728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Radiant Barrier or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)

48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)

Reflectix Insulation has over a dozen money-saving applications for around the home. The list of uses includes crawl space, radiant floor, attic and walls, just to name a few. The product is easy to handle and install. All you need are scissors, a staple gun, safety goggles and a tape measure. Since our insulation is fiber free, no protective garments or respirators are required. Orders for large rolls can be placed in-store with customer service.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(8)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product32 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
Review 1 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
Chamuco
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Have to wait and see....

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I see a great many applications for this product in many areas of the home and will be using it in the future.
Overall this product is wonderful, excellent consistency and quality in its fabrication.
Currently being used primarily in the crawlspace of the home. Wrapping over the old insulation of the ducts to tighten, seal and clean everything up. (see attached)
I will also be using this product as part of an insulation and vapor barrier system I'm building for the walls. The reflective qualities of the product should also prove to be very beneficial in helping to light up the space when you do inspections or need to do any repair work under the house.
My only concerns will be the long-term stability/performance of the product.
Only time will tell if drying, cracking or flexibility becomes an issue but I don’t anticipate any problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
RVer

Cool

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cooled the RV down immediately. We made pieces for each of the windows and put it up where the sun was strong. In the windshield it allowed for protection of dash and upholstery as well as cooling with more room than the privacy curtain provided.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
kbsilver
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very easy to install, no mess, looks great too

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Compared to all other types of insulation this is easy and clean to install. I used on HVAC supply ducts. No fibers or dusting from the product at all. Cuts easily with a scissor or utility kife and straight edge. Very strong and lightweight at the same time. I simply made spacers out of leftover strips of the material to get the best R factor as the air space doubles the R. Metallic tape sticks very well. While there are other products with higher R factors, none are as easy and clean to install. Highly reocmmended.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
BruceH2
from Palm Bay, Florida

good energy saver

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed 2 rolls of the reflectix 4' x100' radiant barrier in my attic as well as a 10W solar gable fan. The measured temperature of the attic has dropped 10-15 degrees even though I have only done about 40% of the attic space with the barrier. I recommend using a lightweight staple gun like a JT21 to attach the product to the trusses since it may involve a lot of stretching and working in tight spaces.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
14215469

Easy to work with and effective

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Received two 100' rolls right on time and began to insulate the pony walls and south wall in my attic. The product went up very easy and after my first wall I found it much easier to measure and cut first before installing. Cuts very easily with a straight edge and a sharp utility knife. I can already feel the difference in the attic temp. I saved over $1,000 doing this myself and it only took me four hours.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
dext

Good product

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product has reduced attic temp. about 12 degrees. Many installers will lay material on horizontal joists this is incorrect. Must be stapled to diagonal roof line for longevity and proper installation per manufacturer. Energy rebate still in effect though limited to material cost if owner does installation. Big question as to compromised warranty for roof shingles. Pick a cool day to do project!
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
WindyCityMike

Easy to work with, good value

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to insulate the inside of my steel garage door, and was debating over the 2 foot and 4 foot widths. For whatever reason 2 of my garage door panels are different heights than the other two, so I would have to custom cut anything I bought.
This stuff is very easy to work with, rolls out nicely, cuts easily, and I was able to install it using aluminum foil tape without any problems. My only concern is that it may not be enough insulation (R-factor) for my garage, but that is not the problem of the product, it performs as advertised.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
GoldenHVAC
from Lakeside, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Insulated the heat pump with it

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My sister's house in Phoenix AZ did not have insulation on the return air ducts running through the attic. I bought a 4'X 125' roll of Reflectix insulation, insulated all the return air ducts, coated the exterior of her heat pump air handler (factory insulated with 1" fiberglass to about R3?), had enough left over to coat the walls and ceiling of the mechanical space in the attic that the heat pump is located in.
Had 16' left over, and insulated her garage roll up door as well.
I also use this in my motorhome to cover the windshield, roof vents, and some windows. It keeps out the cold, light and heat in summer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
WeeFreeman
from Ringoes, NJ

Reflectix Rocks

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An absolutely outstanding product. We used Reflectix to insulate the duct work in our basement. Due to the very small tolerances we required a thin, flexible insulator and this was the only fit. Using the easy to follow instructions we have already seen a noticeable drop in our utility bill whilst seeing an increase in whole house comfort.
The larger 4ft roll cuts easily, if required, and makes installation a breeze. We did a cost comparison against fiberglass and Reflectix worked out to be considerably more affordable whilst offering comparable or better insulating properties.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
JohnDIYer
from Atlanta, GA

Innovative quality savings

PostedAugust 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is as easy to install as described and is very effective. However, I highly recommend a powered exhaust fan if you do not have a ridge vent and sufficient air intake through the eaves in combination with this product. While this product keeps the attic cool, the air space between the insulation and the underside of the roof still heats significantly. If not exhausted or well vented, the heated air will leak down into the attic and nullify the effects of the insulation.
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
BigGreenGuy
from Kansas, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product is Backed by an Excellent U.S. based Company!

PostedJanuary 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently contacted a highly informative sales associate with Reflectix Inc., which she was very thorough regarding the R-Value for every application. They also manufacture a "Direct-Contact" barrier, typically found in "House-Wrap" category, which is perforated to allow for the structure to breathe (reducing mold, mildew, and wood rot).
I plan to install the "bubble-barrier" on the interior of an existing mason block building built in the 40's, to reduce my heat-loss in the summer and heat transfer in the winter. Also plan to install in the attic, over HVAC duct-work, as well as wrap the water heaters and hot water lines inside the building.
The rating system (R-value) was derived from government agencies using private testing to create an accurate rating system to determine barrier retention value. Keep in mind, this was back in the 80's, which desperately needs to be updated!
Reflective barrier receives a lower R-value since it doesn't perform like insulation, instead it acts like a "built-in shade" to provide cooler surfaces and reduce heat transfer (southern walls being hot-to-touch in summer). Independent study suggests up to 80% energy savings, even with an R-1 insulating value. Since it "reflects" UV-B rays (penetrating sunlight) it can also reduce interior temperature by as much as 30*F on hot summer days.
Easy experiment: Hold a piece up to shade you in the summer sun and you will know exactly what all this means.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
Wazi
from Golden Valley, Az.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent, Easy; to install

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed as an extra layer of insulation in a small travel trailer as part of a conversion job. We converted the gutted trailer into a tool and materials storage shop.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
pdxuser
from Portland, OR

Easy to install, surprisingly effective.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was installed this in an shop space that would get very hot in the summer and cold enough in the winter that condensation would freeze. This summer the temperature has been quite comfortable even during periods of sustained high temperatures.
I was skeptical of the R claims of this product but now wish that I had installed it sooner. It really does work quite well and is very easy to install, plus there is not the handling issues of fiberglass and also will not wick up water (and go moldy) in a damp location like fiberglass.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
bobrightconnecticut
from Shelton, CT

The Greatest!

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use simply face staple; doesn't tear; cuts easily with scissors, and looks good too! This stuff is great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
rusty51
from n.y

great

PostedAugust 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i used this on the cealing in my work shop it keeps the heat from my wood stove in the shop and keeps the cold air were it should be up in the eaves great stuff will be using again
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
dcIH

This product is great.

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We use this product for packing and shipping during the warm summer months. It keeps our products from melting during shipping.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
Anonymous

Great product.

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Insulates well, easy to install. Great product. Fast shipping.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
Crunchynoodles
from Central California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

perfect for any home that needs to save energy

PostedMay 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Cools the garage a noticeable difference. Make sure all the seams are sealed.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
Practical1
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The Right Stuff!

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Reflectix insulation does the trick for my home. I couldn't imagine a better product. Easy to apply, with no fumes, particles, or other health hazards, yet very effective in reflecting UV rays and heat in summer, heat loss in winter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 48 in. x 100 ft. Standard Edge Insulation (1-Roll)
Mack
from Suffolk, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

very well made product. I used it around metal ductwork in my attic.c.

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
it was very easy to work with. I would buy it again. the shipping was very fast. I was kept informed of the progress of the shipping and arrival date.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>