728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Brushes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

The Shur-Line Edge Like A Pro Paint Edger is perfect for edging walls, ceilings, windows and baseboards. It has a retractable guide for mess-free paint loading and a quick-eject pad release button. It eliminates the need for edging tape and is threaded for pole attachment.
Overall rating:
3.754 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product41 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(33)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(7)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product41 of 59reviews
Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Review 1 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy little tool well worth the price

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This corner painter tool works great. I lack patience (especially when painting) so this was a life saver and did the job well. Just keep it clean as you work. If the rollers get paint on them the device won't work. I used a smaller brush to brush the paint onto the corner edger sponge instead of dipping it into the paint. Also, the felt sponge material on this is a little flimsy but you can purchase refills which I would suggest 1 for each room. I used mine for 3 rooms and 2 closets and it was spent. You can clean the sponge many times though so if you're careful and clean up frequently you can extend the life of this thing for as long as you need.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Jefferson, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use - Made painting fun?

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I dont normaly write reviews but I had to on this product. We have never had any edger work as nice as this one did. Easy and fun to paint. I know fun to paint?, not two works that go tograther. Just remember when doing trim board at floor level and the pad is being held upside down, dont have too much paint on the pad or it will not work like it should. I got into a system of pulling lever back when I removed from wall and the pushed lever back into place when I removed fron paint pan. When you purchase one you will understand what I am talking about. I especially loved the pad removal botton. I did not have to touch the wet paint pad for clean up or changing colors.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Saint Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made painting the edges a breeze!!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am glad I discovered this, even after I had already painted 3 rooms! I love it! Painting the trim killed by legs and back, but not anymore. It made painting the edges a breeze. With this product you cannot be heavy handed. You have to be careful to only dip the pad in the paint and rub some of the excess off on the side of the paint tray. If you do get some on the rollers you will get it on the trim, but no worries. Just get a wet rag and wipe it off. It is so much faster than using a brush and you can't beat the price. Even my husband was empressed as he watched me paint! Highly recommend.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Canton, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Fast Edging Batman!!!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this particular brand of edger before and was very disappointed. The new design (retracting rollers, swivel head, etc) is infinitely better. Doors, windows, 90/45 degree ceiling and even base molding was a breeze. I just painted a 19X12X10 room with two doors and and 4 windows in under 3 hours without a single inch of tape.
To be totally forthright, I still prefer to "load" the edger with a paint brush instead of dipping it into a tray as a precaution to keeping the rollers clean. But all said, I was VERY IMPRESSED with the new product!!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from carrollton, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use masking tape instead

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made a worse mess of edges than if I did them freehand. As it rolls along the paint from the edge of the pad creeps up onto the edge guards and then starts spreading streaks on the wrong side.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Minden, LA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Handy

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A fraction of the cost of painters tape and a fraction of the time. It just takes getting a feel for how much paint to apply - very little - and how to manipulate the tool. Keep a wet rag handy to wipe off the bumpers and wheels between passes because it's nearly impossible to keep them paint free. Cheap enough that I don't bother cleaning the pads, just pop on a replacement each time I paint. This is a great product for the impatient, shaky-handed do-it-yourselfer. Probably not so bad for the patient and sure-handed either.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total junk

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You are better off edging freehand. Nothing about this works. Try it on a pole, it will not stay flat and will get paint all over moulding as it tilts upwards. And, the swivel is too loose and it rotates freely making an even bigger mess.
The rollers get full of paint and starts painting the edge unevenly.
Save yourself hours of cleanup work and do it with tape and a brush.
Cons: tils from wall, swivels freely, by design cannot work witn a pole., gets paint everywhere
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Sigh...

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just got this tool home and I was very excited to use it I mean who wouldn't want a painting tool to easily do wall lines and ceiling edges. Let me first off begin by saying using this tool as directed when you first *Lightly float in paint and scrape off excess* the scraping motion made the pad on the bottom fall off, not a big deal I can let that slide, what I will not allow to slide is after that initial pad malfunction this thing is dropping the pad all over the place from the top of my ladder as i'm trying to paint a ceiling line to just standing there with it.
In short the idea is great the execution of the idea is weak, the protrusions that hold the paint clip in need to be larger and grab more on the paint pad. I gave it a fair rating because the tool idea is great just poorly made which is further reflected in the "Quality" and "Value" rating.
Pros: great idea
Cons: poor build quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Copley, OH 44321, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better with a paint brush

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great in concept, but actual execution is lacking. You end up with more clean-up and time - coupled with marginal results - than using a paint brush and tape.
Cons: difficult to acheive good results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little tool saved me tons of time. After painting one room and edging free hand, I realized there are quite a few things I am good at, but edging is not one of them. I lost all hope, I was completely frustrated and wanted to give up painting the rest of the house that so badly needed painted ( I had just bought a fixer upper). I searched online and found this little beauty. I watched a couple youtube videos on usage and away I went. From there I looked forward to painting the rest of the house and my edge lines were straight and beautiful. Painting is fun....now....that I have this to edge with! I would highly recommend to anyone that struggles with their edge lines even a little.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Arbutus, Md.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than using tape!

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It takes a lil practice, but what doesn`t? I prefer this, rather than having to tape the walls or what ever that needs to be taped. Plus it will save you money in the long run. I was actually a lil surprised to how well this works. I do recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

cut in perfection in minutes.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was spending hours doing cut in and doing a pretty sloppy job because my hands weren't steady enough with the brush. I bought this tool on a whim and didn't have much faith that it could be the miracle I needed - but it was. I was cutting in rooms at a fraction of the time I used to take using a brush, and the job was much neater. I actually used far less paint as well. As long as you don't load too much paint on the pad, and always keep the paint off the black clips at the top - you won't get paint on the ceiling, doors, windows, etc. This was worth it 100%. Made a tough job much easier. Some rooms I found that a second coat was necessary, but since it was so fast I didnt really mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from BGKY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice straight lines!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Made nice straight line along door and window frames. A little tougher to use around baseboards & crown moulding but still painted nice lines. MUCH easier than a brush alone
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Newark, DE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Against better judgement, tried it again...

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a version of this previously in the last 8-10 yrs. Found it was messy and didn't help as much as I thought it would due to the rollers picking up paint and leaving nice little roller streaks on the ceiling. You have to have surgeon's hands to pickup paint on this tool just on the pad. If your hands are that stead, just cut it in with a nice brush and save the lost hope and frustration that this thing gives.
I didn't give it 1 star because the little flip up rails are an improvement but didn't help in the long run.
Cons: messy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from washington,dc

you need this if you're going to paint

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
don't ever tape off a corner or edge to paint again, this does it for you!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Messy

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not a fan. Quicker and cleaner to cut out the trim by hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Cincinnati, OH

Doesn't work as advertised

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This looked like this would work better than previous edgers I have used. However, the front wheel guards get covered with paint too easily and end up putting paint on the other surface. I have had better luck with less expensive edgers.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
Cons: gets paint on the wheel covers too easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I bought this sooner!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had already painted the bedroom and dinning room at out new house when i bought this. I had it for the painting of the living room and spare bedroom. What a life saver around baseboards and windows! As long as you remember to put the load/paint switch in the load position when dipping it in your paint, be sure to wipe of the excess paint on the edge of your paint tray, and ensure the wheels are facing toward the baseboard or window seal it will work EVERY time! I didn't even need to tape off my baseboards or windows! You may have to go back and forth a few times but it typically has enough paint to cover. You can see the great straight line under the window and above the vent in the picture i included! I still preferred to cut in free hand at ceilings and corners, though this worked for that to it splattered little droplets on the ceiling and neighboring wall (i think this was because the walls were textured and the corners more rounded then on perfectly flat walls)
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: splatters when cutting in to ceilings & corners
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Apply paint with a brush onto pad..

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Apply the paint to the pad with a brush instead of dipping..You can control the amount of paint that way...always perfect!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from saint petersburg, florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is wonderful and AMAZING

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used some of these paint edgers in the past, and tossed them, but figured I'd give a more current product a try, as I hate cutting in and my hands aren't as sure-footed anymore. It is fabulous. Like one of the other reviewers said..."you dip in no more than 1/4" paint." I used a saved square plastic "food to go" container" that was slightly larger than the pad/unit. It had a groove around the middle and I put that much paint in, so it come to the indentation. Slow going at first, to get used to it. My first try was under a counter top that wouldn't show ooze, mistakes. You lift the edger clips with the rollers (there's like a toggle), dip the paint, taking care not to get on the edge or clips (up position), wipe on side of container, put down clips and edge away. I took the time to clean the clips before/after every dip. Used a lot of wrung out wet paper towels, but it paid off. My ceiling lines are perfect!. In some places I did tape the white enamel door or window facings, because house is old, and bumps in plaster were sometimes an issue. You must take your time and be certain both sides of your clips are clean as well as the rollers and pad edges. Even, with the extra care it went a kazillion times faster, and less tiresome and tedious than cutting in. I was a total non-believer because of past disasters with these units. I will never paint without it again. You may have to go over twice depending on wall texture and paint viscosity. I also went back with roller while doing walls and got as close as possible to ceiling and frames. I did touch-ups with brush. That is just a given. Let the pad soak up the paint, but DO NOT saturate it. Better to fill, drag pad for excess, brush, clean clips (if necessary, not always), refill and do it again. Like anything, you have to take your time, but it saved SOOOOOO much time and looks SOOOO much better. Highly recommend. Oh, and I was also using dark paints. Best $5 I ever spent.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, limited drips wich are user error not product err
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>