728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating

4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating

Henry 687 enviro white elastomeric roof coating is a premium, high solids white elastomeric roof coating formulated with acrylic polymers, resins, fillers and titanium dioxide pigments. It reflects damaging UV rays and features DPR: Dirt Pick-up Resistant technology which prevents dirt and dust buildup, keeping your roof whiter and more reflective longer. This maximizes your energy savings over time. The elongation, peel strength and solar reflectance values of this coating offer weather protection, high solar reflectivity and superior longevity when compared to economy grade reflective roof coatings. Intact cured coating forms a permeable membrane which prevents liquid infiltration, but allows moisture vapor to vent, or breathe out of underlying substrate.
Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Review 1 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Maebo
from Hawaii
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Probably not good for rainy areas.

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in an area that usually sees at least light rain nightly. I used this product following the directions on my flat rolled roof. I used henry 107 (asphalt emulsion), and then two coats of 687 as the instructions stated. It worked great for the first two years. The roof was almost cold to the touch. The house was much cooler especially during the summer, I was happy. By the second year, a reddish staining gradually appeared on my roof. I assumed it was some sort of growth, and applied bleach, which didn't do anything. Upon closer examination, very tiny holes had formed in the coating. I contacted customer service, and they attributed it to bleed through. They stood by their warranty and refunded the full purchase price. Ive seen several neighbors with the same staining problem, and can confirm one who used 687. I believe their silicone based coating would work best for wet areas.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
ara1943
from Las Cruces NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product is higher quality than all the rest.

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I conduct a (very) small business and have coated many medium to large roofs in the past two years. I always insist on using Henry Envirowhite Elastomeric roof coating and people have been very happy with it. I have had it on my own roof for five years now and it is holding up well. Just make sure to follow the instructions to protect your roof and keep your home cooler.
Pros: Performs Well, Seals Well, High Quality, Durable, enhances solar panel electricity production
Cons: higher cost
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
SW422
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow! Wow wow wow WOW!!!!! Buy it, DO IT!!

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product went on easily and cleanly with a thick-nap roller, like a cross between frosting and paint. Didn't get on me, my shoes, my clothes -- very low splatter, easy application. THEN I took my infrared thermometer to see what effect it had on my roof. Tested a side-by-side area, original roof coating (flat roof, light grey asphalt rolled roofing) versus new coated and cured Envirowhite coating from the day before. At noon in October in Southern California, my old roof was 126 degrees F, and the newly coated roof was 84 degrees F. Couldn't believe it. Put my hands on the surfaces, old roof surface was pretty darn hot and the newly coated roof wasn't even warm to the touch. It was almost magical.
I've had solar panels on my roof for years, and my complaint was that they didn't put out that much power but I did confirm they lowered my energy usage just by the shade they provided. Infrared thermometer showed me a difference of as much as 50 degrees F between full sun and shaded areas, and having that much shade on my roof obviously lowered my air conditioning load. Now I see I can get 40 degrees temp reduction with a $100 can of roof coating. That's a LOT less than using solar panels for shade! I can't believe I didn't do this a decade ago, and think every single roof in this country should have this stuff applied to it immediately as a matter of national energy security. Why not -- it's almost free energy savings! This will pay for itself during one month of summer. BUY IT, DO IT.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
north
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to use & does the job

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not in stock, but special order was available over phone or at store. Fast delivery. Product was easy to apply, but need a soft brush or roller. Easy clean up, with soap & water. Make sure to stir well & dry in between coats. Lots cooler on roof with product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, Economical
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Alfred

product went on easy and coated the roof exaclty as stated and it is now cool.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It took three coats to cover the roof but the coating went on easy and it did the job. The house is now cooler than before.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
homerepairnut
from S. Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

haven't used it in the heat yet-but am reviewing it's coating process

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Live in So. CA - have not had it on the roof long enough to judge the temperature impact, however the coverage and ease of use in applying it was terrific. Wearing dark sunglasses while rolling it was critical as it really, really reflects the sun and it covered our older flat asphalt roof beautifully. Just stirred it and poured some out/dipped the roller in the bucket. It was important to clean the roof and then make sure it was dry first....directions are pretty clear. Talked to a H.D. employee who had experience with this and the lesser expensive version...he said this really was best if there was any possibility of water pooling on the roof, and he has had it on his roof for about 8 years now. Really looking forward to seeing its impact on the room it is over in the summer.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
MikeP
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It was bright and easy to apply

PostedApril 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Since moving to AZ everyone said I needed a white coating on my roof but I've held off the last couple years because I thought it would be difficult and I didn't want to pay for it to be done. I'm glad I purchased and did it myself. The associate told me that spending the extra money on this Henry Envirowhite was the way to go....Easy and bright white.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Anonymous
from Oceanside, CA

this stuff works

PostedJuly 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I built a studio or "shed" as my wife might tell you. I chose not to put insulation in the ceiling and left the beams exposed. After I roofed the studio the temperature inside was a bit on the warm side. I was going to bite the bullet and insulate the ceiling and add the drywall when a guy at home depot mentioned this roof coating. For $116 bucks I was willing to try it. He told me a lady came in complaining her trailer's AC bill was killing her. She came back and said after applying the coating her inside temperature dropped 10 degrees. I can safely say she wasn't exaggerating. If you want to cut your cooling bill or make your shed comfortable for working pick up this stuff. If you know someone suffering on a fixed income go paint their roof. This stuff could cut their need for AC and help them spend money on food.
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Andres
from Tampa Fl
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

More bang for your buck

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product better than Hydro Stop. Cant beat it for thr price and Rob the sales rep is very helpful
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Seals Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
groundzero
from LA, CA

Sounds silly, but painting my roof white in Los Angeles works

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in LA in a townhouse, and the upstairs gets really hot. Even with an upstairs/downstairs thermostat, there's about a 6 degree difference, so if the upstairs thermostat has control, it has to work real hard to cool things to 78 degrees and the 1st floor ends up being 74 degrees.
Now, we have a flat tar and paper sheet roof, that's grey...no attic access, so no chance to really add insulation that way. I was dreaming up ways to put reflective bubble foil insulation on the roof to "manufacture" shade to help cool off the three bedrooms (especially afternoon nap time in my daughter's southern facing bedroom, it got hot in there).
I thought, I'd try out the whole paint the roof white idea...and found Henry's range of products. As I didn't want to paint the roof more than once, I opted for the 687 enviro-white mix, as that had the most UV reflectivity and while a bit more costly, another $20 a bucket, I figure was worth doing it the one time.
Now, I was skeptical, mind you...but I knew that a basic white paint wouldn't last on the roof as the temperatures in LA get hot in the day, but cool off at night. Not freezing, but a wide range.
This stuff went on pretty easy (I poured it directly on the roof and used a roller to spread it).
It wants you to apply it when the roof is heating up...so, opt for a mid-morning roof paint timing and don't let it get below 50 degrees during the drying phase (about 4 hours). So, the results...
I bought two 5 gallon buckets as an experiment. Coating my daughter's bedroom roof area first, then the master bedroom. I went back out a few days later and put my right hand on the non-painted tar paper roof...it's hot to the touch...so much so, you leave it there a few seconds, and it hurts. I put my left at the same time on a painted portion (literally, a foot from each other as I tested this by a border) and the painted area is actually cold to the touch. Not I couldn't believe it.
I tested this in various patches. Painted area first, then the unpainted. Unpainted then painted...it was really remarkable.
I couldn't believe it. But, it wasn't a subtle difference.
Inside the upstairs rooms, they dropped about 2-3 degrees...so there's a 1 degree difference between the upstairs and downstairs now. And, my AC doesn't have to kick on as often to cool down when the upstairs thermostat is in control.
2-3 degrees may not sound like a big difference, but I've read that every degree you set your AC unit below 78 degrees is an 8% energy increase...So, this is easily keeping the upstairs cooler and saving the amount of energy required to keep it cool.
I'm impressed. I was skeptical, but now I'm picking up 3 more buckets to coat the rest..
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
Fishing4deals
from Dutchess, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44

Easy to use

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to use product. Works well, yet another over-priced product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
catdriver
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Henry roof coating

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
High quality product which goes on smoothly to various roof surfaces for previously TSP cleaned surfaces. Requires thicker coats and more product (~30%) than advertised/estimated for surfaces that have not been previously coated with elastomeric but result is highly reflective and durable.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.75-Gal. 687 EnviroWhite Roof Coating
TradeKing83
from Sierra Madre, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A little pricy but well worth it!

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the top shelf white roof coating. Went on smooth, may need 2 coats for an ultimate seal.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.