strip so "dry run" installation can set the tiles into the places they need to be and then paper removal before adhesive is applied. Is does appear to be durable and I would attempt the product again but would modify from the designed installation.
Pros: Looks Great, Comfortable
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Waterlogged
from Franklin, Tn

Seems like a good product so far

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fairly easy to install but I found that tin snips were best to cut with.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
handymansgirl
from Colorado

looks like real granite tile

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got 2 boxes via the internet and noticed they didn't match after my husband installed it! I ordered 2 boxes of Red Rock and they look nothing alike. Word to the wise....open all boxes first and lay it out to see if it all looks the same!
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
allesandy
from New Lenox, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The flooring actually looks like stone; I am very pleased.

PostedMarch 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Flooring was easy to install and having used Allure flooring before, I know it will be easy to maintain. Why did I wait so long to upgrade?
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Modern, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Tj7283
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Great

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
All flooring jobs are not without effort, however, this is probably as simple as it gets. My old house is not real square and at one point, I had to rotate the entire assembly slightly. But since it was not stuck to the floor, I was able to recover from my initial mis-calculation. add the baseboards when finished and it is lovely! Probably need to add a little more overage in your calculations, especially in smaller spaces with lots of cuts. Ther is a little more wasted pieces in this case.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
CRFT
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice product

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The materials were ordered on line and arrived a day ahead of schedule. The installation goes quite easy. I advise clamping the material down and even clamping a straight edge if you can, while you cut. This will help to keep you on line. Be sure your joinst are tight. If you stray from straight, you'll throw every piece off. We installed this in a bathroom and the material is very comfortable under the feet. Too bad they don't offer a base material that compliments it, but there's plenty of options out there.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Tommy
from Kings, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sticks fast

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed this in my 30 square foot bathroom. It took longer than I thought, but than all of the planks had to be custom cut. Strait cuts were ok, compound cuts took much longer.
was hard getting some of the edges tight, due to the space I was working in. The glue sticks as soon as the two pieces touch. Some grout for vinyl should take care of it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
NCfloorman
from raleigh nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wide variety of colors and texture, easy DIY install, economical

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Read reviews @ HD and looked at YouTube installs and decided to try it. Most impressed with how much it looks like real stone. You can get lots of colors and styles. We bought a whole box (24 ft) & laid out the pattern we liked before ordering the whole qty. You really must see it in the room to see how realistic it is. We used the brick pattern, so installation took longer, but you get a more professional look. The old adage "measure twice- cut once" works to minimize waste. Easy to cut with tin snip/utility knife....no saws or sanders needed. Make sure the product sits in the room for 48 hrs to come to temp. I used heat gun to give more "tack" to the grip strip. Its great because you can walk or move furniture on it right after you "roll it". Don't have to abandon the room for 24-48 hr to let adhesive/grout cure. You can save alot by making you own partial tiles by splitting the backing off. One nit pick is I'd like a gloss finish but HD does not suggest using a sealer.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Looks High End, very economical- low waste, walk/move furniture immediately, looks like real stone, quiet to walk on, drop a pot ...no cracks or chips, install over existing sheet vinyl flooring
Cons: some pieces were defective, can't use sealer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 in. x 36 in. Red Rock Resilient Vinyl Tile Flooring (24 sq. ft. / case)
Jalei
from Roanoke, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

need i say more.........

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
as a contractor.....i recommend this in most flooring jobs....love it
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>