728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Door Knobs & Hardware or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

As the industry leader, Kwikset has provided trusted security for over 60 years and has become synonymous with security, peace of mind, style and innovation. The largest-selling deadbolt in America, the 600 series provides tough, effective protection at an affordable price. The complementary Antique Brass finish offers a warm feel with deep accents in the contours of the product. This single cylinder deadbolt can be locked or unlocked by a key on the outside, or the turn button on the inside. SmartKey Re-key Technology allows you to control who has access to your home. Re-key the lock yourself in seconds in 3 easy steps. Have you recently moved or had a child lose a key. It’s time to re-key. SmartKey provides the highest level of residential security and features BumpGuard to protect against lock bumping.
Overall rating:
4.241 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product25 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product25 of 29reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Review 1 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
sturdy, practical and a quality product which saves money for not having to pay for a locksmith.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from South OC, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Replaced 15+ year old Deadbolt

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was happy that this style was still available after so many years... the internal housing changed some so I just used the old internal in place of the new and all worked out (used the old outside external housing also so it still matched the aged outside door handles) ~ love the SmartKey ~ worked perfectly ~ with so many family members having the old key it was a life saver ~ OK... that's going a little to far but it is a much appreciated feature/benefit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from United States
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits requirement; key requires "jiggling" to open the lock

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The smartkey is a good feature and that is why I purchased this lock to match others smartkey locks. However, this particular lock is sensitive to how far the key is inserted (won't work all the way in like the other similar locks) so it is in a door that doesn't get used that much. I've not had this problem with any of the other locks with the similar key.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to install

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a Kwikset deadbolt to replace the one I had. I wanted to update the color and to match the lever I installed. It was easy to install in the holes that were already there. I did have to rout out the hole on the door sill to accommodate the bolt, but after that, all is just right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Chandler, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quality low cost dead bolt with smartkey option

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was at a price point that allowed a small profit along with having the higher end options such as smart key that made the job go easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Piedmont, AL 36272, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a great product for your money

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really love the smart key feature. It is so easy to change keys or even key them all alike.I plan on buying more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Delaware
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good quality

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this deadbolt to replace my old one and it fit perfect. It seems to be well made and had it installed in 15 minutes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from New Bedford, MA

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product, The smart key technology is amazing and allows me to just change the key rather than the whole lock set when a tenant moves out, I would definately recommend this product to a friend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Good deal, but....

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Ordered a set of these on-line at a great price. The boxes were torn-up, & the striker plate was missing from one. My local store supplied me a new striker, but it required modification to the door jamb. No big deal. Just another trip back to Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: parts missing
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Fayetteville, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy installation and re-key

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
The SmartKey feature was very easy to use and allowed all the new locks to be keyed to the same key as our old ones.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Kwikset smart key

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Chrome Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Excellent product and super easy to setup existing key
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from San Diego
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great locks

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
the locks are easy to install and to rekey great for rentals.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from U.S.A. Phoenix, AZ

Bump Proof

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
If you don't know what lock bumping is you should learn. I bought this lock because it is bump proof. It is advertised as Bump Resistant. However I was unable to bump it because it uses wafers instead of pins. The smart key re-key is a nice feature too. You can re-key in no time to any old key you have laying around or if someone is house setting you can key it to there house key. I gave it 5 stars because of the feature's and the price.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Aurora, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great lock!

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I love this product! The smart key feature allowes you to use your old key so you can still use is just replace the lock. The make it work just follow the instructions they are easy to follow and understand.
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design, snart key
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Fremont, CA

Easy to use and install

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Purchased a set of deadbolts and knobs for the Smart Key feature. I am not much handy around the house. I could install and re-key 4 sets of these in under 90 minutes.
Sweet having all of them using the same key !
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Saint Clair, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love Kwikset Smart Locks

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Satin Nickel Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
I love the smart lock feature on some of the Kwikset products. I did not realize that my existing locks already had the smart lock feature when I purchased the new dead bolts. I did return this, but only because I realized I could easily change the locks I already had (all I needed was to find my "smart key" and a new set of Kwikset keys - which I already had.) I changed all of my locks in just seconds each. I highly recommend any of the Kwikset with Smart Lock handlesets or dead bolts.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Move, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, extremely easy to re-key
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey

Good deadbolt for the price

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Chrome Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
The rekey feature is very nice and easy to do. I'm very happy with the product
Pros: Easy to Install, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
from Saint Cloud, MN, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smart Key option with discounted pricing cant beat

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Works great specially re-keyed to match other locks in the house was a breeze, would buy again
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design, re-key smartkey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

unnecessarily difficult installation

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Polished Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
This lock was on sale, but, as so often happens, the webpage descriptions did not mention it's two most glaring faults; rounded corners on strike and bolt plates too thick to be simply pounded into place. Get out not only the straight chisel, but the small diameter quarter-round chisel, too, if you have one. I didn't, and spent a ridiculous amount of time tracing those rounded corners with a utility knife and then trying, unsuccessfully, to carefully straight chisel them out without breaking through. This is otherwise a decent, economical lock, especially if you happen to have some more sensibly designed strike and bolt plates laying around,
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Move
Cons: Difficult to Install, straight/small diameter quarter-round chiseling
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 660 Single Cylinder Antique Brass Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smartkey Resets Itself - Locks you out!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:660 Single Cylinder Venetian Bronze Deadbolt Featuring SmartKey
The house we bought recently had two of these deadbolts. The keys for one of them stopped working within the first 3 days, and the second one's keys stopped working in just over a month. Apparently the smartkey mechanism can reset all by itself, rendering the lock inoperable. We thankfully had a free lock re-key in our home warranty, and the locksmith took care of this for us, but it's possible it will happen again, at which point we will have to simply replace the locks at our own cost. Avoid these junky locks and go for one without the gimmicky smartkey nonsense. Or, just google "kwikset smartkey locked out" if you think this is an isolated occurance.
Cons: defective
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>