728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Bits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template

Door Hinge Template

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Door Hinge Template. This door hinge template fits most standard door thicknesses. The robust clamp secures to the door without the use of screws or nails. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.088 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product57 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(33)
4
(18)
3
(10)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product57 of 66reviews
Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template
Review 1 for Door Hinge Template
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use with great features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to install 3 doors in our kitchen and found it very easy to use. It made short work of making perfect cuts on the door for the hinges.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Hinge Template
from Lady Lake Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this due to some of the negative reviews but I needed to replace ( 8 ) doors and
the chisel was not an option. I hate plastic anything especially in tools and jigs but this one works great.
Two problems I read about was the 5/8 radius was off and the jig wood give too much when tightening to
the door. There is no reason to over tighten because it grips very well and out of the 8 doors I replaced, the
jig or template never moved and the 5/8 radius was perfect. End of day it is like brand new and will do many more doors. The best tool to use is a laminate router because it is much lighter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Hinge Template
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Jig for Accurate Results

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like other reviewers have noted, while this jig is plastic, it does give accurate results and is very easy to use. The router bit included is sharp and works well on both MDF (hollow core doors) as well as solid wood. As others have noted, you do need to chisel out the corners if you are using square hinges (since all router bits work by rotation). The rounded hinges will fit perfectly into the rounded corners. I'm not sure I would depend on this jig to do loads of doors, but for the typical DIY-er this is going to save a lot of time and frustration compared to hand-chiseling the mortises. For the modest price, it is a very good purchase even if you plan to do just a few doors.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Hinge Template
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth it 120%

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This litle thing made cutting the hinge mortises infinitely easier. It comes with a router bit and guide, so you simply adjust the opening to the hinge you have, clamp it on, and go for it. The result you get is a perfect, even mortise for your hinges. The rounding was perfect, and depth is all based on your router settings. My first cut was barely too shallow so I took another layer off without any trouble.
My only complaint with this is the soft plastic used to make it. It should be fine for DIYers or weekend warriors but won't hold up if you use it too often. I pulled my router off before the bit stopped spinning completely and took a bite out of mine. That being said, it's still very much worth the $15 bucks I paid for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Hinge Template
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Door Hinge Template

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a finish carpenter of over 30 years and usually mortise hinges with a router freehand. I purchased pre-finished oak raised panel and half glass doors and decided to try the Ryobi Door Hinge Template because it clamps to the door while other jigs need to be nailed which is ok if you are painting the door. I measured the existing hinge, marked the door clamped the template turned on mo router and in 10 seconds I was done and the hinge fit like a glove for under $30 this is a must if you are a novice or a pro. Ryobi needs to make a jamb template to match
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Hinge Template
from New Lenox, IL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Time Saver

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I threw a tantrum today and put a hole in one of my interior doors. It was beyond repair and needed replacing. This jig did 1000x better job making the correct cut for the hinges than I would have with a chisel. I was happy to spend the $$ for the speed and accuracy.
As the other reviewers have stated, it's plastic, so don't expect it to last forever. Though at this pricepoint, it's not a stretch to buy a new one when/if it breaks.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Hinge Template
from Hillsboro, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Time saver..works great

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Door hinge template is very easy to use and cuts notches out to order. I tend to be heavy handed with a hammer, so I had to be careful. First time I've taken on a door project so am please with the results and am grateful for a tool that made the task easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Hinge Template
from Lawton, Ok
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Door hinge template

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The unit worked great and was pretty easy to use. The only problem I had was with the plastic inserts for the round hinge corners. The first time I used it I accidently hit one of them with the router blade and now my template is slightly off at that one side. The other corner fits like a glove. Wish they could be made of something harder than plastic.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Hinge Template
from Wilmington, DE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Hinge template works great

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the door hinge template to route 10 new doors. The template worked great. It is made of plastic, so you have to be careful not to over tighten it. The one thing that I needed to do was to add a shim to the back of the template to move the routed area closer to the edge about 1/32", otherwise it worked great. I took the time to transfer the location of each hinge, and all 10 doors were installed in one day without any problems. I highly recommend the door hinge template if you plan to buy door slabs.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Hinge Template
from Stevensville, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was replacing interior doors but didn't want to replace the jams. This item made simple work of an otherwise difficult task. Priced well enough to be able to use once and let it sit in my tool box for years until the need arose again.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Hinge Template
from Boca Raton, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very accurate - makes recessing hinges easy!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Inexpensive way to router your door to accept hinges. Adjustable to various door widths and hinge sizes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Hinge Template
from Germantown, MD
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice purchase

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is pretty easy to use, practical and handle tool
Pros: All In One
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Hinge Template
from Branchburg, NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Very Good

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought this would be an easy answer to do mortised hinges but the plastic quality is not very good. There is not enough surface area to support the router and I found the clamp was flimsy. If you over-tighten the clamp it distorts the shape of the template. I did one door with this jig and I have ordered something different. I guess it is good to find out on the first door that it was sub-par as I have 17 more doors to do.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Hinge Template
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Product - Highly Recommended

PostedJuly 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool is a must if you are installing slabs new or remodeling. It is simple, complete, accurate, and worthy of the name Ryobi. I highly recommend this template to speed up the job, make first-time accurate cuts, and safety during operation. The price is reasonable for the value.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Hinge Template
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent tool

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We needed to replace 4 doors during our remodel and this hinge template made a normally difficult job very simple and quick. We did 4 doors in the time it normally would have taken to do do one hinge.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Hinge Template
from Colonial Beach, VA

Great product, Huge timesaver for installing Hinges

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After chiselling one door by hand, I bought this template. Very easy to use and a huge timesaver. I was concerned about it being plastic but there was no problem.That it comes with its own router bit is a plus. One word of caution is hold tight to the router and be sure it is stopped before lifting from template. I chipped the template because I was rushing and lifted router too soon. Operator error not the product. It is worth it to buy for only one door.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Hinge Template
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Professional results

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just purchased a new Solid Core Interior door from HD and needed to add my own hinge locations. I purchased one of these units and together with my Makita Laminate Trimmer (router), it made the job quick and effortless. Absolutely Professional results!
The only reason I dropped one star on quality was that the vice-bar that tightens to the door initially would start to bow when the screw-down was tightened. This may not be a problem and may last a long time. It did not affect the quality of my cuts, but I only did one door (so far). Just would have felt like a higher quality if the bar had been of a more rigid material.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Hinge Template
from Troy, New York

Almost perfect....

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
After trying porter cable's door jig version, I decided to give the Ryobi's door hinge jig a try. I used it on two 1-1/2" thick oak doors and I am somewhat satisfied. I like the fact that the jig comes with a clamp which allows you to easily lock the jig in place. I used this jig to make mortises for 3-1/2" hinges. Because the router bit's guide is slightly larger in diameter than that of the actual bit, the length of the initial mortise was 1/16" too small. I had to unlock the jig, move it by 1/16" (in this case, to the left), reclamp it, and use the router again to finish the mortise. Overall, however, I am content to use this jig again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Hinge Template
from Downingtown
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lots of nice features, some limitations

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This kit is complete with router bit, does both 1/4" and 5/8" radii, is easy to use with smooth bottom routers, and relatively inexpensive. My router did not have a smooth bottom, and some of the edges on the router got stuck on some of the edges on the kit, making a not so smooth cut. The hinges fit well nonetheless. The kit is limited to routing a place for the hinge on the door; it is not going to rout the door jamb.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One
Cons: router gets stuck on edges
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Hinge Template
from las vegas

decent tool

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well on doors only, I did not notice when i bought it that it had no attachment for routing the door jamb?
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>