728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed

15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed

Don’t be fooled by the decorative design, this shed is tough. Constructed of high-density polyethylene (HDPE) plastic and reinforced with powder-coated steel, this attractive outdoor shed is built to weather the storms. Keep all tools and garden equipment safe, dry, and conveniently located in the yard, where you use them. No more rummaging through the house or garage. Several shelving units and peg strips are included to help you keep your tools organized and right at your fingertips. Low maintenance weather resistant design prevents fading and cracking. Best of all, no painting required. Note: This shed must be built on a flat level foundation of wood or concrete (not included).
Overall rating:
4.238 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(122 reviews) 122
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product104 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 122 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(62)
4
(44)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product104 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
41 Questions | 108 Answers
Customer reviews for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Review 1 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
TexasJoe
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Rain can blow under or over the door outside corners

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a follow-up to my review from a couple of days ago. I assembled the shed on July 4, 2013. I have since added a simple cinder block "porch". Yesterday we had our first heavy Texas rain storm since then. We got an inch of rain in a half hour...moderate for here. I had caulked all the floor seams inside and out. The shed stayed very dry except that water blew in under or over the doors at the bottom or top outside corners (where the hinge pipes go into the floor and gable) reaching 12 inches into the shed on the right and 24 inches on the left. I'll have to explore options for limiting that exposure. The doors seem designed for an insert to go in the top corners that are not included in the kit or instructions. I may have to add a sweeper to the bottom of the door which may also be challenging because the plastic is so thin.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Dukdgr8
from River Edge, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Aesthetically Close to Perfect!

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As a follow up to an earlier review I submitted, after about 5 months of being installed, I noticed that there was a puddle of water on the floor inside after a spell of rain. I was worried immediately thinking that I accidentally punctured a hole on the roof during installation. After careful observation, I realized that on a valley on the roof where the leak originated, an amount of leaves from the trees above have accumulated thus creating sort of a "dam". Whenever there was a downpour, this would collect rainwater at one spot and this would therefore leak through the panel joints. I simply brushed and cleaned the roof from idle leaves and this took care of the roof leak. So always make sure that there are no standing leaves or branches on your roof!
Pros: Well Made, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Cons: instructions were not as accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Dukdgr8
from River Edge, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Aesthetically Close to Perfect!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I spent a total of 19 hours (7 hours on the wood base; 12 hours on the storage shed) work hours on building the storage shed by myself with my 11 year old giving me some assistance. I built my shed on a wooden base and decided to keep it 12 inches from the ground. Building the roof was the most challenging part in my opinion. I ended up spending a total cost of $1400 (shed), $200 (additional Lifetime shelving and corner shelves), and $450 on pressure treated lumber for my base= $2050.00. I also covered the bottom perimeter of my base to make sure that it is protected from rodents etc and also built a ramp. With the shed complete, I store my snow blower, lawn mower, generator, a ping pong table (folded), power tools, and my work table on the other end with lots more space left! No regrets of making this investment! Now my garage has cleared up and this shed is a great addition to my backyard.
Pros: Durable, Well Made, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: quite costly, diagram in instructions inaccurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+37points
39out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
TexasJoe
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Pretty shed, easy to assemble, light duty structure

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I downloaded the 2011 instruction manual and read it completely before attempting any construction. That helped a lot. I put instructions that came with the shed and the 2011 instructions in a 3-ring binder. That also helped the assembly process go smoother.
I spent a day making a 2X8 frame base with 2X4 joists on metal hangers, all PT, raised on concrete deck blocks with deck blocks under several of the floor joists also. I used exterior 23/32 plywood sheathing for the floor. Then primed and painted really well with exterior enamel oil based paint. It rained the next day and the sub floor did very well in the weather by itself. I would recommend priming and painting the sub floor before assembling the shed. It is very important to make this step level and square.
I assembled the shed completely by myself (including the shutters) in 10 hours total start to finish. That included disassembling the walls and floor once to reverse a floor panel so the holes line up correctly for the door hinge poles. I started assembly using the 2011 instructions (owners manual). I quickly discovered parts of the shed were redesigned and abandoned the 2011 instructions manual. For example the new walls install counter clockwise instead of clockwise and the roof gable over the door was redesigned also. The 2011 instructions had more written directions, but it is very important to follow the directions that come with the shed. It is also very important to perform each step exactly as directed. In the 4/25/2013 instructions step 7.5 is eliminated (assembling part AHW to the right door latch AIO). Apparently this part, although still included, was deemed unnecessary. One process change I made and would recommend: after assembling the walls to the floor, I repositioned the shed to be evenly spaced on the subfloor and then secured the floor to the subfloor. Once the full shed is assembled it will weigh 750 lbs. and may be difficult to reposition on the sub floor. If you need to make the adjustments for door alignment listed in section 13 you can unsecure the corners of the floor.
The screws and bolts are packaged together in "bags" with the correct parts for a particular assembly phase. I opened each bag as I got to it's assembly step and had no problems identifying the parts to be used for each purpose. I tightened every screw carefully by hand with a screw driver and carefully lined up each part as I went. Some screws will not "feel" tight so it is important to visually watch them tighten also. When the plastic stops moving together, stop tightening.
The holes for the shutters do not line up very well with the marked spots on the wall panels.
I intent to caulk inside along the floor seams, inside at the floor/wall joints, outside at the floor/wall joints, and outside where the floor meets the subfloor.
Once the roof was installed the structure became rigid, but I would not describe it as sturdy. The structure is light duty and should serve to keep the rain off stored items, but any shelving will need to be free standing on the floor as the walls are not sturdy enough to hold any weight. If you want to hang stuff on the walls or have any type of shelving, you will need a wood frame shed instead. This should work fine as a "garden shed" for yard tools and equipment but probably not as a typical "storage" shed unless you add free standing sturdy shelving. I'm sure my sturdy sub floor will long outlast the shed now assembled on top of it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Amer
from Deer Park, Long Island
Gender:Male

Beautiful shed, quite a work to get it installed

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
About 26 hours spent. I spent one whole day building the floor. The floor was built on PT 4X4 frames every 46 inches and PT 2X4 in between every 4X4, the frame was raised on top of 10X16 cement blocks($1.44 each). About 26 cement blocks were used on all joints. The toal cost of material came out to be like $360. PT plywood for floor was the most expensive item. $41 each panel.
The shed looks beautiful, here are my observations.
Be careful on the manual you are going to follow. The manual which comes with the shed should be followed. The online manual have more wordings but part #s are different and so are couple of steps. The floor should be layed out carefully, otherwise once you put the right size wall close to door or left side wall close to door will cover the door bushing hole. The wall corner panels gave me hard time too. The instructional manual needs lots of work, May be the manufacturer should create install dvd . By and large beautiful shed and I hope it lasts for ever
Pros: Vibrant Color, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, No Instructions, very expensive floor not included with shed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
allbfine
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

it works just fine :)

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
got this shed for my business needs and I kinda like it:
price is about right - it was delivered to my business suite for free and I got it with 10% off by some competitor's coupon, quality just fine - it looks straight and solid thought that because a flat and solid concrete foundation... so, it is serving my needs and I am glad about it :)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
jweeda
from Sidney, NE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Deal!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok, for all the negative reviews due to "quality" or anything like that....think about what you are getting. Go price out an 8x15 stick framed wood shed with siding and shingled roof. That is at least 3 times the price. This thing is amazing for the price and if you know what you are doing, it goes together perfectly! I would recommend this to anyone who is on a budget!!! Absolutely worth it!!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
BobandLinda
from Fresno, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Perfect for our needs...

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We now have 2, 8' x 15' Lifetime sheds in different areas of our yard. Love them both! Easy to assemble and they look great! We read many review which provided some great additional tips on building these sheds. We poured cement pads for both which made it more expensive but they are SOLID! We purchased this unit (Shed #6446) for looks in the main yard (see pic) and unit Shed #6402 opens on the end which we have full of shelving units like a warehouse . On #6402 we put the window panels on one side (see pic) and tight against a fence. We set boxes on shelves or boards to protect them from moisture through the flooring seams as noted in "con" note. Search for the written text instructions online which will provide more details and tips for assembly than the universal picture only instructions that come with the kit. We are very happy with the looks, functionality and hope they will be durable!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: floor seems leak slightly but not a problem
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
AmateurShedBuilder
from Panhandle Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Very Nice Addition

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a difficult project to put together, there were a few "challenges" in the instructions. Read the reviews for the tips to get this thing put together. That aside, this shed had kept everything bone dry in some of the worst rains I've ever lived in (since moving to NW Florida). I was a bit worried about a plastic shed but it holds up in the wind apparently (no hurricanes or tropical storms yet, knock on wood) but when it pours sideways rain here, my shed is dry on the inside - which is awesome!
Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Runforfunmom
Age Range:25 to 34

Love all the great features

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great quality, went together well, perfect for what we needed money well spent! Fits all the kids bikes and all of our toys!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Eric
from WNY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Very nice product.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product came in 4 big boxes. My wife and I put the shed together in about 7 hours including a 30min lunch. The time also included putting up the shelves and shutters which could wait until another day if you run out of time. My wife and I would consider ourselves medium do-it-yourselfers with no real experience with building things. The shed looks/feels very sturdy when put together. I highly recommend viewing Mike and Jan's youtube video (search under Lifetime shed) before attempting to build it. They point out a few things to keep an eye out when building it. Just make sure the platform is square and level before starting the shed. Great shed for a great price.
Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Chuck
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product but instructions have some drawbacks

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once completed, the shed is sturdy and should last a "lifetime." The directions are in "international" sign language with pictures. Not all the parts and small part bags are marked clearly so this leads to some confusion and slows build time. Recommend 3 people with three folding ladders and take your time reading and more importantly, "understanding" the directions. Should have access around the entire perimeter of shed for ladder access. Make sure base and shed have square corners or parts won't fit as required. Would allow minimum of two days for build: one for building shed base (three choices - not included with shed) and preconnecting metal braces and other parts; one day for putting shed together.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Barbz
from Connecticut

Just the right size... with room to spare

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nice shed for the price. I agree with others that the instructions leave a lot to be desired. They should have spent a few more cents on a bit more ink to explain a few things, rather than show pictures of poor quality. They also don't tell you beforehand that you will need to purchase the hardware to secure it to your wooden base, as it's not included. All-in-all, it's perfect for our needs, and amazingly we have room to spare!
Pros: Durable, Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: instructions could use re-writing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
DMan
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A solid product

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Firstly, once complete, it looks fantastic. It doesn't look cheap. It is well constructed as compared to some of the other cheaper sheds. I can't comment on durability until we get through a Michigan winter.
Received and put this shed up in about six or so hours with 2 people. You need the second person more to help hold and provide some resistence when screwing in some of the components. It came in Four boxes with parts spread out throughout each - so you really need to open all four and lay out the parts. The instructions were fairly straight forward, but I looked at the online instructions prior to receiving and then the instructions that came with the shed and found that they are slightly different. In the end you can assemble with either, just order of assembly. I did find that some of the bag tags didn't relate to what the instructions were calling for. This was mostly with all the screws and believe it's due to the different shed kits that use alot of the same screws. There are pictures and screw descriptions of each so it really isn't hard to figure out. You just need to match up what need. A large majority of screws are the same throughout anyway. Also I had a bunch of left over screws, it appears to be for other type sheds.
The instructions had a few unclear areas but once your working through will be able to figure out. One area is the trusses. There are 5 total trusses but 2 straightforward, 2 have standoffs and 1 unique truss. When you get to this look at the pictures ahead to assure what your assembling. The pictures will clarify what you need. They assemble very easily so if you make a mistake, it is not hard to pull back apart and redo.
The floor is very simple - you just need a level surface. The walls just snap into the floor (reasoning for level surface). Follow their recommended practice of placing a board beneath the snap point of the wall as it makes it very easy to snap in place. The corner walls are marked by number and identifier. All the other walls are straight forward.
The roof is also surprisingly easy and the extra person does come in handy here. The doors are also straightforward and had to play with adjustment a little but was not an issue.
The windows and shelving was also straightforward - although the picture and description for the long shelves was misleading. I ended up putting them on one side together and is flexible to place in other locations if needed.
Overall I'm very happy with the purchase and if your considering this shed, look around as I've found that the pricing does vary -so look online and check randomly as sales prices vary as much as $400 from what I've seen.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
DeereHunter
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

This product is great for any horseman

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have 5 horses. My husband and I built this unit in around 8 hours. We have a lot of horse tack. This unit has plenty of room. The best part is that it looks good. The owner of the boarding stable is now requiring Lifetime sheds for replacements. It is already giving their property a "clean look". Also being plastic the horses have no desire to eat it.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Annette
from Boca Raton, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very satisfied, fit our needs perfectly.

PostedFebruary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This shed is extremely well designed and sturdy as well as attractive in our back yard. It took me, my husband and a professional handyman a day and a half (about 12-13 hours total) to get this put together beginning to end. Mostly I sorted out the parts and pieces and read the step-by-step directions while the guys screwed it all together. Very important to follow the instructions carefully and not skip or jump ahead, and have an electric screwdriver or drill with phillips driver bit! It is really solid and stable with plenty of room for our work benches, peg boards and yard tool storage. Great work shop/ garden shed, very water tight, and especially great value for the money compared to other products and bought on sale..
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Iberianpen
from Fullerton, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

It was delivered quickly. Went together fast.

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Average quality. Okay value. Took about 5 hours with 2 handy men. Good product, not very sturdy or secure
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: not that sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Georgie
from Gainesville, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Leaking roof

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good size but the roof leaks where the dormer meets the rest of the roof. Any suggestions on how to stop this problem? Has anyone ever had this problem in the past. Also, almost immediately the peak above the door formed mildew.
Pros: Functional, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: instructions not clear.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Palo
from Cleveland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Shed

PostedJanuary 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used pier blocks for the foundation and it worked out great. Cheaper than pouring a pad and better than the other options in the instructions. After the foundation was complete (took two days) I built the the metal rafters, dormer walls, and doors. Put up the shed the next day. Went together easy and very sturdy. Building the foundation was the hardest part of the project.I am very pleased with the way the shed looks and will put some landscaping around it to dress it up bit. Very happy that I did not buy a wood shed kit.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
addicted99
from Phila, PA

Great product for the price

PostedMarch 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall I give this a 4 - the shed takes a full day to assemble assuming you already have a level foundation to start from. It can be accomplished with 1 person - but recomend 2. The floor is somewhat thin so a PT plywood base or equiv would give it more solidity. Once complete you have a waterproof realitively bug free - rot free (maint free) shed. Couple of thoughts - I have added some wooden framing to support extras like hooks and shelves - this would be easier with a wooden shed since you can modify to your needs much easier. This says skylights, and while there are tinted panels in the peak, the afford minimal light. Once fully assembled the structure is very sturdy, I have had mine in service for 1 year, and it shows no signs of wear other than the roof sags between the supports slightly. The double doors could use a better catch on the top/bottom which can be difficult to engage/disengage. It's hard to argue with 8x15 maint free for this price. BTW the boxes are heavy when this arrives be prepared to unpack them if you want to move them.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>