728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post

1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post

The 7 ft. 6 in. Postmaster is used in place of wood fence posts for added strength, durability, longevity, and resistance to wind. It can be easily concealed from view to maintain the beauty of your wood fence project.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
Review 1 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
from Reno, NV
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Will replace with round metal posts

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These posts are definitely sturdy. They held up to 70+ MPH winds over the course of three days. However, they 2x4 wooden rails did not. They split on both ends without any issue due to the base nails only being able to go in less than 1/2 inch from the end. Although these posts didn't bend or snap, I have to replace over 100 feet of the rest of the fence. Needless to say, I will be ripping these posts out and replacing them with the strut round ones that have braces that go a couple inches in on the ends for support.
If you have little to no wind, go for it. If you have moderate to high winds, do NOT get these!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: not for high winds!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
from Patterson, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

best fence post available

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have driven many miles to buy these posts for my wood fence projects. Now they are available in almost all Home Depots. They make fence building faster, stronger and insure that there will be no rotten posts.
Pros: Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Strong
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
from Cheyenne, WY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressive

PostedFebruary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the last wood fence post you'll ever use. Like changing the oil in your car, you'll have to replace the framework & pickets every 10-15 years, but not these posts. Brilliant design & ease of application is for all DIY'rs
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
from Fair Oaks, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a good piece of gear!!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this post for years and love it! it works great. i never have to worry if it is going to rot out or if i am going to have to replace it because it won't!! When it first came out they were a lot more then what they are now which i am glad to see the price has come down but the product is still as good as it was five years ago when I first started using the system.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
from Fresno, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only fence post I'll ever use

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This particular design of fence post makes fence building quick and easy. These posts will outlast me!
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
from Santa Barbara, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More expensive and Much better than pressure treated wood both in terms of ease of use and durability

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
More expensive and Much better than pressure treated wood both in terms of ease of use and durability
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Durable, holds wood so wide side is vertical - reduces sag
Cons: an extra piece of wood on the back to concealmetal, less attractive than wood
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
from Northwest
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durable

PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
They will eventually rust -they are just galvanized. If you cut them, I'd spray paint the end to help with the rust years from now. A nice, cheaper product that should look good for a decade or so.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best fence post sold.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got tired of my wooden fence posts rotting, so had started replacing them with metal chain link posts. Drilling into a round post wasn't the easiest, but it was done. Imagine my surprise to find these great posts at Home Depot. For only a couple of dollars more, they have made it so much easier to replace the rotten wood posts. Gradually, all my wood posts will be replaced with these posts.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Alternative for Real Wood, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/8 in. x 3-1/8 in. x 7-1/2 ft. Metal Post

Master Helco posts

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
these post are the best set all the post next day in half the time the fence is done
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.