728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel

1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel

When adding installments to your space use the 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel featuring a wainscot style and pure white color to accent your home. This panel is pre-primed and pre-finished.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
24 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
Review 1 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Attractive Budget Bead Board Panel

PostedMay 6, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product looks good and was easy to install. My initial order on line for store pickup was horrible. Every panel was an irregular. My contractor refused and went to the stock area to pick out acceptable product. When we realized we needed two additional panels, my contractor had to visit three Home Depot stores until he found two panels in perfect condition.
These can be cut to wainscot height, but at eight feet high, they are designed for full wall paneling. If your ceiling is higher, use a tall baseboard and larger ceiling trim
The panels look good installed and took the paint well. They are on the 12 month back porch of a 120 year old house, fitting in perfectly with bead board on my front sun room and one of the upstairs bathrooms.
I would not recommend for room other than a enclosed porch or a basement. For other uses, pine individual slats would be preferable.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
Cons: difficult to find good quality, light weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great!

PostedDecember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this in my bathroom as an alternative to having to move the toilet to paint the full walls. Way easier than messing with the plumbing and actually ended up adding more character to the room. Measured the room and got the pieces cut at home depot so they'd fit in the car.
I used liquid nails (the one for paneling) and some white finishing nails and had an easy time of it. Cut easily with a Ryobi circular saw and jigsaw for a better fit once I was home.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Stylish
+51points
52out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel

Love this stuff!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Re-doing older house, this beadboard paneling was a perfect choice for backsplash in kitchen and bath. Easy to work with. Goes up great and paints up well. Very pleased.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Enough to Cut

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought these panels to finish a room in my basement. The ceiling is low, so I had to cut each panel to size, plus holes for outlets and such. I found the panels reasonably easy to handle and cut. They've been up for about a month now (nailed directly to the studs) and there is no sign of warping.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Economical
+43points
44out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Wolcott, NY

Good product, wears great

PostedMarch 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We used a ton of this on the inside of our lake cottage. It is unheated in the winter, in a damp location, and this stuff has been great! It has held up well, going on its tenth year now. Cleans up really well, and the winter dampness has not seemed to affect it at all. It is rock-solid. It was pricier than I wanted, but well-worth it in the long run, and easy to cut. Hard to nail in though!
+92points
93out of 94found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Bowling Green, KY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wainscotting

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love this product, remodeling an old house and used this in the bathroom. You can give it a country look or sophisticated look. Again I love it
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Newton, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is so beautiful in my dining room!

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this in a different way than most folks do. I installed it on 3 of my dining room walls leaving the other two walls for painting. It sets off the dining room as well as giving a nice flow from the den to the living room. It looks awesome! I'm glad I did it.
Pros: Vibrant Color, High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel

Good value for the price

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
For the price, the panel was good quality. The store was able to cut it down to size for me, but unable to make precision cuts so I had to cut it again at home.
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Tullahoma, Tn.

Turn an old home into a work of art

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My son and I moved into a one hundred year old home at the end of October. It had not been well taken care of. The existing walls and ceilings were brown from years of smokers. Irresponsible previous tenants had left evidence of their bad lifestyle behind. IT WAS A DUMP. I even had people advise me not to move in, it was so bad. They did not see the potential I did. Many of the rooms were easy to fix. Some old cans of paint in the shed worked just fine to give 3 rooms their own makeover. Ample good condition carpet rolls, also left in the shed, covered the old linoleum in 1 room and the unfinished bathroom floor. A good cleaning helped a lot, too. However, when I got to the living room, I was stuck. One wall was bare of the more than 6 layers of old wallpaper that unevenly covered the other walls. the old i" wooden slats showed behind the old paper. There were cracks which leaked the outside cold air indoors. I knew adding another layer of wallpaper wouldn't be a good thing. I thought of placing plywood over the existing and painting or papering it. I just didn't want to add new over old. I couldn't remove the layers and paint the slatted boards because of the cracks. AND, I wanted a room that was classy, stylish, and practical.
I did research on HOME DEPOT'S website. I really liked the white pine panels, but once I figured up the cost to do the whole room, I knew it was much more than I could afford to spend. At the same time, I would have rather spent out of my budget than go with something that did not suite my taste.
A friend suggested the WHITE WAINSCOT PANELING. Wow! What a blessing. It looked good and was within my budget needs.
I bought several sheets of WHITE WAINSCOT PANELING. They were so EASY TO INSTALL. First, I painted the dark ceiling white. Then, I ripped off the numerous layers of old wallpaper and cleaned the areas of wood underneath that had developed mold. A FEW MEASUREMENTS, a skill saw, 2 saw horses, and 2 DAYS later (and some GOOD FAMILY) and I had a whole new living room! IT IS AMAZING! Guests cannot believe the difference. It is my FAVORITE in the house and my son likes it, too. He is not ashamed of where he lives now. I feel like I am now living in a home that, with a few more minor repairs, I can actually stay in, feel comfortable, and be happy.
I am so thankful to HOME DEPOT for carrying products that are economical and quality. The SERVICE professionals were EXCELLENT, as well, every time I called with a question and when I bought the products in the store.
I RECOMMEND THE WHITE WAINSCOT PANELING FOR ANYONE LOOKING TO UPGRADE A ROOM ON A BUDGET. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED! THANK YOU HOME DEPOT.
+107points
149out of 191found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel

UTTER JUNK

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT USE THIS STUFF in a bathroom. We put it in, and it bowed overnight. Had to be torn out and replaced with vinyl wainscoting. Lots of wasted time and money.
Cons: warps!!!
-13points
8out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Mammoth Spring, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Appeared too flimsy. Ease of Application

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This product is very flismsy and light weight. I was impressed the corners did not break off. Very attractive. I installed in the stair hall of our cabin. I do not feel this product would be durable enough for room application. I am impressed how easy it is to paint, and the drying time quick.
-4points
9out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/4 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. MDF Wainscot Panel
from Canton, OH, USA

Horrible Quality!!!

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The package looks good - on the outside - the product inside is junk! We needed 48sq foot - the pack does 14 so we bought 4 packs - good thing because there are only 7 pieces per pack & at least 2 were unusable! The ends 2-3 ft worth were rotten! If they are going to specify the sq ft per pack - more product should be included in pack to reach promised amount!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: Inconsistent, alot of unusable pieces, does not cover promised square footage
-86points
8out of 102found this review helpful.