728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Sheds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed

15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed

Don’t be fooled by the decorative design, this shed is tough. Constructed of high-density polyethylene (HDPE) plastic and reinforced with powder-coated steel, this attractive outdoor shed is built to weather the storms. Keep all tools and garden equipment safe, dry, and conveniently located in the yard, where you use them. No more rummaging through the house or garage. Several shelving units and peg strips are included to help you keep your tools organized and right at your fingertips. Low maintenance weather resistant design prevents fading and cracking. Best of all, no painting required. Note: This shed must be built on a flat level foundation of wood or concrete (not included).
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(136 reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product115 of 127reviews
Rating Breakdown 136 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(49)
3
(5)
2
(5)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product115 of 127reviews
Customer questions and answers:
47 Questions | 134 Answers
Customer reviews for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
Review 1 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Virginia Beach, Va.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

LifeTime makes a GREAT Outdoor Garden Shed

PostedJuly 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Because of my back problems, I had to have someone build a platform and put together this shed for me! The platform was built on Saturday when Home Depot delivered the shed and it was put together on Sunday!!! YES, one day, about 7 hours, one man with minimum secondary help from his daughter.
It looks great, is solid as a rock with a SLIGHT leak from a SUPER driving rain coming in at the BOTTOM of the door. (Neighbors tree {huge limb} blew down, took out 2 sections of my fence 25 ft. from shed from this storm) Whew!!!
Pros: Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Durable, Functional, Well Made, Great Instructions, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Rain can blow under or over the door outside corners

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a follow-up to my review from a couple of days ago. I assembled the shed on July 4, 2013. I have since added a simple cinder block "porch". Yesterday we had our first heavy Texas rain storm since then. We got an inch of rain in a half hour...moderate for here. I had caulked all the floor seams inside and out. The shed stayed very dry except that water blew in under or over the doors at the bottom or top outside corners (where the hinge pipes go into the floor and gable) reaching 12 inches into the shed on the right and 24 inches on the left. I'll have to explore options for limiting that exposure. The doors seem designed for an insert to go in the top corners that are not included in the kit or instructions. I may have to add a sweeper to the bottom of the door which may also be challenging because the plastic is so thin.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+31points
33out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from River Edge, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Aesthetically Close to Perfect!

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I spent a total of 19 hours (7 hours on the wood base; 12 hours on the storage shed) work hours on building the storage shed by myself with my 11 year old giving me some assistance. I built my shed on a wooden base and decided to keep it 12 inches from the ground. Building the roof was the most challenging part in my opinion. I ended up spending a total cost of $1400 (shed), $200 (additional Lifetime shelving and corner shelves), and $450 on pressure treated lumber for my base= $2050.00. I also covered the bottom perimeter of my base to make sure that it is protected from rodents etc and also built a ramp. With the shed complete, I store my snow blower, lawn mower, generator, a ping pong table (folded), power tools, and my work table on the other end with lots more space left! No regrets of making this investment! Now my garage has cleared up and this shed is a great addition to my backyard.
Pros: Durable, Well Made, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: quite costly, diagram in instructions inaccurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+56points
58out of 60found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from River Edge, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Aesthetically Close to Perfect!

PostedJune 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As a follow up to an earlier review I submitted, after about 5 months of being installed, I noticed that there was a puddle of water on the floor inside after a spell of rain. I was worried immediately thinking that I accidentally punctured a hole on the roof during installation. After careful observation, I realized that on a valley on the roof where the leak originated, an amount of leaves from the trees above have accumulated thus creating sort of a "dam". Whenever there was a downpour, this would collect rainwater at one spot and this would therefore leak through the panel joints. I simply brushed and cleaned the roof from idle leaves and this took care of the roof leak. So always make sure that there are no standing leaves or branches on your roof!
Pros: Well Made, Excellent Quality, Looks Great, Looks High End, Nice Design
Cons: instructions were not as accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+24points
28out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Round Rock, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Pretty shed, easy to assemble, light duty structure

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I downloaded the 2011 instruction manual and read it completely before attempting any construction. That helped a lot. I put instructions that came with the shed and the 2011 instructions in a 3-ring binder. That also helped the assembly process go smoother.
I spent a day making a 2X8 frame base with 2X4 joists on metal hangers, all PT, raised on concrete deck blocks with deck blocks under several of the floor joists also. I used exterior 23/32 plywood sheathing for the floor. Then primed and painted really well with exterior enamel oil based paint. It rained the next day and the sub floor did very well in the weather by itself. I would recommend priming and painting the sub floor before assembling the shed. It is very important to make this step level and square.
I assembled the shed completely by myself (including the shutters) in 10 hours total start to finish. That included disassembling the walls and floor once to reverse a floor panel so the holes line up correctly for the door hinge poles. I started assembly using the 2011 instructions (owners manual). I quickly discovered parts of the shed were redesigned and abandoned the 2011 instructions manual. For example the new walls install counter clockwise instead of clockwise and the roof gable over the door was redesigned also. The 2011 instructions had more written directions, but it is very important to follow the directions that come with the shed. It is also very important to perform each step exactly as directed. In the 4/25/2013 instructions step 7.5 is eliminated (assembling part AHW to the right door latch AIO). Apparently this part, although still included, was deemed unnecessary. One process change I made and would recommend: after assembling the walls to the floor, I repositioned the shed to be evenly spaced on the subfloor and then secured the floor to the subfloor. Once the full shed is assembled it will weigh 750 lbs. and may be difficult to reposition on the sub floor. If you need to make the adjustments for door alignment listed in section 13 you can unsecure the corners of the floor.
The screws and bolts are packaged together in "bags" with the correct parts for a particular assembly phase. I opened each bag as I got to it's assembly step and had no problems identifying the parts to be used for each purpose. I tightened every screw carefully by hand with a screw driver and carefully lined up each part as I went. Some screws will not "feel" tight so it is important to visually watch them tighten also. When the plastic stops moving together, stop tightening.
The holes for the shutters do not line up very well with the marked spots on the wall panels.
I intent to caulk inside along the floor seams, inside at the floor/wall joints, outside at the floor/wall joints, and outside where the floor meets the subfloor.
Once the roof was installed the structure became rigid, but I would not describe it as sturdy. The structure is light duty and should serve to keep the rain off stored items, but any shelving will need to be free standing on the floor as the walls are not sturdy enough to hold any weight. If you want to hang stuff on the walls or have any type of shelving, you will need a wood frame shed instead. This should work fine as a "garden shed" for yard tools and equipment but probably not as a typical "storage" shed unless you add free standing sturdy shelving. I'm sure my sturdy sub floor will long outlast the shed now assembled on top of it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Sturdy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Deer Park, Long Island
Gender:Male

Beautiful shed, quite a work to get it installed

PostedMay 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
About 26 hours spent. I spent one whole day building the floor. The floor was built on PT 4X4 frames every 46 inches and PT 2X4 in between every 4X4, the frame was raised on top of 10X16 cement blocks($1.44 each). About 26 cement blocks were used on all joints. The toal cost of material came out to be like $360. PT plywood for floor was the most expensive item. $41 each panel.
The shed looks beautiful, here are my observations.
Be careful on the manual you are going to follow. The manual which comes with the shed should be followed. The online manual have more wordings but part #s are different and so are couple of steps. The floor should be layed out carefully, otherwise once you put the right size wall close to door or left side wall close to door will cover the door bushing hole. The wall corner panels gave me hard time too. The instructional manual needs lots of work, May be the manufacturer should create install dvd . By and large beautiful shed and I hope it lasts for ever
Pros: Vibrant Color, Sturdy, Looks Great, Functional, Well Made, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, No Instructions, very expensive floor not included with shed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Sidney, NE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Deal!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ok, for all the negative reviews due to "quality" or anything like that....think about what you are getting. Go price out an 8x15 stick framed wood shed with siding and shingled roof. That is at least 3 times the price. This thing is amazing for the price and if you know what you are doing, it goes together perfectly! I would recommend this to anyone who is on a budget!!! Absolutely worth it!!!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
28out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Clearwater, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

it works just fine :)

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
got this shed for my business needs and I kinda like it:
price is about right - it was delivered to my business suite for free and I got it with 10% off by some competitor's coupon, quality just fine - it looks straight and solid thought that because a flat and solid concrete foundation... so, it is serving my needs and I am glad about it :)
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Fresno, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Perfect for our needs...

PostedDecember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We now have 2, 8' x 15' Lifetime sheds in different areas of our yard. Love them both! Easy to assemble and they look great! We read many review which provided some great additional tips on building these sheds. We poured cement pads for both which made it more expensive but they are SOLID! We purchased this unit (Shed #6446) for looks in the main yard (see pic) and unit Shed #6402 opens on the end which we have full of shelving units like a warehouse . On #6402 we put the window panels on one side (see pic) and tight against a fence. We set boxes on shelves or boards to protect them from moisture through the flooring seams as noted in "con" note. Search for the written text instructions online which will provide more details and tips for assembly than the universal picture only instructions that come with the kit. We are very happy with the looks, functionality and hope they will be durable!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: floor seems leak slightly but not a problem
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
19out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from West Seneca, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Shed!!!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was delivered in full. Construction was a lot easier than some posts, but should have at least one extra person to complete. I personally prefer a concrete pad, so i had one poured as my sheds foundation. That should truly make it "lifetime". The directions were straight forward, but if you have any experience with the building of any multi-piece assembly you'll realize that you will have to stray from the directions a bit to make it work.
I am very happy with this shed. It is spacious for all my seasonal equipment and then some. I would definitely purchase another Lifetime product if the need to arises!!
Pros: Durable, Functional, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Works great for the riding mower...

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed goes together ok, but make sure that 1) you download the manual that's online so you can compare to the one that comes with it, and 2) you have a hard, level surface prepared to put it on (floor is flimsy without)! Otherwise, it goes fairly smooth - the only item that was a pain was the horizontal truss brace. The bar is in the package and it is the correct dimension, according to the manual. Having said that, the actual build dimension is several inches different, making the bar unusable. Took a couple of hours to problem solve; final solution was to simply leave out the brace. Now that it's done, it works exactly as needed.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: confusing instructions, shed flooring could be sturdier
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Ligonier, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Patience required

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Don't just blow off warnings about the deck under this shed needing to be very level and square. Take the time to build a solid platform or you might as well forget the rest of this project because it will not go together properly. Once that is accomplished, the shed goes up fairly easily as long as you remember other warnings about the directions being worthless. Diagrams are poorly done and written directions leave ALOT to be desired. The shutter holes also didn't seem to make a lot of sense. Once it is up, it is solid and attractive and worth the money. Good luck.
Pros: Functional, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: directions worthless, plaform levelness a necessity, shed didn't seem to have holes in the right place
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Hoffman Estates
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Love My Shed

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed serves the purpose of housing the garden tools plus 2 lawn mowers and a snow plower, Christmas tree and trimmings as well as grill and patio furniture. Not only does it serves the purpose of all the necessities, but it also adds beautification to our yard. It looks like a miniture home. Will come back later and add photos. Love my shed.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, nice quality, beautifully designed, worth the money, property value increased, serves the purpose, 1 man job completed in 14 hours
Cons: insructions were not very clear, did not include all the screws that were needed, need to be sealed inside and out, plastic windows scratches very easy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good product but instructions have some drawbacks

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once completed, the shed is sturdy and should last a "lifetime." The directions are in "international" sign language with pictures. Not all the parts and small part bags are marked clearly so this leads to some confusion and slows build time. Recommend 3 people with three folding ladders and take your time reading and more importantly, "understanding" the directions. Should have access around the entire perimeter of shed for ladder access. Make sure base and shed have square corners or parts won't fit as required. Would allow minimum of two days for build: one for building shed base (three choices - not included with shed) and preconnecting metal braces and other parts; one day for putting shed together.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Leland NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Worst purchase

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
unless you have someone other than home depot recommendation, to assemble this product don't buy it. I feel I wasted my money. After it was assembled the roof leaked, the door would not shut I had to go out and buy a part for the door. the assembler threw away parts, that I had to reorder. it's not worth the money
Pros: Functional
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A solid product

PostedNovember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Firstly, once complete, it looks fantastic. It doesn't look cheap. It is well constructed as compared to some of the other cheaper sheds. I can't comment on durability until we get through a Michigan winter.
Received and put this shed up in about six or so hours with 2 people. You need the second person more to help hold and provide some resistence when screwing in some of the components. It came in Four boxes with parts spread out throughout each - so you really need to open all four and lay out the parts. The instructions were fairly straight forward, but I looked at the online instructions prior to receiving and then the instructions that came with the shed and found that they are slightly different. In the end you can assemble with either, just order of assembly. I did find that some of the bag tags didn't relate to what the instructions were calling for. This was mostly with all the screws and believe it's due to the different shed kits that use alot of the same screws. There are pictures and screw descriptions of each so it really isn't hard to figure out. You just need to match up what need. A large majority of screws are the same throughout anyway. Also I had a bunch of left over screws, it appears to be for other type sheds.
The instructions had a few unclear areas but once your working through will be able to figure out. One area is the trusses. There are 5 total trusses but 2 straightforward, 2 have standoffs and 1 unique truss. When you get to this look at the pictures ahead to assure what your assembling. The pictures will clarify what you need. They assemble very easily so if you make a mistake, it is not hard to pull back apart and redo.
The floor is very simple - you just need a level surface. The walls just snap into the floor (reasoning for level surface). Follow their recommended practice of placing a board beneath the snap point of the wall as it makes it very easy to snap in place. The corner walls are marked by number and identifier. All the other walls are straight forward.
The roof is also surprisingly easy and the extra person does come in handy here. The doors are also straightforward and had to play with adjustment a little but was not an issue.
The windows and shelving was also straightforward - although the picture and description for the long shelves was misleading. I ended up putting them on one side together and is flexible to place in other locations if needed.
Overall I'm very happy with the purchase and if your considering this shed, look around as I've found that the pricing does vary -so look online and check randomly as sales prices vary as much as $400 from what I've seen.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from Urbana, IA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Solid she'd so far

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The shed went together pretty easy. I put it up by myself and the help of my 4 year old daughter. It took about 12 hours that way. Seems to hold up well, just waiting for the first big storm.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from PA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Very pleased with outcome

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Being a mechanic for most of my life,i was very impressed with the design assembly.For the size of it,everything fit together well from beginning to end,with a few minor adjustments.All holes and screw dimples where there and in the right places.However you must keep in mind that wherever you place screws,do not over tighten,you are screwing into hard vinyl not wood or metal.Also,do not tighten nuts and bolts that hold trusses together to tight,because they will not line up with roof panels.You can tighten them later after assembly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Functional, Vibrant Color, Well Made, Excellent Quality, High Quality of Material, Great Instructions, Lots of Features, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from yonkers ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Shed!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only part of this that is a pain is placing the floor .I chose wood . This is not a good idea becouse as soon as it rained the floor worped . use crushed stone or cement .BUT i love my new shed.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 15 ft. x 8 ft. Outdoor Garden Shed
from billerica, ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

Looks great!!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this shed is very sturdy! it took us 2 full days to assemble, however if you know what your doing would take half the time. We love our new shed, very spacious!
Pros: Durable, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>