728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

The EcoSmart 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer works quickly to achieve complete vegetation control. The non-toxic weed killer is made from organic ingredients and safe to use around children and animals.
Overall rating:
3.167 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product20 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 36 reviews
3.2 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(10)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product20 of 35reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Review 1 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
tla2
from oakland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works, but it takes some work. worth it, though.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this as a base recipe and because I needed a sprayer bottle. It will probably take 2 applications on successively sunny days, and even then...so split the bottle and add 50% more vinegar and a teaspoon of dish soap and now you have a nice, non-toxic weed killer that you can use around your kids and pets. Yea, it's more work, but the peace of mind of not using glyphosate, 2,4-d, etc. is worth it. Remember how we were all told roundup was completely safe?
Pros: Easy to Install, non-toxic
Cons: needs a boost
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
ormedic
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Environmentally friendly and works well

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I switched to this product because I wanted something that was more environmentally friendly as I had deep concerns related to the bee die offs we have been having in this Country due to pesticide use. I have used this product all summer and it has worked as well as the Roundup I used to use except on larger weed which take two treatments of this weed killer. It also leaves my yard smelling nice after I have sprayed because of the rosemary oil in it. I am quite satisfied with this product and plan on continuing to utilize it as the only weed and grass killer for my home.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
icehouse719
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product worked well in controlling unwanted grass and weeds

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product based on the formulation it uses; applied it to several problem areas in my yard and to date it has been effective in controlling grass and weeds
Pros: Great Quality, Effective
Cons: none yet
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Larry
from South San Francisco

Killed off (above ground at least) in 3 hours.

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sprayed in bright sun, on a warm cloud free day. After about 3 hours (in the sun) the weeds died off to a brown soft mess (a good mess). It's been a week or two now and nothing is coming back so far. I'm going to buy more to kill off more of the areas I hit. I tried many different types of weeds to "experiment" if this was the product i would want in my soon to be edible plant areas, and so far, NOTHING, is coming back as it was. Follow the label as if your life depended on it, I'm learning that's the only way to guarantee product success. I'll re-post if things go south, otherwise, feel good about eating food from the dirt this goes in. BTW, my whole yard does have a faint cinnamon odor as the other guy indicated, kind of nice!
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Lorac
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Kills weeds?

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product seemed to 'feed' the weeds and grass - not kill them! And we used it EXACTLY as suggested - still nothing.
Cons: didn't kill anything!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
toxicrisk
from Laguna Niguel, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worthless Product

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not only does this product not kill weeds, the trigger just spits out an intermittent foam. The tube is just filled with air bubbles. It's attached as tight as possible so maybe it's a faulty package but even when I managed to saturate one area with the product, nothing died. Was like pouring water on the weeds. Waste of time and money as now I have to drive back for a refund.
Cons: doesn't spray properly, doesnt kill weeds
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Jimbob
from Coppell, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Doesn't Kill much of anything

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this product to kill weeds in my yard. Did not kill much of anything except dandelions. Even then, if you missed any leaf, it would come back and have to be sprayed again. Unfortunately, I had to purchase a non organic killer to clean up the yard.
I hear there are other brands that work well, but after this episode, I am not sure I want to give them a try.
Pros: smells nice :)
Cons: expensive, doesn't kill a variety of weeds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
BBosch

Works as Advertized

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really does the trick. I sprayed pesky weeds growing through my driveway cracks. By the next morning, the weeds were all black. One week later, nothing has returned.
The non-toxic spray has a pleasing,cinnamon-like scent.
In addition to being an effective weed killer, I really like this product because I don't feel like I need to shower off dangerous chemicals once I am done.
I will definitely be buying it again.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Sandy
from Temecula

Great product!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Eco Smart Organic Weed & Grass Killer easily does as good a job as any chemically laden product I've used, including that most popular brand. I've since bought and used other Eco Smart products and they all have met or exceeded my expectations and at the same time are safe around my dog (and us humans, unlike those chemical laden products). I won't go back.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
jceo
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Weed Killer Ever

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best weed killer I have used. I have to admit I was a little skeptical at first but the results are impressive. I had tried an Ortho product to kill weeds and it had very little effect. I purchased the EcoSmart product wanting to be eco friendly and avoid spraying poison all over the yard.
The weed killer started killing all weeds including poison ivy within hours and completely killed them by the next day. It has a pleasant natural scent. The only downside is that it seems to temporarily discolor stone. I used it on my stone driveway and the stones became discolored but were back to normal after a light rain. Just test it on one area if you are going to spray on pavers or stone.
Overall great product. I have also used the ecosmart bug killer with success.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
edjanx

Not truly organic, and didn't work well

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As a landscaper, I tried this and it disappointed, not only in that it's actually a "Natural" product, and not truly Organic, which is a big difference. I tried another product called Avenger Weed Killer that is OMRI listed and USDA Organic certified, and performs much better than this. Too bad that Home Depot doesn't sell it yet, as it's a little harder to find than EcoSmart, and I like being able to just run down the road to Home Depot to pick up my gardening and landscape supplies.
Cons: not really organic
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Beth26
from Michigan

Good product

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far it has been working well and I feel good using it knowing that it's not harmful to the environment or to my pets.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
mars

Amazing

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Just the right amount is dispensed and easy to aim.. The weed are knocked out within hours and then continue to die. I have never used herbicides because I feel they are very dangerous for animals and humans. Now I can have the convenience of using a spray. Be sure to use on a sunny warm day. Was able to treat my front yard and part of large back yard
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
zephy
from VA
Age Range:65 or over
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very effective non-TOXIC weed killer

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used Eco-Smart organic weed & grass killer for 3 yrs now. It's very effective if you follow the application rules [apply at least 24 hrs before rain, etc]. Totally non-toxic to humans, so no worries about it posing a health problem for pets, kids, etc. after it's applied. It does have a plant-like odor that persists in sun for about 2 days, but we don't find that objectionable at all. Price at HDepot is great.
Pros: Great Quality, non-toxic to humans; organic
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Zebster
from Atlanta, GA, USA

Do not buy this product!!!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 3 of these for my back yard and the grass and weeds laughed at ths product. The edges of the weeds only turned brown and the came back with a vengeance. Very disappointed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
CThomeowner

Didn't work for me

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hopeful that this product would allow us to get rid of the weeds in our gravel driveway. I have two dogs and didn't want them to be exposed to the chemicals found in standard weed killers. This product made some of the weeds brown and die, but it certainly did not stop the growth of most of them. I'm now back to where I started--but spent nearly $100 without good results. Perhaps the weeds I have are heartier than most!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
mysurferrosa

Great stuff!

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pesky grass keeps creeping in at the edges of my nice garden bed. I'm not fond of using chemicals that are harmful and I realize that anything can be considered a poison in high enough quantities. I picked up some EcoSmart after getting tired of pulling grass every week. Applied it according to directions on a mild sunny day and checked on it the next day. The grass is now a crispy brown color. I plan on buying more of this wonderful product!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
MsPanama
from Fontana, CA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product smells great and is non-toxic

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased the product to get rid of grass/weeds surrounding my palm trees. The product killed most of the grass in about 2 days and did not affect the palm trees. The only problem is the grass/weeds are starting to grow back, probably because I didn't dig up the dead grass. I will try using the product again.
Pros: smells great
Cons: didn't completely kill out all the grass/weeds
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Muirin
from White Lake Township, MI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did Not Work for Me

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanting an organic grass as I have many rescue dogs and cats. Grass has gotten into my garden beds and I wanted to remove safely. Unfortunately, I think I wasted my money on this product. It damaged some perennial plants, leaving brown spots, and the grass is still growing.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
JayDee

Not happy with the product

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would like to think that it would work but two sprays in and the spray gun trigger broke off and was unable to put it together again.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>