728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Solid Hardwood or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)

HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)

This durable prefinished solid real maple floor is made of 3/4 in. thick sawn solid wood and features mother nature’s naturally occurring beauty marks such as distinctive color variation, knots and mineral streaks. Plank length is totally random and varies based upon the yield of each tree. The aluminum oxide finish provides 10 times more abrasion resistance than ordinary urethane finishes. Our flooring is proudly crafted in the USA from wood grown and responsibly harvested in the USA. Expertise and experience assure a beautiful, high quality floor. Our company has been manufacturing wood floors to exacting standards in Johnson City, Tennessee for over 110 years.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product6 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)
Review 1 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)
from Helena AL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the distressed look and wide plank! Absolutely stunning!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First time to lay hardwood.....would call myself a handyman. Read about laying floors. I had 5 great boxes. Worked out of several at a time. Some had longer pieces than others but was able to lay a beautiful floor. Hope to use this product again. Used 2" staples, cut easily, was able to work around two pieces that were warped. No complaints. Hope to use this product in another room soon
Pros: Good Wood, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Looks High End
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)
from Manahawkin, Stafford Township, NJ 08050, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not a lock and click but best quality

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This floor is not for the do it you're selfer,I have been a carpenter for over 35 yrs. and it is not a lock and click floor like a pergo type. It is harder to install but does not compare.If you want a top of the line ,last forever floor this is it. hire someone to install it.I have dogs and this floor has been down for several yrs. and is bullet proof. Will be doing another part of my house very soon with the same.Not cheap but you get what you pay for
Pros: Good Wood, Feels Like Wood, High Quality of Material, Looks Like Wood, Sturdy, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Great Accent, Looks High End
Cons: Difficult to Install
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)
from Skippack, PA

Not a good flooring product

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We were very unhappy with this flooring product. Our installer who has many year of experience installing hardwood flooring said "it is the worst product I have ever installed." The cuts were not straight which made it impossible to install without having significant gaps between boards. The stain did not cover deep enough, so unfinished wood was showing and we bought stain to fix it. A large percentage of the pieces in the box were very short in length instead a good assortment of lengths. This is not a product we would recommend, and unfortunately we spent close to $5,000 on a product that was definitely not worth that price.
+26points
32out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)
from Ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall good product. Very happy with final look

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Floor quality was very consistent as I only found one piece in the (6) boxes I used that had a blemish. Excellent tongue and groove fit throughout the installation. My only warning is that you need to expect a lot of smaller pieces. With small being about 18 inches or less. This worked out fine in my space as I had a small area. Overall we are really happy with the color and hand scraped look.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 5 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)
from Richmond, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Pleased

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While I have installed flooring professionally in the past, I installed this product in my home. It is the first time I have used Millstead. I am still trying to decide if I like the "handscrape look" (my wife loves it). However, the quality of the product is excellent. Very easy to install with minimal waste. Nice tongue and groove fit. I would highly recommend this product and would buy it again. Also, I had a problem with the shipping and Home Depot quickly resolved.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)

Excellent floor and great looking.

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There were absoutly no problems installing the flooring.
The flooring was installed by a professional flooring contractor. The variation in length of the boards added to the overall great look. I would recommend this flooring to anyone.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)
from Moraga, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Area of flooring per box overstated by approximately 10%. About 35% of one box contained pieces less than 15 inches long.

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product looks great, but deficiencies stated in review
summary makes it difficult to recommend unless
corrected.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD Customer ServiceNovember 2, 2012
Hi Japuvia,

I reached out to the manufacturer on your review comments and below is their response to you:

We’re pleased to hear you are happy with your floor, and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback.

As it regards square footage, the contents of our cartons are regularly audited to insure the correct sq. ft. is being packed in each. Additionally, we checked all of our current inventory of this specific flooring. The 23 sq. ft. per carton is correct. We would like to take this opportunity to remind customers when purchasing any type of flooring, Home Depot recommends you purchase 10% more than what your job requires. Expect some loss of footage due to cuts, mistakes, out-of-square rooms, etc. Normally when a consumer calls us to question whether they received the correct amount of flooring, it is after the job is being installed and they are running short due to these issues. It is also always a good idea to save some extra flooring so that damages that may happen in the future can be repaired.

Our goal when producing this hand-scraped Maple Spice Floor is to intentionally include as many of Mother Nature’s beauty marks (knots, color variation, mineral streaks) as possible. In order to maximize the natural features included in this floor, a rustic grade of wood is being utilized. There are some extreme natural aspects of the wood that must be cut out such as very large open knots that go completely through the boards. When a feature is cut out of a board, it obviously produces shorter flooring planks. Although all solid floors are made up of random length boards, this rustic floor will normally contain more short boards due to the natural variability of the product. Shorter boards are actually considered desirable in this style of floor because it maximizes the number of scraped beveled edges visible in the floor and reinforces the random, vintage appeal of a worn floor. Since the entire process is dependent upon what Mother Nature provides to us, board lengths are totally random and will vary from box to box. When laying any type of flooring, always work from several boxes at a time to insure the desired look is achieved.”

Thank You
Review 8 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)

Great price

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just finished flooring. Looks really good and the price was really really good for the quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for HandScraped Maple Spice 3/4 in. Thick x 5 in. Width x Random Length Solid Hardwood Flooring (23 sq. ft. / case)
from hays,ks
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great flooring..

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
floor when down great, looks excellent, and the people at hays,ks home depot did a awesome job helping me everything i needed to complete the job..The master bedroom is fit for a queen. We well buy more of the hard wood flooring..Thanks to the people at the hays,ks store..kim
Pros: Looks Like Wood, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, Comfortable, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: you need the tools to complete the job..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.