728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Brushes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

The Shur-Line Edge Like A Pro Paint Edger is perfect for edging walls, ceilings, windows and baseboards. It has a retractable guide for mess-free paint loading and a quick-eject pad release button. It eliminates the need for edging tape and is threaded for pole attachment.
Overall rating:
3.722 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product25 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product25 of 35reviews
Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Review 1 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Matt
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good on textured walls, but....

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The edger works very well on textured walls, however the guide that is supposed to keep the paint off of the baseboards doesnt work well at all. I tried using it just like the instructions said and ended up with paint on my baseboards. I ended up taping off the rest of my baseboards and ceiling so as not to have a mess. Once taped off the edger made the job so much faster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
PaintCoversMe
from Glenpool, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Dissapointed

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used edgers in other projects with no problem whatsoever. So, I was surprised with all the trouble I had with this edger. First, the pad would slip off (and fall to the floor) for no apparent reason. I also can't get the edge all the way to the ceiling - an issue I've never had to deal with in other painting projects. Also, the way the handle would rotate unexpected was a major problem.
After spending nearly $5 for this product I have to go back to the store and, hopefully, get a refund........and get another edger.
Cons: pad falls off multiple times., rotating handle makes painting difficult.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Abbygirl27
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I bought this sooner!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had already painted the bedroom and dinning room at out new house when i bought this. I had it for the painting of the living room and spare bedroom. What a life saver around baseboards and windows! As long as you remember to put the load/paint switch in the load position when dipping it in your paint, be sure to wipe of the excess paint on the edge of your paint tray, and ensure the wheels are facing toward the baseboard or window seal it will work EVERY time! I didn't even need to tape off my baseboards or windows! You may have to go back and forth a few times but it typically has enough paint to cover. You can see the great straight line under the window and above the vent in the picture i included! I still preferred to cut in free hand at ceilings and corners, though this worked for that to it splattered little droplets on the ceiling and neighboring wall (i think this was because the walls were textured and the corners more rounded then on perfectly flat walls)
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: splatters when cutting in to ceilings & corners
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
NewPainter

Best painting tool

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I want to start off by saying you should still use painter's tape! There is no way I could be without that even with this tool however.... I am so happy I purchased this!
It puts the paint on incredibly smooth and quickly and it holds a lot of paint! It might take a minute of getting used to but I will never be without this. I'm a new homeowner and it is my first time painting which is kind of a rude awakening but I finally have a system down and this is a crucial part of it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Peter
from North Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and simple to use.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product makes edging simple and easy to use. The guard aids in assuring you have a good bead and the pop off pad release makes cleaning easy to accomplish. There are several youtube.com videos suggesting how to load paint to the pad but the Shur-line product demonstration videos are the best.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
KLAS
from North Versailles, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't do the trick

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tool does not distribute paint evenly. Loading the tool is not easy and the roller pins get paint on them which defeats the purpose of clean edging.
Pros: Easy Instructions
Cons: leaks paint
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
KarateMom
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more tape!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We're painting our bedroom and bathroom, and this edger is wonderful. We have very textured walls, and we used just tape at first -- I was not pleased with the results. My friend said that she had used this edger, and we figured that it couldn't make it look any worse than what we had already done. It looks fabulous, and we are incredibly happy with the ease of use and the quality of the work achieved. As long as you make sure to raise the plastic edge piece before you put it in the paint tray, you too will have excellent results. No more tape!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
cooper67
from Abingdon,Md
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this tool!!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the easiest and fastest way to cut in. Would recommend to anyone!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Lynn
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works pretty well on walls however not near ceilings

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I still have textured ceilings and found this product did not perform well on the wall adjacent to the ceiling. It was fine for walls near baseboards and trim.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
itsme143

Can't imagine a better one

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to do my dining room, and I have nothing bad to say. Normally my husband does all of the edging and cutting in, but with this I had no problem edging and rolling and I got the whole room done by myself.
As with all such time-saver tools, nothing is magic. But with some common sense and some diligence along the way, this edger will cut your painting time down in spades:
Don't overload the pad with paint (using the roller to put the paint on the pad is a good idea), take a break and use the roller to cut in so you don't end up with pad marks on your walls, pause occasionally to check the edger and wipe any errant paint off of the paint guides with your fingertip.
Do these things consistently and you'll be good to go with great results!
Highly recommend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Bill
from Franklin, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Shur-Line Edger - A Big Help to Beginners

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these to see how they would work in my new start-up painting and home repair business. I am not a professional painter but have done lots of it thru the years and always hated the cut-in part because it takes a steady hand and a lot of time. The edger worked OK, but not any better than my cutting in by hand with a good angled sash brush; pretty much a trade-off of some time saved versus quality of finished work. I would say this would be a good tool for those who have not had a lot of cut-in practice, for beginning homeowners, etc. Also, it did not work well at all along the ceiling; if you have anything other than a smooth drywall ceiling, just make sure to bring home a good quality angled sash brush (I use 1 1/2" wide) when you get your paint at Home Depot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
paintinggal

Apply paint with a brush onto pad..

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Apply the paint to the pad with a brush instead of dipping..You can control the amount of paint that way...always perfect!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
MichaelS
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more pain!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have carpal tunnel problems and within 10 mins of painting with a normal brush I am in pain. I was skeptical when I bought this edger because these kinds of products always seemed too good to be true to me. I have to say I was impressed with how well this thing worked, and the best part was I not only edged the whole room in no time, but I had zero pain in my wrist. I will gladly continue using this edger.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Crystalartwork
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This painters edger didn't hold up

PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this edger for a small room and it broke with in 20minutes of use. The swivel feature kept releasing and causing the job to be sloppy and needed to be touched up. Would not recommend.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Easy to Use
Cons: the swivel breaks easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Erin

Great improvement on the Sureline edger design

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Sureline edgers for years and always managed to drag a line of paint across my ceiling because the wheels would get paint on them. This design allows the edges to lift up when you dip the pad in paint, keeping them clear of paint. It's truly genius. I have been thrilled with the clean line at the ceiling and my friends ask me how I managed to get it so perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Isaidit
from Marietta, Ga
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not perfrom as expected.

PostedDecember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a hard time getting the right amount of paint on the paint pad. The paint did not spread evenly using this. Please don't buy this. Take your time and use the time tested: painter's tape and brush. I ended up throwing this product in the trash and going back to the brush. I was thinking, why didn't I just use tape on all the borders.
Cons: hard to keep the parts that don't touch paint clea
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
DanB
from Brainerd, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved a lot of time!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of using such a device, as I have always been a tape kind of person. When it came time for my wife and I to paint our dining room, after starting with the taping, I wanted to fling myself off the room. There is probably 300 feet of lines that needed to be taped, when I would rather be painting. I read the reviews, and the tips from other users, and I thought for a small investment, this may really help me out. Turns out, this is one of the best purchases I have ever made! I was able to do all of the cutting in, while my wife followed behind me with the roller. This actually worked for both of us as she hates to cut in, and I am terrible at rolling. We were able to paint our entire dining room in five hours! The last room we painted was our daughter's room, which was 10 x 10 and had a lot of cutting in to do. In addition to being really efficient, we used a lot less paint using this than we would have just using a brush. You still need to do some touch up on interior corners, but this was a true time saver! I agree with the other reviewers in terms of paint application. Use a brush to paint on the applicator as opposed to trying to dip it in a tray. In addition, go easy on how much paint you apply until you really get a feel for the device and how much paint comes out. You do have to load it up with paint about every 10 feet or so, but it still applied paint more efficiently than a brush ever can when cutting in. Be sure to keep the rollers clean so you do not bleed through to unintended areas.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
MLDoyle

Will change your life!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Anyone who gave this tool less than four or five stars simply didn't use it correctly. The first time I used this, I set it aside and thought it was a waste of money. THEN I learned how to use it right and it's the best painting tool I've EVER used. The key is to ensure the front edge of the edger used on the edge. The sides doen't work. Also, don't overload the pad with paint. Get it wet, rub off the excess, press firmly and continually and you'll be amazed. This product took hours off my project.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Canton
from Canton, GA

Awesome Tool

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best edger I have ever used. Even works great around all moulding types. Just make sure you keep the guard clean. This could sell for $20 or more and it would still be worth it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
jm1955
from Moreno Valley, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nothing good about this

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time with this piece of garbage!!!!!
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>