728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Interior Stair Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit

11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit

This SimpleTread kit is the perfect solution to restore an old and worn staircase to a vibrant new shine. Without affecting the existing staircase structure, these treads and risers are installed directly overtop of the existing stairs. This lends to a perfect project for DIY's that won't disrupt day-to-day living. It can be completed in as little as one weekend. The treads and risers have a beautiful consistent oak surface which can be stained or varnished to compliment your decor. This kit can be used as is for a closed stringer staircase (ends of treads are hidden by stringers). For an open stringer staircase, use SimpleTread Bullnose Cap to easily finish off any exposed edges.
Overall rating:
3.867 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product11 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
Review 1 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from Baltimore MD
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for old stairs!

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the kit was very easy to work with and its a strong, sturdy product!
I bought an extra kit for the needed riser, and used the extra tread to make the angle steps.
so happy with results!
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product and easy to install! This was time consuming as I did this myself, but well worth the effort. I would also suggest buying the tread wizard also sold at Home Deport to help cut the treads and risers
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
21out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from canada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Excellent product - can't get it in Canada

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You can't get 48" sets in Canada. We had to go to the US and purchase a gift card, order it and return to pick it up. We needed these longer ones for the size of our existing stairs. Great product but challenging to get.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from Bloomsbury, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

4out of 13 treads, the veneer cracked and separated from the plywood on the stairs

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
4 out of 13 have to be replaced because of the veneer separating from the plywood base of the stair treads only down a little over a year. It's like the glue let go. The rest l
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from Burlington, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good quality, easy to install

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bottom line: Great product.
Pro: Looks like the real thing at a far lower price than solid oak treads and risers. Fast and easy to install. Veneer and solid pieces were nearly flawless in appearance. Plywood is thin-layered and from looking at the end cuts the plywood appears to be free of voids. Pre-attached bullnose and ogee molding (below the bullnose, covering the top of the riser board) are made of solid pieces. Since the tread and riser is made of plywood the pieces are consistently square and straight and dimensionally stable in changing humidity, so they can be fastened tightly to eliminate noise without fear of them splitting. Also easier to cut and work with than solid oak pieces. The joint between the veneer and the bullnose is smooth and tight. The optional end trim pieces are solid oak and match the profile of the bullnose perfectly.
Con: Relatively thin veneer on tread surface can get gouged through to the plywood below and in my opinion is not really thick enough for repeated re-finish sanding (counter to manufacturer's claim).
Detail: We used these as the original treads on a new 12-step staircase (glued and finish-nailed over double 2X6's) and they were great in this application for about half the price of using solid oak pieces.
The veneer quality was very good and consistent in appearance, no splits, missing knots or other defects. Frankly I prefer the continuous look of a good oak veneer over the laminated strip solid treads/risers sold these days - the continuous veneer looks more pleasing to the eye. The veneer isn't very thick and anything more than light sanding of original finish would go likely go through into the plywood below, so make the initial preservation with good quality poly.
Be sure to use apply several strips of masking tape on and adjacent to the cut line to avoid scratching by the saw base and blade guard, and use a sharp utility knife to pre-score the veneer to avoid any problems with the veneer chipping - all should be standard practice when cutting thin veneers.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from whitehouse,texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So easy to install!

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought these to change from carpeted stairs to wood. Witha little stain and poly they look beautiful. So easy to install and they made a huge difference. Would have done this sooner if we had known how easy it was. They also arrived very quick, faster than the estimated delivery date.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit

Good value for what I paid.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A huge difference between a carpet staircase and a wood one. Fairly easy to install if you plan ahead and watch some installation videos. I pre-stained and varnished which made the installation much easier. The product is pretty much as advertised.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from Quebec, Canada

Veneer unglues

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After 6 months, I have 2 (out of 12) that top veneer starts to unglue.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from Swannanoa, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product and good price.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found the step treads and riser well made. Installation was easy and finishing only required fine sanding before staining and sealing. I highly recommend this for the DIYers out there who are tired of their old stairs. My biggest critic, my wife, loves the stairs and the new look.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product worked very well and looks great finished. The hardest part was fitting the stair to the wall. It took a lot of time but worked out well.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from Cloverdale, CA 95425, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful stairs

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered 1 set to see how it would look and if it would be easy to install. I was very happy with the product and ordered 13 more to refinish my stairs. I can't wait to install.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality, Economical
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It's hard to rate the product at this point as only time will tell. However this is NOT a project for the typical DIY person.

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have built sheds, finished basements, installed windows with all trim and this project was not as described. Trying to get square fitting treads with a T bevel is almost impossible. I should used a stair tread jig like the professionals use, only I didn't know it at the time.
They also show you how to add the end caps for open stair cases, they don't tell you how to finish the ends of the open risers. I cut them on a 45 and used the piece left over to make a return. ( a tip from a local carpenter or I wouldn't have known what to do.)
Way too many surprises for the average how DIY. Of course then there is the railing ....
I did end up with a relatively nice finished product but a lot longer than a weekend.
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
from Northern Kentucky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Perfect for finishing staircase

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit has everything to complete or replace a tread and riser. Very easy and professional looking.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

This product does NOT fit on all stairs. Be sure to measure first!!

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 26 kits to do my two stairwells. After staining and sealing the treads and risers I had my contractor come over to rip the carpet off my stairs to install. Found out then, the treads were 1/2 inch too short. Any other wood to fill the gap is not the same depth and have to special order just treads. After a month there is still no resolution.
-29points
4out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 11-1/2 in. x 48 in. Oak False Stair Tread Cap and Riser Kit

great treads/risers

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I great product with a pretty moulding detail. Much less expensieve than the pre-finished risers/treads
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.