728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

Grace invented fully-adhered roofing underlayments more than 35 years ago. Grace Ice & Water Shield fully-adhered smooth surface roofing underlayment provides best in class roof leak protection against wind driven rain & ice dams. Grace Ice & Water Shield roofing underlayment, a registered trademark of W. R. Grace, is the name that contractors trust the most to protect their reputations.
Overall rating:
4.629 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product33 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(7)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product33 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Review 1 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

Good stuff, but difficult to work with

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have not had any problems finding the ripcord. Just cut a little v-notch in the middle like the instructions say and pick it out with the point of your knife. Pieces less than a few feet can be put down singlehandly, but like others have pointed out, two or three is better. This stuff would be a real pain trying to align it without splitting the backer paper. I don't know why they just don't use two smaller pieces like other manufacturers do. It's really satisfying smoothing it out- you will find out how clean your roof is as you put it down. Those little plastic pieces that sometimes stick with the nail gun nails will show, but the ice
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Well worth the money

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have used this product in the past on another roof and when it came time to put a new roof my current house, I searched everywhere locally for Grace Ice and Water Shield with no luck. I couldn't get it online quick enough to use the first day of my roofing project, so I bought one roll of GAF in the store and ordered three rolls of Grace online. As I was putting the GAF ice shield on the front roof of my house, the UPS driver showed up with the Grace product. The GAF product was a pain to work with and barely stuck to the roof sheeting. For the rear of the house where I really needed good ice guard, I used the Grace product. It went on great, stuck like crazy, and was much easier to work with than the GAF product. At double the price of the GAF, it isn't cheap, but compared to the rest of the cost of roofing a house, I will never use anything else.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Mansfield, OH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good Product, short roll lenghts

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good product, would not do a roof without it. the only complaint is the rolls are not 75ft long... each roll was 3-5 foot short.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: short rolls
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Product!!! Wouldn't use ANY other Brand!!

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been a GC for 30 years, and when it comes to roofs, I Only use Grace Products! Especially Ice N Water Shield.
Most roofers only use it on the lower ends of roofs near gutters for ice damming n melt backup. I use Grace around the entire perimeter of the roof, It's an extra safeguard for side blowing rain. It is a bit more costly to do that, but it can save you in the long run!!!
On less than a 5 on 12 pitch, I use Grace on the entire roof! Some guys say I'm crazy, but that roof wont leak until I'm long gone!!!!
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, Lots of Features, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: Difficult to Install, difficult to install in certain area's and pitches
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Rochester Hills Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Quality Product

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
High quality product. Roofing crew that did my roof had no problem applying the W.R. Grace material that I insisted on. Other products are available at lower cost, but I'll spend a few extra bucks for the real deal. I view it as cheap insurance to protect your roof.
Pros: Seals Well, High Quality, Reliable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

Grace Ice & Water Shield

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product is difficult to rate until it has been on the roof for several years. My complaint was that the box says that a "rip-cord" is incorporated within the paper backing. Once you install this stuff by yourself you can understand the value that the rip-cord would provide. But this box did not have the rip-cord as stated. The other complaint is that one edge of the product has a 1/2 inch sticky strip. I can only assume that this is for applications where the user is overlapping from one sheet to another? In hot and windy weather this is difficult to install with these 2 issues. Overall the product makes sense, but it is expensive and difficult to use.
Pros: Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Install
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

excellent durability

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
An excellent product to use for waterproofing almost anything.As long as the product and the surface to which it is applied is clean,dry and warm i feel that it will last for many years.The only drawback is you must be extremely careful not to let the sticky surface get wrinkled and fold.It is practically impossible to pull it apart.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Pittsburgh, PA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Having used this product in the past, and struggled with applying it properly, I really like the new, improved version. It's a bit stiffer and less sticky so it's easier to apply smoothly without it sticking everywhere it shouldn't, but sticky enough that it stays put once it's pressed down. Also, the paper backing is WAY easier to peel off just by bending the product. It also has a textured surface so it's not like walking on a hockey rink when it's damp. My HD doesn't stock it, but it's worth ordering online.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Endicott, NY 13760, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Difficult for one person to apply

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Product is very handling sensitive during installation. Best to install in short lengths to avoid alignment problems. Must be applied by at least 2 workers.
Pros: Seals Well
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Dauphin Island
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It's good stuff, but ...........

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I've done a lot of roofing, and the word on the street in the roofing industry is that this is the best self-sealing product. That may be true, but it comes at a price (financial AND practical). This is the world's stickiest stuff when the backing is removed. You MUST have 2 people in order to install it neatly. Also the vaunted "rip-cord" feature instructions begin with the words "find the rip cord" good luck finding it.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well
Cons: Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Seven Hills, Ohio

The best underlayment

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Grace is the best underlayment available. Some contractors don't like using it due to the extra care needed in handling the product. Its super sticky and unforgiving when trying to reposition, so work slowly. It is definitely the best ice/water shield you can buy. HD had the best price compared to the local roofing suppliers too.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Misleading

PostedJune 27, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The product is expensive, so I expect it to live up to its claims. It declares in its description and right on its box that it has a feature ("Ripcord") to easily split its backing sheet. This is a lie.
For inexperienced users on anything but a nearly flat roof, at least 3 people are needed to correctly lay this material.
A sticky edge ON TOP is a pain in the rear.
Strongly recommend going with the HT version if price is the same.
I find it ridiculous that the product is no longer carried in the store and has to be ordered and shipped.
+8points
13out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

wr grace ice and watersheild

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product first time using this a littie tricky because it is very sticky in warm weather but once gotten used to I found it to be an awesome underlayment that was a sure fire way to attain water intrusion protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Ny

Product features is WRONG!!!!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Your site indicates the size of this roll is 3' x 75'. The box I received says 3' x 66.7'. What happened to the rest? Even this email I'm responding to right now states the roll of grace ice & water shield is 77' long. Read the darn box! Should I ask for a refund on my 8.3' of product?
+14points
29out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Tn
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

quality product

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
easy to install once you get the hang of it.you dont really get a second chance with this stuff.Quality seemed great. A little pricey but if it hold up like its supposed too then its worth it.It said it has a "rip cord" to ease installation.i couldnt see it!
Pros: Seals Well, High Quality
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

love it

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
install on flat roof 90 x 20 feet left uncover for 30 days rain fall couple days & water pool on flat roof no leaks
Pros: Performs Well
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Traverse City Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to put down but but not a one person job. I had two others helping - one aligning, one nailing and me pulling the paper backing off. A 225 SQ. FT. roll is heavy and it is better to cut it into workable lengths. We covered a 215 SQ. FT. shed roof in about an hour.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Great Value, easy to cut
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from Maine
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product is used by all the contracters that I know.

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product has been used on every roof and building that has been built or added to
in my community. It does what it is described to do and it does it great.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment

Very good very strong

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The bottom paper shut be split on half.
This will help the applying process
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ice & Water Shield 225 sq. ft. Roll Roofing Underlayment
from vermont

best sh1t ever

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This stuff is the best, will seal any leak. Very tough, Very effective.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>