728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED

Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED

The Black & Decker18-Volt Electric Cordless Alligator Lopper features clamping jaws that grab and cut in a single easy motion. This lightweight Chainsaw has a 6 in. cutting bar and chain that allow for a maximum cutting capacity of 4 in. The 18-volt NiCad battery (not included) provides up to 150, 1-1/2 in. diameter cuts per charge.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product7 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product7 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
wmiller995
from Roy WA

Good addition to Product Line

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The cordless version doesn't have quite the power as the corded model, but is very useful if you have places on your property that are some distance from an outlet.
The balance is good and it cuts very well.
For big jobs, buy a second battery.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
Mike
from Chaska, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cuts like butter

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Battery operated anything is purely reliant on a battery that lasts. If you already own a 18 volt Black and Decker send your battery out to be rebuilt as a NIMH style. Using cells that produce 3300 MAH you will have power for over twice the time as new batteries. Buy the lopper without batteries and rebuild already owned batteries for best performance. That is what I did with my lopper and I can use the battery with my weed whip and blower.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: scissor action dosen't close all the way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
tooljunkie46
from New York

Fills a great gap in yard work.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We lost a cherry tree during Hurricane Irene, and my Alligator lopper made quick work of the branches 4" in diameter and smaller. It's great for shrubs and tree branches that are too thick for the hedge trimmer, but would would 'bounce' off a small chain saw. This grabs them a zips right through. B&D is replacing this with a 24-volt version, so the 18-volts are store stock only. The 24-volt version is more expensive, but still worth it. My only complaint is that the he 18-volt didn't come with a battery or charger, which I had to purchase separately. Check to make sure you know what you're buying!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
gardenerhank

great little saw

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this alligator for several months. I have used it to clear brush and cut down small trees. I have even cut trees with larger diameter than max. cutting capacity. This little fellow has never failed to do what I need it to. do. It is a great little cordless saw and I recommend it to anyone who needs an item like this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
Outdoors15

Excellent

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the cordless, can take it anywhere. Make sure you purchase a spare battery. Batteries are interchangeable with other 18volt black and decker products.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
Yardworker
from New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic purchase

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the cordless lopper to trim some evergreen shrubs that were growing out of control. The lopper was so easy to use and light weight that it seemed no time at all when I had the unrully shrubs under control. Great product and cordless as well. Fantastic!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
Tapeman
from Brewer, ME, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent tool

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a super power tool with more than enough guts to chew through dry beech with ease. Be aware though, it ships without a battery or charger so you will need to cough up another $60 for them unless you already have an 18 volt set. I now turn storm damage into kindling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
Phil

Great backyard saw

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as described. Great for the backyard cleanup jobs. For these small jobs it's much better than keeping a regular chain saw maintained and running when it's only used a few times a year. It'll last about 10 minutes of regular cutting, so get extra batteries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Alligator 6 in. 18-Volt Electric Cordless Lopper-DISCONTINUED
Deacon

Simply does the job

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ditto worked perfectly for my small jobs with ease
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.