728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Brushes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

The Shur-Line Edge Like A Pro Paint Edger is perfect for edging walls, ceilings, windows and baseboards. It has a retractable guide for mess-free paint loading and a quick-eject pad release button. It eliminates the need for edging tape and is threaded for pole attachment.
Overall rating:
3.857 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product35 of 48reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(28)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product35 of 48reviews
Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Review 1 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Canton, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Fast Edging Batman!!!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this particular brand of edger before and was very disappointed. The new design (retracting rollers, swivel head, etc) is infinitely better. Doors, windows, 90/45 degree ceiling and even base molding was a breeze. I just painted a 19X12X10 room with two doors and and 4 windows in under 3 hours without a single inch of tape.
To be totally forthright, I still prefer to "load" the edger with a paint brush instead of dipping it into a tray as a precaution to keeping the rollers clean. But all said, I was VERY IMPRESSED with the new product!!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little tool saved me tons of time. After painting one room and edging free hand, I realized there are quite a few things I am good at, but edging is not one of them. I lost all hope, I was completely frustrated and wanted to give up painting the rest of the house that so badly needed painted ( I had just bought a fixer upper). I searched online and found this little beauty. I watched a couple youtube videos on usage and away I went. From there I looked forward to painting the rest of the house and my edge lines were straight and beautiful. Painting is fun....now....that I have this to edge with! I would highly recommend to anyone that struggles with their edge lines even a little.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

cut in perfection in minutes.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was spending hours doing cut in and doing a pretty sloppy job because my hands weren't steady enough with the brush. I bought this tool on a whim and didn't have much faith that it could be the miracle I needed - but it was. I was cutting in rooms at a fraction of the time I used to take using a brush, and the job was much neater. I actually used far less paint as well. As long as you don't load too much paint on the pad, and always keep the paint off the black clips at the top - you won't get paint on the ceiling, doors, windows, etc. This was worth it 100%. Made a tough job much easier. Some rooms I found that a second coat was necessary, but since it was so fast I didnt really mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Newark, DE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Against better judgement, tried it again...

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a version of this previously in the last 8-10 yrs. Found it was messy and didn't help as much as I thought it would due to the rollers picking up paint and leaving nice little roller streaks on the ceiling. You have to have surgeon's hands to pickup paint on this tool just on the pad. If your hands are that stead, just cut it in with a nice brush and save the lost hope and frustration that this thing gives.
I didn't give it 1 star because the little flip up rails are an improvement but didn't help in the long run.
Cons: messy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Cincinnati, OH

Doesn't work as advertised

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This looked like this would work better than previous edgers I have used. However, the front wheel guards get covered with paint too easily and end up putting paint on the other surface. I have had better luck with less expensive edgers.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
Cons: gets paint on the wheel covers too easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from saint petersburg, florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This thing is wonderful and AMAZING

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used some of these paint edgers in the past, and tossed them, but figured I'd give a more current product a try, as I hate cutting in and my hands aren't as sure-footed anymore. It is fabulous. Like one of the other reviewers said..."you dip in no more than 1/4" paint." I used a saved square plastic "food to go" container" that was slightly larger than the pad/unit. It had a groove around the middle and I put that much paint in, so it come to the indentation. Slow going at first, to get used to it. My first try was under a counter top that wouldn't show ooze, mistakes. You lift the edger clips with the rollers (there's like a toggle), dip the paint, taking care not to get on the edge or clips (up position), wipe on side of container, put down clips and edge away. I took the time to clean the clips before/after every dip. Used a lot of wrung out wet paper towels, but it paid off. My ceiling lines are perfect!. In some places I did tape the white enamel door or window facings, because house is old, and bumps in plaster were sometimes an issue. You must take your time and be certain both sides of your clips are clean as well as the rollers and pad edges. Even, with the extra care it went a kazillion times faster, and less tiresome and tedious than cutting in. I was a total non-believer because of past disasters with these units. I will never paint without it again. You may have to go over twice depending on wall texture and paint viscosity. I also went back with roller while doing walls and got as close as possible to ceiling and frames. I did touch-ups with brush. That is just a given. Let the pad soak up the paint, but DO NOT saturate it. Better to fill, drag pad for excess, brush, clean clips (if necessary, not always), refill and do it again. Like anything, you have to take your time, but it saved SOOOOOO much time and looks SOOOO much better. Highly recommend. Oh, and I was also using dark paints. Best $5 I ever spent.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly, limited drips wich are user error not product err
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Blairsville
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pro Paint Edger

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Messy, messy, messy. Paint pad won't stay on edger.
Cons: messy paint cover slides off too easily.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I bought this sooner!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had already painted the bedroom and dinning room at out new house when i bought this. I had it for the painting of the living room and spare bedroom. What a life saver around baseboards and windows! As long as you remember to put the load/paint switch in the load position when dipping it in your paint, be sure to wipe of the excess paint on the edge of your paint tray, and ensure the wheels are facing toward the baseboard or window seal it will work EVERY time! I didn't even need to tape off my baseboards or windows! You may have to go back and forth a few times but it typically has enough paint to cover. You can see the great straight line under the window and above the vent in the picture i included! I still preferred to cut in free hand at ceilings and corners, though this worked for that to it splattered little droplets on the ceiling and neighboring wall (i think this was because the walls were textured and the corners more rounded then on perfectly flat walls)
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: splatters when cutting in to ceilings & corners
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Apply paint with a brush onto pad..

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Apply the paint to the pad with a brush instead of dipping..You can control the amount of paint that way...always perfect!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Malden, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simplifies edging

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Is it as simple as putting paint on the pad and running it across the edge you want painted? No. There is a bit of a learning curve as what is too much or too little paint, but overall this is an amazing product once you get the hang of it. Given the contours of my walls, this tool made edging a breeze, allowing me to get to the rolling portion of the project sooner than later.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Can't imagine a better one

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to do my dining room, and I have nothing bad to say. Normally my husband does all of the edging and cutting in, but with this I had no problem edging and rolling and I got the whole room done by myself.
As with all such time-saver tools, nothing is magic. But with some common sense and some diligence along the way, this edger will cut your painting time down in spades:
Don't overload the pad with paint (using the roller to put the paint on the pad is a good idea), take a break and use the roller to cut in so you don't end up with pad marks on your walls, pause occasionally to check the edger and wipe any errant paint off of the paint guides with your fingertip.
Do these things consistently and you'll be good to go with great results!
Highly recommend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Milwaukee, WI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Edger

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great for edging ceiling - especially ceiling tiles in commercial spaces. Be careful to always retract the wheels when loading paint - use the little black finger pad to retract/extend the wheels. Keep paint off of the wheels and edge piece or else it will transfer to wall and leave a smudge. Otherwise easy to use.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply
Cons: Difficult to Clean, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more tape!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We're painting our bedroom and bathroom, and this edger is wonderful. We have very textured walls, and we used just tape at first -- I was not pleased with the results. My friend said that she had used this edger, and we figured that it couldn't make it look any worse than what we had already done. It looks fabulous, and we are incredibly happy with the ease of use and the quality of the work achieved. As long as you make sure to raise the plastic edge piece before you put it in the paint tray, you too will have excellent results. No more tape!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Canton, GA

Awesome Tool

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best edger I have ever used. Even works great around all moulding types. Just make sure you keep the guard clean. This could sell for $20 or more and it would still be worth it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Brainerd, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved a lot of time!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of using such a device, as I have always been a tape kind of person. When it came time for my wife and I to paint our dining room, after starting with the taping, I wanted to fling myself off the room. There is probably 300 feet of lines that needed to be taped, when I would rather be painting. I read the reviews, and the tips from other users, and I thought for a small investment, this may really help me out. Turns out, this is one of the best purchases I have ever made! I was able to do all of the cutting in, while my wife followed behind me with the roller. This actually worked for both of us as she hates to cut in, and I am terrible at rolling. We were able to paint our entire dining room in five hours! The last room we painted was our daughter's room, which was 10 x 10 and had a lot of cutting in to do. In addition to being really efficient, we used a lot less paint using this than we would have just using a brush. You still need to do some touch up on interior corners, but this was a true time saver! I agree with the other reviewers in terms of paint application. Use a brush to paint on the applicator as opposed to trying to dip it in a tray. In addition, go easy on how much paint you apply until you really get a feel for the device and how much paint comes out. You do have to load it up with paint about every 10 feet or so, but it still applied paint more efficiently than a brush ever can when cutting in. Be sure to keep the rollers clean so you do not bleed through to unintended areas.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

I cant believe everybody doesn't use this

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After buying a new house and taping off room after room at about 6 dollars a roll for tape I don't know why this isn't in everybody's house. It costs less than than a roll of tape and I just completed a room in the tape it would have taken to tape half of it. Its simple to use, basically just don't get paint on the guard and your good to go. Get it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Using Hand, Not So Good Using Pole

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great as long as you use it by hand. Trimmed around the doors and windows quickly. Then I tried to use it on a pole on a smooth surface ceiling. Unless you have an angled pole or can reach high enough to keep a straight pole above your head, the edger will twist and loose contact with the surface which causes missed spots and puts paint on the other surface you are trying to protect. It must be held flat and flush without losing contact. The edger needs to be cleaned frequently to keep paint from building up on the rollers which will also apply paint to the surface you are trying to protect.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

works well if you get to know it

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As others have stated there is a bit of a learning curve to using this item, but once you understand how to load the pad and keep the paint from dripping it works fantastic! A wet paper towel or rag kept handy to keep the rollers and edge guard clean between strokes helps cut down on paint bleed. It sure beats taping! and can't go wrong for the price either
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Great improvement on the Sureline edger design

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Sureline edgers for years and always managed to drag a line of paint across my ceiling because the wheels would get paint on them. This design allows the edges to lift up when you dip the pad in paint, keeping them clear of paint. It's truly genius. I have been thrilled with the clean line at the ceiling and my friends ask me how I managed to get it so perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Franklin, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Shur-Line Edger - A Big Help to Beginners

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these to see how they would work in my new start-up painting and home repair business. I am not a professional painter but have done lots of it thru the years and always hated the cut-in part because it takes a steady hand and a lot of time. The edger worked OK, but not any better than my cutting in by hand with a good angled sash brush; pretty much a trade-off of some time saved versus quality of finished work. I would say this would be a good tool for those who have not had a lot of cut-in practice, for beginning homeowners, etc. Also, it did not work well at all along the ceiling; if you have anything other than a smooth drywall ceiling, just make sure to bring home a good quality angled sash brush (I use 1 1/2" wide) when you get your paint at Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>