728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

As the industry leader, Kwikset has provided trusted security for over 60 years and has become synonymous with security, peace of mind, style and innovation. Smart Key Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key your Smart Key locks as frequently as you wish while maintaining the highest level of security.
Overall rating:
3.692 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product18 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product18 of 26reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
Review 1 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tool works, but only with another specialty tool

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The reset tool only works with a removed cylinder. That requires a cylinder removal tool, which costs about $5.00 on Amazon, as Home Depot doesn't carry this simple piece of flat steel. Still the cost of both tools is less than a new lock, and using these re-keyable locks on my home and rental properties is smart business. And using the two tools let me reset a lock in less than 10 minutes from removing to reinstalling.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

Works great...except

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This tool works great on Kwikset Smartkey locks that you lose keys for, but we couldn't get it to work when the lock was stuck in the "locked" position. We didn't need a special tool to remove the cylinder from the knob, we googled it and were able to remove the cylinders without damaging them using screwdriver, pliers, etc. This has saved us a lot of money since we were rekeying many locks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

You probably don't need this

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wholeheartedly recommend the Kwikset lock sets and the smartkey system allows you to rekey all the locks in your home by yourself in seconds. But you need to make sure to follow the steps and keep an extra key. If you don't have a key or the lock jams because you fouled up the rekey process, this item will do the trick.
However, I don't recommend it. The locksmith desk at Home Depot will already have one, and if you are going to the store you might as well take your cylinder or handle with you. They will do it for free for any customer and it's doubtful that they would even ask for a receipt since they are not charging you.
If you do it yourself, you need to remove the cylinder, which requires a special tool. If you call Kwikset and tell them that you need the cylinder removal tool, they will send you one for free. Another reviewer mentioned that Home Depot did not have this tool, but that's only partly true. They certainly have them for their own use, but probably don't have them for sale.
The bottom line is that Home Depot can cut keys, service locks (in case the customer wants the cylinder flipped on a new purchase) and when the cylinder is out, they can use this tool to fix your lock in seconds. So I recommend Home Depot as a place to get all of your locks and get them serviced. You will have the added comfort that they will know you are a customer when you need service.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works like a charm!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had messed up while rekeying a lock so NO key would work. This item made it easy to fix the problem and key the lock properly. Instructions are clear and the process is simple once the cylinder has been removed from the lock. Only works with Kwikset smartkey locks.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poorly Engineered Tool

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Be warned that this tool may not work for you. And if the Smarkey lock cylinder has been corrupted during the standard re-key procedure, the tool may also be damaged. It is relative easy for a skilled person to disassemble the Smartkey lock cylinder to reset and re-key without this bogus tool. Kiwkset once made good reliable products that delivered years of reliable service. Now their locks are as cheap as the protection they provide.
Pros: Stylish, nice color
Cons: Not Durable, Easily Damaged
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Tennessee

Great money-saving tool!

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Less than a year ago, we purchased a new home and replaced all the locks with the Kwik Set Smart Key system. The doorknobs and deadbolts are easy to install, and even easier to rekey. Unless, of course, you get in a hurry and don't have one reset properly (which I did). This tool helps fix your mistakes. It is also much less expensive than ordering online, where the least you will pay is $30.00. And even cheaper than calling out a locksmith. I would highly recommend the KwikSet Smart Key system.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

easy to use

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
read the instructions,very well explained, showed great pictures plus the pictures are on the tool itself and depict exactly what you need to do with it
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tool works as designed

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I purchased this after a KwikSet SmartKey rekeying failure. The tool enabled me to recover from a "blown cylinder" and avoid having to replace the cylinder or lock.
I only wish that the SmartKey feature was more reliable so this tool would not be necessary. I'll keep it around because these locks have a reputation for randomly rekeying themselves.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Seminole, FL, USA

Works great - easy to use.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The SmartKey reset tool is easy to use and quickly resets the tumblers on SmartKey locks. Instructions are easy to follow and I would recommend the tool to anyone who needs to reset a SmartKey lock.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product . Works great and inexpensive

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product saved my customers the expense of buying another lock by reseting the lock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Excellent product. Change all my kwikset smart key cylinder with one master key with ease. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: non that i can find.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Makes it easy to reset the lock if you miskey the lock.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from atlanta

kwikset rekey tool

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The kwikset rekey tool is magic at saving time for minimal cost.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from El monte, california

this product has great features

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
first time online purchaser of home depot product. I am satisfied with the product and will shop online once again whenever i can't find the items at the store.
thank you
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works like it should

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
works like it should. it was less complicated than I had expected. saves me trips to home depot when I mess up my lock.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

Tool does not work

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tool would not reset a deadbolt that spontaneously stopped working on me. The reset tool does not insert as it is supposed to when the cylinder is turned in the cradle.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Montgomery, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of junk just like the locks you have to buy it for.

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Second time I tried to use it it locked up with the key in it. Have replaced all the kwiksets on my doors with Schlage.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

Just as Featured

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The product worked great. I messed up when re-keying my kwikset lock, and this product easily fixed my screw up. Very easy and quick to use!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Nashville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't buy!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Good idea but will fall apart while using. Screw holding spring needs to be in metal not plastic.broke on second lock.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By KwiksetApril 14, 2015By KwiksetApril 14, 2015
Hello nashvegas850,
We are sorry to hear that your SmartKey reset cradle broke. We value your feedback, and will pass this information on to our product team, for future design improvements. This product has a one year mechanical warranty, please contact our customer support team at 1-800-327-LOCK (5625), with case number 201504955439, and we will be happy to work with you to get this resolved.
Thank you again, Kwikset kwikset
Review 20 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Pensacola, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Needs the Tumbler removal tool

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The tool works fine, but you really need to have the tumbler removal tool (see online videos) to easily remove the tumbler. There are two springs that hold the tumbler in place and without this tool, I broke one off trying to get it out.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: incomplete set
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>