728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Bits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template

Door Hinge Template

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Door Hinge Template. This door hinge template fits most standard door thicknesses. The robust clamp secures to the door without the use of screws or nails. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.06 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product68 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(40)
4
(22)
3
(10)
2
(8)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product68 of 81reviews
Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template
Review 1 for Door Hinge Template
from Temecula
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, perfect cuts

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like this product because it performs perfectly. It will cut any hinge and the fit is very exact. The router bit is included and the depth gauge on the side of the tool works very well. I have done over 50 doors with this simple jig and the fit has always been perfect. As long as you carefully align each door, top to bottom, place the jig in the appropriate location, you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend this jig.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Hinge Template
from Boynton Beach, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A once flawed product that now works great

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I would like to clear up some confusion with this product. Some of the older reviews were quite negative because the 5/8" radius was not correct. This is absolutely true of the original version of this product, but some time in 2012 or 2013 Ryobi corrected this. The old insert was a 3/8" radius (I'm not sure how that got past Quality Control at Ryobi), but later models have the correct 5/8" radius.
The current green and black model (A99HT2) absolutely has the correct 5/8" radius as I have tested it.
I happened to have the old version which I had not yet used for a 5/8" radius hinge and noticed the problem with the incorrect radius and decided to get a newer version to see if there was an improvement, which there was.
When I called Ryobi about this they were not very helpful since the old one was past the one year warranty, therefore I'm giving this a 4 star review. In my opinion if you produce a completely flawed product you should stand behind it, and since really all I needed was the newer inserts I thought they could at least send them. But nope, they wouldn't.
Nonetheless I bought the newer version, which I slightly regret since I'd rather not give Ryobi any more business, but it does now work right and I think it is worth it to save the time on hinge mortises.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: ryobi not standing behind their product
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Hinge Template
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use with great features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit to install 3 doors in our kitchen and found it very easy to use. It made short work of making perfect cuts on the door for the hinges.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Hinge Template
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not accurate depth for 4" hinge on a 1-3/4 door

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works okay for a 3-1/2 hinge, even though the cheap plastic mechanism that moves to adjust hinge size has enough give to make the mortisse too big by about 1/64. The real problem though is a 4" hinge on a 1-3/4 door, the jig places the hinge 3/16 from the outside edge of the door, which is of course 1/8" too deep! If you're doing exterior doors, stay away from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not accurate
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Hinge Template
from Lady Lake Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this due to some of the negative reviews but I needed to replace ( 8 ) doors and
the chisel was not an option. I hate plastic anything especially in tools and jigs but this one works great.
Two problems I read about was the 5/8 radius was off and the jig wood give too much when tightening to
the door. There is no reason to over tighten because it grips very well and out of the 8 doors I replaced, the
jig or template never moved and the 5/8 radius was perfect. End of day it is like brand new and will do many more doors. The best tool to use is a laminate router because it is much lighter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Hinge Template
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Jig for Accurate Results

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like other reviewers have noted, while this jig is plastic, it does give accurate results and is very easy to use. The router bit included is sharp and works well on both MDF (hollow core doors) as well as solid wood. As others have noted, you do need to chisel out the corners if you are using square hinges (since all router bits work by rotation). The rounded hinges will fit perfectly into the rounded corners. I'm not sure I would depend on this jig to do loads of doors, but for the typical DIY-er this is going to save a lot of time and frustration compared to hand-chiseling the mortises. For the modest price, it is a very good purchase even if you plan to do just a few doors.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Hinge Template
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Door Hinge Template

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a finish carpenter of over 30 years and usually mortise hinges with a router freehand. I purchased pre-finished oak raised panel and half glass doors and decided to try the Ryobi Door Hinge Template because it clamps to the door while other jigs need to be nailed which is ok if you are painting the door. I measured the existing hinge, marked the door clamped the template turned on mo router and in 10 seconds I was done and the hinge fit like a glove for under $30 this is a must if you are a novice or a pro. Ryobi needs to make a jamb template to match
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Hinge Template

ryobi hinge template

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic not strong enough, warped when tightening up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Hinge Template
from Charleston, SC
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

eh- got the job done

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up without looking online for other options. It's plastic. The bit has a ball bearing guide on it to prevent chewing the plastic up, but it's pretty easy to nick it if you aren't careful. I had 25 doors to do and I wish I invested in a better system. This will not allow you to do the door frame... only the door. And they don't offer a system to do the frame. You'll need to buy two more of there "kits" in order to do the holes for the locks and the handles. Check the wood supply catalog first. Order it ahead of time, and it will be a better tool in the long run. This worked well, and gave me a nice clean cut, but the design is lacking. I won't lose and sleep over the $25 it cost.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Hinge Template
from Pensacola at nine mile
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Clean Snug Mortise

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and adjust to the different size hinges. Even accommodates both standard radius corner sizes by simply flipping the corner guides in or out. Comes with a router bit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Hinge Template
from sterling heights michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

door hinge template

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The template works very well. Check out the YouTube video to see how easy it is.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Hinge Template

Great tool

PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just installed 7 doors in about 5 hours. First time using tool and am also not a pro door installer. I used it to replace existing doors in my house. Only bought new doors. Mortising for the hinge was easy, fast, and consistent using this tool. I used old doors to for template placement. Set router to proper depth using the jig, and away I went with three hinges per door. If your a novis this help you with pro mortise.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Hinge Template
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Precise hinge mortiser!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well constructed and included the router bit! Made short work of installing hinges on 5 new interior doors. Very easy to use and seems like it will provide decent service life if not over-tightened onto the door.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Hinge Template
from Troy, New York

Almost perfect....

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
After trying porter cable's door jig version, I decided to give the Ryobi's door hinge jig a try. I used it on two 1-1/2" thick oak doors and I am somewhat satisfied. I like the fact that the jig comes with a clamp which allows you to easily lock the jig in place. I used this jig to make mortises for 3-1/2" hinges. Because the router bit's guide is slightly larger in diameter than that of the actual bit, the length of the initial mortise was 1/16" too small. I had to unlock the jig, move it by 1/16" (in this case, to the left), reclamp it, and use the router again to finish the mortise. Overall, however, I am content to use this jig again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Hinge Template
from Cumming Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not adjustable enough

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was fine is some cases but since it lacks an adjustment for how deep the hinge fits on the door it is virtually unusable for mounting a new door on an existing jamb. On the jambs I have the hinge is about 5/8 from the edge of the door but this jig had a fixed size form the edge that would have put the hinge to deeply set.
I ended up getting a Milescraft set that is adjustable in all dimensions.
Pros: All In One
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Hinge Template
from FL.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A good deal

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to put into place also comes with its own bit. con the arm that helps keep it level a little flexible also do not take out of the gig till it completely stops one nick and the tool is useless, for professorial results used wright nothing better out there especial at the price
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Light Weight
Cons: damages easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Hinge Template
from Austin, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Decent hinge jig

PostedNovember 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
If you are just replacing a few doors this jig is great. Easy to set up. I lined up using the old door and made perfect cuts using my trim router.
Does not handle door frames so I would have bought a different jig if I needed that feature.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Hinge Template
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Professional results

PostedJune 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just purchased a new Solid Core Interior door from HD and needed to add my own hinge locations. I purchased one of these units and together with my Makita Laminate Trimmer (router), it made the job quick and effortless. Absolutely Professional results!
The only reason I dropped one star on quality was that the vice-bar that tightens to the door initially would start to bow when the screw-down was tightened. This may not be a problem and may last a long time. It did not affect the quality of my cuts, but I only did one door (so far). Just would have felt like a higher quality if the bar had been of a more rigid material.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Hinge Template
from Mesa, AZ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth it 120%

PostedJune 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This litle thing made cutting the hinge mortises infinitely easier. It comes with a router bit and guide, so you simply adjust the opening to the hinge you have, clamp it on, and go for it. The result you get is a perfect, even mortise for your hinges. The rounding was perfect, and depth is all based on your router settings. My first cut was barely too shallow so I took another layer off without any trouble.
My only complaint with this is the soft plastic used to make it. It should be fine for DIYers or weekend warriors but won't hold up if you use it too often. I pulled my router off before the bit stopped spinning completely and took a bite out of mine. That being said, it's still very much worth the $15 bucks I paid for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Hinge Template
from las vegas

decent tool

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well on doors only, I did not notice when i bought it that it had no attachment for routing the door jamb?
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>