728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

This EcoSmart 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control is made from a patented blend of organic plant oils. It kills bugs fast, without any synthetic toxins or harmful residue, so it is safe to use around your children and pets. Keep your home bug free with this non-toxic, eco-friendly insecticide.
Overall rating:
3.573 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product56 of 87reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
3.6 out of 5
5
(40)
4
(15)
3
(9)
2
(6)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product56 of 87reviews
Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
Review 1 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

This works

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Out of nowhere i had fleas in my apartment, and i don't have any pets. A majority of my apartment has carpet, and the fleas were everywhere. I have four children, one is 8 months and starting to crawl. I try to stay away from chemicals and pesticides so i didn't want to set off any bombs. I tried other natural means of getting rid of the fleas that didn't work. I found ecosmart, came home and vacuumed, then sprayed the ecosmart on all the carpets and around the doors and windows inside and out. The fleas were almost immediately gone. It has been 2 weeks since i sprayed and i still have yet to see any fleas. I highly recommend this product!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from Winston Salem, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product!

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the only indoor product my wife and I have found in the past 25 years that not only works but doesn't leave an odor. Only 5 minutes after spraying a room (preferably with a window open, but sometimes just a ceiling fan running) it is barely noticeable. The cats don't seem to even notice it, inside or out, but the ants and fleas hate it. We use this in conjunction with Advantage II topical flea treatment for cats and found that it boosts the effectiveness and duration of flea control. We highly recommend this product, and we are going for another jug of it today.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Best thing I've found yet!

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My appartment became infested with fleas because a visitor brought their flea infested dog over. Long story short, I had put about $200 into shampoos for the pets, sprays, bombs, carpet treatment and NOTHING worked. This was my last attempt before calling an exterminator. After treating the carpets twice over the corse of two weeks, I'm seeing major improvements. When I gave the pets a bath, the number of fleas on them had dropped drastically (down to like two or three from about 15 or 20, gross, I know). A couple more treatments and the little devils should be dead. I'm going to keep using this product and spraying once a month to keep it from happening again. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Not safe to use around cats!!

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I brought this product for an ant problem. It helped with the ants but I started to notice that every time I would use it at night the next day at least one of my cats would throw up and not eat all day. I did some research one of the main ingredients of this product is peppermint oil. Peppermint oil is TOXIC to cats. Do not use around cats.
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Works!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We recently bought a husky and wanted to try some safer bug killer. Searching the internet for a chemical free natural bug killer was tiresome, but this product came up as a recommendation. I gave this a shot and I'm not ever going back to chemicals again! This stuff works better and much faster than any chemical bug killer I've ever tried. I was simply amazed how well it works. Aside from spraying baseboards, bottoms inside trash cans, floors with a gap; when sprayed directly onto flies, ants, roaches (water bugs) they died almost instantly.
Pros: easy to spray / use, pet and people friendly (as long as you don't purposely drink a glass of this stuff), no harmful chemicals which *may* cause cancer, plant based, fast acting!
Cons: you need to saturate areas (apply 2 to 3 coats for maximum effectiveness), STRONG odor (while this does smell better than chemical bug killer, your house will smell heavily of cloves. Which I don't mind, YMMV), doesn't last 6 months like chemical killers (which means you should spray every 5 or 6 weeks for best results)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Pest Control Ever

PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been using this both inside and outside my house for the last couple years. Even though these come with a sprayer I bought one that easier for me to apply this with and I can put 2 bottles in it at a time. For the inside I put a light mist around all the walls and then wait for it to dry before I let my pets back in to that room. I only find a few dead bugs to clean up but never find them further inside the house. I liberally spray the outside of the house and about a foot up the walls, around the windows, and spray any other opening I can find. Like any other pest control, it does wash away so I make sure my sprinklers won't be coming on that night so it has a chance to dry fully and stick to the areas I sprayed. I love that it's organic and won't hurt the plants/animals. This is the only product I will use from now on.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from Orlando, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

KRYPTONITE for roaches

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Moved into an older Florida apartment that had been empty for a year and loaded with roaches. So, I did an internet search for a pet safe roach killer/repellent, and purchased the 64oz size.
I went over 2 hours BEFORE arriving with my first truck load and sprayed. IT WAS LIKE THE VALENTINE'S DAY MASACRE FOR ROACHES.
When I arrived, I found them all dead, with their feet in the air. So, I swept, steam mopped, moved in my belongings and gave the place another spray before going to bed since I had steam mopped the original coat away.
Now don't be alarmed by the smell, once you realize it's the Rosemary oil in it, it calms the sences.
My epileptic cat has had no reaction to it either.
FOR ONCE, something I tried lived up to it's hype.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, pleasant smell
+62points
63out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Effective.... Stains Vinyl Siding

PostedMay 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seems to be effective at deterring pests, but beware that it will stain vinyl siding. I'm not sure if that's stated on the packaging or not.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Works Great!

PostedJuly 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A previous reviewer mentioned not using this around cats because of the peppermint oil. According to the ingredient panel, there is no peppermint oil in the 64oz Ready-To-Use product pictured here. I've been using EcoSmart pest control products for a year or so now with great success and my cats have had no bad reactions. Bugs try to run from it but not for long. Within seconds they start to slow down and some even flip over on their backs then quickly die. Now it does take a few seconds more or less depending on the type of bug and the size, but so far it has worked on all the bugs I've had to kill. The fragrance of the oils is strong and not for everyone. That said, I would recomment this product or any of the EcoSmat line just based on the fact that its organic and botanical and works!
Pros: safe for pets, botanical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Really seems to work

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After crating the dogs I sprayed all entrances and places I thought creepy critters would come in or hang out. I also sprayed the outside of both doors and door frames. At first I wasn't sure about the smell of this stuff because it gets pretty strong, but it includes oils from rosemary, cloves, peppermint and thyme and it sort of grew on me. It was very easy to use. I applied it nearly 2 months ago and the few bugs I've seen have been dead. Easy to use, has worked so far, and inexpensive - what's not to love.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from sacramento
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have no spiders on my front porch.

PostedJuly 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live next to a field and I have a horrible problem with black widows. I have my vegetables growing in my front yard and did not want to use a stronger spider killer around my veggies. I sprayed the front of my house, porch and around my containers that are growing my veggies with the organic home pest control. I have found several dead bugs on my front porch and I have not seen any black widows. I use the industrial strength bug spray all around the rest of my house and on my property line. I heavily doused my house with both products because I have found black widows in my house, running around in broad day light. I will continue to use this product around the front of my house and my veggie garden. The label says it is fragrant and it is very fragrant. I do have allergies to fragrances and this took a couple days for me to tolerate the fragrance but it was well worth it to me for the results. Once the fragrance was tolerable, it actually made the inside of my house smell nice when I opened the door and turned the fan on to cool the house down.
Pros: Great Quality
Cons: strong fragrance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

this stuff stinks!!!

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this stuff stinks both literally and physically. First of all, make sure you are spraying in an area that can be ventilated. I made the mistake of spraying it late at night thinking that it would dry over night and I would have no worries of my dog licking it. At first I thought the scent was pleasant but then I realized it was overpowering. I had no screens in my windows yet and had to hurry and install them to let the smell out. It took 3 days for the scent to calm down in the garage. Yesterday i came home to FIVE spiders in my foyer...
I wouldn't waste my money on this...
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Not sure

PostedJuly 17, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The only plus is that it's safe for pets and kids that's my main concern with chemicals and products is safety. I applied indoor/outdoor a week ago and have still seen very active roaches everyday since not sure if it just takes time but so far not impressed. Also the smell is very strong it doesn't exactly stink but it takes over for about 24 hours
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Will Stain Vinyl Siding!!!

PostedJuly 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Beware of this product!!! It left a chalky white stain on our vinyl siding. We have tried numerous things to get it off and it has not helped at all. It also has an overwhelming smell that lingers for days.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from Sarasota, FL

Best Safe Repellant!!!!

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in Florida and have three small children that do things like leave a dried, crusty pepperoni in their shoe, etc... Florida is buggy in general. Ants, roaches, spiders galore. I keep buying this product over and over.Outside, I spray around every door, window, the garage, and the entire base of the house and up nearby trees with this stuff about every 2-3 months. It works like a miracle and is safe for humans and pets to be around. I personally love the scent because it smells clean and bug free!!! Kind of like I love the scent of bathroom cleaner because it signals to my brain that the bathrooms are clean.
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

BEST EVER

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought a can of this stuff in the store. My family went on vacation (left the house CLEAN) and came home to ants! We were able to kill them everywhere but my toddler's room, where they were coming from. The exterminator I called said that because of the chemicals that there was a plethora of prep we had to do, stay out of the house for 24 hours with the window open, and keep our son out of his bedroom for up to a week. At my wits end I took a trip to home depot. I'm not into the whole Eco thing (I still clean with bleach) but I didnt want toxic chemicals in a room where my child plays and puts everything in his mouth. I was kind of skeptical that it was going to work. It works better then some of the chemical/toxic products, smells AMAZINGLY of peppermint, and It was much less expensive than I was expecting. I should have bought the big bottle with the pump. I'm going back to get some more just in case I need it. Best part, NO ants came back so far. It kills them on contact, repels them, and passes on to other ants (if one got away). It's all botanical oils pretty much. I'm a very happy momma.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality, non toxic
+32points
35out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Effective but very strong smell

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We purchased this item after having a baby and needing something more natural and safe for the little one. I like that it is natural and uses essential oils. I believe it has been effective at killing bugs, since I've seen a few dead ones here and there. However, the smell is STRONG. It doesn't smell bad but it will burn your nose. I regularly use essential oils so I'm aware that babies under 2 years old are not supossed to inhale peppermint oil or clove oil due to under developed respiratory systems. It just so happens that those 2 oils are in this product and rightly so because they are effective bug repellent. I didn't feel comfortable having the baby in the home after spraying. And the smel stayed around for 48 hours with 24 of those hours being so strong I wouldn't allow my baby inside. We actually spent the night at my mothers house. I assume it would air out quicker if we opened the windows but summer in the south is too hot. I think we will continue to use the product but maybe only spray half the house at one time and right before we leave the house for the day. I recommend it because in my opinion it's safer than toxins on the baseboards with a crawling baby; however, the strong smell is an inconvenience.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control

Great value and no one gets sick!

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this stuff about a year and a half ago along with a product specifically for scorpions. Like most people scorpions scare the bejesus out of me so I went for the strong stuff after finding several on and around my patio, by the doggie door, and outside the front door, and a few that made it inside the house. I used the scorpion stuff outside and the organic product inside, including around baseboards, windows, and all entrances. Over the next several months I found a few very small and very dead critters. The scorpion stuff wore off after a few months and I started seeing them outside. Since the organic produce comes in such a large container I went nuts with it outside and redid the inside - excellent results. I just used up the last of the container today spraying key places outside and entrances/exits inside after seeing a lot of cob webs in front and back yards. I'm not sure how effective it will be on fighting back the spider onslaught but I'm buying another container soon to have around. As mentioned by others, there is a strong minty, rosemary smell the first 24-48 hours after spraying inside. Almost everything in AZ makes me have to use an inhaler but not this stuff. My Chihuahua's don't blink or show any effects from it either. I can't believe it is so inexpensive!
Pros: Strong, Great Quality, unoffensive smell
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from hillsdale,mi.

safer way

PostedMarch 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
when our family pet had fleas in the summer we opted for the eco smart because we are trying to help the planet each and every way we can.the first application we didn't notice a difference but then after then second we no longer had a problem with fleas the rest of the season
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Home Pest Control
from fl
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kills more than whats on the label

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this kills my least favorite bug MOSQUITOS even though it dosent say it kills mosquitos on the label
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>