728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Brushes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

The Shur-Line Edge Like A Pro Paint Edger is perfect for edging walls, ceilings, windows and baseboards. It has a retractable guide for mess-free paint loading and a quick-eject pad release button. It eliminates the need for edging tape and is threaded for pole attachment.
Overall rating:
3.658 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product48 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(37)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(8)
1
(15)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
68%of customersrecommend this product48 of 71reviews
Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Review 1 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Jefferson, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use - Made painting fun?

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I dont normaly write reviews but I had to on this product. We have never had any edger work as nice as this one did. Easy and fun to paint. I know fun to paint?, not two works that go tograther. Just remember when doing trim board at floor level and the pad is being held upside down, dont have too much paint on the pad or it will not work like it should. I got into a system of pulling lever back when I removed from wall and the pushed lever back into place when I removed fron paint pan. When you purchase one you will understand what I am talking about. I especially loved the pad removal botton. I did not have to touch the wet paint pad for clean up or changing colors.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy little tool well worth the price

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This corner painter tool works great. I lack patience (especially when painting) so this was a life saver and did the job well. Just keep it clean as you work. If the rollers get paint on them the device won't work. I used a smaller brush to brush the paint onto the corner edger sponge instead of dipping it into the paint. Also, the felt sponge material on this is a little flimsy but you can purchase refills which I would suggest 1 for each room. I used mine for 3 rooms and 2 closets and it was spent. You can clean the sponge many times though so if you're careful and clean up frequently you can extend the life of this thing for as long as you need.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Saint Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made painting the edges a breeze!!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am glad I discovered this, even after I had already painted 3 rooms! I love it! Painting the trim killed by legs and back, but not anymore. It made painting the edges a breeze. With this product you cannot be heavy handed. You have to be careful to only dip the pad in the paint and rub some of the excess off on the side of the paint tray. If you do get some on the rollers you will get it on the trim, but no worries. Just get a wet rag and wipe it off. It is so much faster than using a brush and you can't beat the price. Even my husband was empressed as he watched me paint! Highly recommend.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Excellent!

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is so impressive. I was skeptical at first, but the reviews sounded good so I tried it out. I used this on a hallway with five doorways and it never made a mess. Load the paint pad with a brush and you'll have a perfect line. If you can't make this product work for you, hire a painter.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Easthampton, MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed again

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had high hopes for the next generation of this tool, which now includes a retractable plastic guide along the top edge, supposedly to maintain a sharp paint line. But alas, when using it along my ceiling, paint still seeped beyond the guides and onto the ceiling. The old version, with wheels only and no guides, is not perfect but it works better than this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Buffalo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I hate painting ceilings.. its very difficult for me to get a straight line along the wall on the ceiling. Professional painter I am not, (free hand cutting in and getting a straight line is not for me)so I purchased this tool. It works very well. You do have to be mindful that when you reload the paint that you pull the wheels back every time, otherwise, paint will get on the wheels and of course on the wall where you do not want it. Good product. (I do still tape off as well though). Makes painting go a little faster with less mistakes to fix later.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from carrollton, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use masking tape instead

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made a worse mess of edges than if I did them freehand. As it rolls along the paint from the edge of the pad creeps up onto the edge guards and then starts spreading streaks on the wrong side.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Sarasota, Fl
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Pro Paint Edger

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This worked great along the ceiling and the woodwork.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Canton, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Fast Edging Batman!!!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this particular brand of edger before and was very disappointed. The new design (retracting rollers, swivel head, etc) is infinitely better. Doors, windows, 90/45 degree ceiling and even base molding was a breeze. I just painted a 19X12X10 room with two doors and and 4 windows in under 3 hours without a single inch of tape.
To be totally forthright, I still prefer to "load" the edger with a paint brush instead of dipping it into a tray as a precaution to keeping the rollers clean. But all said, I was VERY IMPRESSED with the new product!!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Great time saver

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not perfect - can mark opposite wall/ceiling with paint if not careful but in the main does a great job. Couple of small tricks can minimise those gotchas. Drops one star for that
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Florida
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This edger is terrible

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this edger and was totally disappointed. Drips paint down your arm no matter how little you use. I was able to edge with a plain brush better than this toll would allow.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great help

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Why have I not purchased this before? It makes edging a breeze!
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Get the non pro one

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pro version of this tool is far worse then the non pro one. The top guards on this pick up paint very easy so you have to sit there and clean it off all the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Fox lake, illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not user friendly

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recamend using tape, Frog tape never bleeds sticks good and leaves nice straight lines on door and floor trim, Evan if you have to tape your ceilings.Those little wheels on this item always seem to get paint on them and you always have to brush down the outer edge when using this paint pad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't Work

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product will not work as advertised. Definitely no good for tight corners.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Hamburg NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Time Saver

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Using this product saved me a lot of time edging. It put the paint on fairly evenly. Only problem I had was that the little wheels kept getting paint on them, which tracked onto the ceiling. That was frustrating. Someone else who uses this product suggested that I 'paint' the paint onto the edger, rather that 'dipping' it in the paint tray. So I will try that next time. But I definitely plan to use it again.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: have to keep cleaning the wheels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little tool saved me tons of time. After painting one room and edging free hand, I realized there are quite a few things I am good at, but edging is not one of them. I lost all hope, I was completely frustrated and wanted to give up painting the rest of the house that so badly needed painted ( I had just bought a fixer upper). I searched online and found this little beauty. I watched a couple youtube videos on usage and away I went. From there I looked forward to painting the rest of the house and my edge lines were straight and beautiful. Painting is fun....now....that I have this to edge with! I would highly recommend to anyone that struggles with their edge lines even a little.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

cut in perfection in minutes.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was spending hours doing cut in and doing a pretty sloppy job because my hands weren't steady enough with the brush. I bought this tool on a whim and didn't have much faith that it could be the miracle I needed - but it was. I was cutting in rooms at a fraction of the time I used to take using a brush, and the job was much neater. I actually used far less paint as well. As long as you don't load too much paint on the pad, and always keep the paint off the black clips at the top - you won't get paint on the ceiling, doors, windows, etc. This was worth it 100%. Made a tough job much easier. Some rooms I found that a second coat was necessary, but since it was so fast I didnt really mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Minden, LA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Handy

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A fraction of the cost of painters tape and a fraction of the time. It just takes getting a feel for how much paint to apply - very little - and how to manipulate the tool. Keep a wet rag handy to wipe off the bumpers and wheels between passes because it's nearly impossible to keep them paint free. Cheap enough that I don't bother cleaning the pads, just pop on a replacement each time I paint. This is a great product for the impatient, shaky-handed do-it-yourselfer. Probably not so bad for the patient and sure-handed either.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

worked great!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of the best edgers I've used! Only downfall is sometimes the paint got on the shield, but I just took a paper towel to it, and it was good to go again. I loved using this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>