728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template

Door Hinge Template

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Door Hinge Template. This door hinge template fits most standard door thicknesses. The robust clamp secures to the door without the use of screws or nails. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.041 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product80 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(47)
4
(27)
3
(10)
2
(9)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product80 of 96reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template
Review 1 for Door Hinge Template
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use with great features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit to install 3 doors in our kitchen and found it very easy to use. It made short work of making perfect cuts on the door for the hinges.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Hinge Template
from Boynton Beach, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A once flawed product that now works great

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I would like to clear up some confusion with this product. Some of the older reviews were quite negative because the 5/8" radius was not correct. This is absolutely true of the original version of this product, but some time in 2012 or 2013 Ryobi corrected this. The old insert was a 3/8" radius (I'm not sure how that got past Quality Control at Ryobi), but later models have the correct 5/8" radius.
The current green and black model (A99HT2) absolutely has the correct 5/8" radius as I have tested it.
I happened to have the old version which I had not yet used for a 5/8" radius hinge and noticed the problem with the incorrect radius and decided to get a newer version to see if there was an improvement, which there was.
When I called Ryobi about this they were not very helpful since the old one was past the one year warranty, therefore I'm giving this a 4 star review. In my opinion if you produce a completely flawed product you should stand behind it, and since really all I needed was the newer inserts I thought they could at least send them. But nope, they wouldn't.
Nonetheless I bought the newer version, which I slightly regret since I'd rather not give Ryobi any more business, but it does now work right and I think it is worth it to save the time on hinge mortises.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: ryobi not standing behind their product
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Hinge Template
from Temecula
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, perfect cuts

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like this product because it performs perfectly. It will cut any hinge and the fit is very exact. The router bit is included and the depth gauge on the side of the tool works very well. I have done over 50 doors with this simple jig and the fit has always been perfect. As long as you carefully align each door, top to bottom, place the jig in the appropriate location, you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend this jig.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Hinge Template
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not accurate depth for 4" hinge on a 1-3/4 door

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works okay for a 3-1/2 hinge, even though the cheap plastic mechanism that moves to adjust hinge size has enough give to make the mortisse too big by about 1/64. The real problem though is a 4" hinge on a 1-3/4 door, the jig places the hinge 3/16 from the outside edge of the door, which is of course 1/8" too deep! If you're doing exterior doors, stay away from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not accurate
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Hinge Template
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Door Hinge Temple

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My project was to remove bi fold doors on the pantry which has a 48 inch framed door way. I bought 2 24"X80" slab doors with smooth sides to install in place of the bi fold doors. The doors were not mortised for hinges so I bought the Ryobi Door Hinge Template. The door frame was not mortised for door hinges. I used the RYobi template on the doors with my Ryobi Router. The door hinge mortises took about 20 minutes to make and that included the setup time on the router.
At this point I needed to mortise the door frame but no door frame template was included in the Ryobi kit. After thinking about this for awhile, it became obvious I could easily make a door frame template using the door hinge temple. I used a piece of 3/4" hard wood about 12" long. Made certain one edge was straight. Then I ripped the board on my table saw the exact same width as the door frame template opening for the doors. I inserted the piece of wood into the door hinge template so that it appeared as a really wide door. Then I clamped it and using the router I routed an opening in the board the size of my hinges. I then had a door frame template.
After installing the door stop in the frame, I placed the non open side against the door stop at the appropriate heights. I then set up the router to use this template with the proper depth set for the hinges I was using and routed the mortises in a few minutes. The hinges fit perfectly in the door and frame. I added pull knobs to the doors and used a spring ball latch at the top of each door. Then I attached a 72 in. x 12 in. 8-Tier Ventilated Storage Rack to the back of each door which was the objective of the project.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Hinge Template
from Lady Lake Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this due to some of the negative reviews but I needed to replace ( 8 ) doors and
the chisel was not an option. I hate plastic anything especially in tools and jigs but this one works great.
Two problems I read about was the 5/8 radius was off and the jig wood give too much when tightening to
the door. There is no reason to over tighten because it grips very well and out of the 8 doors I replaced, the
jig or template never moved and the 5/8 radius was perfect. End of day it is like brand new and will do many more doors. The best tool to use is a laminate router because it is much lighter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Hinge Template
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Jig for Accurate Results

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like other reviewers have noted, while this jig is plastic, it does give accurate results and is very easy to use. The router bit included is sharp and works well on both MDF (hollow core doors) as well as solid wood. As others have noted, you do need to chisel out the corners if you are using square hinges (since all router bits work by rotation). The rounded hinges will fit perfectly into the rounded corners. I'm not sure I would depend on this jig to do loads of doors, but for the typical DIY-er this is going to save a lot of time and frustration compared to hand-chiseling the mortises. For the modest price, it is a very good purchase even if you plan to do just a few doors.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Hinge Template
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Door Hinge Template

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a finish carpenter of over 30 years and usually mortise hinges with a router freehand. I purchased pre-finished oak raised panel and half glass doors and decided to try the Ryobi Door Hinge Template because it clamps to the door while other jigs need to be nailed which is ok if you are painting the door. I measured the existing hinge, marked the door clamped the template turned on mo router and in 10 seconds I was done and the hinge fit like a glove for under $30 this is a must if you are a novice or a pro. Ryobi needs to make a jamb template to match
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Hinge Template
from Colorado Springs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

never leave home without it

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've used this jig to set several hundred mortise for doors, I've gone through 2 and I'm on my 3rd one. plastic material would be better if more rigid. Soft plastic tends to shave off when setting router down for plunge cut.
definitely room for improvement, but a great tool for the DYI'r...
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Hinge Template
from Halifax, Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool, good price

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Template is very easy to use. Clamp-on feature is a real plus. Kit includes a router bit, which was a pleasant surprise. For this price the bit probably isn't high quality, but it held up well for the six hinges I needed. As the template is plastic and somewhat flexible, I used a compact router. Mortises were clean and hinges fit snugly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Hinge Template
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product....

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the Porter Cable template years ago that I borrowed from a friend. I was getting ready to buy one of my own when I came across this Ryobi hinge template. This Ryobi template is far better than any other jig on the market. The clamp on design and hinge sizing slide make this very easy to use and the cuts are spot on.
If you are looking for the easiest, most straight forward way to cut hinge mortises, this product is the one for you!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Hinge Template

Did what I needed it to do.

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As others have said, this jig is only for doors and not the jambs otherwise I would give it 5 stars. It is quick to set up and easy to use, as a novice DIYer doing his first door my favorite features were the adjuster for the size of the hinge and the depth guide for the router bit, it was almost a let down when I routed out the mortises, they cut so fast and clean that it seemed like it was over before I could appreciate the ease at which I was doing it .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Hinge Template

Simple design. An incredible time saver.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to mortise out spots for hinges on 11 doors. I'd initially planned to just use a chisel. As I realized how time consuming that would be, I looked for options. And this thing works great, including flexibility to support all major door hinge sizes/styles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Hinge Template
from Gainesville Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good tool for getting doors prepped

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is very easy to use and very self explanatory. And all for a very reasonable price!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Hinge Template
from Redmond, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality product

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has the potential to be great but has serious flaws:
- the reversible plastic corners are made of a very soft plastic and were suffering wear after the very first cut. By the fourth cut they were completely useless. I was using a fairly high powered router (I don't own a trim router) so that may be partly to blame, but the main unit does not have this issue so it seems like poor materials. They should make them from something better or make it easy to purchase replacements
- the adjustable slider for different hinge sizes is not flush with the rest of the bracket, leading to a ridge in the cutout. Perhaps I had a bad unit, but given the terrible corners I expect I can't return it
Not at all happy with this purchase.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Hinge Template
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

ok for what you are buying

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't forget; you need to rout out the jambs as well and this tool does not have this capability. Works well on a door, but that is only half of the job.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Hinge Template

Hinge plate

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works that well and is very easy to set up. I will be using this on several more doors and enjoy the idea of clamp on clamp off easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Hinge Template
from san francisco
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

performs as expected

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Performs as advertised. Somewhat disappointed in quality of product.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Hinge Template
from Landover, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked like a charm!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to install new closet doors. The template was perfect. The old hardware was from the 80's and was still in place and the template cut them PERFECT. It took seconds to cut each door. Who knew hanging doors could be so easy. Requires other tools that I did not own but a friend did. Thank goodness!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Hinge Template

Steer clear

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made terrible inaccurate cuts.
The bearing didnt run along the guide in multiple spots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>