728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Paint Brushes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

The Shur-Line Edge Like A Pro Paint Edger is perfect for edging walls, ceilings, windows and baseboards. It has a retractable guide for mess-free paint loading and a quick-eject pad release button. It eliminates the need for edging tape and is threaded for pole attachment.
Overall rating:
3.651 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(66 reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product43 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(34)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(7)
1
(14)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product43 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
Review 1 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Jefferson, OR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to use - Made painting fun?

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I dont normaly write reviews but I had to on this product. We have never had any edger work as nice as this one did. Easy and fun to paint. I know fun to paint?, not two works that go tograther. Just remember when doing trim board at floor level and the pad is being held upside down, dont have too much paint on the pad or it will not work like it should. I got into a system of pulling lever back when I removed from wall and the pushed lever back into place when I removed fron paint pan. When you purchase one you will understand what I am talking about. I especially loved the pad removal botton. I did not have to touch the wet paint pad for clean up or changing colors.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handy little tool well worth the price

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This corner painter tool works great. I lack patience (especially when painting) so this was a life saver and did the job well. Just keep it clean as you work. If the rollers get paint on them the device won't work. I used a smaller brush to brush the paint onto the corner edger sponge instead of dipping it into the paint. Also, the felt sponge material on this is a little flimsy but you can purchase refills which I would suggest 1 for each room. I used mine for 3 rooms and 2 closets and it was spent. You can clean the sponge many times though so if you're careful and clean up frequently you can extend the life of this thing for as long as you need.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Saint Louis
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made painting the edges a breeze!!!

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am glad I discovered this, even after I had already painted 3 rooms! I love it! Painting the trim killed by legs and back, but not anymore. It made painting the edges a breeze. With this product you cannot be heavy handed. You have to be careful to only dip the pad in the paint and rub some of the excess off on the side of the paint tray. If you do get some on the rollers you will get it on the trim, but no worries. Just get a wet rag and wipe it off. It is so much faster than using a brush and you can't beat the price. Even my husband was empressed as he watched me paint! Highly recommend.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from carrollton, tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use masking tape instead

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Made a worse mess of edges than if I did them freehand. As it rolls along the paint from the edge of the pad creeps up onto the edge guards and then starts spreading streaks on the wrong side.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Canton, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Holy Fast Edging Batman!!!

PostedAugust 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this particular brand of edger before and was very disappointed. The new design (retracting rollers, swivel head, etc) is infinitely better. Doors, windows, 90/45 degree ceiling and even base molding was a breeze. I just painted a 19X12X10 room with two doors and and 4 windows in under 3 hours without a single inch of tape.
To be totally forthright, I still prefer to "load" the edger with a paint brush instead of dipping it into a tray as a precaution to keeping the rollers clean. But all said, I was VERY IMPRESSED with the new product!!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Get the non pro one

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pro version of this tool is far worse then the non pro one. The top guards on this pick up paint very easy so you have to sit there and clean it off all the time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Fox lake, illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not user friendly

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I recamend using tape, Frog tape never bleeds sticks good and leaves nice straight lines on door and floor trim, Evan if you have to tape your ceilings.Those little wheels on this item always seem to get paint on them and you always have to brush down the outer edge when using this paint pad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't Work

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product will not work as advertised. Definitely no good for tight corners.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Hamburg NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Time Saver

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Using this product saved me a lot of time edging. It put the paint on fairly evenly. Only problem I had was that the little wheels kept getting paint on them, which tracked onto the ceiling. That was frustrating. Someone else who uses this product suggested that I 'paint' the paint onto the edger, rather that 'dipping' it in the paint tray. So I will try that next time. But I definitely plan to use it again.
Pros: Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: have to keep cleaning the wheels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

worked great!

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of the best edgers I've used! Only downfall is sometimes the paint got on the shield, but I just took a paper towel to it, and it was good to go again. I loved using this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Minden, LA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Handy

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A fraction of the cost of painters tape and a fraction of the time. It just takes getting a feel for how much paint to apply - very little - and how to manipulate the tool. Keep a wet rag handy to wipe off the bumpers and wheels between passes because it's nearly impossible to keep them paint free. Cheap enough that I don't bother cleaning the pads, just pop on a replacement each time I paint. This is a great product for the impatient, shaky-handed do-it-yourselfer. Probably not so bad for the patient and sure-handed either.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from cleveland ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice

PostedOctober 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This little tool saved me tons of time. After painting one room and edging free hand, I realized there are quite a few things I am good at, but edging is not one of them. I lost all hope, I was completely frustrated and wanted to give up painting the rest of the house that so badly needed painted ( I had just bought a fixer upper). I searched online and found this little beauty. I watched a couple youtube videos on usage and away I went. From there I looked forward to painting the rest of the house and my edge lines were straight and beautiful. Painting is fun....now....that I have this to edge with! I would highly recommend to anyone that struggles with their edge lines even a little.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Raleigh, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Total junk

PostedFebruary 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You are better off edging freehand. Nothing about this works. Try it on a pole, it will not stay flat and will get paint all over moulding as it tilts upwards. And, the swivel is too loose and it rotates freely making an even bigger mess.
The rollers get full of paint and starts painting the edge unevenly.
Save yourself hours of cleanup work and do it with tape and a brush.
Cons: tils from wall, swivels freely, by design cannot work witn a pole., gets paint everywhere
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

Sigh...

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just got this tool home and I was very excited to use it I mean who wouldn't want a painting tool to easily do wall lines and ceiling edges. Let me first off begin by saying using this tool as directed when you first *Lightly float in paint and scrape off excess* the scraping motion made the pad on the bottom fall off, not a big deal I can let that slide, what I will not allow to slide is after that initial pad malfunction this thing is dropping the pad all over the place from the top of my ladder as i'm trying to paint a ceiling line to just standing there with it.
In short the idea is great the execution of the idea is weak, the protrusions that hold the paint clip in need to be larger and grab more on the paint pad. I gave it a fair rating because the tool idea is great just poorly made which is further reflected in the "Quality" and "Value" rating.
Pros: great idea
Cons: poor build quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger

cut in perfection in minutes.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was spending hours doing cut in and doing a pretty sloppy job because my hands weren't steady enough with the brush. I bought this tool on a whim and didn't have much faith that it could be the miracle I needed - but it was. I was cutting in rooms at a fraction of the time I used to take using a brush, and the job was much neater. I actually used far less paint as well. As long as you don't load too much paint on the pad, and always keep the paint off the black clips at the top - you won't get paint on the ceiling, doors, windows, etc. This was worth it 100%. Made a tough job much easier. Some rooms I found that a second coat was necessary, but since it was so fast I didnt really mind.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Copley, OH 44321, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better with a paint brush

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great in concept, but actual execution is lacking. You end up with more clean-up and time - coupled with marginal results - than using a paint brush and tape.
Cons: difficult to acheive good results
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Arbutus, Md.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than using tape!

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It takes a lil practice, but what doesn`t? I prefer this, rather than having to tape the walls or what ever that needs to be taped. Plus it will save you money in the long run. I was actually a lil surprised to how well this works. I do recommend it.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from BGKY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice straight lines!

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Made nice straight line along door and window frames. A little tougher to use around baseboards & crown moulding but still painted nice lines. MUCH easier than a brush alone
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from Newark, DE
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Against better judgement, tried it again...

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had a version of this previously in the last 8-10 yrs. Found it was messy and didn't help as much as I thought it would due to the rollers picking up paint and leaving nice little roller streaks on the ceiling. You have to have surgeon's hands to pickup paint on this tool just on the pad. If your hands are that stead, just cut it in with a nice brush and save the lost hope and frustration that this thing gives.
I didn't give it 1 star because the little flip up rails are an improvement but didn't help in the long run.
Cons: messy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6.8 in. x 3 in. Pro Paint Edger
from washington,dc

you need this if you're going to paint

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
don't ever tape off a corner or edge to paint again, this does it for you!
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>