728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pet Doors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

Simplify your life and save more energy with the Ideal Pet 10-1/4 in. x 15-3/4 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Pet Door. Give your pet access to shelter day and night and get them in out of the heat, rain, and cold without any fuss or scratching at the door. With all of quality and benefits of our standard doors, our Premium Draft Stopper line is an energy efficient upgrade with a double pane flexible flap that is durable and provides increased insulation. Ideal pet doors are simple to install with easy to understand instructions. Save energy while keeping your pet safe and happy with an Ideal Premium Draft Stopper Pet Door.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product54 of 72reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(20)
3
(7)
2
(6)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product54 of 72reviews
Customer reviews for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Review 1 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Kissimmee, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy duty and well constructed.

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed one inside the house and a second outside. Both doors went in without a hitch and work properly. Took some time for the dog to feel comfortable to use them since they have more weight than the usual dog flaps. However, she figured it out and life is good.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Union Beach, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dimensions advertised are wrong!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this particular unit because it was advertised at homedepot.com to fit door thickness from 1" to 1 3/4", and I needed it for an insulated storm door of 1". Only after cutting the hole in the door (and finding it was still too thick after removing the tabs)did I check the manufacturer's web site to find it fits doors from 1 1/4" to 1 3/4". Fortunately, I was able to trim a little more off, shim and caulk it to get a proper fit. But this added a heck of a lot more time to this project!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceJune 28, 2012
smcg14,

I reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

"I am writing to follow up on your review you posted June 15th 2012 on homedepot.com for the Ideal Aluminum Draft Stopper part PDSXL. The Home Depot is focused on ensuring complete customer satisfaction. As the manufacture, we are very interested in supplying consumers with a quality product that delivers the expected performance. Anytime we hear problems encountered in the use of one of our products, we want to get involved and resolve the difficulties the best we can.
In reading your review, it is apparent that you had a problem with the stated thickness of door that our pet door would fit into. After review we did make an error in saying it would fit into a 1" door when in reality it should have said 1-1/4" thick door. It sounds like you got the door to work but it required you to do some adjustments. I would like to offer to pay for any extra material you might have had to purchase to allow you to install the pet door in your 1" thick door.
I am very hopeful to hear from you and help you resolve the difficulties you've experienced.
Ideal Pet customer service phone is 800-378-4385 ask for Janice."

I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot.

THD Customer Service
Review 3 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Sandy, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Draft Stopper Dog Door

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can't beat the Home Depot price. Keeps the draft out and will pay for itself in reduction of heating costs. Seals well enough that small rodents cannot get in either. GREAT DOOR! Appearance would have been a 5 but it came with tinted panels even though the picture shows clear and the description doesn't mention color. The dark color makes it feel like it is dark outside even at noon. Installation would have been a 5 but the template doesn't match the product so if you use it you will have holes in the wrong places and the size will be too snug.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: color, template / instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Peachtree City, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXTRA LARGE PREMIUM DRAFT STOPPER PET DOOR

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every time our dog wanted to do out into the back yard either I or my wife would have to get up and open the french door for Daisy. Since we have windows that are within a foot of the floor, I purchased some clear plastic panels at Home Depot, along with some 3/4" x 3/4" molding and the Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Pet Door. I bought the Extra Large size because Daisy is a short and fat little beagle so the extra large size allows her plenty of room to go through. I used the plastic panels and molding to build a double pane window that I could mount the pet door into (since I did not have a door to mount it in). After raising the window all the way, I placed the double pane plastic window assembly that I built into the window opening (actually I assembled the double pane assembly inside the window casing for security purposes) and lowered the normal window on it. Afterward I used concrete blocks outside the window for steps and we're using some "pet steps" at the inside of the window like we used for her to get up on the sofa, Daisy can now let herself in and out of the house whenever she likes. It sure is nice not to have to get up in the middle of the night to let her out to use the bathroom. The pet door is heavy duty and made of high quality plastics. The access port of the door is made of double pane plastic and seals using rubber and magnets which are mounted into the door itself. We love it and so does Daisy.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is a good door but

PostedDecember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this door as we have two active dogs one is a beagle and the other is an Airedale
This door has held up very well
I would say that what would make it a great door is allowing the gasket or rubber pieces that hold it together to be available
I have seen one excuse that is so for out it is unbelievable
I was able to remove the old parts with very little effort and yet they are not an item that can be purchased. They are not sonic welded/cam welded or even glued .They say that the door pieces can't be separated and not only I was able to do it so have several other customers
I have perfectly good flaps and yet have to spend 45 bucks to purchase new ones
There is no reason to have to purchase the complete flap when the hinge/gasket breaks
If what the mfg. states the two halves of the flaps are welded together then mine is a defective
Not sure how well it will holdup but we took a towel cut a strip off and repaired ours
My next step is a piano hinge if the towel does not work
could not get a pic to post
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: rubber not replaceable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Indiana

Doggie door

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was easily installed. The only thing is a gap along the flap itself. But since it is on the " man door" of the garage, is not an issue for us.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not sure how well the hinged door will last
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Ky
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a good door

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Door only had about 1/4" cover around door opening, screws that came with door were to short for standard door instill
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Tustin, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Doesn't last

PostedNovember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The rubber that holds the plastic tears. Which leaves you stranded with part of the door hanging open. It does work at keeping the air out when it was new.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product & quality. Would recommend it to a friend.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great quality & appearance. The flexable door is great and provides for extra insulation. I used this on a storm door and had to put additional trim around it to make it fit snug. It is really made for regular entry (thicker than 1 inch) doors. It would be great if extra trim were available to fit storm doors.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Sturdy, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Cons: a little custom needed to install on a storm door
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

Good door for big dogs

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Now that it is in our dogs are really enjoying the door, but installation was a little tricky.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Middleton, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well constructed door

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Ideal Pet Door may be the best fabricated pet door available. I have installed 4 pet doors at present and have learned to purchase only the aluminum frame doors. The plastic ones (the other major brand) are a waste of money and will break. In other reviews you may have noticed the comment about the cutout template being too small; I found that the template does not accommodate the screw posts (4). You might want to drill out the post locations before cutting the opening. As far as energy efficiency, it will be tested this coming winter. Excellent pet door, recommended.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Westfield, Quaker Gap, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We liked this product so much we bought 2 more!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We tested/tried 3 other doggie doors. This was the best of them.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doggie Door

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a very sturdy and well made door. I love it and so do our dogs.
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Atlanta area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Finally! A doggy door that works!

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I needed to replace my previous installed dog door because the one that I had can been discontinued by the PetSafe. Meaning I simply could not replace the worn out flap. So I had to find a product that would work in the existing hole in my door. I chose this one because it was the closest in size, the 4-5 star reviews and the one year warranty. Although the flap does not close 100% all the time, it still works well with my three 45lb Australian Shepherds.I only hope that Ideal Pet Products keeps this and replacement flaps available!
Pros: High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Shreveport, Louisiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good for a year

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door worked great for the first year. The flexible hard flap door broke where the seal is. Now my dogs can't use it until I replace the flap. I love the product, but hope they offer a replacement flap at a reasonable price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Euless TX

The best product for a large lab 110 lbs

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door frame is solid aluminum and the flaps open and close as they should. The door magnets holds the door in place with no air drafts. This doggy door is for Scooby's new home in addition to the one we had for 5 years for his current home. Highly recommended.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Sparks, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really like the design

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed this in a 20 year old Johnson silding glass door dog door unit that I could no longer get the right size replacement flap for. Just drilled 4 holes and added a bit of rubber weather stripping to fill a small gap at the bottom. Holds up very well to the winds here.
Only problem is that the rubber hinges on the flaps are begging to tear after only nine months and the flap is not covered by the warranty. But they do have a replacement flap available.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Natchez, MS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great Product

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this product hopeful to get a durable and energy efficient dog door. It is extremely durable, and has held up as my dog hits with full speed at least twice a day, as he gets excited that we are going outside to run the squirrels out of the yard. The door closes and seals excellent after every use to allow for minimal air condition and heat to escape, which is why I bought this product in the first place. The door will not blow open with strong winds, and seals out the rain. Works perfectly!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

Well built dog door!

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased to replace a medium sized dog door and we like the look and fit of this new larger door. It lets the dog see out easier - which he seems to appreciate and we appreciate the way it keeps shut even with a strong wind blowing!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
from Oregon

works well, easy to install

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 2 of them. Good insulating quality, shuts reliably every time, does not blow open, dogs get in and out easily as does the cat. No drafts. Much cheaper than comparable products.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>