728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

As the industry leader, Kwikset has provided trusted security for over 60 years and has become synonymous with security, peace of mind, style and innovation. The largest-selling deadbolt in America, the 600 series provides tough, effective protection at an affordable price. The complementary Antique Brass finish offers a warm feel with deep accents in the contours of the product. This single cylinder deadbolt can be locked or unlocked by a key on the outside, or the turn button on the inside. SmartKey Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It’s time to re-key. SmartKey provides the highest level of residential security and features BumpGuard to protect against lock bumping.
Overall rating:
4.095 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product17 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product17 of 21reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Review 1 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Harry
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
sturdy, practical and a quality product which saves money for not having to pay for a locksmith.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
DynVision
from South OC, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced 15+ year old Deadbolt

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was happy that this style was still available after so many years... the internal housing changed some so I just used the old internal in place of the new and all worked out (used the old outside external housing also so it still matched the aged outside door handles) ~ love the SmartKey ~ worked perfectly ~ with so many family members having the old key it was a life saver ~ OK... that's going a little to far but it is a much appreciated feature/benefit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Handyperson
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a Kwikset deadbolt to replace the one I had. I wanted to update the color and to match the lever I installed. It was easy to install in the holes that were already there. I did have to rout out the hole on the door sill to accommodate the bolt, but after that, all is just right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
smartkey2
from United States
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits requirement; key requires "jiggling" to open the lock

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The smartkey is a good feature and that is why I purchased this lock to match others smartkey locks. However, this particular lock is sensitive to how far the key is inserted (won't work all the way in like the other similar locks) so it is in a door that doesn't get used that much. I've not had this problem with any of the other locks with the similar key.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
TSinBAMA
from Piedmont, AL 36272, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great product for your money

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really love the smart key feature. It is so easy to change keys or even key them all alike.I plan on buying more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
BigG
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality low cost dead bolt with smartkey option

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was at a price point that allowed a small profit along with having the higher end options such as smart key that made the job go easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
mkvng1
from Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good quality

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this deadbolt to replace my old one and it fit perfect. It seems to be well made and had it installed in 15 minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
ZX9JOE
from New Bedford, MA

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, The smart key technology is amazing and allows me to just change the key rather than the whole lock set when a tenant moves out, I would definately recommend this product to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
StCloudGuy
from Saint Cloud, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Key option with discounted pricing cant beat

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Works great specially re-keyed to match other locks in the house was a breeze, would buy again
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, re-key smartkey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
reluctantchiseler
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

unnecessarily difficult installation

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
This lock was on sale, but, as so often happens, the webpage descriptions did not mention it's two most glaring faults; rounded corners on strike and bolt plates too thick to be simply pounded into place. Get out not only the straight chisel, but the small diameter quarter-round chisel, too, if you have one. I didn't, and spent a ridiculous amount of time tracing those rounded corners with a utility knife and then trying, unsuccessfully, to carefully straight chisel them out without breaking through. This is otherwise a decent, economical lock, especially if you happen to have some more sensibly designed strike and bolt plates laying around,
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move
Cons: Difficult to Install, straight/small diameter quarter-round chiseling
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
hh1174

great product

PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
very easy to install, had a minor problem with the orientation of the lock but thats possibly a problem with the door which is old and needs updating
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
optimxr
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple Install & Smartkey works Great!

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I needed to match a single bolt to the existing lockset in a hollow interior door. This bolt was the perfect solution, easy to install and the Smartkey was very simple to implement. It took less than two hours and door is fully functional now. I highly recommend this single bolt if you already have kwikset door hardware.
Pros: Easy to Install, great price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Jon1980
from U.S.A. Phoenix, AZ

Bump Proof

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
If you don't know what lock bumping is you should learn. I bought this lock because it is bump proof. It is advertised as Bump Resistant. However I was unable to bump it because it uses wafers instead of pins. The smart key re-key is a nice feature too. You can re-key in no time to any old key you have laying around or if someone is house setting you can key it to there house key. I gave it 5 stars because of the feature's and the price.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
bobm
from Erie, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

smart key was a great feature

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Fast easy install and was able to key all my locks to one key.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
sugarba
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smartkey Resets Itself - Locks you out!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
The house we bought recently had two of these deadbolts. The keys for one of them stopped working within the first 3 days, and the second one's keys stopped working in just over a month. Apparently the smartkey mechanism can reset all by itself, rendering the lock inoperable. We thankfully had a free lock re-key in our home warranty, and the locksmith took care of this for us, but it's possible it will happen again, at which point we will have to simply replace the locks at our own cost. Avoid these junky locks and go for one without the gimmicky smartkey nonsense. Or, just google "kwikset smartkey locked out" if you think this is an isolated occurance.
Cons: defective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
HandyHarv
from Kaukauna, WI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfectly, so the wait was worth it.

PostedMay 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
It was a little bothersome that I had to order it online and have it shipped to the store, but at least I didn't have to pay shipping. Also, I was suprised at the poor packaging it came in, and I had to inspect it right away to make sure parts weren't missing. The cardboard box it came in looked like it was leftover from the '70's! Fit and finish were perfect though, hence the high rating.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Henia
from Massachusetts
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reasonable product appearance, great feature of the smart key

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
The lock was easy to install for someone who has the right equipment and tools. It looks ok but not as good as some other products. The Smart key feature is great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
guapo
from San Ysidro, San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not able to pair with others

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Chrome Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
was not able to set keys for all three locks. now i am stuck with 3 extra keys to carry around.....
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
floyd

Works good

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
There are no second set of keys. You get the standard 2 keys with it and the Smartkey which allows you to rekey the lock to any key you want in 5 seconds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
DRAWETZEL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

POOR BE CAREFUL

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
PRODUCT CAME IN SCRATCHED UP AND WHEN GOT IT INSTALLED LEARNED THAT THERE WERE SUPPOSED TO BE A SET OF KEYS THAT UNLOCKED THE DEADBOLT AND ANOTHER SET YOU CAN SWITCH OFF TOO, ONE SET WAS MISSING, LOCK IS USLESSS.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>