728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

Grace invented fully-adhered roofing underlayments more than 35 years ago. Grace Ice & Water Shield fully-adhered smooth surface roofing underlayment provides best in class roof leak protection against wind driven rain & ice dams. Grace Ice & Water Shield roofing underlayment, a registered trademark of W. R. Grace, is the name that contractors trust the most to protect their reputations.
Overall rating:
4.524 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product19 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Review 1 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Lefty
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product!!! Wouldn't use ANY other Brand!!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been a GC for 30 years, and when it comes to roofs, I Only use Grace Products! Especially Ice N Water Shield.
Most roofers only use it on the lower ends of roofs near gutters for ice damming n melt backup. I use Grace around the entire perimeter of the roof, It's an extra safeguard for side blowing rain. It is a bit more costly to do that, but it can save you in the long run!!!
On less than a 5 on 12 pitch, I use Grace on the entire roof! Some guys say I'm crazy, but that roof wont leak until I'm long gone!!!!
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Difficult to Install, difficult to install in certain area's and pitches
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
roger

excellent durability

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An excellent product to use for waterproofing almost anything.As long as the product and the surface to which it is applied is clean,dry and warm i feel that it will last for many years.The only drawback is you must be extremely careful not to let the sticky surface get wrinkled and fold.It is practically impossible to pull it apart.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
JustGeorge

Grace Ice & Water Shield

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product is difficult to rate until it has been on the roof for several years. My complaint was that the box says that a "rip-cord" is incorporated within the paper backing. Once you install this stuff by yourself you can understand the value that the rip-cord would provide. But this box did not have the rip-cord as stated. The other complaint is that one edge of the product has a 1/2 inch sticky strip. I can only assume that this is for applications where the user is overlapping from one sheet to another? In hot and windy weather this is difficult to install with these 2 issues. Overall the product makes sense, but it is expensive and difficult to use.
Pros: Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
humbleguy
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

love it

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
install on flat roof 90 x 20 feet left uncover for 30 days rain fall couple days & water pool on flat roof no leaks
Pros: Performs Well
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Matt
from Tn
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

quality product

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
easy to install once you get the hang of it.you dont really get a second chance with this stuff.Quality seemed great. A little pricey but if it hold up like its supposed too then its worth it.It said it has a "rip cord" to ease installation.i couldnt see it!
Pros: Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
MSC56
from Beaver County 15003
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great stuff

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After mastering how to install this stuff it is not so hard to work with. I can see how it does the job it is intended to do, it sticks to everything. Really sticks well !
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, sticks like it needs to!
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Mapper
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Misleading

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product is expensive, so I expect it to live up to its claims. It declares in its description and right on its box that it has a feature ("Ripcord") to easily split its backing sheet. This is a lie.
For inexperienced users on anything but a nearly flat roof, at least 3 people are needed to correctly lay this material.
A sticky edge ON TOP is a pain in the rear.
Strongly recommend going with the HT version if price is the same.
I find it ridiculous that the product is no longer carried in the store and has to be ordered and shipped.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Buyerbeware1019
from Ny

Product features is WRONG!!!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Your site indicates the size of this roll is 3' x 75'. The box I received says 3' x 66.7'. What happened to the rest? Even this email I'm responding to right now states the roll of grace ice & water shield is 77' long. Read the darn box! Should I ask for a refund on my 8.3' of product?
+11points
20out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
kenrmer
from Seven Hills, Ohio

The best underlayment

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Grace is the best underlayment available. Some contractors don't like using it due to the extra care needed in handling the product. Its super sticky and unforgiving when trying to reposition, so work slowly. It is definitely the best ice/water shield you can buy. HD had the best price compared to the local roofing suppliers too.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
rjp61

sticks down very good

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product thick and very sticky once in place hard to get up.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Charlie
from Warm Springs, GA 31830, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very good product, it came highly recommended

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product Great delivery right to door. Recommended by a professional
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Chris

best product ever made

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the problem when people try to use this product and think its as easy as putting up wall paper, we use this product on all McDonalds new stores and remodels, and when installed properly it works, for the guy who applied it to the block messed up by pressure washing the block you added a ton of water you did not need. which allowed moisture to excreate out. apply enough glue to a some what dry wall. some times two coats of it works well, let it dry to form a tack remember brick and block is very porus and its not a smoot surface. then apply starting at the top and roll to the bottom pulling off the back paper as your laying it. dont tear it all off at one time. that's where you screwed up at. rub it down with your hands to create heat. rollers are not good unless your doing a roof cap. once it adheres its not coming off if done right no matter what you do
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well, Reliable, need 3 people or 2 experienced
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
wepfau

This is a very useful product.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to use as a sound deadener in my van. I will also use it in speaker enclosures. Since it isn't carried locally, I was pleasantly surprised that I could have it shipped directly to my house.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
BenF
from Durango, CO

Excellent product

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent Product - used as a roof edge, chimney flashing, and cut strips for tape. Seals everything very well!
Pros: Seals Well, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
bbg1631
from stillwater ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

product was gerat and easy to install

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great product easy to install great price covered whole roof with it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
bkowarz

Very good very strong

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bottom paper shut be split on half.
This will help the applying process
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
HJames
from Roy, WA 98580, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Grace Water & Ice is really easy to use

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The ease of use is excellent and very durable. The tear resistant in the wind is most rewarding especially in cold weather. It has surpassed all my expectations.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Rick
from Kingsport, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is a must.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is easy to install and conforms to roof transitions better than metal flashing. I use it in all of my roofing installations with never a call back, which means a happy customer.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: backing blows away
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
F15Eagle
from Springfield , VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy to install, sealed very well.

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was exactly what I needed for a low slope roof I needed to re-shingle.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
mountainroofer

great product for good price!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Grace is the best roofing underlayment but you have to pay the price for it, but here in Home Depot the price is super competitive and free shipping? don't buy it than :)
Good value!!!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>