728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating

4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating

Henry 687 enviro white elastomeric roof coating is a premium, high solids white elastomeric roof coating formulated with acrylic polymers, resins, fillers and titanium dioxide pigments. It reflects damaging UV rays and features DPR: Dirt Pick-up Resistant technology which prevents dirt and dust buildup, keeping your roof whiter and more reflective longer. This maximizes your energy savings over time. The elongation, peel strength and solar reflectance values of this coating offer weather protection, high solar reflectivity and superior longevity when compared to economy grade reflective roof coatings. Intact cured coating forms a permeable membrane which prevents liquid infiltration, but allows moisture vapor to vent, or breathe out of underlying substrate.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product23 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product23 of 25reviews
Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Review 1 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Iowa, USA

Good quality product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Henry 687 product was recommended to me by a contractor friend to seal a very low sloped portion of my mother's house roof. The roof had been shingled recently but still leaked near the bottom of the slope. The area was about 100 square feet. I applied 3 coats over the course of one week, weather permitting. I used a roller with 1" nap for all 3 coats and put it on liberally. The first coat took about 1.80 gallons. Coats 2 and 3 took just under one gallon each. The product went on smoothly, covered well and dried and set up reasonably fast. A couple of days after the 3rd coat we got 1/2" rain one morning, then 3" torrential rains the next night into morning and there were no leaks at all where it had leaked before. I realize the proof will be in future year's durability, but so far I am pleased with the performance. My only negative comment is that it is fairly expensive ... $130 incl tax, but if it keeps the rain out it will be worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from greenvalley, az
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Buy this for good coverage

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this product after buying the 5yr last time...it is much better to get 10 year or better if you live in a place like Arizona where the sun in intense...this one will probably last for several years.
Easy to apply as long as you clean and prep the roof first.
Pros: Easy to Work With, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Las Cruces NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is higher quality than all the rest.

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I conduct a (very) small business and have coated many medium to large roofs in the past two years. I always insist on using Henry Envirowhite Elastomeric roof coating and people have been very happy with it. I have had it on my own roof for five years now and it is holding up well. Just make sure to follow the instructions to protect your roof and keep your home cooler.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality, Durable, enhances solar panel electricity production
Cons: higher cost
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
14out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Fair price, outstanding product

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, not the cheapest, but works great and I trust Henry. Would highly recommend this product and does what it says it would do. Will pay for itself many times over in a/c and roof repair costs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from El Paso, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

My two story neighbor next to my house hates me

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I HAD a light gray colored built-up flat roof (BUR) from the single-story house that I built in 2009 for my mom and recently I got a leak above the living room. Instead of hiring a roofer, I decided to walk around Home Depot looking for a solution. I came across some Henry products and noticed there was a bucket with a green lid. I read the label and decided to purchase two of the Envirowhite Roof Coating No 687. With my purchase, I bought a roller, roller extension pole, roller cover, a paint brush, and a compressor. I went home and swept the roof with a broom and the compressor. Afterwards, I literally "painted" the roof with the coating, in strokes heading east-to-west. (The instructions call for a two-coat system, each coat being perpendicular to each other, about 24 hours apart). As more roof area was being "painted", the glare of the coating became unbearable. The label states that you must wear sun glasses when applying the coating. Darn right! I got sun burned. The next day, I applied the second coat in a north-to-south direction. Once done with the second coat, the glare was unbearable, too much white being reflective off the roof. We've had a couple of rains after the placement and the leak has been sealed. I am very happy with the product. Clean up of tools is easy, just some dish washing soap (won't mention the name but, 'from dusk to "xxxx") and water and the tools come clean. One draw-back to the label, it states that one gallon covers about 100 square feet so you figure a 4.75 gallon bucket will cover about 475 square feet. It will, but keep in mind that for the product to work effectively, it takes two coats. I definitely recommend this project. It's a bit pricy but well worth it. Now I can say I have a white roof. And my neighbors who have a second floor home next to mine, hate me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Yucca Valley
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It's the greatest!

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Definitely cools down the house. Those w/open beams immediately realize a drop of at least ten degrees. Helps preserve the roofing. East to hose off. Love the stuff
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

So far so great

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Midway through applying this product to my rolled roof my attic (crawlspace) fan turned off. That was almost a week ago and it hasn't turned on since. Temps reached the low 90s today.
I applied two coats waiting 1 day between each. I applied the product to the sewer vent pipes as well.
It will take some time to get a accurate review of this product but so far I am pleased. Even in terms of aesthetics, my roof is better.
I have enough product to apply a third coat and just may do so.
My biggest complaint is availability of products from Henry in the New Jersey Home Depot locations. It appears that while the full line of products from Karnak are available in Home Depot stores, only 1 is available from Henry with other Henry products available for order and home delivery only.
Example: the Henry Asphalt Emulsion is available for in store purchase in every store in Pennsylvania, Florida, etc., but it is not even available for special order from the HD Pro Desk in New Jersey.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Hawaii
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Probably not good for rainy areas.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in an area that usually sees at least light rain nightly. I used this product following the directions on my flat rolled roof. I used henry 107 (asphalt emulsion), and then two coats of 687 as the instructions stated. It worked great for the first two years. The roof was almost cold to the touch. The house was much cooler especially during the summer, I was happy. By the second year, a reddish staining gradually appeared on my roof. I assumed it was some sort of growth, and applied bleach, which didn't do anything. Upon closer examination, very tiny holes had formed in the coating. I contacted customer service, and they attributed it to bleed through. They stood by their warranty and refunded the full purchase price. Ive seen several neighbors with the same staining problem, and can confirm one who used 687. I believe their silicone based coating would work best for wet areas.
Pros: Easy to Use
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating

Henry's Environs it roof coating

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product! !!!
The problem is that I had to go to 4 stores to get all that I needed. One store doesn't even carry it. The cheaper ones don't work very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating

great roof paint

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm glad i went with the highest rated product, it was a bit more money but really happy with how great roof is sealed and feels much cooler inside, or at least much more comfortable now that the summer heat started (june in Phoenix)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Bellevue, Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

poor instructions

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read through the instructions twice and my friend a professional body & fender man read them 2 times as well and no where does it say that you need to let the coating dry for 72 hours. It said to stir the product so we did and it brought up dried flakes of the product into the mix so I now have a roof with big
chunks of dried flakes in it. If you buy this product and have any questions about installation I would suggest you call their trouble shooting hot line and get the facts from them and don't rely on the packaged instructions. That's what hotlines are for. If they can't supply proper product labeling they should be able to afford more trouble shooting staffers. Good Luck
Pros: highly reflective
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow! Wow wow wow WOW!!!!! Buy it, DO IT!!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product went on easily and cleanly with a thick-nap roller, like a cross between frosting and paint. Didn't get on me, my shoes, my clothes -- very low splatter, easy application. THEN I took my infrared thermometer to see what effect it had on my roof. Tested a side-by-side area, original roof coating (flat roof, light grey asphalt rolled roofing) versus new coated and cured Envirowhite coating from the day before. At noon in October in Southern California, my old roof was 126 degrees F, and the newly coated roof was 84 degrees F. Couldn't believe it. Put my hands on the surfaces, old roof surface was pretty darn hot and the newly coated roof wasn't even warm to the touch. It was almost magical.
I've had solar panels on my roof for years, and my complaint was that they didn't put out that much power but I did confirm they lowered my energy usage just by the shade they provided. Infrared thermometer showed me a difference of as much as 50 degrees F between full sun and shaded areas, and having that much shade on my roof obviously lowered my air conditioning load. Now I see I can get 40 degrees temp reduction with a $100 can of roof coating. That's a LOT less than using solar panels for shade! I can't believe I didn't do this a decade ago, and think every single roof in this country should have this stuff applied to it immediately as a matter of national energy security. Why not -- it's almost free energy savings! This will pay for itself during one month of summer. BUY IT, DO IT.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Tucson, Az
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

White Roof Coating

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to apply and covered very well on the first coat. Would recommend multiple coats to insure warranty coverage and extend the life of the roof.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from S. Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

haven't used it in the heat yet-but am reviewing it's coating process

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Live in So. CA - have not had it on the roof long enough to judge the temperature impact, however the coverage and ease of use in applying it was terrific. Wearing dark sunglasses while rolling it was critical as it really, really reflects the sun and it covered our older flat asphalt roof beautifully. Just stirred it and poured some out/dipped the roller in the bucket. It was important to clean the roof and then make sure it was dry first....directions are pretty clear. Talked to a H.D. employee who had experience with this and the lesser expensive version...he said this really was best if there was any possibility of water pooling on the roof, and he has had it on his roof for about 8 years now. Really looking forward to seeing its impact on the room it is over in the summer.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Yelm Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Wow What a Difference Reduced House & Roof Temp a Ton on Flat Felt and Tar Roof

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Manufacturer told me I might need a primer before coating since it could have been an oil in it as I understood it which would have greatly raise my costs. So I applied some on a test area and it held just fine.
So I applied it to the main area of the house first that we spend most are time which would greatly heat up in the evening after the heat made its way thru our roof during the summer.The roof would get so hot you couldn't lay your hand flat on the tar for even a second it was so hot but after coating it was cool to the touch.
After I finished the coating in the morning we would open up the doors to cool the house down then close it up tight the rest of the day and night and it would end up being a 90 degree day but inside the house it wouldn't get over 68 degree's in the house even at night were before it would get hot once that heat got thru the roof. so its really helped us out on comfort and can't wait to see how it holds the heat in the house this winter plus we now added years to our roof life span and its only taken (3) 4.75 buckets on a 1400 sq foot house.
So buy some you won't be disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: non
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to use & does the job

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not in stock, but special order was available over phone or at store. Fast delivery. Product was easy to apply, but need a soft brush or roller. Easy clean up, with soap & water. Make sure to stir well & dry in between coats. Lots cooler on roof with product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, Economical
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Oceanside, CA

this stuff works

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I built a studio or "shed" as my wife might tell you. I chose not to put insulation in the ceiling and left the beams exposed. After I roofed the studio the temperature inside was a bit on the warm side. I was going to bite the bullet and insulate the ceiling and add the drywall when a guy at home depot mentioned this roof coating. For $116 bucks I was willing to try it. He told me a lady came in complaining her trailer's AC bill was killing her. She came back and said after applying the coating her inside temperature dropped 10 degrees. I can safely say she wasn't exaggerating. If you want to cut your cooling bill or make your shed comfortable for working pick up this stuff. If you know someone suffering on a fixed income go paint their roof. This stuff could cut their need for AC and help them spend money on food.
+14points
19out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating

Good stuff

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My neighbors roof is 50 degrees hotter than mine. I have saved plenty on air conditioning this year.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from Texas, USA

Really Home Depot? Really? I just bought it. It's not yet the dog days of summer!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Really Home Depot? Really? I just bought it, and it's not yet the dog days of summer!
I really can't believe this nonsense of expecting reviews well before the product has even been tested in the hottest of conditions, especially as this year has been colder than usual.
What I can say is that it was very quickly delivered and went on fairly well as long as the day was warm. Later as the day cooled off, the product became more difficult to spread out.
As of now, I have no clue if this product will do the job as advertised. I only know that Home Depot should have waited until after I tested the product thoroughly.
-28points
2out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
from LA, CA

Sounds silly, but painting my roof white in Los Angeles works

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in LA in a townhouse, and the upstairs gets really hot. Even with an upstairs/downstairs thermostat, there's about a 6 degree difference, so if the upstairs thermostat has control, it has to work real hard to cool things to 78 degrees and the 1st floor ends up being 74 degrees.
Now, we have a flat tar and paper sheet roof, that's grey...no attic access, so no chance to really add insulation that way. I was dreaming up ways to put reflective bubble foil insulation on the roof to "manufacture" shade to help cool off the three bedrooms (especially afternoon nap time in my daughter's southern facing bedroom, it got hot in there).
I thought, I'd try out the whole paint the roof white idea...and found Henry's range of products. As I didn't want to paint the roof more than once, I opted for the 687 enviro-white mix, as that had the most UV reflectivity and while a bit more costly, another $20 a bucket, I figure was worth doing it the one time.
Now, I was skeptical, mind you...but I knew that a basic white paint wouldn't last on the roof as the temperatures in LA get hot in the day, but cool off at night. Not freezing, but a wide range.
This stuff went on pretty easy (I poured it directly on the roof and used a roller to spread it).
It wants you to apply it when the roof is heating up...so, opt for a mid-morning roof paint timing and don't let it get below 50 degrees during the drying phase (about 4 hours). So, the results...
I bought two 5 gallon buckets as an experiment. Coating my daughter's bedroom roof area first, then the master bedroom. I went back out a few days later and put my right hand on the non-painted tar paper roof...it's hot to the touch...so much so, you leave it there a few seconds, and it hurts. I put my left at the same time on a painted portion (literally, a foot from each other as I tested this by a border) and the painted area is actually cold to the touch. Not I couldn't believe it.
I tested this in various patches. Painted area first, then the unpainted. Unpainted then painted...it was really remarkable.
I couldn't believe it. But, it wasn't a subtle difference.
Inside the upstairs rooms, they dropped about 2-3 degrees...so there's a 1 degree difference between the upstairs and downstairs now. And, my AC doesn't have to kick on as often to cool down when the upstairs thermostat is in control.
2-3 degrees may not sound like a big difference, but I've read that every degree you set your AC unit below 78 degrees is an 8% energy increase...So, this is easily keeping the upstairs cooler and saving the amount of energy required to keep it cool.
I'm impressed. I was skeptical, but now I'm picking up 3 more buckets to coat the rest..
+15points
20out of 25found this review helpful.
1 2 >>