728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

The EcoSmart 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer works quickly to achieve complete vegetation control. The non-toxic weed killer is made from organic ingredients and safe to use around children and animals.
Overall rating:
3.035 / 5
3
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
54%of customersrecommend this product30 of 56reviews
Rating Breakdown 57 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(15)
3
(1)
2
(5)
1
(20)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
54%of customersrecommend this product30 of 56reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Review 1 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pet Safe & It DOES Work if you read the label :)

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Review is coming from a guardian aka: Pet Momma of 8 beloved furry beasts which consist of 4 cats and 4 dogs.
Hence my Indiana Jones like search for a weed killer that I could safely use around our furry babies and not worry as I sprayed it nor of them injesting the grass/weeds after spray had been applied.
I've been using this spray for over 2 solid years now and am an avid gardener and outside in said garden every single day. It works 100% of the time. Why? Because I know how to use it lol
BEFORE I continue I think the #1 KEY to SUCCESS when using this natural weed killer is this:
SUN SUN and lastly Sun. It is the "activator" of the essential oils within the spray that actually kills the weeds/grass. You will only kill what you spray it on IF it has full sun and full sun for a good 3-4 hours or so.
I noticed many reviews posted on the various sites before I finally bit the bullet and purchased this product that contained dissatisfied customers saying it didn't work. I'm glad I tried it as it does AND the product label if you read it clearly states that the hotter and sunnier the weather the better it works.
READ the Label: It tells you all of this but few do. I also love the spray handle it comes with which is attached to the bottle and lets you get just about every drop out of it before it's time to change to another bottle.
PET SAFE: Yep. At least for our 8 and they are always present when I spray it out of pure animal curiousity of course. They have no interest in it what so ever and I believe its due to the strong scent of the essential oils used in it. Me I love the way it smells!
SCENT: I love, love and love the smell of this stuff its fantastic! It's smells of black licorice, cloves and pepperment and I just love the scent of it. My yard also takes on it's scent s/p spraying which is so fresh and clean... However it only lingers for a few hours and then dissipates.
I noted on reviews from past purchases some people complained of the scent which I find mindblowing considering the fact that it's made of all natural products many of which are essential natural oils like the ones I listed above. Now Malathion stinks and horrifically so just sayin.
Time to Kill: It will take several days to a week or more before you start to notice the sprayed foliage begin to yellow and die so don't give up on it; it's actually working at the level of the root. I've found that about 2-3 weeks after I spray when temps are in the high 70's-80's that I can go to the sprayed weed and its so dead in the ground that it now pulls right up and out and that includes bermuda grass. Higher temps of 90's-100's kills the weeds to a burnt up crisp much faster and I can usually within 1-2 weeks pull even the strongest weed out of the ground with minimal if any effort.
Its a fantastic product & I recommend it to all my friends who are searching for natural pet-safe products to use in the garden ;)
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from oakland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works, but it takes some work. worth it, though.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this as a base recipe and because I needed a sprayer bottle. It will probably take 2 applications on successively sunny days, and even then...so split the bottle and add 50% more vinegar and a teaspoon of dish soap and now you have a nice, non-toxic weed killer that you can use around your kids and pets. Yea, it's more work, but the peace of mind of not using glyphosate, 2,4-d, etc. is worth it. Remember how we were all told roundup was completely safe?
Pros: Easy to Install, non-toxic
Cons: needs a boost
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Environmentally friendly and works well

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I switched to this product because I wanted something that was more environmentally friendly as I had deep concerns related to the bee die offs we have been having in this Country due to pesticide use. I have used this product all summer and it has worked as well as the Roundup I used to use except on larger weed which take two treatments of this weed killer. It also leaves my yard smelling nice after I have sprayed because of the rosemary oil in it. I am quite satisfied with this product and plan on continuing to utilize it as the only weed and grass killer for my home.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product worked well in controlling unwanted grass and weeds

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product based on the formulation it uses; applied it to several problem areas in my yard and to date it has been effective in controlling grass and weeds
Pros: Great Quality, Effective
Cons: none yet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Repeat applications on crabgrass

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is good stuff, and strong enough even for crabgrass, which is very hard to get rid of. I had to re-apply 3 more times for some of the most resistant uprisings, but I finally won. I really didn't want to use the harsher poisons, so this turned out to be the perfect compromise. I will buy it again when I run out, but that may be years from now.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Hilliard, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great week and grass killer that doesn´t harm the environment

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This eco friendly grass and week killer works very well at getting weeds from in between cracks in the sidewalk or driveway. It is also good for clearing weeds out of mulched area. However, it is very strong. I put it directly on a dandelion in my yard, thinking that if the spray didn´t touch anything else, only the dandelion would die, but it killed the dandelion and turned the grass brown in about 4 inch diameter. I wish it was a bit cheaper, but I love that it doesn´t use harmful chemicals.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, Easy to Use, not harmful to the environment, works effectively
Cons: a bit expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Weed killer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product just isn't as good as other products on the market. In fact, it didn't kill some weeds as would other products. I would not recommend it if you have a tough problem with weeds.
Pros: easy to use.
Cons: not effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great for me to kill some thorny weeds and some weeks coming up through cracks in our sidewalks and patio. I followed the directions - applied on a sunny and warm day. I am currently experimenting with it on poison ivy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from South San Francisco

Killed off (above ground at least) in 3 hours.

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sprayed in bright sun, on a warm cloud free day. After about 3 hours (in the sun) the weeds died off to a brown soft mess (a good mess). It's been a week or two now and nothing is coming back so far. I'm going to buy more to kill off more of the areas I hit. I tried many different types of weeds to "experiment" if this was the product i would want in my soon to be edible plant areas, and so far, NOTHING, is coming back as it was. Follow the label as if your life depended on it, I'm learning that's the only way to guarantee product success. I'll re-post if things go south, otherwise, feel good about eating food from the dirt this goes in. BTW, my whole yard does have a faint cinnamon odor as the other guy indicated, kind of nice!
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Derry NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do you want to re-apply over & over

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The good news is that it's not harmful to pets, the bad news is that it's not harmful to weeds!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Deer Park, WA 99006, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a good organic alternative, moderately priced

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
kills the weed we have in our pasture, I used quite a bit of this product and so far has performed well.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Works when used as directed...

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The label on this says to apply in times of full sun. I've found that applying in cloudy or rainy weather it does not work. In full sun, This allows the weed to take up the clove oil and create a systemic response. Takes some time, but it does work.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I asked the sales man if this product worked and he said yes, but it takes awhile for it to work. The product is environmentally safe and this was important to me. I really need Roundup, but am afraid of its toxic impact. I used this product on the weeds growing on my front porch and back patio. They got brown around the edges, but are still out there growing a month later. Unfortunately, the only safe way to get rid of them is to pull them out one at a time.
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Eden Prairie
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't work

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Total waste of money. Nozel is cheaply conducted. We'd killer didn't kill a single weed.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Atlanta GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

did not work for me

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried to kill a little Bermuda grass and a few weeds in children's play area. Applied heavily once per week for three applications. It was like I had not even used the product.
I cannot recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Works as Advertized

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really does the trick. I sprayed pesky weeds growing through my driveway cracks. By the next morning, the weeds were all black. One week later, nothing has returned.
The non-toxic spray has a pleasing,cinnamon-like scent.
In addition to being an effective weed killer, I really like this product because I don't feel like I need to shower off dangerous chemicals once I am done.
I will definitely be buying it again.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Acworth Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very effective

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Weed killer was very effective in killing the weeds in a matter of hours , applied directly to weed . Easy to use sprayer .
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Scottsdale AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good organic weed and grass killer

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
While as not quite as powerful as the non-organic stuff, it definitely works as advertised where I used it around our vegetable garden where we have pets that roam ... and this stuff is pet and children friendly so I could relax about any of them getting poisoned.
Pros: Great Quality, safe around pets and children, results guaranteed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Fishkill, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hopefully not harmful to humans

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This does not kill the weeds immediately, it takes a week for them to wither. I am trying this for safety reasons.
Pros: safe
Cons: don't know yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Buford, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works better than Round Up and less expensive

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I didn't want to use RU anymore. I try to hand weed as much as possible, but sometimes you can't. Like cracks in the sidewalk. So I tried this. The next day, the weeds were all brown and dried up. I am going to try it in other places. It also smells nice and is non-toxic. And cost less than RU.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>