728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

The EcoSmart 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer works quickly to achieve complete vegetation control. The non-toxic weed killer is made from organic ingredients and safe to use around children and animals.
Overall rating:
2.97 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
52%of customersrecommend this product34 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
3.0 out of 5
5
(17)
4
(18)
3
(2)
2
(6)
1
(24)
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
52%of customersrecommend this product34 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Review 1 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Riverside, Ca

Works as described

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Worked extremely well on the variety of weeds growing in our Southern California yard and planting beds. None of our California Native or Drought Tolerant plants have been adversely affected. Simply use exactly as directed and you can't go wrong.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Sacramento, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pet Safe & It DOES Work if you read the label :)

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Review is coming from a guardian aka: Pet Momma of 8 beloved furry beasts which consist of 4 cats and 4 dogs.
Hence my Indiana Jones like search for a weed killer that I could safely use around our furry babies and not worry as I sprayed it nor of them injesting the grass/weeds after spray had been applied.
I've been using this spray for over 2 solid years now and am an avid gardener and outside in said garden every single day. It works 100% of the time. Why? Because I know how to use it lol
BEFORE I continue I think the #1 KEY to SUCCESS when using this natural weed killer is this:
SUN SUN and lastly Sun. It is the "activator" of the essential oils within the spray that actually kills the weeds/grass. You will only kill what you spray it on IF it has full sun and full sun for a good 3-4 hours or so.
I noticed many reviews posted on the various sites before I finally bit the bullet and purchased this product that contained dissatisfied customers saying it didn't work. I'm glad I tried it as it does AND the product label if you read it clearly states that the hotter and sunnier the weather the better it works.
READ the Label: It tells you all of this but few do. I also love the spray handle it comes with which is attached to the bottle and lets you get just about every drop out of it before it's time to change to another bottle.
PET SAFE: Yep. At least for our 8 and they are always present when I spray it out of pure animal curiousity of course. They have no interest in it what so ever and I believe its due to the strong scent of the essential oils used in it. Me I love the way it smells!
SCENT: I love, love and love the smell of this stuff its fantastic! It's smells of black licorice, cloves and pepperment and I just love the scent of it. My yard also takes on it's scent s/p spraying which is so fresh and clean... However it only lingers for a few hours and then dissipates.
I noted on reviews from past purchases some people complained of the scent which I find mindblowing considering the fact that it's made of all natural products many of which are essential natural oils like the ones I listed above. Now Malathion stinks and horrifically so just sayin.
Time to Kill: It will take several days to a week or more before you start to notice the sprayed foliage begin to yellow and die so don't give up on it; it's actually working at the level of the root. I've found that about 2-3 weeks after I spray when temps are in the high 70's-80's that I can go to the sprayed weed and its so dead in the ground that it now pulls right up and out and that includes bermuda grass. Higher temps of 90's-100's kills the weeds to a burnt up crisp much faster and I can usually within 1-2 weeks pull even the strongest weed out of the ground with minimal if any effort.
Its a fantastic product & I recommend it to all my friends who are searching for natural pet-safe products to use in the garden ;)
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Great Quality
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from oakland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works, but it takes some work. worth it, though.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this as a base recipe and because I needed a sprayer bottle. It will probably take 2 applications on successively sunny days, and even then...so split the bottle and add 50% more vinegar and a teaspoon of dish soap and now you have a nice, non-toxic weed killer that you can use around your kids and pets. Yea, it's more work, but the peace of mind of not using glyphosate, 2,4-d, etc. is worth it. Remember how we were all told roundup was completely safe?
Pros: Easy to Install, non-toxic
Cons: needs a boost
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Environmentally friendly and works well

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I switched to this product because I wanted something that was more environmentally friendly as I had deep concerns related to the bee die offs we have been having in this Country due to pesticide use. I have used this product all summer and it has worked as well as the Roundup I used to use except on larger weed which take two treatments of this weed killer. It also leaves my yard smelling nice after I have sprayed because of the rosemary oil in it. I am quite satisfied with this product and plan on continuing to utilize it as the only weed and grass killer for my home.
Pros: Functionality, Durable, Great Quality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from South San Francisco

Killed off (above ground at least) in 3 hours.

PostedJuly 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Sprayed in bright sun, on a warm cloud free day. After about 3 hours (in the sun) the weeds died off to a brown soft mess (a good mess). It's been a week or two now and nothing is coming back so far. I'm going to buy more to kill off more of the areas I hit. I tried many different types of weeds to "experiment" if this was the product i would want in my soon to be edible plant areas, and so far, NOTHING, is coming back as it was. Follow the label as if your life depended on it, I'm learning that's the only way to guarantee product success. I'll re-post if things go south, otherwise, feel good about eating food from the dirt this goes in. BTW, my whole yard does have a faint cinnamon odor as the other guy indicated, kind of nice!
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Works as Advertized

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product really does the trick. I sprayed pesky weeds growing through my driveway cracks. By the next morning, the weeds were all black. One week later, nothing has returned.
The non-toxic spray has a pleasing,cinnamon-like scent.
In addition to being an effective weed killer, I really like this product because I don't feel like I need to shower off dangerous chemicals once I am done.
I will definitely be buying it again.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Weed Killer Ever

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best weed killer I have used. I have to admit I was a little skeptical at first but the results are impressive. I had tried an Ortho product to kill weeds and it had very little effect. I purchased the EcoSmart product wanting to be eco friendly and avoid spraying poison all over the yard.
The weed killer started killing all weeds including poison ivy within hours and completely killed them by the next day. It has a pleasant natural scent. The only downside is that it seems to temporarily discolor stone. I used it on my stone driveway and the stones became discolored but were back to normal after a light rain. Just test it on one area if you are going to spray on pavers or stone.
Overall great product. I have also used the ecosmart bug killer with success.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Temecula

Great product!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Eco Smart Organic Weed & Grass Killer easily does as good a job as any chemically laden product I've used, including that most popular brand. I've since bought and used other Eco Smart products and they all have met or exceeded my expectations and at the same time are safe around my dog (and us humans, unlike those chemical laden products). I won't go back.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Palo Alto, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Repeat applications on crabgrass

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is good stuff, and strong enough even for crabgrass, which is very hard to get rid of. I had to re-apply 3 more times for some of the most resistant uprisings, but I finally won. I really didn't want to use the harsher poisons, so this turned out to be the perfect compromise. I will buy it again when I run out, but that may be years from now.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Amazing

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use. Just the right amount is dispensed and easy to aim.. The weed are knocked out within hours and then continue to die. I have never used herbicides because I feel they are very dangerous for animals and humans. Now I can have the convenience of using a spray. Be sure to use on a sunny warm day. Was able to treat my front yard and part of large back yard
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Michigan

Good product

PostedAugust 18, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far it has been working well and I feel good using it knowing that it's not harmful to the environment or to my pets.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product worked well in controlling unwanted grass and weeds

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this product based on the formulation it uses; applied it to several problem areas in my yard and to date it has been effective in controlling grass and weeds
Pros: Great Quality, Effective
Cons: none yet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Derry NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do you want to re-apply over & over

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The good news is that it's not harmful to pets, the bad news is that it's not harmful to weeds!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Great stuff!

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pesky grass keeps creeping in at the edges of my nice garden bed. I'm not fond of using chemicals that are harmful and I realize that anything can be considered a poison in high enough quantities. I picked up some EcoSmart after getting tired of pulling grass every week. Applied it according to directions on a mild sunny day and checked on it the next day. The grass is now a crispy brown color. I plan on buying more of this wonderful product!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Not truly organic, and didn't work well

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As a landscaper, I tried this and it disappointed, not only in that it's actually a "Natural" product, and not truly Organic, which is a big difference. I tried another product called Avenger Weed Killer that is OMRI listed and USDA Organic certified, and performs much better than this. Too bad that Home Depot doesn't sell it yet, as it's a little harder to find than EcoSmart, and I like being able to just run down the road to Home Depot to pick up my gardening and landscape supplies.
Cons: not really organic
+9points
15out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Denver, CO

Good for vegetable garden prep

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The first time I tried this product was during a warm spell in march. Temps were in the 60s. Results were just okay. I'm not blaming the product. The garden is to be between houses and there isn't much sun until we get towards the end of April. As the days got warmer and the sun was hitting the garden, I tried it again and it works beautifully. So don't waste money like me. Gardeners have to be patient! Use according to directions which state, use on a warm sunny day!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer

Didn't work for me

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hopeful that this product would allow us to get rid of the weeds in our gravel driveway. I have two dogs and didn't want them to be exposed to the chemicals found in standard weed killers. This product made some of the weeds brown and die, but it certainly did not stop the growth of most of them. I'm now back to where I started--but spent nearly $100 without good results. Perhaps the weeds I have are heartier than most!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Hilliard, Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great week and grass killer that doesn´t harm the environment

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This eco friendly grass and week killer works very well at getting weeds from in between cracks in the sidewalk or driveway. It is also good for clearing weeds out of mulched area. However, it is very strong. I put it directly on a dandelion in my yard, thinking that if the spray didn´t touch anything else, only the dandelion would die, but it killed the dandelion and turned the grass brown in about 4 inch diameter. I wish it was a bit cheaper, but I love that it doesn´t use harmful chemicals.
Pros: Multi Use, Great Quality, Easy to Use, not harmful to the environment, works effectively
Cons: a bit expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Milan, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Only works on small weeds

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I sprayed this product on larger and smaller weeds alike. I doused them thoroughly. The smaller weeds died quickly and stayed dead. The larger weeds wilted and some leaves died, but the plant itself did not die - it was just delayed in its growth. If you have small weeds you need to kill - this is the product for you. If you have larger weeds - buy something else.
Pros: safe for animals, environmentally friendly
Cons: doesn't kill weeds over 6" tall
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 64 oz. Ready-to-Use Organic Weed and Grass Killer
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I asked the sales man if this product worked and he said yes, but it takes awhile for it to work. The product is environmentally safe and this was important to me. I really need Roundup, but am afraid of its toxic impact. I used this product on the weeds growing on my front porch and back patio. They got brown around the edges, but are still out there growing a month later. Unfortunately, the only safe way to get rid of them is to pull them out one at a time.
Cons: ineffective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>