728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer

5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer

This product is a single component 100% acrylic silicone sealer for roofs and walls with outstanding adhesive properties that will provide a thick, high performance, water and weather resistant seal on most surfaces, usually without need of a primer coating.
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product7 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
Review 1 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
from Hastngs, Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent Product. i applied a coating on my winter Home at Melbourne Beach 3 years ago and not only did it completely seal my spray foam over steel roof, but the cooling electric monthly bills became half. The only problem i am trying to resolve is how to purchase (12) 5 gal. buckets of SKU # 548821 in my local summer store #2715 in Grand Rapids, Mi. . @ under $90/ 5gal. bucket, i certainly would be the 1st. in my neighbor hood with an excellent, long lasting New Roof. i can not say enough about the inside thermal reduction after using it. Also: having the Dade County " Approval " means , It Works ! Doug B.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Awesome Product

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a roofing company in the Virgin Islands and we do strictly waterproofing and minor repairs of roofs. We have been using this product for many years now and it is the only water based Acrylic product that we use. When properly applied, according to manufacturer's specs, it forms a superb waterproof membrane on your roof that does an awesome job of repelling water. Best when used on roofs with good drainage and little to no water ponding. Be sure roof is properly cleaned first in order to get a good bond.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer

Wrong specs, 300 sq. ft. coverage per bucket!

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The coverage area is not 60 sq.ft., it's actually 60-80 sq. ft. per gallon! You should be able to do about 300 sq. ft. with a 5 gal bucket. Read the PDF guidelines on Lanco's website "Apply the first coat by pouring container of Lanco® Ultra Siliconizer™ onto the roof and spreading at a rate of 2-4 gallons per 120-240 sq. ft.."
+41points
41out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer

Reduced kitchen ceiling temps by over 30 degrees

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My metal strips supporting my drop ceiling in kitchen add on to house would be too hot to touch in the afternoon even with lots of insulation. The AC Was working hard. After first thin coat applied on Labor day, the strips were only about 78 degrees when it was well over 95 degrees outside. It rained about 5 hours later and nothing leeched off the roof. Put on 2nd coat 6 days later, is so white it hurts to look at it even with dark sunglasses. No doubt that my next electric bill will be lower as it no longer runs as long to cool the house. This is over a mostly flat roof wtih a gentle slope that mostly dries quickly after a rain. Next question, should I try it on the Architectural Shingles? The light gray color is getting darker after 14 years. Would definitely help cool the attic.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
from South Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Older roof completely looks new!

PostedJanuary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a leak on my South Florida home where the back flat roof was 10 years old and starting to leak. I had just at 2000 square ft of flat roof. I used 7 X 5 gal buckets. The roof looks great. Reflects the sun and the interior of the house stays cool. Be sure to prep the roof. I used a stiff broom to sweep all the debris off and cleaned with a mixture of bleach and water. Allowed to dry for 2 days and then applied Ultra Siliconizer.
I did 2 coats. 1 then the second 24 hours later. It looks like a new roof. Had many roofers give me quotes for a new roof at 12K. Very happy this stuff works as good as it does. I plan on re coating with 1 coat each year. Should last just about forever. All flat roofs in Florida should be coated with this stuff. But of they did the Roofers would be out a job.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
from Bradenton Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

waste of money

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this stuff is garbage i used it on my roof used it the way the directions said to applied with a 3/4 nap roller put it on early evening had plenty time to dry rained middle of night totally washed of the roof only reminants of application is the outside edge where i ran out i wouldnt used this garbage on a dog house wasted 126 dollars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
from Miami, FL, USA

This is the greatest stuff EVER!!!

PostedApril 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Why am I so excited about this product you might ask? I live in hot, humid South Florida and our house was built in 1930. There's no attick, only wind turbines, and the roof is torch down. There is no central AC due to the lack of attick and even though the pipes could be run externally, I won't due that due to the six month hurricane seasonal stress. The entire inside of the house is cement stucco - both walls and ceiling - no dry wall! So, when it gets hot and the sun starts beating down, it turns the inside into a brick oven. The ceiling inside gets hot to the touch. I painted my roof with this product and the results were mind-blowing...I mean literally! Now, the inside ceiling is stone cold, I no longer have to run all of my window 'bangers'. The roof is so white you need a pair of sunglasses to look at it. What's really mnid-blowing (besides the extreme tempeture drop) is that the only room I didn't paint was my office which is a flat roof that occassionally puddles. The ceiling in that room still gets hot to the touch, and when you walk through the door way into the rest of the house you can immediately feel the difference! This stuff works so well, I used it also on a huge hydro NFT system I have in my yard (10' 4" pvc tubes) and the chiller no longer struggles to keep the water temp at 75! I'm completely sold on this product and have recommended it to just about everyone I talk to!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer

best of the best

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
2 coats of this stuff no primer needed roofers dont want u to know about it it will waterproof ANY kind of roof even palm frawns if your in a hut
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
from Florida Keys
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

bernard

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I want to complement the Lanco company on how well they stand behind there product. I used there product and when I need needed assistance with the product they were very good at helping me get the job done right. Not many companies do such a great job at taking care of there customers and Lanco did Great. I highly recommend this product. Thank you Lanco.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
from Miami, FL, USA

Electric bill was all time high last month...

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So I figured I would bite the bullet and give this product a try. There are 100 different brands and each one of them claim to be the best, but I did narrow it down to a silicone based elastomeric. Seems it has more pliability during the season changes and better reviews. I have a 400 square foot flat roof in Miami that was covered with tar about 6 months ago. To the touch in the middle of the day I could not hold my hand on it for more than 5 seconds. A 5 gallon bucket of this stuff was the perfect amount for my roof. I put it on pretty thick. The next day I climbed up there and put my hand on the roof at noon and it was just slightly warm. I am paying 8-10 dollars a day on electricity, too early to know if I will save a significant amount, but if it saves me $100 over the life of the application (5-7 years?) then I say its worth it, plus it puts an additional weather/water barrier up there so its a win/win. If you're on the fence I would go ahead and pull the trigger on this product, not disappointed with the results so far, looking forward to collecting power consumption data over the next few months. I will submit my results at that time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Seals Well
Cons: price hopefully it saves in the long run
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Gal. Ultra-Siliconizer Roof Sealer
from Miramar, Florida 33027
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Weekly

wont last more than 1 to 2 years max

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
At first, is an excellent product, it keeps temperature low (Florida clime) it seal pretty well but it won’t last more than a couple of years. With rain and Florida weather, it got washed of and it must be re-applied. I wonder if those people that gave 5 stars review, got to inspect the roof after a couple of years, particularly the roofer that, herein, gave 5 stars!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: must re-apply after 2 years max (south florida)
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.