728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

Eliminate under- and over-watering your newly planted trees with the Oasis 8 in. x 24 in. 20-Gallon Tree Watering Bag. This bag holds 20 gallons of water and distributes it directly to the soil around a tree over a 4- to 6-hour timespan.
Overall rating:
3.609 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product15 of 21reviews
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product15 of 21reviews
Customer reviews for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
Review 1 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Water bags

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed to have a more mature
Tree to use these bags. Mine was just a Sapling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

Tree Watering Bags

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bags deliver as promised. I ordered 4 of these bags, and installed 3 the day I got them. 2 bags emptied as advertised, one stayed full and 3 days later I dumped it. For what ever reason, I placed the full bag around another tree where the bag had drained fine, and placed it's functional bag around the other tree. At the new location the bag that didn't drain drained fine, and the bag which had drained didn't. I am convinced it is the way I have the rootball and mulch laid out around the tree that doesn't allow the bag to drain. I fixed it, and now all the bags work fine. Point here is I notice some people complaining of not draining, and thought I would provide my experience here. Great inexpensive watering solution!!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from chicago suburbs

great product -definitely recommend a++

PostedJuly 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in the midwest the second half of our summer is always the same.....heat wave, drought, water ban. The tree bags are a great solution. concept is quite simple. zipper bag onto tree, fill with water, let weep. holds 20 gallons and takes about 5 hours to drain slowly. i wish these were sold in stores to avoid shipping costs and so that i was able to read the packaging in person. One thing that would have been very helpful is to know that the top opening is 4 inches wide....so if you have a larger tree, you can zip multiple bags together to make a larger bag. also, if the zipper is not PERFECT it pops apart while filling the bag and you have to wait for it to drain to realign the zipper.
these bags are great, made of a material similar to a tarp, green in color to blend into landscaping, and are a sensible approach to the second half of summers hottest months
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from Columbus, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Idea, doesn't work.!

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I see these being used all over by the local city. I filled mine with water. I came back about 8 hours later and it was still full. I emptied it moved it around and refilled, still full after 6 hours. Emptied and brought to the driveway to investigate, filled it up, and noticed that the factory drilled holes are in the seems, and every time I filled up the bag, the weight of the water pinched the folds where the holes are at, not letting the water flow out. Very poor product, wonder if I just got a defective one where the holes were drilled in the wrong place. DO NOT RECOMMEND!
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

Cheap

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Zipper pulls apart as you fill bought four and all have the same problem. You would think they would test their product before selling it. Zipper is cheap do not buy this buy the tree gator instead their zippers hold up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easiest to use...

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this tree bag and two fo the donut tree waterers. Both are effective but this one is easier to fill.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

Average

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Product is okay - over priced for quality of product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

bad choice of zippers

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bag is pretty expensive for what you get. It's zippers are weak--2 of the 6 I bought are already broken. They should make them of metal not plastic. The other problem is the flow is horrible if the bag isn't positioned just perfectly---and when you try to re-position them when they are full, that's when the zipper breaks. We have had to punch additional holes in the bottom just to get the bags to empty. I would advise you spend the extra 4 bucks and get the 15 gallon rings.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not drain as stated.

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product does not drain as stated; in 4-6 hours. I have come back days later to find the bag partially full of water. The bag is tall and would work well for taller trees, but does not work for smaller trees or trees with branches closer to the ground.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
Cons: does not drain., too big for smaller trees.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this product.

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have our "retirement" home in WI and are trying to get fruit trees, shrubs etc growing before we move there. This has helped us immensely because we can water in between our visits up there.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from Midland, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Use and Install

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This bag does exactly what is needed to water my trees without the runoff of hand watering. Fill it and leave it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from Petrolia, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is a great item

PostedJuly 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recieved 6 tree bags, got them zipped around the trees and filled them with water. Looked to see how the water was suppose to get out of them, not sure if it would work or not. Left the trees along, went out the next day and they were not full of water. So after work filled them up again and left them. The 3rd day I filled them up with water decided to did in the dirt to see if it was staying damp, it was wet looking. So I am convinced they are working, very pleased with my purchase. Was disappointed that the stores did not carry them wanted them that day, ordered on the net was free shipping with 45.00 order it took 4-5 days to get them but worth the wait.
Pros: Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality, well thought
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It holds a pretty good amount of water and has help a lot with my trees

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like other people have mention. You have to reposition the bag so it would continue dripping. It doesn't happen to often but you have to watch it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: it needs to be reposition some times
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from Arcade NY

tree watering bag very effective

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was surprised that this had to be ordered. During the brief but severe dry period newly planted and very young trees needed to be watered daily. the bag is the bombe for the job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

Don't purchase

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bags rotted out and fell apart in just a few months...
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price and product

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was great and delivered on time. I would buy again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Durable, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

Product already ripped at seam in bottem.

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will be returning product to store in hopes of a refund.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Watering bag

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does a great job keeping the trees from dying in the hot, dry months.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag
from Oxford MI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job perfectly.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just as advertised, these 'bladder bags' work great, but slowly releasing the water over (about) 6 hours to the base of the tree.
We were also impressed at the fast delivery by Home Depot.
Thanks!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 8 in. x 24 in. 20 gal. Tree Watering Bag

Bad quality all around

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have tried to use these for a year. Ordered six. Zipper pulls have all broken, and all the zippers split when bags are filled. This year, the bag material has broken down on 3 of the 6 bags so far.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>