728*90 Advertising Space
Home>

Customer reviews for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)

Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)

The Zibra Edge-n-Roll 3-Piece Trim Tool Kit includes everything you need to neatly paint next to trim molding without taping. The kit includes a trim tool, paint tray and dual roller cartridges with handle.
Overall rating:
2.737 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product10 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
2.7 out of 5
5
(4)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product10 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
Review 1 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best product ever

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I just try it today. I did not tape any areas. Once i got the hang of it, i finally had a good day. I have a texture ceiling and had to work with it slowly at first to see how close i could get to covering the ceiling. It did really well and the rollers put the paint on smoothy. The corners and the edges from doors to windows come out amazing. I do not need tape anymore. i work faster now. It is easy to clean and i do reuse the rollers. I have try so many products with out success, this one i enjoyed. The only thing is i wish they would make the plastic better. I would pay more for a metal or a tougher plastic. You do have to be careful when you clean it, the wings that spread apart sometimes can get loose and it is held on by flimsy springs, so you have to firmy hold it together when removing any paint. But i still love it and will buy another one today.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)

BEST PAINT EDGER EVER

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best paint edger tool that I have ever used. Believe me I have tried them all. It swivels in all directions so you can get get in all places. We didnt use tape at all along the ceiling.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Mims, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your Money

PostedApril 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Been painting since I was 17, now 52. Have painted 4 (going on 5) houses in their entirety, outside and in. Painted many other rooms, mine and friends (yes I am a painting fool....should mention I am also a professional artist). BUT this little invention is as worthless as a crochet p bucket with a barb wire handle. One must push the "button" on handle to open sides for roller to fit in tray. The button does not want to release so the rollers are open until you press it against wall. WELL when doing these delicate edges (which and btw I can drop in free hand with much more accuracy), you cannot be "pushing" to make rollers collapse into their required position. In the tray these spongy rollers picked up wayyy tooo much paint that there is no way to scrap off. Overall a total waste of money, time and energy. Better off with the edger with pad or a great edging brush. Would NOT recommend.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, difficult to control amount of paint loaded, button does not retract easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Appomattox, Va
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SO worth the money

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I totally disagree with the negative comment on this product. Patients is a must when painting and this still takes common sense and patients. Ive been painting for 10 years now and I was an avid taper but with the shield/wings that this product has puts a beautiful line along ceilings and corners. Just watch the amount of paint you apply to the roller and you should have NO problems! It cleans up nicely with just warm running water too!
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks High End
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had high hopes but...

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
For the price, this was not worth it. In the throes of painting, it just became a paint holder and mini-roller as I went back to my prior method of edging. I was sucked in by the packaging proclaiming it was designed, tested and approved by women...and was not impressed. It was too difficult to line up the roller and it's "wings" so that paint wouldn't get on the outside edges of roller. After experimenting with this, I greatly prefer the flat paint pads with rollers. Easier to handle and manage while standing on a ladder edging at the ceiling. This was too time-consuming to get the roller aligned "just right" on the paint tray. And again, for the price, this was NOT worth it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Verified Purchase:Yes

Not perfect but almost there :)

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I loved that there were shields to prevent the paint from getting on the outside of the roller BUT I still somehow managed to get paint on the wall from time to time. Definitely the best product I have bought for painting around trim since I am not a pro and need all the help I can get!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Nh
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's the best trimmer ever. It got right to the edge and I didn't need to go back to fill in any spaces.

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best trimmer ever!! You just have to keep the metal edge up against the opposite wall your trimming & not over load the rollers with paint.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
Verified Purchase:No

Waste of money

PostedJune 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Tried it did not fit the pan it came in rollers did not rotate well. 15.00 down the drain.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Lancaster, KY 40444, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Edger for Textured Ceilings

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have textured ceilings and getting a clean edge is almost impossible. Taping is always a nightmare and something I try to avoid at all costs. I tried the Zibra Edger tool and found it to be the best edger yet for this type of ceiling. Patience is necessary to get the most out of this product. You can't use it with any speed, but by slowing down, you get great accuracy. I believe if the wings has a bit more clearance, this issue would be minimized for most users. It is a little tight, especially if you don't have the wings fully extended. I would buy it again, and would recommend it to my family & friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loved it!

PostedAugust 16, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The worst part of painting is taping the room off. I was leery at first when I saw it and went ahead and made the purchase. Even tho it says not recommended for ceiling trim and that's exactly what I used it for. I absolutely love this! The handle flips and is ergonomical and I never got any paint on the ceiling where with other edgers, I always got paint on the roller part and where you don't want it. This tool gave me a straighter line on the ceiling. I am completely happy that I will never need to tape a room off again!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Use, Good Protection
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Baltimore Md
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

BEST TRIMMER

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Okay so i have used a few different things for my trim and this is BY FAR the best one yet. Even with my popcorn ceiling it works so well! The handle changes positions to accomadate where or what you are trimming and what angle you need it. before this tool i was using/ wasting SO much paint with doing the trim.. after using this tool i saved so much paint.. and TIME.
i could reccomend this. Price is a little high but im telling you its worth it! Give it a try!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: you have to wipe paint off the sides occasionally.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Crown Point IN
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Product for edging

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The biggest issue besides the dripping paint out the sides is that it leaves about an 1/8 inch between the egde of the paint and the trim. So you still have to go back and either tape, remove the trim or cut in by hand. We manage properties and paint alot. I was looking for a product to help speed things up. SAVE YOUR MONEY. This prodcut will cost you more in time and clean up then it is worth.
Cons: drips, leaves a gap
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)

Do not buy this product!

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I give it 1 star for effort. I purchased this in the hopes that it would cut my prepping time in half. What a mistake! After using this product I still had to wait for the paint to dry to prep the trim with painters tape and apply a second coat. The edging is far from precise. I can get the same result with a small roller brush and it cost a 3rd of the price. Purchase at your own risk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worthless!!!!!!!

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The "edger" does not paint up to the edge of trim. Follow instructions and you will be left with a 1/8-1/4 inch gap between your trim and the new paint. Thank you, but I can do that with a big roller. Still have to go back and cut in along trim ceilings and adjacent walls. The flat pad trimmer works much better and is much less expensive. Returning this thing to the store.
Pros: none
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It doesn't work.

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The problem with this product is well... it doesn't work at all. I followed the instructions, but it still leaves a gap between any trimwork and the wall, which makes the whole thing pointless. Save your $16 and just buy some painters tape and a roller / brush. I'm going to see if Home Depot will take this back tomorrow.
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Chicago burbs
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Stick with an edging brush

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried this after seeing it on a local news segment. However unless one likes a ⅛ to ¼ inch gap along the edge, your money is better spent on a good edging brush and or edging pads. My old method of pull back trim pieces slightly, taping and using other techniques does a much better job that this tool did.
Cons: leaves a gap along the edge.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)

Great Product, but...

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product was great for painting the trim on our shed outside, but for inside work I think I will go back to taping everything. The edger just doesn't get close enough to the molding. It is also not recommended for use on where the walls meet the ceilings, and those are the areas everyone can see.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Wy.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not Worth it

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will keep it simple Its Junk. The side brush will not carry the paint to the edge where you really need it. For the cost it is very over rated.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Zibra Edge-n-Roll Trim Tool Kit (3-Piece)
from Tempe, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Spend your $$ on something else

PostedMay 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First I will say this worked OK around door moldings. That's about it. It got the wall paint to within 1/16' of the molding, which is fine with me because it left an even line. The device itself is designed OK, with 2 small foam rollers that held up well, and can be "popped" off for washing. Between these 2 rollers, ON THE METAL SIDE ONLY, is a small (1/4") piece of "brush" or "pad" material. This is what is supposed to get the paint close to the edge, and it did at first. While the rest of the device is well made, this little "brush" wore out right away, becoming so flat it would no longer contact the wall. Now the paint was only getting within about 1/8" to 1/4" from the molding. It fell off the first time I washed the device. I was able to glue on a small piece of an old edging pad I had, and it worked as well as the brush that fell off.
Along the floor molding this did not work as well. That molding is rounded towards the top, and it was impossible to paint evenly and without some "roll over" onto the molding. Also, on any inside corner you can't paint all way into the corner, leaving a small noticeable area that I'll have to touch-up.
With a white ceiling and doors and moldings, and blue walls, I was looking forward to not having to tape-off everything and use this edger instead. Not so good here either. Again, on an inside corner you can't get the paint all the way to the opposing wall. The "brush" and metal edge are only on the left side of the device. So to paint the other wall, I had to use it upside down, which meant plastic edge without any "brush" to get close, and going "handle first" into the corner, leaving an almost 1/4" gap below the ceilings, and only getting within a handle's length of the other wall; about 3 to 4 inches. Really noticeable.
I also found this hard to use around the tub/shower as it also has a rounded edge, unlike a door molding, which is more square-edged. ( Mine are anyway )
I was excited to try this since I really hate taping stuff off. I'm disappointed with it, and still had to do a lot of taping to complete my project. I still need to get an edging pad. I should have just bought some new/better edging pads and tried those again.
If I was painting around many door edgings, or flat top moldings, I would use this for that, and figure it was worth the $16; That worked OK.
To use this device, you push a sliding "button" to lock the wings open so it will fit into the paint loading tray properly. It took a few times to learn to put enough paint on the rollers to be productive, and not too much paint as to cause drips and "roping" while painting. After loading the paint and removing the device from the paint tray, you release the button by sliding it back which pulls the "wings" back to the rollers to get an edge close to the wall. A couple of times I forgot to do this, and wondered why the edge was not as close as it had been. Oops! Had to reload, close button, and repaint. With my best effort I could paint about 2.5 feet before running out of paint and needing to reload the rollers. Tedious for sure.
I did buy a refill cartridge, about $4. I'm looking forward to returning it for store credit and buying a small edging pad to try and touch-up the bad spots.
Like I said, I recommend you spend your money on something else. Paint on!!
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, removable rollers
Cons: can only use left side against wall, "brush" fell off wore out quickly, can't do inside corners well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.