728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mailboxes & Mailbox Posts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox

4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox

The Salsbury Industries 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox features durable aluminum construction and a long-lasting powder-coated finish. Approved by the Postmaster General, this mailbox is rust and impact resistant. This mailbox comes pre-assembled for easy installation and has a secure magnetic catch and reinforced ridges for added strength.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product11 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
Review 1 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
from Nokomis Fl.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Look good for awhile

PostedApril 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These boxes look good but will not stand up to the corrosion test. Aluminium is not corrosion treated underneath the powder coat so any moisture that migrates underneath the black top coat is trapped and sets up a corrosion cell. No pretreatment is done and the corrosion cell breaks the bond between the topcoat and the base material. To properly treat the corrosion the mailbox must be disassembled and Plastic Media or sandblasted and then treated correctly. Correct treatment consists of a alodine treatment to the base metal or applying a chromated primer prior to top coating. I come from an aircraft corrosion background and know the proper way to treat aluminium and this product does not display proper treatment. The mailbox will last 3-5 years prior to corrosion popping through the powder/top coat. At that time your choices are as follow: a. Live with it until the corrosion get to the point it is unusable. b. Spray it with cheap paints for cosmetic reasons. c. Replace it with a plastic box that won't corrode but will suffer from ultraviolet breakdown.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
from Asheville, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Expensive, but wanted a package deal for newspaper and mail.

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good size, heavy sturdy, nice looking like the brown.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox

Wow!

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mailbox is better than I anticipated. I was apprehensive about the magnetic closure but it is strong and effective. The box itself is very sturdy and easy to attach. I also purchased the newspaper holder which is equally top-notch.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
from Farmington Hills, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Outstanding product at a very reasonable price

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with the quality and construction of this mailbox. My neighbors are a little PO'd since I set the bar fairly high as they look at their deteriorating mailboxes.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, very high quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
from Iowa

Great product!

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful mailbox. It is a very high quality, well made product that will last forever. It opens smoothly, and the powder-coated bronze finish is outstanding. We also purchased the newspaper holder and the matching mailbox post, and the loo phenomenal. They are well worth the price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
from Albany, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent quality, craftsmanship

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I must say I was hesitant to pay this much for a mailbox but after having spent an equal amount combined on the last two mailboxes I had that didn't last a lifetime I figured maybe this would be worth the cost. The quality and sturdiness of this mailbox is superior. I really believe this will be the last mailbox I ever purchase.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female

Love it!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This mailbox looks great with my Salsbury Decorative Victorian Bronze post! Very sturdy! I would recommend it to anyone!
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox

Manufactured to a high quality

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Got what I expected and I don’t think I will be purchasing another mailbox for a long time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
from Manassas, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Really nice looking and sturdy

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dark Bronze is rich looking and I love that it has a red flag! Larger than our last box and we chose it because of the magnate on the door to keep it closed ;)
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44

Beautiful, great quality

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this mailbox. I was surprised at the quality and substantial weight. Great curb appeal.
Pros: Durable, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: wish base was more adaptable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
from Ft Lauderdale

Well constructed mailbox

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
Beautiful well-finished AND well-priced.. Shopped it on the 'net and this was the best deal.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 4800 Series Post-Mount Antique Rural Mailbox
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product