728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

As the industry leader, Kwikset has provided trusted security for over 60 years and has become synonymous with security, peace of mind, style and innovation. Smart Key Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key your Smart Key locks as frequently as you wish while maintaining the highest level of security.
Overall rating:
3.957 / 5
4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product17 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product17 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
Review 1 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

Works great...except

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This tool works great on Kwikset Smartkey locks that you lose keys for, but we couldn't get it to work when the lock was stuck in the "locked" position. We didn't need a special tool to remove the cylinder from the knob, we googled it and were able to remove the cylinders without damaging them using screwdriver, pliers, etc. This has saved us a lot of money since we were rekeying many locks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works flawlessly. Simple operation, easy to use and quick.

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
perfect. Works flawlessly. Simple operation, easy to use and quick. Of course, you'll only need this tool when the original key isn't available or has become damaged.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

saved me two trips already

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This does what it says it does. When I have a misfire on programming a lock or someone else programs a lock and doesn't give me the key, this gizmo is just the thing to fix it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from atlanta

kwikset rekey tool

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The kwikset rekey tool is magic at saving time for minimal cost.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from El monte, california

this product has great features

PostedJuly 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
first time online purchaser of home depot product. I am satisfied with the product and will shop online once again whenever i can't find the items at the store.
thank you
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

easy to use

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
read the instructions,very well explained, showed great pictures plus the pictures are on the tool itself and depict exactly what you need to do with it
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Florida, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excellent product . Works great and inexpensive

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product saved my customers the expense of buying another lock by reseting the lock.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

Just as Featured

PostedMarch 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product worked great. I messed up when re-keying my kwikset lock, and this product easily fixed my screw up. Very easy and quick to use!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Makes it easy to reset the lock if you miskey the lock.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Tennessee

Great money-saving tool!

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Less than a year ago, we purchased a new home and replaced all the locks with the Kwik Set Smart Key system. The doorknobs and deadbolts are easy to install, and even easier to rekey. Unless, of course, you get in a hurry and don't have one reset properly (which I did). This tool helps fix your mistakes. It is also much less expensive than ordering online, where the least you will pay is $30.00. And even cheaper than calling out a locksmith. I would highly recommend the KwikSet Smart Key system.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works like it should

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
works like it should. it was less complicated than I had expected. saves me trips to home depot when I mess up my lock.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tool works, but only with another specialty tool

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The reset tool only works with a removed cylinder. That requires a cylinder removal tool, which costs about $5.00 on Amazon, as Home Depot doesn't carry this simple piece of flat steel. Still the cost of both tools is less than a new lock, and using these re-keyable locks on my home and rental properties is smart business. And using the two tools let me reset a lock in less than 10 minutes from removing to reinstalling.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tool works as designed

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this after a KwikSet SmartKey rekeying failure. The tool enabled me to recover from a "blown cylinder" and avoid having to replace the cylinder or lock.
I only wish that the SmartKey feature was more reliable so this tool would not be necessary. I'll keep it around because these locks have a reputation for randomly rekeying themselves.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
You must pay close attention to the very simple instructions. It is very easy to use and works great. Very happy I made the purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Seminole, FL, USA

Works great - easy to use.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The SmartKey reset tool is easy to use and quickly resets the tumblers on SmartKey locks. Instructions are easy to follow and I would recommend the tool to anyone who needs to reset a SmartKey lock.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works like a charm!

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had messed up while rekeying a lock so NO key would work. This item made it easy to fix the problem and key the lock properly. Instructions are clear and the process is simple once the cylinder has been removed from the lock. Only works with Kwikset smartkey locks.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Azle, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expect a real pain

PostedOctober 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You need to strip down the lock assembly, right down to the tiny barrel within. No instructions are provided to do this. A YouTube search resulted in the info I needed. Its a lot of messing around and a lot of work.
Also on YouTube are instructions to reset the lock without using this.
Not worth the money, time, or effort.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Install
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent product.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Excellent product. Change all my kwikset smart key cylinder with one master key with ease. Highly recommended.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: non that i can find.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool

This product is not user friendly.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product has failed to work as specified, reset process does not function seamlessly. Eventually took lock cylinder to retailer to be reset. Retailer had similar problem reseting lock with his reset cradle. Appears to be a poorly designed/engineered product.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Smart Key Reset Cradle Tool
from Middle America
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not a stand alone item

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In order to use this product another tool is required to further disassemble lock housing rendering this item useless for the novice trying to fix a kwickset rekeying problem.
This in itself would not have bothered me had the Kwickset made that clear before purchasing the item.
Cons: lack of information
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>