728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap

Simplify your life and save more energy with the Ideal Pet 10-1/4 in. x 15-3/4 in. Extra Large Plastic AirSeal Pet Door. Give your pet access to shelter day and night and get them in out of the heat, rain, and cold without any fuss or scratching at the door. With all of quality and benefits of our standard doors, our AirSeal line is an energy efficient upgrade with a double pane flexible flab that is durable and provides increased insulation. Ideal pet doors are simple to install with easy to understand instructions. Save energy while keeping your pet safe and happy with an Ideal AirSeal Door.
Overall rating:
4.033 / 5
4
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product41 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(15)
3
(6)
2
(5)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product41 of 56reviews
Customer reviews for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Review 1 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
James68
from Sandy, UT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Draft Stopper Dog Door

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can't beat the Home Depot price. Keeps the draft out and will pay for itself in reduction of heating costs. Seals well enough that small rodents cannot get in either. GREAT DOOR! Appearance would have been a 5 but it came with tinted panels even though the picture shows clear and the description doesn't mention color. The dark color makes it feel like it is dark outside even at noon. Installation would have been a 5 but the template doesn't match the product so if you use it you will have holes in the wrong places and the size will be too snug.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Cons: color, template / instructions
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
PTCJim
from Peachtree City, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXTRA LARGE PREMIUM DRAFT STOPPER PET DOOR

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Every time our dog wanted to do out into the back yard either I or my wife would have to get up and open the french door for Daisy. Since we have windows that are within a foot of the floor, I purchased some clear plastic panels at Home Depot, along with some 3/4" x 3/4" molding and the Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Pet Door. I bought the Extra Large size because Daisy is a short and fat little beagle so the extra large size allows her plenty of room to go through. I used the plastic panels and molding to build a double pane window that I could mount the pet door into (since I did not have a door to mount it in). After raising the window all the way, I placed the double pane plastic window assembly that I built into the window opening (actually I assembled the double pane assembly inside the window casing for security purposes) and lowered the normal window on it. Afterward I used concrete blocks outside the window for steps and we're using some "pet steps" at the inside of the window like we used for her to get up on the sofa, Daisy can now let herself in and out of the house whenever she likes. It sure is nice not to have to get up in the middle of the night to let her out to use the bathroom. The pet door is heavy duty and made of high quality plastics. The access port of the door is made of double pane plastic and seals using rubber and magnets which are mounted into the door itself. We love it and so does Daisy.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Fits in Various Rooms, Functional, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
smcg14
from Union Beach, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dimensions advertised are wrong!

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this particular unit because it was advertised at homedepot.com to fit door thickness from 1" to 1 3/4", and I needed it for an insulated storm door of 1". Only after cutting the hole in the door (and finding it was still too thick after removing the tabs)did I check the manufacturer's web site to find it fits doors from 1 1/4" to 1 3/4". Fortunately, I was able to trim a little more off, shim and caulk it to get a proper fit. But this added a heck of a lot more time to this project!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceJune 28, 2012
smcg14,

I reached out to the brand about your review, and this is their response to you:

"I am writing to follow up on your review you posted June 15th 2012 on homedepot.com for the Ideal Aluminum Draft Stopper part PDSXL. The Home Depot is focused on ensuring complete customer satisfaction. As the manufacture, we are very interested in supplying consumers with a quality product that delivers the expected performance. Anytime we hear problems encountered in the use of one of our products, we want to get involved and resolve the difficulties the best we can.
In reading your review, it is apparent that you had a problem with the stated thickness of door that our pet door would fit into. After review we did make an error in saying it would fit into a 1" door when in reality it should have said 1-1/4" thick door. It sounds like you got the door to work but it required you to do some adjustments. I would like to offer to pay for any extra material you might have had to purchase to allow you to install the pet door in your 1" thick door.
I am very hopeful to hear from you and help you resolve the difficulties you've experienced.
Ideal Pet customer service phone is 800-378-4385 ask for Janice."

I hope this helps and thank you for choosing The Home Depot.

THD Customer Service
Review 4 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Candy

Needs to fit storm doors

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Most storm doors are 3/4 to 1 inch thick this needs shims so you can make the adjustments.
Middle flap seems to catch and leave a gap so the air goes through the gap.
But for the price this is one of the better ones.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
steve001
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product & quality. Would recommend it to a friend.

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great quality & appearance. The flexable door is great and provides for extra insulation. I used this on a storm door and had to put additional trim around it to make it fit snug. It is really made for regular entry (thicker than 1 inch) doors. It would be great if extra trim were available to fit storm doors.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Sturdy, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Cons: a little custom needed to install on a storm door
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
ARYoung
from Westfield, Quaker Gap, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We liked this product so much we bought 2 more!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We tested/tried 3 other doggie doors. This was the best of them.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, Good Size & Fit
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Action
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works and looks good

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks good and keeps the cold air from coming through
Pros: Energy Efficient, Functional, High Quality
Cons: color
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
jillo
from Lewisburg, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great,can feel a temperature difference for the better in my hallway

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think shipping takes a long times esp in this day and time but I got it and have been using it and saved me a trip to the store
Pros: Energy Efficient, Well Made, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
LABR1
from Middleton, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well constructed door

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This Ideal Pet Door may be the best fabricated pet door available. I have installed 4 pet doors at present and have learned to purchase only the aluminum frame doors. The plastic ones (the other major brand) are a waste of money and will break. In other reviews you may have noticed the comment about the cutout template being too small; I found that the template does not accommodate the screw posts (4). You might want to drill out the post locations before cutting the opening. As far as energy efficiency, it will be tested this coming winter. Excellent pet door, recommended.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Well Made, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Vizslaman
from Utah, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It arrived early and looked just as expected. Worked great

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You always have to do a little custom work if you want these to fit your space exactly. With the right tools the job was very easy. Product was just as expected. Great value based on all the other doors I reviewed.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Sturdy, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Boothby

Good door

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The door works well for our dog - a Border Collie mix. She got use to going in and out without any issues. The installation instructions were ok but need to be updated. The instructions refer to eight screws to hold the door in place but there were only four - one on each corner. We drilled two more holes and put in our own screws to make sure the door was secure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
donthaveone
from Springfield, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Far Exceeds my previous door, which was great to start with!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The simplicity in design and sturdiness when installed is a perfect match. The door hangs from the top and is suspended on the other three sides by magnets. Door is held in place by the magnets as well and they aid in keeping the door from swinging too often. In this case the product and the shopping experience was five stars all the way!
Pros: Energy Efficient, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
smokeater

works great.

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a little harder to open than our old one but that should help with the north wind. Dogs took a little adjusting to it but they all do fine with it now . we have a small, medium and large dog and a cat that use it.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Multi Use, Sturdy, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Good Size & Fit, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Scooby
from Euless TX

The best product for a large lab 110 lbs

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The door frame is solid aluminum and the flaps open and close as they should. The door magnets holds the door in place with no air drafts. This doggy door is for Scooby's new home in addition to the one we had for 5 years for his current home. Highly recommended.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
dukenbenny
from Texas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome flap, but cheap trim piece makes install difficult

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I was really excited about this dog door. We live in West Texas and the flap itself is super insulated and truly does not allow any dirt or draft in as the flap locks itself into place once closed. The primary probem is where the four corners screw together the inside/outside portion of the door, the screws have a shallow thread and actually screw into plastic so they strip out easily and do not hold the door together well. We ended up using gap filler foam to sort of glue the door together, but a simple manufacturing change could have fixed this.
Also, I have an older large labrador retriever and it would have been better if I could have gotten this in a bigger size.
Pros: well made flaps
Cons: Size, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
DrJay
from Montana, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A good product, works as advertised

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the double paned door features. It went in easy enough after I cut through the steel door. But the screws were too short to catch and I had to get longer ones. This is a standard door within the parameters of the description. so that was disappointing.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
kccountrygirl
from Cleveland, MO 64734, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Appears to be good quality

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm still waiting on the contractor to install the door but I think it will be a good doggy door for my dogs. I have an office in the garage and plan to allow the dogs to have access to this heated room this winter so they have somewhere warm to go and not be cooped up while I'm at work.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Functional, Well Made, Sturdy, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
hannover
from Oregon

works well, easy to install

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 2 of them. Good insulating quality, shuts reliably every time, does not blow open, dogs get in and out easily as does the cat. No drafts. Much cheaper than comparable products.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Lynn
from Livonia, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad, in no way a Draft Stopper. No weight in flap at all!

PostedFebruary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Is in no way a "Draft stopper". More of a "let all the cold air in". Has no weight in flap, or magnet, even a small wind pushes it full open. I had to add weights to bottom of flap just to keep somewhat closed. Screw holes did not line up. Had to drill one out myself just to match up. So sorry I cut a hole in a door for such a poor design of the lightweight flap that will not stay even snug in place.
Cons: Quality, not functional, flap has no weight/magnet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceFebruary 8, 2013
Hi Lynn,


I apologize that you had a poor experience with this product. I have reached out to the manufacturer for more information and below is their response to you:
We are so sorry to hear that you are having trouble with your new pet door! It sounds like your flap is defective as it is certainly supposed to have weight and magnets both included as part of the structural components of the flap. Please contact Ideal Pet at 1 (877)-IDEALPET and we will get you a replacement .

Thank you
Review 20 for 10.25 in. x 15.75 in. Extra Large Premium Draft Stopper Aluminum Frame Door with Flexible Hard Flap
Tiffany

Perfect solution

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've been looking for a pet door that can withstand a doggie door-destroying basset hound. Our dog would rip the flap off every door we would try within the first day. We've had this one installed for two weeks and she has yet to destroy it. I think we've finally found our solution.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>