728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement

The StrikeMaster II Pro stops home invasions by preventing door kick-ins. FBI statistics show that the majority of home break-ins are caused by burglars kicking in the door. Unless extra reinforcement is taken to strengthen the door frame, a forced entry of kick-in burglary will split open the wooded door frame around the lock. StrikeMaster II Pro provides real protection. It's the easiest to install door jamb and hinge reinforcement product available. Its 4 feet of customized steel turns soft wood door frame casing into solid steel. The StrikeMaster II Pro's patent pending double steel plate design along with extra long screws, bite into the wall studs surrounding the door frame reinforcing the casing and door hinges. Now, the StrikeMaster II Pro comes with the Door Edge Pro which reinforces the door and keeps it from spliting during kick-in attempts. The StrikeMaster II Pro has been installed on thousands of homes without a single failure. It does not require additional locking devices. It is powder coated white to match most homeowners’ trim color or can be painted to match any decor. The average homeowner can install it in less than 30 minutes. No cutting or removal of the door casing is necessary. The StrikeMaster II Pro will fit any outside door frame including doors with side-lights and double entry doors. Also repairs and strengthens already broken door frames.
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product76 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(57)
4
(21)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product76 of 81reviews
Customer reviews for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Review 1 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
JayS
from NH
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Worry About Your House When Your Gone

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Fairly simple installation for anyone with a drill and screw drivers. I installed 4 of these units on my new home along with new door locks and deadbolts. Some door frames did require a wood plane to make some more room so the door would close. I decided to give the unit installed on my rear garage door a few kicks and was happy to see that everything was very solid. I'm a big guy and the whole wall shook but the door didn't budge.
I highly recommend this to anyone concerned about their house getting broken into. The unit is pricey for such a simple design but it's worth it in my mind.
Too bad this is not an in store item... not too many people are security minded it seems.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
Cons: price
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
SDW1
Age Range:45 to 54

Very Good product, fairly easy to install.

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I liked it so much I purchased 3 more. Solves splintered or cracked wood around your frame and the bonus is it ads a lot of strength & security. May require a small amount of filing were the deadbolt goes in. A couple of my doors did and a couple did not. Also you need to cut off the strike plate lip flush were the doorknob bolt enters the frame to make this fit over it. Otherwise it is fairly easy to install. Price is a bit high but it is a lot easier than replacing your frames.
Pros: Sturdy, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
BobsYerUncle
from Tampa, FL, USA

Decent product, does what it says, just pricey

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The product was easy to install, and looks good. It is just a simple product, that is way overpriced. You could purchase a piece of steel, and craft it yourself if you have a little ability in cutting out holes for latch. In fact, I will do just that for my other door.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
APruitt
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Strikemaster II

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Recently, I purchased the Strikemaster and it was a easy installation. There were several videos on youtube that I used while installing this product. It was very noticable how sturdy the door was once installed and my wife and I felt more safe. The Strikemaster II along with us purchasing a alarm system makes us feel confident that it will be harder for intruders to enter our home.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Beek
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to install.

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This product is easy to install and very effective in making the door and door jam much stronger.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable, Nice Design, very effective
Cons: pricey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Ryan
from Matthews, NC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation was easy...not the best looking kit.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Installation was not hard at all however this is not the best looking kit. I installed this on the door going to the garage. I will probably end up buying another kit for the other door in the garage that goes to the outside because the kit was easy to install and this appears to be one of the cheapest kits for what you get. My only complaint is that the door does not shut as tight as it should, even after adjusting the tab for the door knob latch. I would not recommend putting this kit on your front door or any other door where you would want a neat appearance. It wouldn't be so bad if they made a particular kit depending on which way the door opened so you wouldn't have a cutout for a dead bolt latch to stare at.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Durable
Cons: not best appearance wise.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Walt
from Oklahoma, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is one of the best door security devices that I have come across.

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a toolmaker by trade and was doing online research for something that would increase my home security after having my home burglarize. The culprit kicked in my door. When I looked at the Strikemaster II Pro online I knew from my years of metal fabrication experience that this product was worth trying out. I purchased one and installed on my front door. After which, being 6'2" and 275 lbs. I personally tryed to kick my own door in to test it out before someone else did. The end result was that I ended up with a sore foot and a solid standing door. I will be purchasing 2 more to give my home the complete security that I need living out in the country.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Flamebrain
from Buffalo Grove, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

StrikeMaster II Pro makes you feel safe in your home

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The StrikeMaster II Pro arrived quickly and all parts were in the box. I had them installed by a locksmith who had to drill and cut certain areas as my house is old and the cutouts did not line up. The product is secure and makes me feel safe in my home. There is no way I see that anyone could kick the door in with this installed.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
reviewer

works well with some modification

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
(1) I am not able to use both metal parts. If both are used, they are too thick and my door won't close. I cannot discard the unused part away either. I cut it to leave the little metal "tongue" (which helps door close without turning knob).
(2) A big hole have to be drilled on the metal in order to make the security alarm on the door still work.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: not design well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
TJS2222
from St Charles, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best defense against brute force/kick in entries!

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a retired police officer. In my 28 years of experience I investigated hundreds of forced entry burglaries. The vast majority of these were the result of brute force / kick in entries. I purchased the Strikemaster II Pro from Home Depot for my home. This product provides the best defense against door kick entries I have ever seen. I would strongly recommend every home owner consider this product as their first line defense in better securing their home. The proof is available on the product website in the form of a clear demonstration video. Strikemaster is an outstanding, professional and ethical company providing a unique and effective product.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
hlbe
from wv

better than competion

PostedMarch 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the door sentinel. I have magnetic door strips. The hinge brace and door brace if used will leave spaces for air drafts. The strikemaster door facing item is twice as long and heavier.The door pro will fit beside the magnetic door strips.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Gene4Auburn
from Phenix City
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overpriced for what it is, but definitely works.

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
due to recent burglaries involving doors being kicked in, i was looking for something other than the masterlock door brace to keep my family safe. this product does what it says and if someone kicks the door in they will bring half the wall down with it. i feel that the price is twice as much as it should be and was very easy to install
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Powaybob
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Solid product; simple installation

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our newly built house had a large gap between the door and frame that did not look secure. I found this product and ordered it. Everything needed was in the package, and installation was straightforward. I am going to install another one on the door to the garage, where the contractor used 1/2 inch screws to attach the door. They are a bit pricey, but they do increase my confidence in the security of the door. I plan to eventually outfit all of the entry doors with Strikemasters.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
MDinMI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product but difficult installation

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these products to increase the security of our existing doors. The quality seems good and I seriously doubt that anyone could kick them in without a LOT of effort.
I did run into four issues with installation:
1) The clearance between my door and frame is tight and I was required to chisel out approx 1/8 the frame to make it fit.
2) The metal was wider than my frame so I had to dremmel a grove along the back side in order for it to set flush with the front of the door jam.
3) After chiseling enough wood away to allow it to fit I had to pry out the molding around the door jam so that the front curved edge could slide behind it.
4) My pre-existing dead bolt did not line up with the pre-cut holes. I had to extend the deadbolt slot about an inch with a hack saw and dremmel to make it work. (This was only a problem for me because my original DB was installed a little low)
This added a few hours to the installation time. Fortunately I had the knowledge to perform these additional tasks. The included instructions contain no pictures and very little in terms of fitting it into anything other then a perfect fit scenario.
Once installed it works and looks great. I have no doubts that it will work as intended. I will recommend this product be be aware that you may run into issues if your doors have a very tight seal or if your dead bolts don't line up with the pre cut slots.
Despite my issues I will be purchasing two more for my garage doors. I have already checked and I will not have the same fitment issues with them.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
DL10
from Florida
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product idea, but not perfect installation

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This should be a must have on all homes. Why new homes dont come standard with these is beyond me. I have researched thoroughly on reinforcing the door frame and every reference came back to the Strikemaster.
The only complaint was this. It comes with 2 pieces, one sits on top of the other. But since the outside one contains a lip to it (which is meant to wrap around the edge of the frame just a little) and the width of my frame was wider than that piece by a tad, it made the strikemaster not sit flush against the frame. Thus I had to only use one of the pieces and had to hammer the lip flat. Plus the screws it came with were too long, I had to go and get smaller ones.
No way of knowing this until you order one and test fit it. But a simple and cheap fix either way.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Brad

Update to my prior review

PostedJanuary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I mentioned in my prior review that one might not have to use the included Door Edge Pro with the Strikemaster if the door is metal. Turns out I was wrong, most metal doors really aren't stronger than other door materials like wood. So I went back and installed the DEP on my metal garage door as well.
No matter how sturdy you think you door is, I would use the DEP along with the Strikemaster.
As a side note, it's been a few days since my installation and every time I use my doors I think how solid the doors feel when they close and lock. It's like closing a vault door. I guarantee you will be happy you did this project.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
TooCool
from Chicago
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, I know my family is safer.

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It only took a few minute to install. My door is definately more secure. I have a home security system but , It won't keep someone from damaging my door and getting into my home.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Nice Design, peace of mind, quality product, paintable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Louis
from Las Cruces, NM, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product.m

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The only thing that bugged me was that the instructions did not come in the box or with the screw sets. I had to go to the products website to download then.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
Jason
from Greenville, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High Hopes for This Product

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm a landlord in the midst of a streak of break-ins. Three out of four units I have in this complex have been broken into and one of them had the EZ armor product installed from Lowes. The thief was able to eventually kick through and rip the EZ armor away from the door jam. And the EZ armor also failed in another unit 2 doors down in am earlier break-in. Thats when I began searching for something even stronger. I discovered the StrikeMaster II product. It has larger reinforcing plates with 2 layers of steel and 13 contact points attaching to stud with fully threaded screws. I'm confident this reinforcement kit will at least secure my doors so I've ordered 3 more kits to replace the EZ Armor systems in my other units!!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Frame and Hinge Reinforcement
NewJerseyLEO
from New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quality Product

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a Police Officer in New Jersey and have investigated several home burglaries in which the suspect(s) gained entry in to the home or business by defeating a front or back door equipped with standard hardware. When giving the homeowners advice to thwart future break-ins, I advised them to install motion-sensing exterior lighting, trim back vegetation near their home, and invest in an alarm system. Unfortunately, I never had first-hand knowledge of a reliable product which prevented a door from being kicked in.
Furthermore, I never felt the need to fortify the doors in my own residence. This was mostly due to the fact I perceived my neighborhood to be situated in a low-crime area. Recently, several homeowners near my development have had their front doors kicked, during broad daylight, and their homes burglarized. After a string of these front door kick-in burglaries occurred, the local police organized a meeting for the township residents and advised the homeowners to purchase the “Door Club” to prevent this from happening. After looking into the “Door Club” for my own home, I quickly realized the several inherent drawbacks to the device, not to mention the eyesore it posed.
After performing a product search via Internet, I stumbled onto the Strikemaster II Pro & Door Edge Pro. I did not like the fact that I could not physically see and touch the product in my local Home Depot, but after watching the videos and testimonials I went ahead and purchased the kit from the Home Depot Website. Once it arrived, I was impressed with the quality screws and sturdy construction of both the StrikeMaster and Door Edge Pro. I would just like to say that I am not “handy” with a drill and have failed at several home improvement projects involving driving screws into drywall and or wood studs. Despite my inexperience I went ahead and began the install after setting up my laptop near the door and following along with the short instructional video and pausing it while I performed each step. I took my time and to my dismay, I had installed both the StrikeMaster and Door Edge Pro and changed out the existing screws in my door hinge with the extra included hardware in about 40 minutes.
I was thankful to see the door opened and closed perfectly and no modifications were necessary at all. I immediately could see how much the StrikeMaster improved the “seal” of the door and overall sturdiness when opening, closing, and locking. I am confident my front door is now secure and will not fall victim to a kick-in scenario. I am really surprised this product is not sold inside Home Depot stores. I know the majority of the public has no idea this product exists. I will be ordering a second StrikeMaster / Door Edge Pro Kit for my garage door and will be spreading the word to my family, friends, fellow police officers and future victims of home burglaries whom I deal with.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>