728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template

Door Hinge Template

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Door Hinge Template. This door hinge template fits most standard door thicknesses. The robust clamp secures to the door without the use of screws or nails. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.038 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product87 of 104reviews
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(51)
4
(29)
3
(11)
2
(9)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product87 of 104reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template
Review 1 for Door Hinge Template
from Klamath Falls OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Didn't Work for Me

PostedJune 12, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I make High-end custom doors & jambs. Mostly exterior, using 4 1/2" baring square corner hings. Sometimes we get a request to match the bore & hing routing to a customer door.
For what it did do, fine, a standardize hing barrel to hing inset. what I need is a fully adjustable jig that compensates for the hing inset. Why? It seems the only time I need single tool jig like this is for something odd, not standard. But it did help to make jig that I could use.
If it had the same type of clamp screw on the front guide rail storage side(C side) it would then be fully adjustable, I'll even pay a little more.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: Limited Features, not fully adjustable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Hinge Template
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use with great features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit to install 3 doors in our kitchen and found it very easy to use. It made short work of making perfect cuts on the door for the hinges.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Hinge Template
from Boynton Beach, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A once flawed product that now works great

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I would like to clear up some confusion with this product. Some of the older reviews were quite negative because the 5/8" radius was not correct. This is absolutely true of the original version of this product, but some time in 2012 or 2013 Ryobi corrected this. The old insert was a 3/8" radius (I'm not sure how that got past Quality Control at Ryobi), but later models have the correct 5/8" radius.
The current green and black model (A99HT2) absolutely has the correct 5/8" radius as I have tested it.
I happened to have the old version which I had not yet used for a 5/8" radius hinge and noticed the problem with the incorrect radius and decided to get a newer version to see if there was an improvement, which there was.
When I called Ryobi about this they were not very helpful since the old one was past the one year warranty, therefore I'm giving this a 4 star review. In my opinion if you produce a completely flawed product you should stand behind it, and since really all I needed was the newer inserts I thought they could at least send them. But nope, they wouldn't.
Nonetheless I bought the newer version, which I slightly regret since I'd rather not give Ryobi any more business, but it does now work right and I think it is worth it to save the time on hinge mortises.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: ryobi not standing behind their product
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Hinge Template
from NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

ok for what you are buying

PostedApril 22, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't forget; you need to rout out the jambs as well and this tool does not have this capability. Works well on a door, but that is only half of the job.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Limited Features
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Hinge Template
from Lady Lake Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this due to some of the negative reviews but I needed to replace ( 8 ) doors and
the chisel was not an option. I hate plastic anything especially in tools and jigs but this one works great.
Two problems I read about was the 5/8 radius was off and the jig wood give too much when tightening to
the door. There is no reason to over tighten because it grips very well and out of the 8 doors I replaced, the
jig or template never moved and the 5/8 radius was perfect. End of day it is like brand new and will do many more doors. The best tool to use is a laminate router because it is much lighter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Hinge Template
from Temecula
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, perfect cuts

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like this product because it performs perfectly. It will cut any hinge and the fit is very exact. The router bit is included and the depth gauge on the side of the tool works very well. I have done over 50 doors with this simple jig and the fit has always been perfect. As long as you carefully align each door, top to bottom, place the jig in the appropriate location, you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend this jig.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Hinge Template
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Door Hinge Template

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a finish carpenter of over 30 years and usually mortise hinges with a router freehand. I purchased pre-finished oak raised panel and half glass doors and decided to try the Ryobi Door Hinge Template because it clamps to the door while other jigs need to be nailed which is ok if you are painting the door. I measured the existing hinge, marked the door clamped the template turned on mo router and in 10 seconds I was done and the hinge fit like a glove for under $30 this is a must if you are a novice or a pro. Ryobi needs to make a jamb template to match
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Hinge Template

Hinge template

PostedAugust 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use! Adjustment for different size hinges can be made in seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Hinge Template
from Dallas TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent tool for all home DIY

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to use . Good instructions included. Product quality good. The ability to adjust for different door and hinge types make it a one tool does it all.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Hinge Template
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Jig for Accurate Results

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like other reviewers have noted, while this jig is plastic, it does give accurate results and is very easy to use. The router bit included is sharp and works well on both MDF (hollow core doors) as well as solid wood. As others have noted, you do need to chisel out the corners if you are using square hinges (since all router bits work by rotation). The rounded hinges will fit perfectly into the rounded corners. I'm not sure I would depend on this jig to do loads of doors, but for the typical DIY-er this is going to save a lot of time and frustration compared to hand-chiseling the mortises. For the modest price, it is a very good purchase even if you plan to do just a few doors.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Hinge Template
from Salt Lake City, Ut
Age Range:55 to 64

damaged on first use.

PostedJuly 29, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Heads up -- the bearing on the included router bit does not have a set screw to lock it on the shaft. The first time I attempted to use this jig the bearing road up the shaft above the template allowing the router bit cutter to cut into the plastic corner radius guide pieces damaging the jig and miss-cutting the hinge radius. Contacting the Ryobi service center and parts center was a total waste of time. They don't care about the cause of the damage nor do they offer replacement parts. If you do buy and use this jig you might want to consider using a different router bit or modifying the included bit to prevent the bearing from moving. The one lesson that I learned from this is "don't buy Ryobi products period. The product didn't cost that much but I did expect a little better customer service.
Pros: cheep
Cons: Not Durable, design flaw
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Hinge Template
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent Door Hinge Temple

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My project was to remove bi fold doors on the pantry which has a 48 inch framed door way. I bought 2 24"X80" slab doors with smooth sides to install in place of the bi fold doors. The doors were not mortised for hinges so I bought the Ryobi Door Hinge Template. The door frame was not mortised for door hinges. I used the RYobi template on the doors with my Ryobi Router. The door hinge mortises took about 20 minutes to make and that included the setup time on the router.
At this point I needed to mortise the door frame but no door frame template was included in the Ryobi kit. After thinking about this for awhile, it became obvious I could easily make a door frame template using the door hinge temple. I used a piece of 3/4" hard wood about 12" long. Made certain one edge was straight. Then I ripped the board on my table saw the exact same width as the door frame template opening for the doors. I inserted the piece of wood into the door hinge template so that it appeared as a really wide door. Then I clamped it and using the router I routed an opening in the board the size of my hinges. I then had a door frame template.
After installing the door stop in the frame, I placed the non open side against the door stop at the appropriate heights. I then set up the router to use this template with the proper depth set for the hinges I was using and routed the mortises in a few minutes. The hinges fit perfectly in the door and frame. I added pull knobs to the doors and used a spring ball latch at the top of each door. Then I attached a 72 in. x 12 in. 8-Tier Ventilated Storage Rack to the back of each door which was the objective of the project.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Hinge Template
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not accurate depth for 4" hinge on a 1-3/4 door

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works okay for a 3-1/2 hinge, even though the cheap plastic mechanism that moves to adjust hinge size has enough give to make the mortisse too big by about 1/64. The real problem though is a 4" hinge on a 1-3/4 door, the jig places the hinge 3/16 from the outside edge of the door, which is of course 1/8" too deep! If you're doing exterior doors, stay away from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not accurate
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Hinge Template
from NY

great item!

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Awsome tool bought easy online and arrived quickly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Hinge Template
from Missouri
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Door Hinge Template made a tedious job fast and perfect.

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased the hinge template to install two replacement doors. I have installed hinges on about a dozen doors in the past the old fashion way, with chisels. I finally purchased this and can hardly believe how fast and easy it is to use and how it creates a professional/factory look. Should have done this years ago!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Hinge Template
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Real good accessory

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used to re-mortise 7 doors and it worked great. I would give it 4.9 stars if I could. The clamp was a bit off center for the typical 3 1/2" hinge, so don't over-tighten. Take your time, double check the depth needed, and go slow with the router. Other reviewers are correct that it cannot mortise the jambs.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Hinge Template
from Troy, New York

Almost perfect....

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
After trying porter cable's door jig version, I decided to give the Ryobi's door hinge jig a try. I used it on two 1-1/2" thick oak doors and I am somewhat satisfied. I like the fact that the jig comes with a clamp which allows you to easily lock the jig in place. I used this jig to make mortises for 3-1/2" hinges. Because the router bit's guide is slightly larger in diameter than that of the actual bit, the length of the initial mortise was 1/16" too small. I had to unlock the jig, move it by 1/16" (in this case, to the left), reclamp it, and use the router again to finish the mortise. Overall, however, I am content to use this jig again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Hinge Template
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product....

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the Porter Cable template years ago that I borrowed from a friend. I was getting ready to buy one of my own when I came across this Ryobi hinge template. This Ryobi template is far better than any other jig on the market. The clamp on design and hinge sizing slide make this very easy to use and the cuts are spot on.
If you are looking for the easiest, most straight forward way to cut hinge mortises, this product is the one for you!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Hinge Template
from Phoenix
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tool!

PostedMay 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My expectations weren't particularly high for this template. It turned out to be simple to use and really worked well. Despite it's plastic composition, it turned out to be sturdy and exceeded my expectations.
I highly recommend this template if you ever need to hang doors. I can't believe I went so long without owning one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Hinge Template
from Charleston, SC
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

eh- got the job done

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up without looking online for other options. It's plastic. The bit has a ball bearing guide on it to prevent chewing the plastic up, but it's pretty easy to nick it if you aren't careful. I had 25 doors to do and I wish I invested in a better system. This will not allow you to do the door frame... only the door. And they don't offer a system to do the frame. You'll need to buy two more of there "kits" in order to do the holes for the locks and the handles. Check the wood supply catalog first. Order it ahead of time, and it will be a better tool in the long run. This worked well, and gave me a nice clean cut, but the design is lacking. I won't lose and sleep over the $25 it cost.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>