728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

Simplify your life and save more energy with the Ideal Pet 10-1/4 in. x 15-3/4 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Pet Door. Give your pet access to shelter day and night and get them in out of the heat, rain, and cold without any fuss or scratching at the door. With all of quality and benefits of our standard doors, our Premium Draft Stopper line is an energy efficient upgrade with a double pane flexible flap that is durable and provides increased insulation. Ideal pet doors are simple to install with easy to understand instructions. Save energy while keeping your pet safe and happy with an Ideal Premium Draft Stopper Pet Door.
Overall rating:
4.058 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product49 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(18)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product49 of 65reviews
Customer reviews for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Review 1 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Union Beach, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dimensions advertised are wrong!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this particular unit because it was advertised at homedepot.com to fit door thickness from 1" to 1 3/4", and I needed it for an insulated storm door of 1". Only after cutting the hole in the door (and finding it was still too thick after removing the tabs)did I check the manufacturer's web site to find it fits doors from 1 1/4" to 1 3/4". Fortunately, I was able to trim a little more off, shim and caulk it to get a proper fit. But this added a heck of a lot more time to this project!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceJune 28, 2012
smcg14,

I reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

"I am writing to follow up on your review you posted June 15th 2012 on homedepot.com for the Ideal Aluminum Draft Stopper part PDSXL. The Home Depot is focused on ensuring complete customer satisfaction. As the manufacture, we are very interested in supplying consumers with a quality product that delivers the expected performance. Anytime we hear problems encountered in the use of one of our products, we want to get involved and resolve the difficulties the best we can.
In reading your review, it is apparent that you had a problem with the stated thickness of door that our pet door would fit into. After review we did make an error in saying it would fit into a 1" door when in reality it should have said 1-1/4" thick door. It sounds like you got the door to work but it required you to do some adjustments. I would like to offer to pay for any extra material you might have had to purchase to allow you to install the pet door in your 1" thick door.
I am very hopeful to hear from you and help you resolve the difficulties you've experienced.
Ideal Pet customer service phone is 800-378-4385 ask for Janice."

I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot.

THD Customer Service
Review 2 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Peachtree City, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXTRA LARGE PREMIUM DRAFT STOPPER PET DOOR

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every time our dog wanted to do out into the back yard either I or my wife would have to get up and open the french door for Daisy. Since we have windows that are within a foot of the floor, I purchased some clear plastic panels at Home Depot, along with some 3/4" x 3/4" molding and the Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Pet Door. I bought the Extra Large size because Daisy is a short and fat little beagle so the extra large size allows her plenty of room to go through. I used the plastic panels and molding to build a double pane window that I could mount the pet door into (since I did not have a door to mount it in). After raising the window all the way, I placed the double pane plastic window assembly that I built into the window opening (actually I assembled the double pane assembly inside the window casing for security purposes) and lowered the normal window on it. Afterward I used concrete blocks outside the window for steps and we're using some "pet steps" at the inside of the window like we used for her to get up on the sofa, Daisy can now let herself in and out of the house whenever she likes. It sure is nice not to have to get up in the middle of the night to let her out to use the bathroom. The pet door is heavy duty and made of high quality plastics. The access port of the door is made of double pane plastic and seals using rubber and magnets which are mounted into the door itself. We love it and so does Daisy.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Sandy, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Draft Stopper Dog Door

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can't beat the Home Depot price. Keeps the draft out and will pay for itself in reduction of heating costs. Seals well enough that small rodents cannot get in either. GREAT DOOR! Appearance would have been a 5 but it came with tinted panels even though the picture shows clear and the description doesn't mention color. The dark color makes it feel like it is dark outside even at noon. Installation would have been a 5 but the template doesn't match the product so if you use it you will have holes in the wrong places and the size will be too snug.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: color, template / instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Atlanta area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Finally! A doggy door that works!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to replace my previous installed dog door because the one that I had can been discontinued by the PetSafe. Meaning I simply could not replace the worn out flap. So I had to find a product that would work in the existing hole in my door. I chose this one because it was the closest in size, the 4-5 star reviews and the one year warranty. Although the flap does not close 100% all the time, it still works well with my three 45lb Australian Shepherds.I only hope that Ideal Pet Products keeps this and replacement flaps available!
Pros: High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for a year

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door worked great for the first year. The flexible hard flap door broke where the seal is. Now my dogs can't use it until I replace the flap. I love the product, but hope they offer a replacement flap at a reasonable price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Sparks, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really like the design

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed this in a 20 year old Johnson silding glass door dog door unit that I could no longer get the right size replacement flap for. Just drilled 4 holes and added a bit of rubber weather stripping to fill a small gap at the bottom. Holds up very well to the winds here.
Only problem is that the rubber hinges on the flaps are begging to tear after only nine months and the flap is not covered by the warranty. But they do have a replacement flap available.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product & quality. Would recommend it to a friend.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great quality & appearance. The flexable door is great and provides for extra insulation. I used this on a storm door and had to put additional trim around it to make it fit snug. It is really made for regular entry (thicker than 1 inch) doors. It would be great if extra trim were available to fit storm doors.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Sturdy, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Cons: a little custom needed to install on a storm door
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Natchez, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Product

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product hopeful to get a durable and energy efficient dog door. It is extremely durable, and has held up as my dog hits with full speed at least twice a day, as he gets excited that we are going outside to run the squirrels out of the yard. The door closes and seals excellent after every use to allow for minimal air condition and heat to escape, which is why I bought this product in the first place. The door will not blow open with strong winds, and seals out the rain. Works perfectly!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Westfield, Quaker Gap, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We liked this product so much we bought 2 more!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We tested/tried 3 other doggie doors. This was the best of them.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

Well built dog door!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to replace a medium sized dog door and we like the look and fit of this new larger door. It lets the dog see out easier - which he seems to appreciate and we appreciate the way it keeps shut even with a strong wind blowing!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Everything that was promised

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Seals much more tightly than my previous door and in South Texas that will add up to A/C savings. Product installed easily once we got the door opening cut. Now that was a different story but had nothing to do with this product.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Middleton, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well constructed door

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Ideal Pet Door may be the best fabricated pet door available. I have installed 4 pet doors at present and have learned to purchase only the aluminum frame doors. The plastic ones (the other major brand) are a waste of money and will break. In other reviews you may have noticed the comment about the cutout template being too small; I found that the template does not accommodate the screw posts (4). You might want to drill out the post locations before cutting the opening. As far as energy efficiency, it will be tested this coming winter. Excellent pet door, recommended.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedApril 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This door is easy to install, is easy for the dogs to use and seals essentially draft-tight due to its' articulated double sided cells and magnetic seal. My dogs can just about hit it at a full trot without damage to the door or themselves. I already have on installed in a panel for a sliding door which prompted me to get this item for a second installation.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from syracuse, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

door flapps break off after a year

PostedMay 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
just broke the second one. hinged door breaks after a year. not sure what we will do next have the hole already, guess we will see if they have a solid door version
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from El Paso, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

weatherproofing not up to snuff

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My boxer loves it because she can really 'make an entrance'.
The weatherstripping is not sturdy enough to withstand active dogs.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: not fully weatherproof.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

Needs to fit storm doors

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Most storm doors are 3/4 to 1 inch thick this needs shims so you can make the adjustments.
Middle flap seems to catch and leave a gap so the air goes through the gap.
But for the price this is one of the better ones.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works and looks good

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks good and keeps the cold air from coming through
Pros: Energy Efficient, Functional, High Quality
Cons: color
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It arrived early and looked just as expected. Worked great

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You always have to do a little custom work if you want these to fit your space exactly. With the right tools the job was very easy. Product was just as expected. Great value based on all the other doors I reviewed.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Euless TX

The best product for a large lab 110 lbs

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door frame is solid aluminum and the flaps open and close as they should. The door magnets holds the door in place with no air drafts. This doggy door is for Scooby's new home in addition to the one we had for 5 years for his current home. Highly recommended.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Lewisburg, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great,can feel a temperature difference for the better in my hallway

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think shipping takes a long times esp in this day and time but I got it and have been using it and saved me a trip to the store
Pros: Energy Efficient, Well Made, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>