728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Bath Ventilation Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

Help provide your bathroom with functionality and comfort with the NuTone 100 CFM Bath Fan with Light and Heater. This directionally-adjustable bath fan with light and heater features a rotatable heater grille that helps direct heat to conserve energy. This steel bath fan with light and heater also requires one 100-watt incandescent bulb.
Overall rating:
2.867 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product6 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(4)
4
(1)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product6 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
Review 1 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Houston, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked GREAT for 6 months

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed unit March 2013. Worked great for 6 months. Then no heat. As a highly technical person, I removed heat blower and element. The over-temperature safety fuse was blown. Element itself was in good condition. Set unit up on test bench and powered up. Noticed heat blower seemed to run too slow rpm. After few minutes brass blower bushing were quite warm to touch. Disassembled blower motor. Measured brass bushings and motor shaft. Insufficient clearance. Polished motor shaft to reduce size .001 inch diameter. Reassembled blower. Temporarily by-passed blown safety fuse on test bench. At power on motor runs much faster; brass bushings do not get hot; get great heat from unit.
Now just need new heat element with safety fuse. HELLO NewTone!!!
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from TN
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bigger and Better

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This heater/light/fan combo is larger than the typical light/fan or heater/light/fan, therefore it weighs more. Be sure your ceiling framing can support the weight and the extra height required above ceiling. The 1500-watt heater is more than typical bathroom heaters and pulls a heavier load. If this is intended for a remodel application, I would suggest ensuring you have 12-2 or 12-3 wire installed to carry the load. I found out I had 14-2 wire from when the house was built originally and had to pull a separate "hot" power line from the bathroom plug circuit. Most new homes require 12-2 on bathroom plug circuits due to the GFCI code requirement but mine ~1995 did not have that code requirement at the time apparently. The problem with doing this is if the heater is turned on and a hair dryer is running from the plugs on the circuit, it's very likely to pull too much of a load and trip the breaker as this has happened to me already a couple of times. The box has a disclaimer that it requires a dedicated 20-amp circuit breaker and I highly suggest ensuring this is possible unless you enjoy resetting the circuit breaker every time it trips.
Aside from all of the wiring requirements of the product, it is an excellent product. For remodel, it will take most of the day to install even if you are familiar with this type of work. This unit is made for new construction, so some modifications to the hanger brackets and support may be required if you don't have the space to squeeze the brackets between the drywall and the ceiling joist.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, High Quality
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Install, not convenient for remodel, heater pulls a lot of amperage
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Lubbock, TX

Great value

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had this unit installed in January and immediately wondered why I waited so long to improve the heating in my bathroom. It heats the room in about 2 minutes and keeps it warm even on the coldest mornings. The exhaust fan is a little louder than I would like so you might want to consider the model QTXN110HL before you purchase. There is a disply in my home store that lets you hear the different noise levels, and that should be very helpful. Just remember, it will be a little louder in a small bathroom than what you will experience from the store display. Overall, very satisfied and would recommend this product.
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater

Best purchase I could have made!

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this for my cold-blooded wife :) and we both agree it was a very good choice. It has been great for cold mornings, previously people tried to heat up the entire house just to take a shower - made things a little stuffy.
Installed this two years ago, and it's worked very well, it heats up just the bathroom, leaving the rest of the house at a livable temperature.
My only suggestion would be to purchase the timer switch with the heater, I wouldn't want to leave it on more than 15 minutes at a time (1-it is noisy, and 2-it gets hot!) Install with the timer, and you won't have a problem.
I found the fan fairly quiet (except for using the heater), and I installed a low-wattage CFL so we can use it as a nightlight if desired. My only regret was not installing it sooner. I definitely recommend this product!
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Holly Springs, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Let there be heat

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did research and read reviews before settling on this unit. We have a bathroom with a lot of 12" tile and the room radiates coldest in winter months. I was skeptical of the heat the unit would generate and to my surprise it works very well. I replaced it with the fan that existed. However, many things you should know. It's not a job for novice. It requires a separate 20amp curicut and 12/2 and 12/3 wire. Since there are three devices you are operating, fan, light and heater, it requires 12/3 wire from unit to three way switch specially made for this unit(not included extra $15). I disabled the current 14/2 wire that powered the existing unit. As far as installing the unit in the ceiling, it is not easy since it is meant for new construction. A licensed remodeler, contractor, with this type of experience could be helpful. I had to remove the medal tabs with a hacksaw to install the unit in the ceiling. I did not want to repair drywall so I modified the outside hanging features to make it work for me. I'm a do it yourself person and have experience and tools to tackle the job. It still took me the entire day to install and solve problems with getting unit properly secured in the ceiling as well as fishing wires through walls.
So far this unit has been awesome in suppling heat to the bathroom quickly. I would recommend if it can be installed.
Scott
Holly Springs, NC
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent and Terrible

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Unit is definitely awesome but instructions are very, very poor. Unit is apparently meant for new construction only. Also unit is designed for 1/2 inch "ceiling material" which should be installed AFTER the fan-light-heater unit is installed. There is no control switch with the unit which equals higher cost of installation. Wiring connection "box" is tight for all the required connections of 12ga. wire which is required per codes to carry the dedicated 20 amp current. Recommended but with advice for new construction and don't forget to purchase the control switch.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: no control switch, new construction only
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Baton Rouge, LA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mediocre choice..

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This fan/heater combo is worth considering, but not a great value at Home Depot's price (187 as I write this). This kit includes the mounting hardware you need to install the fan/heater, but its designed to be attached to your rafters before the ceiling drywall is put in place. I installed this as a retrofit, had to trim the mounting brackets to install the fan from above my ceiling (you connect the mounting brackets to the fan housing before installation), and I had to cut out a slighly larger hole in my ceiling than you would have if you installed the drywall around the fan after it was attached to the rafters. Still, with some effort, the unit can be retrofitted. The fan is not very quiet, easy to hear through a wall or door. I also wish the lens was easier to remove to replace the bulb (you'll need a knife or screwdriver to pry the lens away from the mounting clip).
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Marysville, Wa

is there a rating less than 1 star?

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this piece of garbage installed less than a year ago, that's two fans and one heat element dead in less than a year. The "experts at Nutone" have never heard of this unit failing twice let alone three times. Perhaps if they sold more units this would not be such a stretch of the imagination. Save your $$$$, open a window, turn your hair dryer to "hot" and save yourself all of the aggravation.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Sparks, NV, USA

Don't waste your money

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this and had it installed by a licensed electrician. The fan and the light work fine but the heater has went out 5 times in the 5 months since it's been installed. I've been in constant contact with Nutone and they have shipped out 4 different heating assemblies but still can't get them to work longer than a day or two or sometimes a week of using the heater. If the heater fan does not turn on right away, the heating element burns out. I would not recommend to a friend and would never buy one of these again!
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Sorry for purchasing!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Upon installing, as a contractor, I tested it several times to be sure it was working for a customer. When I left the home it was working like it was supposed to.
The customer did not use it until months later and when she turned it on the heater did not turn on. After checking everything again I figured it had to be the heating element.
Made in China just doesn't cut it!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Diana, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Heating element will not last.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This unit was installed a year ago and the heating element quit working. I purchased a new element and installed it. It lasted less than a month. I would not buy this product again and I do not recomend it to anyone.
Cons: heating element is flawed., louder than expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Canton, NC 28716, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heater will not last

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this less than a year ago and the heater is already shot. It just blows cold air when I turn it on.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Oklahoma

Great product

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome is all I can say and that says it all. The heat fan blower is incredible.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, High Quality, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good features, hope they work 20>years like my old one

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have not yet installed the unit. For the price , I expected the switches to have come with the unit.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 100 CFM Ceiling Exhaust Bath Fan with Light and Heater
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
0 out of 1 recommend this product