728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

The EcoSmart 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer works quickly to achieve complete vegetation control. The non-toxic weed killer is made from organic ingredients and safe to use around children and animals.
Overall rating:
2.922 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product32 of 63reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(17)
3
(1)
2
(6)
1
(24)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product32 of 63reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Review 1 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pet Safe & It DOES Work if you read the label :)

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Review is coming from a guardian aka: Pet Momma of 8 beloved furry beasts which consist of 4 cats and 4 dogs.
Hence my Indiana Jones like search for a weed killer that I could safely use around our furry babies and not worry as I sprayed it nor of them injesting the grass/weeds after spray had been applied.
I've been using this spray for over 2 solid years now and am an avid gardener and outside in said garden every single day. It works 100% of the time. Why? Because I know how to use it lol
BEFORE I continue I think the #1 KEY to SUCCESS when using this natural weed killer is this:
SUN SUN and lastly Sun. It is the "activator" of the essential oils within the spray that actually kills the weeds/grass. You will only kill what you spray it on IF it has full sun and full sun for a good 3-4 hours or so.
I noticed many reviews posted on the various sites before I finally bit the bullet and purchased this product that contained dissatisfied customers saying it didn't work. I'm glad I tried it as it does AND the product label if you read it clearly states that the hotter and sunnier the weather the better it works.
READ the Label: It tells you all of this but few do. I also love the spray handle it comes with which is attached to the bottle and lets you get just about every drop out of it before it's time to change to another bottle.
PET SAFE: Yep. At least for our 8 and they are always present when I spray it out of pure animal curiousity of course. They have no interest in it what so ever and I believe its due to the strong scent of the essential oils used in it. Me I love the way it smells!
SCENT: I love, love and love the smell of this stuff its fantastic! It's smells of black licorice, cloves and pepperment and I just love the scent of it. My yard also takes on it's scent s/p spraying which is so fresh and clean... However it only lingers for a few hours and then dissipates.
I noted on reviews from past purchases some people complained of the scent which I find mindblowing considering the fact that it's made of all natural products many of which are essential natural oils like the ones I listed above. Now Malathion stinks and horrifically so just sayin.
Time to Kill: It will take several days to a week or more before you start to notice the sprayed foliage begin to yellow and die so don't give up on it; it's actually working at the level of the root. I've found that about 2-3 weeks after I spray when temps are in the high 70's-80's that I can go to the sprayed weed and its so dead in the ground that it now pulls right up and out and that includes bermuda grass. Higher temps of 90's-100's kills the weeds to a burnt up crisp much faster and I can usually within 1-2 weeks pull even the strongest weed out of the ground with minimal if any effort.
Its a fantastic product & I recommend it to all my friends who are searching for natural pet-safe products to use in the garden ;)
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from oakland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works, but it takes some work. worth it, though.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this as a base recipe and because I needed a sprayer bottle. It will probably take 2 applications on successively sunny days, and even then...so split the bottle and add 50% more vinegar and a teaspoon of dish soap and now you have a nice, non-toxic weed killer that you can use around your kids and pets. Yea, it's more work, but the peace of mind of not using glyphosate, 2,4-d, etc. is worth it. Remember how we were all told roundup was completely safe?
Pros: Easy to Install, non-toxic
Cons: needs a boost
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Environmentally friendly and works well

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I switched to this product because I wanted something that was more environmentally friendly as I had deep concerns related to the bee die offs we have been having in this Country due to pesticide use. I have used this product all summer and it has worked as well as the Roundup I used to use except on larger weed which take two treatments of this weed killer. It also leaves my yard smelling nice after I have sprayed because of the rosemary oil in it. I am quite satisfied with this product and plan on continuing to utilize it as the only weed and grass killer for my home.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product worked well in controlling unwanted grass and weeds

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product based on the formulation it uses; applied it to several problem areas in my yard and to date it has been effective in controlling grass and weeds
Pros: Great Quality, Effective
Cons: none yet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Repeat applications on crabgrass

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is good stuff, and strong enough even for crabgrass, which is very hard to get rid of. I had to re-apply 3 more times for some of the most resistant uprisings, but I finally won. I really didn't want to use the harsher poisons, so this turned out to be the perfect compromise. I will buy it again when I run out, but that may be years from now.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from South San Francisco

Killed off (above ground at least) in 3 hours.

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sprayed in bright sun, on a warm cloud free day. After about 3 hours (in the sun) the weeds died off to a brown soft mess (a good mess). It's been a week or two now and nothing is coming back so far. I'm going to buy more to kill off more of the areas I hit. I tried many different types of weeds to "experiment" if this was the product i would want in my soon to be edible plant areas, and so far, NOTHING, is coming back as it was. Follow the label as if your life depended on it, I'm learning that's the only way to guarantee product success. I'll re-post if things go south, otherwise, feel good about eating food from the dirt this goes in. BTW, my whole yard does have a faint cinnamon odor as the other guy indicated, kind of nice!
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Piscataway,NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works well

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used it as is from the bottle on a hot sunny day.The weeds browned then died the next day.Had to saturate some mature weeds but they too died. I like the fact that this works well and is not toxic and the smell is not overpowering or unpleasant. I gave this four stars because the pump is not comfortable to use and the cashier over charged me when I purchased this product. The 64oz was on sale for 6.98 at the time she charged me 9.98. That is three dollars extra per containers and I had purchased three containers. I did not noticed this until recently.
Pros: works well.
Cons: non
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Works as Advertized

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product really does the trick. I sprayed pesky weeds growing through my driveway cracks. By the next morning, the weeds were all black. One week later, nothing has returned.
The non-toxic spray has a pleasing,cinnamon-like scent.
In addition to being an effective weed killer, I really like this product because I don't feel like I need to shower off dangerous chemicals once I am done.
I will definitely be buying it again.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Works rather well

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was sceptical about a weed killer that was child/pet safe. This is a good one when used as directed. Check the weather forecast...when it is dry on projected to stay dry this product works great. I keep our dog away from where I spray for 24 hours as an extra safeguard.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Milan, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only works on small weeds

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed this product on larger and smaller weeds alike. I doused them thoroughly. The smaller weeds died quickly and stayed dead. The larger weeds wilted and some leaves died, but the plant itself did not die - it was just delayed in its growth. If you have small weeds you need to kill - this is the product for you. If you have larger weeds - buy something else.
Pros: safe for animals, environmentally friendly
Cons: doesn't kill weeds over 6" tall
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

WORST ITEM I EVER BOUGHT, WASTE OF MONEY !

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
WORST PRODUCT EVER, DIDN'T KILL THE WEEDS ON THE FIRST ATTEMP, HAD TO SPRAY 3X .
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Sevierville, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

weed & grass killer

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product didn't do anything to kill weeds or grass. I will go back to using Roudnup.
Cons: doesn't work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Hilliard, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great week and grass killer that doesn´t harm the environment

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This eco friendly grass and week killer works very well at getting weeds from in between cracks in the sidewalk or driveway. It is also good for clearing weeds out of mulched area. However, it is very strong. I put it directly on a dandelion in my yard, thinking that if the spray didn´t touch anything else, only the dandelion would die, but it killed the dandelion and turned the grass brown in about 4 inch diameter. I wish it was a bit cheaper, but I love that it doesn´t use harmful chemicals.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, Easy to Use, not harmful to the environment, works effectively
Cons: a bit expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Pa
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great!

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Worked great for me to kill some thorny weeds and some weeks coming up through cracks in our sidewalks and patio. I followed the directions - applied on a sunny and warm day. I am currently experimenting with it on poison ivy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Not kiling the weeds, nor the grass

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The weeds and the grass are still there and continue to come in feirce! I followed the instructions but did not get results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Does not work!

PostedJuly 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I really wanted a dog-safe product that works. This is not it!
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Temecula

Great product!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Eco Smart Organic Weed & Grass Killer easily does as good a job as any chemically laden product I've used, including that most popular brand. I've since bought and used other Eco Smart products and they all have met or exceeded my expectations and at the same time are safe around my dog (and us humans, unlike those chemical laden products). I won't go back.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Weed Killer Ever

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best weed killer I have used. I have to admit I was a little skeptical at first but the results are impressive. I had tried an Ortho product to kill weeds and it had very little effect. I purchased the EcoSmart product wanting to be eco friendly and avoid spraying poison all over the yard.
The weed killer started killing all weeds including poison ivy within hours and completely killed them by the next day. It has a pleasant natural scent. The only downside is that it seems to temporarily discolor stone. I used it on my stone driveway and the stones became discolored but were back to normal after a light rain. Just test it on one area if you are going to spray on pavers or stone.
Overall great product. I have also used the ecosmart bug killer with success.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Deer Park, WA 99006, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a good organic alternative, moderately priced

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
kills the weed we have in our pasture, I used quite a bit of this product and so far has performed well.
Pros: Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Ohio, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Weed killer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product just isn't as good as other products on the market. In fact, it didn't kill some weeds as would other products. I would not recommend it if you have a tough problem with weeds.
Pros: easy to use.
Cons: not effective.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>