728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Brushes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

The Shur-Line Edge Like A Pro Paint Edger is perfect for edging walls, ceilings, windows and baseboards. It has a retractable guide for mess-free paint loading and a quick-eject pad release button. It eliminates the need for edging tape and is threaded for pole attachment.
Overall rating:
3.878 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product30 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product30 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Review 1 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Canton, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Fast Edging Batman!!!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this particular brand of edger before and was very disappointed. The new design (retracting rollers, swivel head, etc) is infinitely better. Doors, windows, 90/45 degree ceiling and even base molding was a breeze. I just painted a 19X12X10 room with two doors and and 4 windows in under 3 hours without a single inch of tape.
To be totally forthright, I still prefer to "load" the edger with a paint brush instead of dipping it into a tray as a precaution to keeping the rollers clean. But all said, I was VERY IMPRESSED with the new product!!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

I cant believe everybody doesn't use this

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After buying a new house and taping off room after room at about 6 dollars a roll for tape I don't know why this isn't in everybody's house. It costs less than than a roll of tape and I just completed a room in the tape it would have taken to tape half of it. Its simple to use, basically just don't get paint on the guard and your good to go. Get it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good product

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Saved time. Loved the rollers at the edge to make trim work easier. No mess. Easy to change pad.
Would recommend.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I bought this sooner!

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had already painted the bedroom and dinning room at out new house when i bought this. I had it for the painting of the living room and spare bedroom. What a life saver around baseboards and windows! As long as you remember to put the load/paint switch in the load position when dipping it in your paint, be sure to wipe of the excess paint on the edge of your paint tray, and ensure the wheels are facing toward the baseboard or window seal it will work EVERY time! I didn't even need to tape off my baseboards or windows! You may have to go back and forth a few times but it typically has enough paint to cover. You can see the great straight line under the window and above the vent in the picture i included! I still preferred to cut in free hand at ceilings and corners, though this worked for that to it splattered little droplets on the ceiling and neighboring wall (i think this was because the walls were textured and the corners more rounded then on perfectly flat walls)
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: splatters when cutting in to ceilings & corners
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Boynton Beach, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quickly apply paint to wall and ceiling edges

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice product, inexpensive and easy to use and to clean. It quickly applies a fine line edging when rolled against an opposing wall or ceiling. I'm not sure why someone would want to use a paintbrush at the edges, when this product makes the work more accurate and cleanup is a breeze. The pads don't last very long if used on rough surfaces (such as textured ceiling), but the replacement pads are also relatively inexpensive making this a worthwhile purchase even if they only last for one or two room applications.. A very good value. If you've never tried this product, you're missing out.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, value priced
Cons: pads tend to wear quickly
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Roseville, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more tape!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We're painting our bedroom and bathroom, and this edger is wonderful. We have very textured walls, and we used just tape at first -- I was not pleased with the results. My friend said that she had used this edger, and we figured that it couldn't make it look any worse than what we had already done. It looks fabulous, and we are incredibly happy with the ease of use and the quality of the work achieved. As long as you make sure to raise the plastic edge piece before you put it in the paint tray, you too will have excellent results. No more tape!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Apply paint with a brush onto pad..

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Apply the paint to the pad with a brush instead of dipping..You can control the amount of paint that way...always perfect!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Can't imagine a better one

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to do my dining room, and I have nothing bad to say. Normally my husband does all of the edging and cutting in, but with this I had no problem edging and rolling and I got the whole room done by myself.
As with all such time-saver tools, nothing is magic. But with some common sense and some diligence along the way, this edger will cut your painting time down in spades:
Don't overload the pad with paint (using the roller to put the paint on the pad is a good idea), take a break and use the roller to cut in so you don't end up with pad marks on your walls, pause occasionally to check the edger and wipe any errant paint off of the paint guides with your fingertip.
Do these things consistently and you'll be good to go with great results!
Highly recommend!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Franklin, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Shur-Line Edger - A Big Help to Beginners

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought one of these to see how they would work in my new start-up painting and home repair business. I am not a professional painter but have done lots of it thru the years and always hated the cut-in part because it takes a steady hand and a lot of time. The edger worked OK, but not any better than my cutting in by hand with a good angled sash brush; pretty much a trade-off of some time saved versus quality of finished work. I would say this would be a good tool for those who have not had a lot of cut-in practice, for beginning homeowners, etc. Also, it did not work well at all along the ceiling; if you have anything other than a smooth drywall ceiling, just make sure to bring home a good quality angled sash brush (I use 1 1/2" wide) when you get your paint at Home Depot.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Kapaa, Hawaii
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Great

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This worked great painting high walls with pole attachment and not getting paint on the open beam ceiling. Also great around windows and baseboards.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Brainerd, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved a lot of time!

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical of using such a device, as I have always been a tape kind of person. When it came time for my wife and I to paint our dining room, after starting with the taping, I wanted to fling myself off the room. There is probably 300 feet of lines that needed to be taped, when I would rather be painting. I read the reviews, and the tips from other users, and I thought for a small investment, this may really help me out. Turns out, this is one of the best purchases I have ever made! I was able to do all of the cutting in, while my wife followed behind me with the roller. This actually worked for both of us as she hates to cut in, and I am terrible at rolling. We were able to paint our entire dining room in five hours! The last room we painted was our daughter's room, which was 10 x 10 and had a lot of cutting in to do. In addition to being really efficient, we used a lot less paint using this than we would have just using a brush. You still need to do some touch up on interior corners, but this was a true time saver! I agree with the other reviewers in terms of paint application. Use a brush to paint on the applicator as opposed to trying to dip it in a tray. In addition, go easy on how much paint you apply until you really get a feel for the device and how much paint comes out. You do have to load it up with paint about every 10 feet or so, but it still applied paint more efficiently than a brush ever can when cutting in. Be sure to keep the rollers clean so you do not bleed through to unintended areas.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Glenpool, OK
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Dissapointed

PostedApril 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used edgers in other projects with no problem whatsoever. So, I was surprised with all the trouble I had with this edger. First, the pad would slip off (and fall to the floor) for no apparent reason. I also can't get the edge all the way to the ceiling - an issue I've never had to deal with in other painting projects. Also, the way the handle would rotate unexpected was a major problem.
After spending nearly $5 for this product I have to go back to the store and, hopefully, get a refund........and get another edger.
Cons: pad falls off multiple times., rotating handle makes painting difficult.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good on textured walls, but....

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The edger works very well on textured walls, however the guide that is supposed to keep the paint off of the baseboards doesnt work well at all. I tried using it just like the instructions said and ended up with paint on my baseboards. I ended up taping off the rest of my baseboards and ceiling so as not to have a mess. Once taped off the edger made the job so much faster.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Canton, GA

Awesome Tool

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best edger I have ever used. Even works great around all moulding types. Just make sure you keep the guard clean. This could sell for $20 or more and it would still be worth it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Great improvement on the Sureline edger design

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used Sureline edgers for years and always managed to drag a line of paint across my ceiling because the wheels would get paint on them. This design allows the edges to lift up when you dip the pad in paint, keeping them clear of paint. It's truly genius. I have been thrilled with the clean line at the ceiling and my friends ask me how I managed to get it so perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Best painting tool

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I want to start off by saying you should still use painter's tape! There is no way I could be without that even with this tool however.... I am so happy I purchased this!
It puts the paint on incredibly smooth and quickly and it holds a lot of paint! It might take a minute of getting used to but I will never be without this. I'm a new homeowner and it is my first time painting which is kind of a rude awakening but I finally have a system down and this is a crucial part of it.
Pros: Even Application, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best money I have ever spent!

PostedMarch 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works great, all you have to do is review the comments and follow them. In my experience I do not overload the pad, loading straight from my paint tray and only use in one direction making sure not to back track. You need to watch the hard line the back edge will leave so I suggest you do one wall at a time and either back brush your lower hard line or use the edger to blend down into the wall. As long as you roll the wall while the blend is still wet you have a great blend. It is also very important to wipe the edger arms after every line you cut as paint will build up and transfer...make sure to check the wheels too. All in all, I don't cut lines anymore this product works great and will save you a great deal of time. I clean the pad and can usually reuse it 3-5 times before disposing of it...after a couple of cleaning's the bristle's become softer and the application and coverage is more even. Available in store regularly and the refill pads are always stocked.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Looks High End
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Using Hand, Not So Good Using Pole

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works great as long as you use it by hand. Trimmed around the doors and windows quickly. Then I tried to use it on a pole on a smooth surface ceiling. Unless you have an angled pole or can reach high enough to keep a straight pole above your head, the edger will twist and loose contact with the surface which causes missed spots and puts paint on the other surface you are trying to protect. It must be held flat and flush without losing contact. The edger needs to be cleaned frequently to keep paint from building up on the rollers which will also apply paint to the surface you are trying to protect.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No more pain!

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have carpal tunnel problems and within 10 mins of painting with a normal brush I am in pain. I was skeptical when I bought this edger because these kinds of products always seemed too good to be true to me. I have to say I was impressed with how well this thing worked, and the best part was I not only edged the whole room in no time, but I had zero pain in my wrist. I will gladly continue using this edger.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

works well if you get to know it

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As others have stated there is a bit of a learning curve to using this item, but once you understand how to load the pad and keep the paint from dripping it works fantastic! A wet paper towel or rag kept handy to keep the rollers and edge guard clean between strokes helps cut down on paint bleed. It sure beats taping! and can't go wrong for the price either
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>