728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete Mixers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer

1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer

The Portable Cement Mixer allows you to mix drywall mud, cement, paint, stucco, mortar and more. The adjustable design allows you to change the height of the motor for comfort.
Overall rating:
4.179 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product46 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product46 of 54reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
Review 1 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Cave Creek, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't hesitate to buy

PostedMay 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an awesome little mixer. Setup took about 30 minutes max. I did follow advise from other reviews and put hose washers on the barrel bolts that hold the blades. The mixer is super quiet and seems to be well built. It easily handles two 80lb bags. I dumped the mix directly into a wheelbarrow. Not sure how well this mixer would work dumping directly into a form though. The other mixer that's shorter might be better for that. I've run about 40 bags through it so far without a single glitch.
A couple tips:
1) You do need to lift the handles up in order to get the blades fully engaged in mixing. I used a scrap 2X6 about 2ft long. Not a big deal.
2) Make sure you have some water in the barrel before dumping your mix to keep it from sticking.
3) elevate the back of the barrel as mentioned above before dumping mix into the barrel to make it easier on your back.
4) you might want to cover your arm dumping the mix into the barrel as it does get a bit messy.
Enjoy!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is a great mixer that is efficient and durable

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been redoing my back yard since I buried my swimming pool. I planned for a lot of planters, a retaining wall, a vault for a Spa and a concrete patio. The patio is a little beyond my abilities to finish but so far I have mixed and poured 150 60# bags of ready mix concrete and it has been a breeze.
The mixer went together in a snap. I used some rubber washers when installing the blades to prevent any leaking around the bolts and it works great. The mixer is easily moved around where I need it. The barrel position makes it easy to load and the tipping feature works very well for dumping into a wheelbarrow.
I was also able to position the mixer on the edge of my spa vault and simply fill, mix and dump directly into the site without having to transfer to a wheelbarrow. Mixing 3-4 60# bags at a time has really allowed my project to move along quickly.
I highly recommend this mixer.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+30points
33out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Little Compton, RI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Mount it on a tractor bucket.

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very surprised as I put this mixer together at the high quality of all the components including bolts and clevis pin
Works great. I needed to work on a grade, so I mounted the mixer on the tractor bucket by bolting a 1-1/2" x 24" black iron pipe on the side of the bucked with 2 1/2" bolts. Cement bags in the bucket, and it worked like a dream.
Thanks for previous posts for the tip on putting washers on the mixer blade bolts. This is key
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Pismo Beach
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very dissapointed

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was a kind of in a hurry purchase as I was in the middle of doing stucco work and my mixer died (motor).
I will start with the GOOD: easy to assemble and transport around. Tools also provided and spare part. I thought from the get go it is going to be a great buy. Then I tried to use it.
The BAD: The drum is too high in the normal-resting position so dumping a bag of concrete mix (in my case stucco -90 lbs bag, into the drum is difficult. I had to use shovel to empty 1/2 of it and then used 2ft ladder to dump the rest.
In that resting/normal operation position if you turn the mixer, the mix inside just spins around with the drum. No mixing occurs. The mixing blades are far above the bottom of the drum so naturally nothing was happening. Since my project couldn't wait I found 20" of 2x10 and added 3 (4x12) beams and put it against the motor and the handles to tilt the position of the drum from about 45 deg to about 25 deg. At that point the mix slid to the side and the blades started mixing. In that position with the support under the handles the wheels need to be blocked from creeping forward. This did the deed and I was able to use the mixer. I do not know whether with 2 or 3 bags the mixer works better, but for do it yourself project and mixing one bag at the time = the mixer is useless. It is a shame, because it seems like such a good product. It made me wonder if the manufacturer even tests the mixer whether it works prior to sending it out to the market.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean
Cons: Tall, Difficult to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from East Stroudsburg, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great mixer for the price

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
couldn't ask for a better mixer for the money spent. I've worked with concrete at work for almost 25 years and just wanted to do some work at home at my own pace without having to get the big truck in the driveway. I read some reviews and used the hose gaskets on the mixing blade bolts for no leaks and always have plenty of water in it before adding any cement/concrete.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: none
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mixer - Instructions are wrong

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
*** The bracket assembly instruction in the manual are wrong and is the reason some have mentioned the problem of having to lift the handle and poor mixing. If you look at the picture the tension bolt should be in the back as the picture correctly indicates. This is further proved by looking at the picture on the box as you can clearly see the slope of the bracket should go away from the wheels.
My first few bags did not mix well, see above, but after turning the bracket around this mixer performs wonderfully. I've already run ~60 x 60lb bags through and it performs like a champ. I am mixing 4 bags at a time and getting great results.
The only con I have is that it's a little tall for me at 5'7" I have to get on a stool to get a nice poor into the mixer but that's something I've dealt with my entire life. Also lifting the bags that high can get tedious.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Easy to Clean
Cons: instructions incorrect
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Snohomish, WA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

What a labor saver

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble (a little experimentation necessary to determine the correct bracket orientation as the instructions were less than clear on that point). A real durable tool that saved my back and made the project go much quicker. After running a few batches, I found that even with the bracket installed correctly, the drum rocked too far back while mixing. I placed a small 2x4 block in the hinge to keep the drum from tipping all the way back. This made a tremendous difference in how well it mixed as it allowed the blades to work better. Someone suggested I sell it in the classified ads when I finished my project, but I am hanging onto this baby.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Cons: instructions unclear
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Section, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Mixer

PostedApril 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mixer worked well. But as per the comments by Chris. "The instructions are wrong". The mixer needs to be mounted 180 degrees from the location in the instructions. If not rotated the mixer stands up vertical & will not mix. This comment needs to be passed on to the manufacture.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Great Value
Cons: instructions poor!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

NO REPLACEMENT PARTS Available

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a light duty mixer that is fine for a backyard job or 2. Just hope like heck you don't ever need parts to repair it. Replacement parts are NOT AVAILABLE through Home Depot. Before you buy it, try to find "any" replacement part for it....none at HD and none online that I could find. As we all know mechanical things wear out sooner than we want and it seems we always manage to bump into equipment with a wheelbarrow or miss with the water hose and into the electrical system. OOPS!
I would probably rate this item a 4 if parts were available. It is a cheap mixer, price wise that is great for DIYer's, if we could repair it after we left it out in the rain or some other stupid accident that requires parts.GOOD LUCK!
Pros: Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: no parts available no home depot repair supporpot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Kihei, HI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Motor went out ...

PostedJune 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
... and it was barley out of warranty ... contacted Husky to purchase a new motor ... and was told ..."sorry, no spare parts available, please purchase a new mixer" ... is that ridiculous or what ... no more Husky anything for me ... and purchased a new motor on Ebay ... so buyers, beware.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer

Messes itself

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought one of these at my local Home Depot about ten days ago. Since then I have used it to pour about 150 square feet of flatwork, approximately 90 of the 60 lb. bags of Quikrete.
I read the reviews here first, so I was prepared with hose washers to keep the blades from leaking. Good tip! The instructions were well written in good English, so I had no assembly problems.
As others have noted, it does a terrible job of mixing until you lift the handles in back so the tank will not be angled up so high. After a couple of batches this got really old, so I cut a piece of scrap 2x6 about 24" long and used that to prop the handles up. That way I can go back to working the concrete I just poured while the next batch is mixing.
Another problem is that the wheels in front stick out too far in front of the tub. If you place the mixer up against the side of your form, when you tip the tub half the concrete will go inside your form and the rest will plop down on the axle and wheels. Eventually I cut myself a 2' x 4' scrap of plywood and used that as a bib so the machine won't dribble all over itself.
It is marketed as "portable," but you had better be super strong. The wheels are not very big and the machine is pretty heavy. The soil around construction areas is typically soft so the wheels sink into the dirt, making it really hard to move. It doesn't help that you have to bend all the way down to the ground to lift the back part up.
This thing needs a redesign. Move the front wheels back six inches so it won't mess itself, and make the tub angle more like 20 degrees so users won't have to prop it up in back to get it to mix properly. While you're at it, make the tipping handles lockable so you can use them to pick up the back end when moving it around. I may end up doing some welding on mine to make it what it should have been.
On a positive note, the motor seems capable and it's quiet. The steel tub looks like it will last forever. And if I take the tub off I can transport it in my pickup without taking the canopy off.
Pros: Easy to Install, Quiet, Economical
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from May, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Impressed

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just bought this mixer. Finished assembly in about 15 mins...Was very impressed with the heavy duty construction. My wife had to assist me lifting the motor assemby up and onto the frame. Most of it goes together with cotter pins. The only 4 bolts were for the mixer blades. Recommend adding some RTB silicone around the bolt heads to seal and keep the nuts from loosening.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
22out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Does the job

PostedAugust 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works better than expected, only complaint is that it should have a way to adjust the angle of the mixer tub, but that is easily remedied by propping a board under a cross support in the back to get the tub at the correct angle. I've only used it so far for mixing concrete to set fence posts on a garden fence project, but it seems adequate to handle everything I will need for occasional homeowner use. One nice thing is that the toggle switch to turn it on is covered in a rubber hosing, protecting it from water during mixing & cleanup.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean
Cons: needs tub angle adjustment
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

No parts available, and will need them

PostedJune 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I actually got quite a bit of use out of my mixer, but it is not weather proof and rain or water from your mixing process will get into the motor and gears, making them fail. Mine failed after mixing perhaps 100-200 bags of sacrete over 12 months, but what really made it fail was exposure to weather. Now it is only useful as a planter. Try to find parts (Husky model GHM105890, or probably any other Husky power equipment) before you buy. You will find none for this. Sell you mine for $2? you haul...
Cons: no parts available
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great mixer

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used the mixer several times and it works great! Easily mixes 3 sixty pound bags of cement. Assembly is simple in less than 30 minutes. I took the advice of other reviews and used hose washers on the outside of the tub when installing the mixing blade bolts to prevent any leaks. Also, pouring the dry mix into 5 gallon buckets makes it easier to pour into the tub without the blades catching the paper on the bags. Great price and quality - highly recommended!
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Orangedale, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Greatest low priced mixer!

PostedJune 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this mixer for home use and to do a lot of projects ( slab for patio-2 yards concrete) fence posts, walkways, driveway for storage building, etc. I live out in the country on 1.5 acres, and it is expensive and difficult to get a cement truck in to pour concrete.
I have never been happier with the purchase. The mixer easily handles 3-80lb bags of quikrete, but I recommend using the 60 lb bags to save your back. I did a large patio slab for an enclosed lanai, and mixed close to 70 bags of cement in 4 sections. For the price, I expected the mixer to have trouble- BUT I WAS WRONG! This thing worked like a champ. Yes, you do have to water the inside back of the mixer with a full load of cement, but friends in the construction business told me that they do that with their commercial mixers. DUH??!! After the slab, fenceposts (for 300' of fence), 30' driveway and 2 walkways since March 2012, this thing still works like new. It has already paid for itself. I recommend this mixer after shopping every major outlet for an inexpensive project mixer for life.
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Fantastic mixer!

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this beast for 4 years, and at 2 different addresses. It lives outside, and handles 3 80lb bags with ease. The height of the drum is great for me, I just hoist a bag up and drop it into the mouth, razor knife it open, and remove bag. My motor reverses which makes it easy to pour product out in a controlled fashion. We use it a LOT, and have had no issues with it.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Another Product Made In China Without Parts Support

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Mixer is easy to assemble and transport. Mixes three 60 pound bags of concrete with no issues. Great for small jobs in areas where ready mix concrete trucks not available. BUYER BEWARE: Parts for motor, transmission, etc not available. Received mixer with bent motor shroud. Manufacturer told me they only carry wheels, handles and I would have to return the entire mixer. Operation manual has parts lists that is useless since you cannot order individual parts. New USA - Repair by replacement. Otherwise nice mixer but if major part breaks after warranty runs out look to buy a new one.
Pros: Great Value
Cons: no parts support
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from California, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This mixer works like a champ!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this mixer to use to build a rock and mortar pool/pond. It has exceeded our expectations and we have had zero problems with it. It easily handles the amounts of cement mix and mortar mix that we need for our project. It is very quiet and you are able to have a conversation right next to it without yelling. We plan on using it for many more projects in the future. It has been a pleasure to work with and we highly recommend this product!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 HP Portable Cement Mixer
from Indiana
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So far so good.

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the mixer today to pour a short section of sidewalk, and the machine performed very well. There are two errors in the instructions, one of which is the blade issue has been mentioned by others. Just to double-check during assembly, I installed one blade and turned the machine on to check which way the barrel turns. The "scoop" portion of the blade has to almost stick out of the front of the barrel, not the "inside" as instructed. No problem, I knew to expect this issue..at least I hope I did it the right way.
I also installed hose washers between the bolt and barrel, as suggested by others.
However, I found that they wanted me to install the motor mount onto the swivel bracket the wrong way-it needs to rest on the swivel bracket base, not hang in mid-air suspended by the large cotter pin and key. This is a very easy machine to use without any modifications; pouring five or six 200lb-plus batches required minimal effort.
Other than these two very minor issues with the instructions, I had great success with this machine. My only regret is not doing my math properly and running out of concrete mix.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
Cons: poor instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>