728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template

Door Hinge Template

Ryobi introduces the Ryobi Door Hinge Template. This door hinge template fits most standard door thicknesses. The robust clamp secures to the door without the use of screws or nails. To learn more about Ryobi tools go to Ryobitools.com and check out Ryobi Nation. See below for more information on this tool.
Overall rating:
4.022 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(91 reviews) 91
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product74 of 89reviews
Rating Breakdown 91 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(43)
4
(25)
3
(10)
2
(8)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product74 of 89reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Door Hinge Template
Review 1 for Door Hinge Template
from Connecticut
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use with great features

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this unit to install 3 doors in our kitchen and found it very easy to use. It made short work of making perfect cuts on the door for the hinges.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Door Hinge Template
from Boynton Beach, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A once flawed product that now works great

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I would like to clear up some confusion with this product. Some of the older reviews were quite negative because the 5/8" radius was not correct. This is absolutely true of the original version of this product, but some time in 2012 or 2013 Ryobi corrected this. The old insert was a 3/8" radius (I'm not sure how that got past Quality Control at Ryobi), but later models have the correct 5/8" radius.
The current green and black model (A99HT2) absolutely has the correct 5/8" radius as I have tested it.
I happened to have the old version which I had not yet used for a 5/8" radius hinge and noticed the problem with the incorrect radius and decided to get a newer version to see if there was an improvement, which there was.
When I called Ryobi about this they were not very helpful since the old one was past the one year warranty, therefore I'm giving this a 4 star review. In my opinion if you produce a completely flawed product you should stand behind it, and since really all I needed was the newer inserts I thought they could at least send them. But nope, they wouldn't.
Nonetheless I bought the newer version, which I slightly regret since I'd rather not give Ryobi any more business, but it does now work right and I think it is worth it to save the time on hinge mortises.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Cons: ryobi not standing behind their product
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Door Hinge Template
from Temecula
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product, perfect cuts

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I like this product because it performs perfectly. It will cut any hinge and the fit is very exact. The router bit is included and the depth gauge on the side of the tool works very well. I have done over 50 doors with this simple jig and the fit has always been perfect. As long as you carefully align each door, top to bottom, place the jig in the appropriate location, you will not be disappointed. I highly recommend this jig.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Door Hinge Template
from Austin, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not accurate depth for 4" hinge on a 1-3/4 door

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works okay for a 3-1/2 hinge, even though the cheap plastic mechanism that moves to adjust hinge size has enough give to make the mortisse too big by about 1/64. The real problem though is a 4" hinge on a 1-3/4 door, the jig places the hinge 3/16 from the outside edge of the door, which is of course 1/8" too deep! If you're doing exterior doors, stay away from this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: not accurate
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Door Hinge Template
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product....

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used the Porter Cable template years ago that I borrowed from a friend. I was getting ready to buy one of my own when I came across this Ryobi hinge template. This Ryobi template is far better than any other jig on the market. The clamp on design and hinge sizing slide make this very easy to use and the cuts are spot on.
If you are looking for the easiest, most straight forward way to cut hinge mortises, this product is the one for you!
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Door Hinge Template
from Lady Lake Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was hesitant to purchase this due to some of the negative reviews but I needed to replace ( 8 ) doors and
the chisel was not an option. I hate plastic anything especially in tools and jigs but this one works great.
Two problems I read about was the 5/8 radius was off and the jig wood give too much when tightening to
the door. There is no reason to over tighten because it grips very well and out of the 8 doors I replaced, the
jig or template never moved and the 5/8 radius was perfect. End of day it is like brand new and will do many more doors. The best tool to use is a laminate router because it is much lighter.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Door Hinge Template
from Redmond, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality product

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product has the potential to be great but has serious flaws:
- the reversible plastic corners are made of a very soft plastic and were suffering wear after the very first cut. By the fourth cut they were completely useless. I was using a fairly high powered router (I don't own a trim router) so that may be partly to blame, but the main unit does not have this issue so it seems like poor materials. They should make them from something better or make it easy to purchase replacements
- the adjustable slider for different hinge sizes is not flush with the rest of the bracket, leading to a ridge in the cutout. Perhaps I had a bad unit, but given the terrible corners I expect I can't return it
Not at all happy with this purchase.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Door Hinge Template
from wisconsin
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Jig for Accurate Results

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Like other reviewers have noted, while this jig is plastic, it does give accurate results and is very easy to use. The router bit included is sharp and works well on both MDF (hollow core doors) as well as solid wood. As others have noted, you do need to chisel out the corners if you are using square hinges (since all router bits work by rotation). The rounded hinges will fit perfectly into the rounded corners. I'm not sure I would depend on this jig to do loads of doors, but for the typical DIY-er this is going to save a lot of time and frustration compared to hand-chiseling the mortises. For the modest price, it is a very good purchase even if you plan to do just a few doors.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Door Hinge Template
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ryobi Door Hinge Template

PostedJuly 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a finish carpenter of over 30 years and usually mortise hinges with a router freehand. I purchased pre-finished oak raised panel and half glass doors and decided to try the Ryobi Door Hinge Template because it clamps to the door while other jigs need to be nailed which is ok if you are painting the door. I measured the existing hinge, marked the door clamped the template turned on mo router and in 10 seconds I was done and the hinge fit like a glove for under $30 this is a must if you are a novice or a pro. Ryobi needs to make a jamb template to match
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Door Hinge Template

Hinge plate

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works that well and is very easy to set up. I will be using this on several more doors and enjoy the idea of clamp on clamp off easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Door Hinge Template
from san francisco
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

performs as expected

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Performs as advertised. Somewhat disappointed in quality of product.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Door Hinge Template

Steer clear

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made terrible inaccurate cuts.
The bearing didnt run along the guide in multiple spots.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Door Hinge Template
from Landover, MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked like a charm!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to install new closet doors. The template was perfect. The old hardware was from the 80's and was still in place and the template cut them PERFECT. It took seconds to cut each door. Who knew hanging doors could be so easy. Requires other tools that I did not own but a friend did. Thank goodness!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Door Hinge Template

Great Product

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Saved me a bunch of time. Great product if doing a few doors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Door Hinge Template
from phoenix az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked very satifactory

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very simple to use you don't have to be a rocket scientist
Pros: All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Door Hinge Template
from Charleston, SC
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

eh- got the job done

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up without looking online for other options. It's plastic. The bit has a ball bearing guide on it to prevent chewing the plastic up, but it's pretty easy to nick it if you aren't careful. I had 25 doors to do and I wish I invested in a better system. This will not allow you to do the door frame... only the door. And they don't offer a system to do the frame. You'll need to buy two more of there "kits" in order to do the holes for the locks and the handles. Check the wood supply catalog first. Order it ahead of time, and it will be a better tool in the long run. This worked well, and gave me a nice clean cut, but the design is lacking. I won't lose and sleep over the $25 it cost.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Door Hinge Template

ryobi hinge template

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Plastic not strong enough, warped when tightening up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Door Hinge Template
from Pensacola at nine mile
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Clean Snug Mortise

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and adjust to the different size hinges. Even accommodates both standard radius corner sizes by simply flipping the corner guides in or out. Comes with a router bit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Door Hinge Template
from Troy, New York

Almost perfect....

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
After trying porter cable's door jig version, I decided to give the Ryobi's door hinge jig a try. I used it on two 1-1/2" thick oak doors and I am somewhat satisfied. I like the fact that the jig comes with a clamp which allows you to easily lock the jig in place. I used this jig to make mortises for 3-1/2" hinges. Because the router bit's guide is slightly larger in diameter than that of the actual bit, the length of the initial mortise was 1/16" too small. I had to unlock the jig, move it by 1/16" (in this case, to the left), reclamp it, and use the router again to finish the mortise. Overall, however, I am content to use this jig again.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Door Hinge Template
from sterling heights michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

door hinge template

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The template works very well. Check out the YouTube video to see how easy it is.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>