728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

The StrikeMaster II Pro stops home invasions by preventing door kick-ins. FBI statistics show that the majority of home break-ins are caused by burglars kicking in the door. Unless extra reinforcement is taken to strengthen the door frame, a forced entry of kick-in burglary will split open the wooded door frame around the lock. StrikeMaster II Pro provides real protection. It's the easiest to install door jamb and hinge reinforcement product available. Its 4 ft. of customized steel turns soft wood door frame casing into solid steel. The StrikeMaster II Pro's patent pending double steel plate design along with extra long screws, bite into the wall studs surrounding the door frame reinforcing the casing and door hinges. Now, the StrikeMaster II Pro comes with the Door Edge Pro which reinforces the door and keeps it from spliting during kick-in attempts. The StrikeMaster II Pro has been installed on thousands of homes without a single failure. It does not require additional locking devices. It is powder coated white to match most homeowners’ trim color or can be painted to match any decor. The average homeowner can install it in less than 30 minutes. No cutting or removal of the door casing is necessary. The StrikeMaster II Pro will fit any outside door frame including doors with side-lights and double entry doors. Also repairs and strengthens already broken door frames.
Overall rating:
4.522 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(90 reviews) 90
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product82 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(24)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product82 of 88reviews
Customer reviews for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Review 1 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from Dallas Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FAILED!!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed this product after a break-in. on the 15th of July. My house was again broken into on the 24th of July. They probably had to kick the door a couple more times but it did not keep them out. it is now shaped like an 's' from Kiss' logo. Did not work.
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
9out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Worry About Your House When Your Gone

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Fairly simple installation for anyone with a drill and screw drivers. I installed 4 of these units on my new home along with new door locks and deadbolts. Some door frames did require a wood plane to make some more room so the door would close. I decided to give the unit installed on my rear garage door a few kicks and was happy to see that everything was very solid. I'm a big guy and the whole wall shook but the door didn't budge.
I highly recommend this to anyone concerned about their house getting broken into. The unit is pricey for such a simple design but it's worth it in my mind.
Too bad this is not an in store item... not too many people are security minded it seems.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: price
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from Topeka, Kansas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My youngest son installed this for us. Because the door fit tightly he had to reshim the hinged side but for him that was easy. The parts then installed readily and although I'm not going to try to kick the door in to test it they seem to do their job. He used the longer screws supplied to anchor it and also installed longer screws on the hinged side to make the entire door more difficult to kick out.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

simple, but

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The door strike plate installed very easily and without any noteworthy issues. Very solid and no surprises. The door bolt reinforcement plates were a different story. Drilling the holes was easy, but when tightening the two screws that hold the two plates in place one of them got stuck before it was all the way tight and wouldn't move any further. In the end the screw head broke off and the whole screw had to be drilled out.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is one of the best door security devices that I have come across.

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a toolmaker by trade and was doing online research for something that would increase my home security after having my home burglarize. The culprit kicked in my door. When I looked at the Strikemaster II Pro online I knew from my years of metal fabrication experience that this product was worth trying out. I purchased one and installed on my front door. After which, being 6'2" and 275 lbs. I personally tryed to kick my own door in to test it out before someone else did. The end result was that I ended up with a sore foot and a solid standing door. I will be purchasing 2 more to give my home the complete security that I need living out in the country.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from Matthews, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation was easy...not the best looking kit.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installation was not hard at all however this is not the best looking kit. I installed this on the door going to the garage. I will probably end up buying another kit for the other door in the garage that goes to the outside because the kit was easy to install and this appears to be one of the cheapest kits for what you get. My only complaint is that the door does not shut as tight as it should, even after adjusting the tab for the door knob latch. I would not recommend putting this kit on your front door or any other door where you would want a neat appearance. It wouldn't be so bad if they made a particular kit depending on which way the door opened so you wouldn't have a cutout for a dead bolt latch to stare at.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable
Cons: not best appearance wise.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Age Range:45 to 54

Very Good product, fairly easy to install.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I liked it so much I purchased 3 more. Solves splintered or cracked wood around your frame and the bonus is it ads a lot of strength & security. May require a small amount of filing were the deadbolt goes in. A couple of my doors did and a couple did not. Also you need to cut off the strike plate lip flush were the doorknob bolt enters the frame to make this fit over it. Otherwise it is fairly easy to install. Price is a bit high but it is a lot easier than replacing your frames.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from St Charles, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best defense against brute force/kick in entries!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a retired police officer. In my 28 years of experience I investigated hundreds of forced entry burglaries. The vast majority of these were the result of brute force / kick in entries. I purchased the Strikemaster II Pro from Home Depot for my home. This product provides the best defense against door kick entries I have ever seen. I would strongly recommend every home owner consider this product as their first line defense in better securing their home. The proof is available on the product website in the form of a clear demonstration video. Strikemaster is an outstanding, professional and ethical company providing a unique and effective product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

Didn't work with standard door and door frame

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is definitely high quality, and I believe it does what it says; however, after my husband attempted to install, watched the videos, and even consulted some home improvement experts, it was determined that our door frame would have to be altered in order for this to work. The labor and cost required wasn't really worth it for us since we don't plan on being in our current home too much longer. I gave a 3 star rating because I'm sure the product works, but even with a STANDARD door and door frame, installation was too much of a hassle.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from Tampa, FL, USA

Decent product, does what it says, just pricey

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The product was easy to install, and looks good. It is just a simple product, that is way overpriced. You could purchase a piece of steel, and craft it yourself if you have a little ability in cutting out holes for latch. In fact, I will do just that for my other door.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from Katy, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Door Frame & Hinge Reinforcement

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install with excellent instructions. Appears to be excellent product. Comes with a neat little sticker deterrent.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product but difficult installation

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these products to increase the security of our existing doors. The quality seems good and I seriously doubt that anyone could kick them in without a LOT of effort.
I did run into four issues with installation:
1) The clearance between my door and frame is tight and I was required to chisel out approx 1/8 the frame to make it fit.
2) The metal was wider than my frame so I had to dremmel a grove along the back side in order for it to set flush with the front of the door jam.
3) After chiseling enough wood away to allow it to fit I had to pry out the molding around the door jam so that the front curved edge could slide behind it.
4) My pre-existing dead bolt did not line up with the pre-cut holes. I had to extend the deadbolt slot about an inch with a hack saw and dremmel to make it work. (This was only a problem for me because my original DB was installed a little low)
This added a few hours to the installation time. Fortunately I had the knowledge to perform these additional tasks. The included instructions contain no pictures and very little in terms of fitting it into anything other then a perfect fit scenario.
Once installed it works and looks great. I have no doubts that it will work as intended. I will recommend this product be be aware that you may run into issues if your doors have a very tight seal or if your dead bolts don't line up with the pre cut slots.
Despite my issues I will be purchasing two more for my garage doors. I have already checked and I will not have the same fitment issues with them.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

Update to my prior review

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I mentioned in my prior review that one might not have to use the included Door Edge Pro with the Strikemaster if the door is metal. Turns out I was wrong, most metal doors really aren't stronger than other door materials like wood. So I went back and installed the DEP on my metal garage door as well.
No matter how sturdy you think you door is, I would use the DEP along with the Strikemaster.
As a side note, it's been a few days since my installation and every time I use my doors I think how solid the doors feel when they close and lock. It's like closing a vault door. I guarantee you will be happy you did this project.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product idea, but not perfect installation

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This should be a must have on all homes. Why new homes dont come standard with these is beyond me. I have researched thoroughly on reinforcing the door frame and every reference came back to the Strikemaster.
The only complaint was this. It comes with 2 pieces, one sits on top of the other. But since the outside one contains a lip to it (which is meant to wrap around the edge of the frame just a little) and the width of my frame was wider than that piece by a tad, it made the strikemaster not sit flush against the frame. Thus I had to only use one of the pieces and had to hammer the lip flat. Plus the screws it came with were too long, I had to go and get smaller ones.
No way of knowing this until you order one and test fit it. But a simple and cheap fix either way.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

great product

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
as stated, easy to install and great product, I always test my products I buy online and this one was no exception. installed on garage door and kicked until i couldnt anymore and door remained shut. and please read on this is important...i also tested my door WITHOUT the strike master and put 4 inch screws through the plate that houses the deadbolt when locked, sadly it did not withstand even one kick with my 5'9 180lb body. I have always heard that longer screws that go to the stud would work but they did not. I was a little surprised.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from Greenville, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Hopes for This Product

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a landlord in the midst of a streak of break-ins. Three out of four units I have in this complex have been broken into and one of them had the EZ armor product installed from Lowes. The thief was able to eventually kick through and rip the EZ armor away from the door jam. And the EZ armor also failed in another unit 2 doors down in am earlier break-in. Thats when I began searching for something even stronger. I discovered the StrikeMaster II product. It has larger reinforcing plates with 2 layers of steel and 13 contact points attaching to stud with fully threaded screws. I'm confident this reinforcement kit will at least secure my doors so I've ordered 3 more kits to replace the EZ Armor systems in my other units!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quality Product

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a Police Officer in New Jersey and have investigated several home burglaries in which the suspect(s) gained entry in to the home or business by defeating a front or back door equipped with standard hardware. When giving the homeowners advice to thwart future break-ins, I advised them to install motion-sensing exterior lighting, trim back vegetation near their home, and invest in an alarm system. Unfortunately, I never had first-hand knowledge of a reliable product which prevented a door from being kicked in.
Furthermore, I never felt the need to fortify the doors in my own residence. This was mostly due to the fact I perceived my neighborhood to be situated in a low-crime area. Recently, several homeowners near my development have had their front doors kicked, during broad daylight, and their homes burglarized. After a string of these front door kick-in burglaries occurred, the local police organized a meeting for the township residents and advised the homeowners to purchase the “Door Club” to prevent this from happening. After looking into the “Door Club” for my own home, I quickly realized the several inherent drawbacks to the device, not to mention the eyesore it posed.
After performing a product search via Internet, I stumbled onto the Strikemaster II Pro & Door Edge Pro. I did not like the fact that I could not physically see and touch the product in my local Home Depot, but after watching the videos and testimonials I went ahead and purchased the kit from the Home Depot Website. Once it arrived, I was impressed with the quality screws and sturdy construction of both the StrikeMaster and Door Edge Pro. I would just like to say that I am not “handy” with a drill and have failed at several home improvement projects involving driving screws into drywall and or wood studs. Despite my inexperience I went ahead and began the install after setting up my laptop near the door and following along with the short instructional video and pausing it while I performed each step. I took my time and to my dismay, I had installed both the StrikeMaster and Door Edge Pro and changed out the existing screws in my door hinge with the extra included hardware in about 40 minutes.
I was thankful to see the door opened and closed perfectly and no modifications were necessary at all. I immediately could see how much the StrikeMaster improved the “seal” of the door and overall sturdiness when opening, closing, and locking. I am confident my front door is now secure and will not fall victim to a kick-in scenario. I am really surprised this product is not sold inside Home Depot stores. I know the majority of the public has no idea this product exists. I will be ordering a second StrikeMaster / Door Edge Pro Kit for my garage door and will be spreading the word to my family, friends, fellow police officers and future victims of home burglaries whom I deal with.
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

works well with some modification

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(1) I am not able to use both metal parts. If both are used, they are too thick and my door won't close. I cannot discard the unused part away either. I cut it to leave the little metal "tongue" (which helps door close without turning knob).
(2) A big hole have to be drilled on the metal in order to make the security alarm on the door still work.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: not design well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

Should work great, a little more difficult to install than advertised.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was well made and should work as advertised though the installation was not a straight forward "screw on". Had to dig out the original framing shims on my door casing to stud wall to get enough clearance with the StrikeMaster installed. If your door to casing gap doesn't have a little clearance when closing, (about 1/8") OR the original casing shims are properly installed (which means the screws for StrikeMaster don't pull casing closer to wall stud when installing), the door will hit the casing. Digging out the shims was easy for me but may not be for some, be prepared!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
from AZ

Not as easy as they say, but good nonetheless

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this item for two reasons: 1) security and 2) because the strike-plate area of the door frame on my front door had been drilled/mortised out a number of times by previous owners who tried to install new hardware and changed their minds, so the door did not close completely against the door insulation. Anyway, this item solved both those problems for me, however, I had to take a router and trim down the inside edge of the door where the 90-degree side of the strikemaster sits so that the door would close completely. This was a bit of a pain and took a few hours to do correctly and cleanly, but once it was done the strikemaster sits properly and securely in place (of course, caulking and painting will be necessary now). It should be noted that the thickness of the strikemaster would probably prevent this from being installed in most of the other houses I've lived in (my current front door had a very "loose" fit in the frame, so it was no problem), so I'd be really careful and even skeptical about whether it would work in your door. Definitely visit their website and read up on the installation procedures first. Then take a ton of measurements before you buy this (somewhat pricey) item. If it doesn't fit as easily as they claim on your door, custom work will be needed. Let's just say that I've never spent so much money on two pieces of metal before in my life. :) Oh, and one other annoying thing is that the printed instructions that come with the item have a ton of spelling and grammatical errors throughout. These errors actually make installation more difficult because you're sitting there trying to figure out what they mean by "place it is flat metal piece the angled one." Definitely written by a high school dropout, but if you know what you are doing and how the item works, you can make it work beautifully.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>