728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit

8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit

The Veranda 8 ft. x 36 in. White Traditional Rail Kit Without Brackets is a vinyl railing that features aluminum reinforced vinyl rails. Sections come with balusters/spindles. Light weight design making installation fast and easy. Low maintenance with no sanding, scraping or painting required. Supported by a transferable limited lifetime warranty.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product10 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Review 1 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Anonymous
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product....BUT

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It is NOT 8 feet long. It is 91 inches long. If your posts have 96 inches between them you have a problem.Other than this, It looks great. Easy to install and the price is fair.
I should mention... the rails shown as 6 feet long are not. Thet are 67 inches long. Don't install posts before you have rail sections in hand. You will end up doing double work.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, really good looking
Cons: bad info on true length, uses special bracket screws
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
SavvyShopper
from Portsmouth, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is easy to install and beautiful.

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband installed Traditional Rail Kit without difficulty and it is absolutley beautiful. My porch railing was in bad shape with old wood railing, now it is looking brand new. Please know there is some metal in the top and bottom rails, make sure you have a blade that cuts thru metal.
Pros: Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Pablo21
from Santa Ana, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble and install. Be sure to pick up the correct brackets for this rail kit, as the brackets shown on the page do not fit the kit. I ordered the brackets shown on the page, and was fortunate enough to receive a call from the manufacturer to advise that the brackets I ordered did not go with the kit. Great customer service from veranda manufacturer, great looking product. Instant upgrade! Great value all around.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Budy
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Two bad features.

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product is overall a decent one. It is sturdy and fairly simple to use. However, I do have two complaints. One the rails do not fit the brackets, so that we had to grind down the edges of the rail to fit into the bracket. Very irritating. Number two, is that they put stickers, huge ones, on the sleevs, and the rails, and they are impossible to come off, in cold weather. We had to use finger nail polish remover to get them off. This was a big job, with over $1,200.00 dollars, in vinyl product, and it took us like two hours, to get all the dang stickers off.
+64points
67out of 70found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
NetWrench

Looks good, easy to install, though 8' is not equal to 92"

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It took me 15 minutes or so to install one section, and it looks very nice. This is replacing wood railings that rotted on the bottom slat. Connecting to existing 4 x 4" posts on the porch, and works very well. The white color is very bright, and shows well.
Two caveats with this product is that the end brackets are not included, and like the other said, these are 92" wide, not eight feet. I will have to come up with 4 inches of plates to make this work.
I like the metal sleeves inside, give it additional strength, and once done with the whole porch believe this will look great.
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Light Weight, Seals Well
Cons: carefully read the measurements and prerequisites.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Nanc
from Frostproof, FL 33843, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

looks great

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install, have had several nice comments from neighbors about how great the house looks with the new railing!
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
helpuswithhomeimprovement
from Middletown, MD 21769, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I liked the product

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered online and yes everyone is correct, I thought I was ordering 8' pieces and they were only 92". What do I do now? I cannot move the posts because they are holding up the porch....any suggestions? I need true 8'. Thanks.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Phil
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

product was great to install and looks great

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
the bad thing about this product is they tell you its 8ft but it really is only 92Inches wide, I had to move my post over 4inches and repair holes in cement
Pros: Vibrant Color, Multi Use, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape
Cons: No Instructions
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
joseph

this product was everything i needed to replace my wood rail

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
all the accessories are a great fit and everything you need can be order on line . Fast shipping great service and installation was easy with the help of my wife .Thanks Home Depot .
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
okiebyrdman
from Burneyville, OK 73430, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product was easy to install

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
High quality, and easy to install. It went up in just a while.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
Mustangdad
from Cleveland, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good construction

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This products looks great. The only downside that I found was that the glue used to put the product description on the actual railing is very sticky. It is very difficult to get it off the railing. Other than that these worked perfectly.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 ft. x 36 in. Vinyl White Traditional Rail Kit
wayno
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product.

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fit, finish and overall quality was as expected. No disappointments.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish, Light Weight, Good Shape
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.