728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

Help provide your bathroom with functionality and comfort with the NuTone 100 CFM Bath Fan with Light and Heater. This directionally-adjustable bath fan with light and heater features a rotatable heater grille that helps direct heat to conserve energy. This steel bath fan with light and heater also requires one 100-watt incandescent bulb.
Overall rating:
2.889 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product12 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(7)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product12 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
Review 1 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

Well pleased.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Well pleased. Looks and performs well. Did not know electricity requirements for heater until after purchase.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: 20 amp electricity needed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Lubbock, TX

Great value

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had this unit installed in January and immediately wondered why I waited so long to improve the heating in my bathroom. It heats the room in about 2 minutes and keeps it warm even on the coldest mornings. The exhaust fan is a little louder than I would like so you might want to consider the model QTXN110HL before you purchase. There is a disply in my home store that lets you hear the different noise levels, and that should be very helpful. Just remember, it will be a little louder in a small bathroom than what you will experience from the store display. Overall, very satisfied and would recommend this product.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Breckenridge,tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice product

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
i wanted the exhaust and fan only and not the light but it all worked out.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bigger and Better

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This heater/light/fan combo is larger than the typical light/fan or heater/light/fan, therefore it weighs more. Be sure your ceiling framing can support the weight and the extra height required above ceiling. The 1500-watt heater is more than typical bathroom heaters and pulls a heavier load. If this is intended for a remodel application, I would suggest ensuring you have 12-2 or 12-3 wire installed to carry the load. I found out I had 14-2 wire from when the house was built originally and had to pull a separate "hot" power line from the bathroom plug circuit. Most new homes require 12-2 on bathroom plug circuits due to the GFCI code requirement but mine ~1995 did not have that code requirement at the time apparently. The problem with doing this is if the heater is turned on and a hair dryer is running from the plugs on the circuit, it's very likely to pull too much of a load and trip the breaker as this has happened to me already a couple of times. The box has a disclaimer that it requires a dedicated 20-amp circuit breaker and I highly suggest ensuring this is possible unless you enjoy resetting the circuit breaker every time it trips.
Aside from all of the wiring requirements of the product, it is an excellent product. For remodel, it will take most of the day to install even if you are familiar with this type of work. This unit is made for new construction, so some modifications to the hanger brackets and support may be required if you don't have the space to squeeze the brackets between the drywall and the ceiling joist.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Install, not convenient for remodel, heater pulls a lot of amperage
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked GREAT for 6 months

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Installed unit March 2013. Worked great for 6 months. Then no heat. As a highly technical person, I removed heat blower and element. The over-temperature safety fuse was blown. Element itself was in good condition. Set unit up on test bench and powered up. Noticed heat blower seemed to run too slow rpm. After few minutes brass blower bushing were quite warm to touch. Disassembled blower motor. Measured brass bushings and motor shaft. Insufficient clearance. Polished motor shaft to reduce size .001 inch diameter. Reassembled blower. Temporarily by-passed blown safety fuse on test bench. At power on motor runs much faster; brass bushings do not get hot; get great heat from unit.
Now just need new heat element with safety fuse. HELLO NewTone!!!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

Best purchase I could have made!

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this for my cold-blooded wife :) and we both agree it was a very good choice. It has been great for cold mornings, previously people tried to heat up the entire house just to take a shower - made things a little stuffy.
Installed this two years ago, and it's worked very well, it heats up just the bathroom, leaving the rest of the house at a livable temperature.
My only suggestion would be to purchase the timer switch with the heater, I wouldn't want to leave it on more than 15 minutes at a time (1-it is noisy, and 2-it gets hot!) Install with the timer, and you won't have a problem.
I found the fan fairly quiet (except for using the heater), and I installed a low-wattage CFL so we can use it as a nightlight if desired. My only regret was not installing it sooner. I definitely recommend this product!
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Boerne TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beware: Designed for new construction only!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit is not designed to replace an existing unit unless you are planning to replace the ceiling. The vent duct is of extremely cheap quality with both the tabs on the baffle and on the duct itself not surviving the installation. I had to tape the duct into place.
If I experience the same problem with heater motor bushings as other reviewers I'll replace the unit and never buy Nutone again.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Kennedale, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Home Depot should get involved

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just like everyone else. Worked great for 6 months then heater fuse was blown due to poor airflow from blower motor bushings being to tight. Obvious defect and Home Depot should not sell NuTone products if they can not acknowledge a defective products.
Cons: defective blower bushings
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Holly Springs, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Let there be heat

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I did research and read reviews before settling on this unit. We have a bathroom with a lot of 12" tile and the room radiates coldest in winter months. I was skeptical of the heat the unit would generate and to my surprise it works very well. I replaced it with the fan that existed. However, many things you should know. It's not a job for novice. It requires a separate 20amp curicut and 12/2 and 12/3 wire. Since there are three devices you are operating, fan, light and heater, it requires 12/3 wire from unit to three way switch specially made for this unit(not included extra $15). I disabled the current 14/2 wire that powered the existing unit. As far as installing the unit in the ceiling, it is not easy since it is meant for new construction. A licensed remodeler, contractor, with this type of experience could be helpful. I had to remove the medal tabs with a hacksaw to install the unit in the ceiling. I did not want to repair drywall so I modified the outside hanging features to make it work for me. I'm a do it yourself person and have experience and tools to tackle the job. It still took me the entire day to install and solve problems with getting unit properly secured in the ceiling as well as fishing wires through walls.
So far this unit has been awesome in suppling heat to the bathroom quickly. I would recommend if it can be installed.
Scott
Holly Springs, NC
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Weatherford, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Installed in customer dwelling

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Installing this unit was quite easy as there was already an existing, and much older, unit that needed to be removed. The new unit was larger so, cutting out the ceiling was not a problem. Be sure you know and understand the wiring needs are for the new unit as well as what you already have.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Dallas Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it but costly to install

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Be wary. This is not for the do it your selfer as the HD rep said. I had to call an electrician which was costly. But overall, we love it. The convenience of blown hot air in the bathroom instead of heating up the whole house. Also, had to install a special breaker for it to handle the extra power needed.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent and Terrible

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Unit is definitely awesome but instructions are very, very poor. Unit is apparently meant for new construction only. Also unit is designed for 1/2 inch "ceiling material" which should be installed AFTER the fan-light-heater unit is installed. There is no control switch with the unit which equals higher cost of installation. Wiring connection "box" is tight for all the required connections of 12ga. wire which is required per codes to carry the dedicated 20 amp current. Recommended but with advice for new construction and don't forget to purchase the control switch.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no control switch, new construction only
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Marysville, Wa

is there a rating less than 1 star?

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this piece of garbage installed less than a year ago, that's two fans and one heat element dead in less than a year. The "experts at Nutone" have never heard of this unit failing twice let alone three times. Perhaps if they sold more units this would not be such a stretch of the imagination. Save your $$$$, open a window, turn your hair dryer to "hot" and save yourself all of the aggravation.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Sparks, NV, USA

Don't waste your money

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this and had it installed by a licensed electrician. The fan and the light work fine but the heater has went out 5 times in the 5 months since it's been installed. I've been in constant contact with Nutone and they have shipped out 4 different heating assemblies but still can't get them to work longer than a day or two or sometimes a week of using the heater. If the heater fan does not turn on right away, the heating element burns out. I would not recommend to a friend and would never buy one of these again!
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality fan

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This fan was a little more money then the others but worth it.
The heat is a nice option.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Outstanding products! The heating element is great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

Heater is junk

PostedOctober 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like everyone else has been saying, the heater doesn't last long. Mine lasted 6-7 months before ....no more heat. This is my second unit with the same problem. Going with a different brand this time. Anything but Nutone
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: junk buy something else
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Salem ma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't buy factory heater element defect

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The heater unit is junk and will fail soon after use. It's a Factory defect that nutone refuses to correct.
Buy Braun much better quality.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Heater element did NOT work out of the box! Called Nutone 3 times, sent them 3 emails, NO RESPONSE! So much for their supposed warranty!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Diana, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Heating element will not last.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit was installed a year ago and the heating element quit working. I purchased a new element and installed it. It lasted less than a month. I would not buy this product again and I do not recomend it to anyone.
Cons: heating element is flawed., louder than expected.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>