728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

The EcoSmart 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer works quickly to achieve complete vegetation control. The non-toxic weed killer is made from organic ingredients and safe to use around children and animals.
Overall rating:
2.947 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product39 of 75reviews
Rating Breakdown 76 reviews
2.9 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(19)
3
(2)
2
(7)
1
(28)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product39 of 75reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Review 1 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Chesterfield MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Going back to buy the store out! Works!!

PostedJune 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My back yard is full of weeds, every single type of weed and very large as my mower has been broken since last season. This product killed every weed I sprayed it on within one day! Smells good, does not harm the environment, bee-kid-pet friendly, works right away. I am going back to Home Depot and buying every bottle I can get my hands on. I am shocked that the store does not carry more organic weed killers that this one row of product among all of the Round Up and Bayer products, it's sad.
Pros: Strong, works well, smells great, organic, safe
Cons: not enough supply at home depot
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pet Safe & It DOES Work if you read the label :)

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Review is coming from a guardian aka: Pet Momma of 8 beloved furry beasts which consist of 4 cats and 4 dogs.
Hence my Indiana Jones like search for a weed killer that I could safely use around our furry babies and not worry as I sprayed it nor of them injesting the grass/weeds after spray had been applied.
I've been using this spray for over 2 solid years now and am an avid gardener and outside in said garden every single day. It works 100% of the time. Why? Because I know how to use it lol
BEFORE I continue I think the #1 KEY to SUCCESS when using this natural weed killer is this:
SUN SUN and lastly Sun. It is the "activator" of the essential oils within the spray that actually kills the weeds/grass. You will only kill what you spray it on IF it has full sun and full sun for a good 3-4 hours or so.
I noticed many reviews posted on the various sites before I finally bit the bullet and purchased this product that contained dissatisfied customers saying it didn't work. I'm glad I tried it as it does AND the product label if you read it clearly states that the hotter and sunnier the weather the better it works.
READ the Label: It tells you all of this but few do. I also love the spray handle it comes with which is attached to the bottle and lets you get just about every drop out of it before it's time to change to another bottle.
PET SAFE: Yep. At least for our 8 and they are always present when I spray it out of pure animal curiousity of course. They have no interest in it what so ever and I believe its due to the strong scent of the essential oils used in it. Me I love the way it smells!
SCENT: I love, love and love the smell of this stuff its fantastic! It's smells of black licorice, cloves and pepperment and I just love the scent of it. My yard also takes on it's scent s/p spraying which is so fresh and clean... However it only lingers for a few hours and then dissipates.
I noted on reviews from past purchases some people complained of the scent which I find mindblowing considering the fact that it's made of all natural products many of which are essential natural oils like the ones I listed above. Now Malathion stinks and horrifically so just sayin.
Time to Kill: It will take several days to a week or more before you start to notice the sprayed foliage begin to yellow and die so don't give up on it; it's actually working at the level of the root. I've found that about 2-3 weeks after I spray when temps are in the high 70's-80's that I can go to the sprayed weed and its so dead in the ground that it now pulls right up and out and that includes bermuda grass. Higher temps of 90's-100's kills the weeds to a burnt up crisp much faster and I can usually within 1-2 weeks pull even the strongest weed out of the ground with minimal if any effort.
Its a fantastic product & I recommend it to all my friends who are searching for natural pet-safe products to use in the garden ;)
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
+44points
44out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from oakland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works, but it takes some work. worth it, though.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this as a base recipe and because I needed a sprayer bottle. It will probably take 2 applications on successively sunny days, and even then...so split the bottle and add 50% more vinegar and a teaspoon of dish soap and now you have a nice, non-toxic weed killer that you can use around your kids and pets. Yea, it's more work, but the peace of mind of not using glyphosate, 2,4-d, etc. is worth it. Remember how we were all told roundup was completely safe?
Pros: Easy to Install, non-toxic
Cons: needs a boost
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Riverside, Ca

Works as described

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked extremely well on the variety of weeds growing in our Southern California yard and planting beds. None of our California Native or Drought Tolerant plants have been adversely affected. Simply use exactly as directed and you can't go wrong.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from South San Francisco

Killed off (above ground at least) in 3 hours.

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sprayed in bright sun, on a warm cloud free day. After about 3 hours (in the sun) the weeds died off to a brown soft mess (a good mess). It's been a week or two now and nothing is coming back so far. I'm going to buy more to kill off more of the areas I hit. I tried many different types of weeds to "experiment" if this was the product i would want in my soon to be edible plant areas, and so far, NOTHING, is coming back as it was. Follow the label as if your life depended on it, I'm learning that's the only way to guarantee product success. I'll re-post if things go south, otherwise, feel good about eating food from the dirt this goes in. BTW, my whole yard does have a faint cinnamon odor as the other guy indicated, kind of nice!
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Environmentally friendly and works well

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I switched to this product because I wanted something that was more environmentally friendly as I had deep concerns related to the bee die offs we have been having in this Country due to pesticide use. I have used this product all summer and it has worked as well as the Roundup I used to use except on larger weed which take two treatments of this weed killer. It also leaves my yard smelling nice after I have sprayed because of the rosemary oil in it. I am quite satisfied with this product and plan on continuing to utilize it as the only weed and grass killer for my home.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Great non-toxic alternative to the chemical laden brands.

PostedMay 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Non-Toxic weed and grass killer REALLY WORKS!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from ABQ, NM
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product does not perform as advertised

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. Company cannot be contacted by phone number on Web site, no others provided
2. Not member of area Chamber of Commerce
Cons: not effective, unable 2 contact 4 answers
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Works as Advertized

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product really does the trick. I sprayed pesky weeds growing through my driveway cracks. By the next morning, the weeds were all black. One week later, nothing has returned.
The non-toxic spray has a pleasing,cinnamon-like scent.
In addition to being an effective weed killer, I really like this product because I don't feel like I need to shower off dangerous chemicals once I am done.
I will definitely be buying it again.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from The Verde Valley, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

This works within HOURS in the hot sunny Arizona desert!

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sprayed weeds mid morning on a hot, sunny AZ day. When I checked on the weeds 4 hours later, there was not a green leaf to be seen - they were all dried up and brown. Wow, I've never seen a week killer work so fast! I bought this product because it was organic, safe for my pets and the environment and will definitely be buying more. It does have a strong odor but goes away in a day or two. Follow the directions, needs a warm temperature and sun.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Weed Killer Ever

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best weed killer I have used. I have to admit I was a little skeptical at first but the results are impressive. I had tried an Ortho product to kill weeds and it had very little effect. I purchased the EcoSmart product wanting to be eco friendly and avoid spraying poison all over the yard.
The weed killer started killing all weeds including poison ivy within hours and completely killed them by the next day. It has a pleasant natural scent. The only downside is that it seems to temporarily discolor stone. I used it on my stone driveway and the stones became discolored but were back to normal after a light rain. Just test it on one area if you are going to spray on pavers or stone.
Overall great product. I have also used the ecosmart bug killer with success.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Central PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Poor

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed this on a stone driveway and only bought 1 bottle to test. After a few hours the weeds and grass I sprayed turned brown telling me they were dying. After 1-day it was still brown. Then a few days later I noticed the leaves were back on the stem. Then 2-days later the weed was back in full bloom. Today, a week later, the weeds are back showing no signs of ever being sprayed. Save your money and look for something else.
Pros: none
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Temecula

Great product!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Eco Smart Organic Weed & Grass Killer easily does as good a job as any chemically laden product I've used, including that most popular brand. I've since bought and used other Eco Smart products and they all have met or exceeded my expectations and at the same time are safe around my dog (and us humans, unlike those chemical laden products). I won't go back.
 
Products related to my review
 
14 oz. Ant and Roach Killer
3.3 out of 5(17)
 
 
 
 
 
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Long Beach, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Smells great. Works for one week....but after that grass sprouting everywhere

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This product was the only organic weed and grass killer in the store. It worked great for one week. We applied mulch. The grass started cropping up around week 2.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weeds Still Standing

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Applied product as instructed. Weeds wilted but survived. Will not use again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Works well

PostedJune 13, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After spraying within 12 hrs the weeds were basically dead. It does work better on weeds than grass however. I think those who have said it does not work are probably not using enough. You have to use more than round up but this won't cause cancer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A total waste of money

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this on weeds in cracks of my driveway prior to sealing. After 2 days they barely showed signs of being sprayed. The grass I sprayed didn't notice at all.
Pros: good sprayer
Cons: didn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Amazing

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use. Just the right amount is dispensed and easy to aim.. The weed are knocked out within hours and then continue to die. I have never used herbicides because I feel they are very dangerous for animals and humans. Now I can have the convenience of using a spray. Be sure to use on a sunny warm day. Was able to treat my front yard and part of large back yard
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Michigan

Good product

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far it has been working well and I feel good using it knowing that it's not harmful to the environment or to my pets.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Derry NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do you want to re-apply over & over

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The good news is that it's not harmful to pets, the bad news is that it's not harmful to weeds!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>