728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Exterior Stair Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit

8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit

The Veranda 8 ft. x 36 in. White Traditional Rail Kit Without Brackets is a vinyl railing that features aluminum reinforced vinyl rails. Sections come with balusters/spindles. Light weight design making installation fast and easy. Low maintenance with no sanding, scraping or painting required. Supported by a transferable limited lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product18 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product18 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Review 1 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy for DIYer

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very happy with this product. Super sturdy. Followed advice of previous reviewer and purchased a saw blade to cut through metal due to the metal inside the top rail. I would say I'm a beginner DIYer and along with my fiancé who had zero interest in the project, we were able to get 5 sections done in about 4 hours. (I've never installed rails before). My advice is to spend extra time installing posts (took me two days to level and attach properly) so that they are plum and level, this will save you time during the railing install. Pay special attention to your cuts and make sure you have equal spacing from your posts to your balusters. The balusters can only go in pre-spaced holes.
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product....BUT

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is NOT 8 feet long. It is 91 inches long. If your posts have 96 inches between them you have a problem.Other than this, It looks great. Easy to install and the price is fair.
I should mention... the rails shown as 6 feet long are not. Thet are 67 inches long. Don't install posts before you have rail sections in hand. You will end up doing double work.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, really good looking
Cons: bad info on true length, uses special bracket screws
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Two bad features.

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is overall a decent one. It is sturdy and fairly simple to use. However, I do have two complaints. One the rails do not fit the brackets, so that we had to grind down the edges of the rail to fit into the bracket. Very irritating. Number two, is that they put stickers, huge ones, on the sleevs, and the rails, and they are impossible to come off, in cold weather. We had to use finger nail polish remover to get them off. This was a big job, with over $1,200.00 dollars, in vinyl product, and it took us like two hours, to get all the dang stickers off.
+71points
75out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Portsmouth, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to install and beautiful.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband installed Traditional Rail Kit without difficulty and it is absolutley beautiful. My porch railing was in bad shape with old wood railing, now it is looking brand new. Please know there is some metal in the top and bottom rails, make sure you have a blade that cuts thru metal.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Liberty, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8' Veranda Deck Railing

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased an 8' X 36" Veranda deck railing. For the DIY you need to note that although this product is advertised as 8' width it in fact is only 92 inches. As my deck was built under the premise that these railings were 8' and are not, I now need to purchase custom cut railing to fit the opening.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from La Grande, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This traditional rail kit was installed in my garage as a barrier for the stairs down into the basement. I am so pleased with it I an thinking about replacing the wooden railing on our back deck with the same thing.
Pros: Multi Use, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Easy to Clean, Light Weight
Cons: non that i can see.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble and install. Be sure to pick up the correct brackets for this rail kit, as the brackets shown on the page do not fit the kit. I ordered the brackets shown on the page, and was fortunate enough to receive a call from the manufacturer to advise that the brackets I ordered did not go with the kit. Great customer service from veranda manufacturer, great looking product. Instant upgrade! Great value all around.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit

Looks good, easy to install, though 8' is not equal to 92"

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took me 15 minutes or so to install one section, and it looks very nice. This is replacing wood railings that rotted on the bottom slat. Connecting to existing 4 x 4" posts on the porch, and works very well. The white color is very bright, and shows well.
Two caveats with this product is that the end brackets are not included, and like the other said, these are 92" wide, not eight feet. I will have to come up with 4 inches of plates to make this work.
I like the metal sleeves inside, give it additional strength, and once done with the whole porch believe this will look great.
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well
Cons: carefully read the measurements and prerequisites.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Rochester, NewYork
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation was inconvenient due to label residue on spindles.

PostedOctober 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. However the fact that the factory glues labels to the units that are extremely difficult to remove is very annoying! Luckily I was not using the full length so I could discard the spindles that could not be cleaned properly. Every package was the same. If I had to use the full lengths the product would have been returned. THERE IS NO NEED TO DO THIS!
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: label residue on spiondles is a problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The railing kit was very easy to install. The vinyl seems sturdy and we will just have to wait and see about durability. using the bracket kits and trim pieces made installation a breeze. I didn't have any of the cracking problems with the brackets that other reviewers noted.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Virginia
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very happy with results

PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was bought to replace rotted wooden porch railings. We are very happy with the finished results. It looks like a pro installed it. The biggest job we had was to demo the old railings and fill/prep the columns and then paint them. Installation was a snap once the sections were cut to size.
We had to cut down the longer sections to fit our existing porch- if you do this then I recommend using an electric miter box to get nice straight cuts. Note that the supports are not actually 3 inches- the ones we had were 2 3/4 inches. The screws are square headed and I didn't have the right screw driver but bought a cheap nor and it worked just fine.
We were quoted $2000 to replace our porch railings and we were so happy to pay one tenth of the price and get such a great result. Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from The Villages, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great surprise

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has an aluminum channel iron in the top rail to ensure strength and straightness.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product was great to install and looks great

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the bad thing about this product is they tell you its 8ft but it really is only 92Inches wide, I had to move my post over 4inches and repair holes in cement
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
Cons: No Instructions
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Middletown, MD 21769, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I liked the product

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered online and yes everyone is correct, I thought I was ordering 8' pieces and they were only 92". What do I do now? I cannot move the posts because they are holding up the porch....any suggestions? I need true 8'. Thanks.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Waterbury Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

8 ft. railings

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Product was good but handling of it must have been by gorillas. I had 4 pickets that were dented or kinked when the package was opened Lucky I didn't need all or I would have needed another trip and time
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Frostproof, FL 33843, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks great

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install, have had several nice comments from neighbors about how great the house looks with the new railing!
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fit, finish and overall quality was as expected. No disappointments.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit

this product was everything i needed to replace my wood rail

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
all the accessories are a great fit and everything you need can be order on line . Fast shipping great service and installation was easy with the help of my wife .Thanks Home Depot .
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good construction

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This products looks great. The only downside that I found was that the glue used to put the product description on the actual railing is very sticky. It is very difficult to get it off the railing. Other than that these worked perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
from Burneyville, OK 73430, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to install

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
High quality, and easy to install. It went up in just a while.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.