728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Bits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template

Door Hinge Template

The Ryobi Door Hinge Template is designed to work with almost any door hinge. This door hinge template fits most standard door thicknesses. The robust clamp secures to the door without the use of screws or nails.
Overall rating:
4.037 / 5
4
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product44 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 54 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(27)
4
(12)
3
(8)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product44 of 52reviews
Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template
Review 1 for Door Hinge Template
ron1wood
from Lady Lake Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this due to some of the negative reviews but I needed to replace ( 8 ) doors and
the chisel was not an option. I hate plastic anything especially in tools and jigs but this one works great.
Two problems I read about was the 5/8 radius was off and the jig wood give too much when tightening to
the door. There is no reason to over tighten because it grips very well and out of the 8 doors I replaced, the
jig or template never moved and the 5/8 radius was perfect. End of day it is like brand new and will do many more doors. The best tool to use is a laminate router because it is much lighter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Hinge Template
mikewisc
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Jig for Accurate Results

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like other reviewers have noted, while this jig is plastic, it does give accurate results and is very easy to use. The router bit included is sharp and works well on both MDF (hollow core doors) as well as solid wood. As others have noted, you do need to chisel out the corners if you are using square hinges (since all router bits work by rotation). The rounded hinges will fit perfectly into the rounded corners. I'm not sure I would depend on this jig to do loads of doors, but for the typical DIY-er this is going to save a lot of time and frustration compared to hand-chiseling the mortises. For the modest price, it is a very good purchase even if you plan to do just a few doors.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Hinge Template
jsalvas
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use with great features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to install 3 doors in our kitchen and found it very easy to use. It made short work of making perfect cuts on the door for the hinges.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Hinge Template
sonicman
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Door Hinge Template

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a finish carpenter of over 30 years and usually mortise hinges with a router freehand. I purchased pre-finished oak raised panel and half glass doors and decided to try the Ryobi Door Hinge Template because it clamps to the door while other jigs need to be nailed which is ok if you are painting the door. I measured the existing hinge, marked the door clamped the template turned on mo router and in 10 seconds I was done and the hinge fit like a glove for under $30 this is a must if you are a novice or a pro. Ryobi needs to make a jamb template to match
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Hinge Template
Tom31w
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent tool

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed to replace 4 doors during our remodel and this hinge template made a normally difficult job very simple and quick. We did 4 doors in the time it normally would have taken to do do one hinge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Hinge Template
Handyman
from Highlands Ranch, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A real time saver.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as advertised, Easy to use, comes with router bit and convenient gauges for hinge depth.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Hinge Template
Dale
from Copperas Cove, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful Convenience

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used to do this job with a chisel and mallet. I finally decided that a template would make the job faster and cleaner. My only problem is wondering why I didn't buy this long ago.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Hinge Template
choreo
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Professional results

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just purchased a new Solid Core Interior door from HD and needed to add my own hinge locations. I purchased one of these units and together with my Makita Laminate Trimmer (router), it made the job quick and effortless. Absolutely Professional results!
The only reason I dropped one star on quality was that the vice-bar that tightens to the door initially would start to bow when the screw-down was tightened. This may not be a problem and may last a long time. It did not affect the quality of my cuts, but I only did one door (so far). Just would have felt like a higher quality if the bar had been of a more rigid material.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Hinge Template
MattD
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Perfect Tool

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared to chiseling the door freehand, this product saves you time and turns out a perfect end result.
No guesswork with the template. Worth the money and whoever you loan it to in the future will owe you one.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Hinge Template
Bush

Cheap but good solution.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently replaced 12 doors and used the Ryobi door hinge template. I was surprised how well this relatively inexpensive template worked and how it can be used for various hinge lengths and styles. Worth the money for projects such as mine.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Hinge Template
diytom
from Troy, New York

Almost perfect....

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After trying porter cable's door jig version, I decided to give the Ryobi's door hinge jig a try. I used it on two 1-1/2" thick oak doors and I am somewhat satisfied. I like the fact that the jig comes with a clamp which allows you to easily lock the jig in place. I used this jig to make mortises for 3-1/2" hinges. Because the router bit's guide is slightly larger in diameter than that of the actual bit, the length of the initial mortise was 1/16" too small. I had to unlock the jig, move it by 1/16" (in this case, to the left), reclamp it, and use the router again to finish the mortise. Overall, however, I am content to use this jig again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Hinge Template
RussInCorvallis
from Corvallis, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Must-have if you're hanging door blanks

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's plastic, so not the sturdiest thing in the world, but treat it kindly and it gets the job done. Given that it includes the router bit you need, it's well worth the money. Before I bought this, I spent 45 minutes building my own jig, and it only lasted for one door. Save the hassle, buy this, and get 'er done!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, adjustable, price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Hinge Template
misterB
from MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple to use. A real time saver.

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Includes everything but the router. Even the bit is included. I am not very experienced with a router, but was able to use this product and flawlessly cut hinge pockets on my door slabs. When finished, the doors fit perfectly int the existing jambs. Each door only took about five minutes to cut the 3 pockets. It was just easy and results are very professional. Much better than chiseling!
Pros: Easy to Use, quality results
Cons: no cons
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Hinge Template
Nick
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good lines, but don't push it

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This jig leaves good, clean, accurate lines if you use it right. Just be aware that it's pretty flimsy--don't overtighten it on the door. Not a jig for pros, I imagine it would not last through much wear and tear. And if you're using hinges that have square corners, make sure you have a chisel handy--the trim bit it includes is pretty fat, so leaves a rather big spot of waste in the corners.
Pros: Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Hinge Template
MrBig1
from La Habra, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Worked perfectly

PostedJune 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I hung 3 interior doors and this jig worked flawlessly! This was the first time I have ever hung doors. I am a novice with the router that I just purchased (also a ryobi). The hinges fit perfectly and it was a very professional looking installation. What a time saver from using a chisel. I still had to chisel out the latches on all three doors (should have bought the Ryobi latch installation tool also I guess?) and chiseling one latch took longer that mortising all three doors for the hinges. It is made of plastic so I don,t know how long it will last if you hang a lot of doors?
I highly recommend this jig to anyone that knows how to use a router.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Hinge Template
Phil
from Overland Park, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product worked well and save a lot of time

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My daughter wanted to replace the doors in her house and asked me to help. My first thought was having to chisel all the hinges out and the time. I then saw this device in The Home Depot and wandered why I had never used it before. It is quick and simple to use and I would never go back to the old way of making a hinge recess.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Hinge Template
chris989
from las vegas

decent tool

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well on doors only, I did not notice when i bought it that it had no attachment for routing the door jamb?
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Hinge Template
BillStark
from Hernando Beach,Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use, professional results and the router bit is included. I liked how the template clamped to the door, only negative thing that Ryobi should note is that the clamping plate will flex if over tightened being it is made of plastic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Hinge Template
Fastflyer
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A cutting Edge Product

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This puppy works like a charm. Replaced all the doors in my house and had to cut in all the hinge plates. This gadget made the process fast and easy. Highly recommend.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Hinge Template
Snic68
from Independence, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This products takes out the guess work

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you have never hung a door before you will enjoy this product. I would suggest practice on the old door first before you start hacking at the new one. Be careful with hollow/closet doors, you can break them. With solid doors this tool works the best.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>