728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Radiant Barrier or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation

48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation

Reflectix Insulation has over 20 energy-saving applications for around the home. The list of uses includes crawl space, radiant floor, attic and walls. Our product is easy to handle and install. Reflectix requires only basic tools: a stapler, tape measure, utility knife, straight edge and safety glasses. Since our insulation is fiber-free, no protective garments or respirators are required.
Overall rating:
4.581 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product39 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(30)
4
(11)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product39 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
Review 1 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Greer South Carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

We installed this in the attic. It really works.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw this in an attic before and wanted to install it in ours.
We installed the Reflectix insulation and the attic became cooler as we progressed. It cost us an eighth ofwwhat Costco wants. All the tools we needed are a T-50 staple gun, a utility knife and a pair of large scissors. I strongly suggest buying several boxes of staples. It took us four hours with doing planning the day before. Leave a gap on either side of the roof peak vent. We used a 2 foot by 6 foot piece of 3/4 inch OSB to stand on ( one for each of us) to save us from having to stand on the ceiling joists. Our AC Guy saw it when we finished and said it will take a load off of the attic-mounted air handler. We also put in a deck in the attic to store our Christmas decorations (we have a lot) and a few other items. I went up there today when it was over 80 outside. It was the same in the attic as outside: just over 80. Saving on AC this summer and getting rid of storage will make this break even before Christmas. Oh yes....this is not a beginners project as no instructions are given. Look at the Reflectix online brochure. Study it. This is a special order item. Get it delivered to your home.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from northern Michigan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Pole barn insulation

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product arrived in a very timely manner. Very easy to work with. Only needed a few basic tools to install. We used a utility knife, straight edge, and a stapler with 1/2 inch staples.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Have to wait and see....

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I see a great many applications for this product in many areas of the home and will be using it in the future.
Overall this product is wonderful, excellent consistency and quality in its fabrication.
Currently being used primarily in the crawlspace of the home. Wrapping over the old insulation of the ducts to tighten, seal and clean everything up. (see attached)
I will also be using this product as part of an insulation and vapor barrier system I'm building for the walls. The reflective qualities of the product should also prove to be very beneficial in helping to light up the space when you do inspections or need to do any repair work under the house.
My only concerns will be the long-term stability/performance of the product.
Only time will tell if drying, cracking or flexibility becomes an issue but I don’t anticipate any problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation

easy way to insulate

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We built a room inside another building that is partially open to the outside environment. This product was super easy to install and seems to be working really well to hold in heat. Would have been even better if it came in wider rolls.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Palm Bay, Florida

good energy saver

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed 2 rolls of the reflectix 4' x100' radiant barrier in my attic as well as a 10W solar gable fan. The measured temperature of the attic has dropped 10-15 degrees even though I have only done about 40% of the attic space with the barrier. I recommend using a lightweight staple gun like a JT21 to attach the product to the trusses since it may involve a lot of stretching and working in tight spaces.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very easy to install, no mess, looks great too

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared to all other types of insulation this is easy and clean to install. I used on HVAC supply ducts. No fibers or dusting from the product at all. Cuts easily with a scissor or utility kife and straight edge. Very strong and lightweight at the same time. I simply made spacers out of leftover strips of the material to get the best R factor as the air space doubles the R. Metallic tape sticks very well. While there are other products with higher R factors, none are as easy and clean to install. Highly reocmmended.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation

Easy to work with and effective

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received two 100' rolls right on time and began to insulate the pony walls and south wall in my attic. The product went up very easy and after my first wall I found it much easier to measure and cut first before installing. Cuts very easily with a straight edge and a sharp utility knife. I can already feel the difference in the attic temp. I saved over $1,000 doing this myself and it only took me four hours.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from La Mesa, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great Heat Reducer

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product to place in my windows during the day to keep the house cool and reduce the usage of my Air Conditioner. It was 106 degrees today and the AC was on for 6 hours during the night. The temperature in my house rose 6 degrees in 8 hours. Great stuff. easy to work with and manipulate into the shape you desire. If I run out, I'm buying more.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy, noisy if you walk on it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation

Good product

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product has reduced attic temp. about 12 degrees. Many installers will lay material on horizontal joists this is incorrect. Must be stapled to diagonal roof line for longevity and proper installation per manufacturer. Energy rebate still in effect though limited to material cost if owner does installation. Big question as to compromised warranty for roof shingles. Pick a cool day to do project!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Ft. Pierce, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Product!!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product - I use it to on the inside of all the windows in my RV and it really helps to keep the temperature down. Easy to cut. Easy to remove when you want to see out the window. Also made a cover for my outside freezer and my big coolers - helps keep the ice much longer..
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Ringoes, NJ

Reflectix Rocks

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An absolutely outstanding product. We used Reflectix to insulate the duct work in our basement. Due to the very small tolerances we required a thin, flexible insulator and this was the only fit. Using the easy to follow instructions we have already seen a noticeable drop in our utility bill whilst seeing an increase in whole house comfort.
The larger 4ft roll cuts easily, if required, and makes installation a breeze. We did a cost comparison against fiberglass and Reflectix worked out to be considerably more affordable whilst offering comparable or better insulating properties.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation

Easy to work with, good value

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to insulate the inside of my steel garage door, and was debating over the 2 foot and 4 foot widths. For whatever reason 2 of my garage door panels are different heights than the other two, so I would have to custom cut anything I bought.
This stuff is very easy to work with, rolls out nicely, cuts easily, and I was able to install it using aluminum foil tape without any problems. My only concern is that it may not be enough insulation (R-factor) for my garage, but that is not the problem of the product, it performs as advertised.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation

Cool

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cooled the RV down immediately. We made pieces for each of the windows and put it up where the sun was strong. In the windshield it allowed for protection of dash and upholstery as well as cooling with more room than the privacy curtain provided.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Lakeside, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Insulated the heat pump with it

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sister's house in Phoenix AZ did not have insulation on the return air ducts running through the attic. I bought a 4'X 125' roll of Reflectix insulation, insulated all the return air ducts, coated the exterior of her heat pump air handler (factory insulated with 1" fiberglass to about R3?), had enough left over to coat the walls and ceiling of the mechanical space in the attic that the heat pump is located in.
Had 16' left over, and insulated her garage roll up door as well.
I also use this in my motorhome to cover the windshield, roof vents, and some windows. It keeps out the cold, light and heat in summer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Atlanta, GA

Innovative quality savings

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is as easy to install as described and is very effective. However, I highly recommend a powered exhaust fan if you do not have a ridge vent and sufficient air intake through the eaves in combination with this product. While this product keeps the attic cool, the air space between the insulation and the underside of the roof still heats significantly. If not exhausted or well vented, the heated air will leak down into the attic and nullify the effects of the insulation.
+10points
14out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Austin TX

Insulation Roll

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It arrived on time, was easy to put up and the price for this roll was only slightly higher than the price for half as much in the store. used it to line the inside of our Box truck roof that is sheetmetal and gets blazing hot in the summer. knocked down the heat so that you dont break into a sweat the instant you enter the back of the truck. Its very lightweight and easy to trim to the needed shape and size
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product is Backed by an Excellent U.S. based Company!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently contacted a highly informative sales associate with Reflectix Inc., which she was very thorough regarding the R-Value for every application. They also manufacture a "Direct-Contact" barrier, typically found in "House-Wrap" category, which is perforated to allow for the structure to breathe (reducing mold, mildew, and wood rot).
I plan to install the "bubble-barrier" on the interior of an existing mason block building built in the 40's, to reduce my heat-loss in the summer and heat transfer in the winter. Also plan to install in the attic, over HVAC duct-work, as well as wrap the water heaters and hot water lines inside the building.
The rating system (R-value) was derived from government agencies using private testing to create an accurate rating system to determine barrier retention value. Keep in mind, this was back in the 80's, which desperately needs to be updated!
Reflective barrier receives a lower R-value since it doesn't perform like insulation, instead it acts like a "built-in shade" to provide cooler surfaces and reduce heat transfer (southern walls being hot-to-touch in summer). Independent study suggests up to 80% energy savings, even with an R-1 insulating value. Since it "reflects" UV-B rays (penetrating sunlight) it can also reduce interior temperature by as much as 30*F on hot summer days.
Easy experiment: Hold a piece up to shade you in the summer sun and you will know exactly what all this means.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Portland, OR

Easy to install, surprisingly effective.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was installed this in an shop space that would get very hot in the summer and cold enough in the winter that condensation would freeze. This summer the temperature has been quite comfortable even during periods of sustained high temperatures.
I was skeptical of the R claims of this product but now wish that I had installed it sooner. It really does work quite well and is very easy to install, plus there is not the handling issues of fiberglass and also will not wick up water (and go moldy) in a damp location like fiberglass.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from Salem, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Loved the product ease of installation

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a home with a built in after market bedroom in the attic. There was one inch of old insulation in the walls. I installed new double sided insulation. Then I purchased this radiant barrier and installed to the rafters with a staple hammer gun. It looks wonderful clean and bright along with the energy savings.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Shape, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Double Reflective Insulation
from n.y

great

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i used this on the cealing in my work shop it keeps the heat from my wood stove in the shop and keeps the cold air were it should be up in the eaves great stuff will be using again
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>