728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Evaporative Coolers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)

Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)

The Bon-Aire Durango Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler helps provide whole house cooling. The 1/3 HP axial fan works quietly and efficiently to cool a space between 1,600 sq. ft. and 1,800 sq. ft. This slim cabinet cooler is designed to be installed in a window that measures between 20-1/2 – 22-1/2 in. wide and at least 20-1/2 in. high. This cooler features a cooling pad which helps cool and purify the air in a room. The evaporative cooler has 3 speed settings helping you adjust your level of cooling.
Overall rating:
4.442 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(129 reviews) 129
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product111 of 121reviews
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(93)
4
(21)
3
(2)
2
(5)
1
(8)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product111 of 121reviews
Customer reviews for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
Review 1 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)

Works Great!

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure why people have given bad reviews other than they don't know what they're doing and/or should have taken back if there was a defect.
I've been around evaporative coolers all my life living in the "high desert". Moved to Las Vegas in 2004 & because of the economy, needed to decrease my electric bill. I bought this last year (2010) and has worked flawlessly for 2 years now. Cools my 2100sq ft home just fine, even in late July & August. There are some days in August we had to close the windows and run the central for a few hours in the late afternoon but aside from that, works great. Cut $300+ off my monthly summer electric bill. I have had a traditional "swamp" cooler installed for my garage but didn't dare put on my house because of the HOA (it sits near the ground and can't be seen unless you're in my backyard). When I saw this one and saw how low profile it is, I had to give it a try. Nobody has noticed and no HOA letters either. Has paid for itself many times over (just after the 2nd month)! Cools and pushes air far better than the supposedly bigger cooler on my garage. You don't have the rusting like you do with metal ones nor do you have to replace pads multiple times. After winterizing, it looks like there is no reason the pad will be good to go for at least it's third year probably more. This pad works FAR better than any of the other pads for the traditional coolers. After two season, still cools, works, and looks as good as the pad's first season. So there's another additional savings in replacement pads.
As long as you READ and follow the instructions, make sure it is installed level ( so it doesnt spill over the right side), and you insert/remove the screws properly when installing and maintaining, it works great.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Antelope Valley, CA (high, not desert)

Just Unbelievable - Over the top.

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Should have bought this 10 years ago! Had swamp coolers before but not like this one. After installation, I built a base for it to set on outside on my upstairs deck to compliment supports otherwise offered via standard installation parts/instructions.
The first night, this unit froze out the wife and I since we have only light summer bedding. Before, my two three ton units would run off and on all night up here in the high desert. Now, instead of sleeping at 79 degrees upstairs, this unit, on low, keeps it at 69! But what's even bigger is this. Yesterday, I left the front door open, (closing/locking the security screen), left the house unattended for two hours while it was 102 outside. The unit remember is upstairs in my 3500 sq ft house. When I returned, it was in the hottest part of the day, and it was 72 upstairs, and 79 downstairs! That's impossible, but true! I didn't expect that kind of cooling over such a large volume of space. (note * I have a specialty home in that it's only a 3 bedroom with a couple of great rooms, hence, air flow is uninhibited.) My two super expensive 3 ton units (I pay an avg of $.20/KWH), never came on on either floor. AND, I only had the unit on MEDIUM COOL the entire day! My wife loves the moisture in the air now and her skin feels so much better too! I'm just stunned!
Lastly, I highly recommend the following, go to home depot and get the in line filter for your water feed if you have hard water, and we sure do. (I use the same in my in line water line for my ice maker. Set it up so you have quick disconnects at both ends.) Also, buy those other (don't know the name), bag-like particulate collectors that go right in the sump of the cooler for additional protection; you'll vastly improve the longevity of your water fill valve, pump, all lines, and of course evaporative medium. Also, call the product help line for a 'cover' for off season. You can insulate from the inside with like R-14 in the winter months if need be by removing the plate on the front. (Remove 4 screws and control knob.)
As a retired Industrial Engineer, I can accurately state that this product will save me a minimum of $300 per month while enjoying a home 10 degrees below what the AC units are typically set at, and, with some water in the air thank God! I used my fluke on my AC units, 220 V at 10 amps a side (that's just on one unit.) Now I'm running a 'Fan' and a tiny pump on this new evaporative unit. It's not even close!) On a scale of 1-5, I give this a 15. Enough said. Bob R.
 
Products related to my review
 
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Denver, CO, USA
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extremely pleased with this unit

PostedMay 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After getting a $4,000+ quote for air conditioning on our recently purchase home, I convinced my partner to give evaporative coolers a try. With neither one of us having grown up in a dry climate, the concept was a bit strange, and we didn't have much confidence that it would work, but with 100 degree plus days looming, I figured it would be worth the money to give it a shot.
We were blown away. Last summer was one of the hottest on record for the Denver area, and we could not have had a more comfortable home. Our upstairs living area is about 1100 square feet, and this cooler did a great job of keeping the central thermostat, which is a few rooms away from where the cooler was placed, at 70 degrees on 100 degree days.
Not to mention, our energy bills never exceeded $50 a month, while our friends paid hefty electricity bills to cover A/C.
You will have warmer spots if using this unit to cool an entire floor, but if you crack a window in the rooms you want cooled it generally does the trick. We would not have survived last summer without this unit, and in a few minutes today we had it up and running again for this summer.
The pads are more expensive than other units, but we're going into our second season and it seems to have held up fine. Make sure to drain everything and follow the end-of-season maintenance as instructed (it's minimal).
Some people complain of odor. We did have a bit of a funky odor when we first started it up for a few days, but even that wasn't so bad. Starting up the second season, there was no odor at all.
A tip -- hook it up to a greenhouse thermostat that you plug into the all and this unit plugs into, they're about 30 bucks, and that way you can let it cycle as needed. As it does cool down the house so quickly, it'd be unreasonable and unnecessary to let it run all day.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Nice Design
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Great Salt Lake, Utah, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOVE IT :)

PostedJune 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought it because it was the lowest price swamp cooler that would cool a 1600 square foot house. 10 minutes after I turned it on high I had to get under the covers and it was 94 degrees outside. SUPER EASY TO INSTALL my wife and I did it with minimal tools. I would recomend this thing to anyone. If you are on a buget like our family is and you want a taste of the high life get this cooler
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Denver

Excellent cooler

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our third season with this cooler. We are using it in a bedroom--it is overkill. It can drop the bedroom from about 80 degrees to about 65 degrees in 15 - 30 minutes to make it comfortable for sleeping! We created an opening for it in a wall.
Ignore the naysayers about the bleed line. That is an important feature, especially if you have hard water. The unit DOES recirculate, it just dumps some of the water and replentishes it so minerals don't build up. That, plus the use of rigid pad media rather than spun media gives it a very long, troublefree life.
I'm an engineer and have done a commercial cooler installation before. I did do a few modifications to make this one even more trouble free. Instead of the normal fill valve, I fill and drain it through an added fitting in the bottom, regulating the level electronically and draining it whenever it is shut off. That makes even less mineral build up. Since the valves that control this are in my basement, winterizing consists of just shutting the unit off.
Also because we use it at night in the bedroom, we found even the low speed to be a little too much for the bedroom and a little too noisy to sleep right next to, so I added a fourth speed--1/3 of the lowest speed. We can leave that one on all night on those occasional nights where outdoors never cools down.
I also made a cover from styrofoam sheets that I put on during the winter season to keep the cold out.
We have done zero maintenance on this thing in three years. We just use it and enjoy it. As some other reviewers have pointed out, another key to effective use of an evaporative cooler is to have somewhere for the air to go. The trick to avoid excess humidity and obtain maximum cooling is alway having the cooler bringing in fresh air and pushing old air outside. Always open as many windows as possible at the opposite end of the room or house. It's just the opposite of A/C. The worst thing you can do is get a portable cooler and set it in the middle of a room with all the windows closed!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Lancaster, CA.

Sensational product

PostedJune 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought 2 Bonaire Durango units in July, 2009 for our home which is just under 2300 square feet. They are absolutely sensational. They were marked down by $100 and that is what originally caught my eye.
My electrical bill during the summer months (June-Sept here in the Antelope Valley) went from $220-$260 per month using the A/C *sparingly* to $70-$90 per month running the Bonaires 10 hours a day. The entire house is 75-78 degrees even in weather as hot as 105-110 degrees outside. I AM NOT EXAGGERATING.
Since we have very hard water, the scale will build up fast on the Celdek pads. I learned this the hard way by being a cheapskate about bleed-off during the first year of service. I had to sand the pads to get the scale off. I now have the units bleeding 10 gallons per hour each which comes to about 6,000 gallons a month. It costs me about $20 more in my water bill. However, I run the bleed-off to our flowers and plants so it is not wasted at all.
I take good care of them. Annually I open the unit up and clean all the parts of any left over scale. I cover them during the winter and remove the Celdek pads and keep them in the garage. New pads are not very expensive (about $100) but should last 5 years if they are taken care of.
These have been such a great investment. Between the 2 units I bought plus yearly maintenance, I will hit break even this year (about 2 years of service).
I would give this product 1,000 stars if I could. About the only thing my wife and I fight about is the electric bill. We don't anymore. Heh, the Bonaire's, you could say, saved my marriage.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Pueblo, CO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FANTASTIC!!!

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After thorough investigation online looking for an evaporative cooler to mount on my roof as it is already set up for it, I came across this product. It received good reviews and was low profile when mounted on the side of the house. I also found most professional installers do not like roof top mounted evaporative coolers due to roof damage and difficulty with yearly maintenance. Oh, and why would I want to buy a new roof mounted cooler that I then have to get on top of my house AND purchase a motor for? That just seems odd.
So off to Home Depot I went with good reviews ringing in my ears. We decided to permanently mount the cooler in the center of the house as we have an open floor plan with bedrooms on each end. Two days after purchase, we started to have our first 100+ degree days. I live in the high desert of Colorado and we have LOTS of 100+ days.
It is currently 104 outside and 72 inside. All areas of the house are comfortable and I am dancing with joy. I would recommend this cooler to anyone in dry, hot climates. I did buy a portable, plug in thermostat off Amazon in the Green House section as Home Depot did not sell what I needed. It works just like my house thermostat but the unit plugs into it.
As a matter of fact, I was singing praises to my co-worker and she went and bought one a couple of days later. Her neighbor is also planning to buy one. Guess my positive results have impacted several people. If I could give this item higher ratings, I would. It is earth friendly, low cost and easy to operate.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Palm Springs, CA

Can hardly believe this cooler is this good!

PostedApril 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not being particularly interested in installing this myself, we had someone complete the installation. Didn't take long at all. Installed it in our garage because it gets freakishly hot in there in the desert summer. Here's the thing...although it's in the garage, we just open the door between the house and garage and then open a window and a sliding glass door at the other end of the house and this Bonaire cools the garage AND the house! Who'd-a thunk it? Thanks to our friends for telling us about this. After the first 10 hours of operation you're supposed to clean the water tank from sediment that results from shipping. It was a snap, even for me. Then after the next 10 hours of operation you're supposed to do it again. Easy squeezy! We love our Bonaire and would recommend it to anyone.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Phoenix Metro Area, AZ

Perfect Cooler

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This cooler is light weight, fits in my downstairs window and keeps my 2900 sqft home nice and cool. I would suggest replacing the plastic float with a brass one. We had a leakage problem with the plastic float connection but when we upgraded everything was perfect. Downstairs temp has been steady at 75 and upstairs temp is running 78 during the heat of the day. We live in the Phoenix metro area.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from southwest New Mexico

WOW!

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
first - this can be installed by one very determined person, but would be easier with two people. Even with finding/cutting/fitting window sill support, it took about 3 hours to install (again, one person). Hook-up unbelievable easy! My house is about 1500 sqft; I started this on high, after 2 hours I had to turn it down to medium; by the end of the day, it was on low and I was cool. I expected a 5-10 degree drop; this provides close to 15-20 degree drop on low. This is southwest New Mexico, southwest facing large windows, 95+ temperatures, and it's in a back bedroom - a southeast window shaded by a large tree. The value to cost ratio of this, plus the ease of installation puts me way over "pleased" with the purchase. I've already recommended it to others.
note: I also bought the hook-up kit, sold separately, which had everything I needed to tie in to my pre-existing outdoor faucet.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Arvada, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Durango by Bonnaire

PostedJune 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used evaporative coolers for over 40 years in our dry Colorado climate. The Durango works very well. Keeps 1650 square feet cool while running on low speed. High speed will send you running for a coat :) Easy install and you can attach an inexpensive garden hose to recover the purge water for your garden. Nearly all evaporative coolers now use a purge system to keep the water panels from getting a buildup, You could shut the purge off (simply re-route the purge hose back into the cooler case) but then you would have to replace the $118 pads more frequently? The low profile is nice as it meets the requirements of our HOA and is far less obtrusive than the standard big boxy units. The unit is reasonably quiet.... with out the belts and pully wheels for running a 'squirrel' cage fan you get less vibration. This unit easily cools as well as our old evap. which is impressive since it has far less square footage of panel area but the panels are thicker and not made of Aspen or the sponge like panels now on the market. Overall an excellent product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Peoria, AZ

The Aussies got it rignt!

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had the Durango for three years now. It is by far the best evap we have ever owned. I live in Phoenix where the temperatures get to the 115 degrees plus. The evap works great until the monsoon season begins. But, before the monsoon, the Durango cools the air around 30 degrees different from the outside temps! I have it in the window in the living room, and it cools the entire house! Cuts my electric bill to a third, but does raise the water bill a little. But, the savings and cooling are worth it!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Veneta, OR

THE BEST AND CHEAPEST TO RUN!!

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought our Bonaire cooler two years ago from Home Depot here in Oregon after witnessing our neighbor's Bonaire and hearing how much they liked it. We install it in a northern window in our house every May or June and leave it there 'til fall. I love having it in the window because it will "clean" the air in the house each time I turn it on. We live in the Willamette Valley where the grass and tree pollen can get extremely high and I suffer from hay fever. I can turn the Bonaire on, let the filter get wet, then just use the fan. It will filter the air and bring in clean air throughout the house, even if I don't need it to cool. The first time we turned it on and opened a window at the far end of the house (60 feet away), we couldn't believe the amount of forced air that was blowing out the window! It will actually whistle if we don't open the window far enough! Oh, and we almost never have to run it on high. It just gets too cold so we normally run it on low. I wrote to Bonaire and purchased a cover for the front because the hot wind will blow right through it when it isn't running. The cover works great and I recommend buying one.
I noticed some were complaining about it using too much water. I have not found that to be the case at all. We run a short piece of hose away from the house and onto the lawn and there is only a small green spot on the lawn where the grass has been watered from the cooler. I don't see why anyone would complain about the water usage as it is definitely minimal.
BTW, we are trying to find a second one for our son. We like it that much!! Our son came over and witnessed the cooler first hand and will be buying one, if we can just find one to buy or have shipped. That is my only complaint... they seem to be very hard to find here in the States since they are made in Australia.
If you buy one, you won't be sorry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from High Desert, California

So Far, So Good

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like another post, I believe I got the 4700, because it was only $388. I was excited to get it for even less.
O.K., when I was installing this cooler, I was cursing it. It's actually very easy to install, but I am one who follows directions step by step. The only complaint I have so far is that the directions are not very detailed so there were lots of little steps that I had to figure out by myself (like drilling holes for the interior brackets and attaching them prior to attaching the unit to the outside of the house). My Brother in law was helping me since my husband was at work. I was able to do the majority of the installation and really only needed his help to lift it into the window and steady it while I attached it. One other thing, this unit doesn't attach anywhere at the top, so I feel like it may need to be strapped and anchored to the house at the top as well. Mostly because I have little children and worry about their safety, but also because I'm not sure what kind of stress the weight is putting on my window.
Overall, the unit blows very cold. I have a 3,500 square foot house and the downstairs temp dropped by 4 degrees within 20 minutes of having it running. Within an hour and a half, we had to turn it off because the kids were cold.
I am very excited to see what having this cooler does to my electric bill since we are used to $500-$600/month in the High Desert Summers. I may also order another one for upstairs. The great thing about this design is that it will work for an upstairs window as well as a down stairs because it is very light weight and sits smooth and flush against the house without the big boxy unit, so it not only looks much more streamline, it doesn't need any surface to rest on.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from sunny so cal

This product is highly effective and simple to install and use!

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Don't waste your time deciding which metal box you will buy that will rust in time, and hard to put in the location you want. I live in so cal, not very humid conditions, works effectively instead of using central unit. A short heat wave can cost me 200 alone for 10 days using my central unit. I hooked this bad boy up to a plug in wall t-stat, set it at 74%, it comes on every day about 10:30 a.m, cycles a few times, then by noon, it's on for the days duration. Keeping my wife and kids cool during the summer. When I get home, I feel the cool breeze rush me at the side entrance , then the unit will began to cycle down at about 6-7:30 pm, until family room reaches 74%. My wife likes a cool room-due to personal climate changes! This would otherwise cost me a fortune using central cooling. I love this product, but you must hook it up to a t-stat for conservation. I braced myself for the electric bill after running it for a month. My bill did not budge. My family of 4 usually consumes about 800 gals of water e-month, this unit did not make a difference in the water consumption. Don't listen to me, just buy it. If you don't like it, take it back to the depot.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

$39/month Electric Bill in Vegas 117'F out / 84'F inside (1,500 sq ft)

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a 1,500 sq ft, 2 level, 3 Bedroom Town Home
To minimize my electric bill (my town home is all electric - no gas), I purchased:
a. Durango Evaporative Cooler (self-installed - EZ)
b. Rheem EcoSense On Demand 13kW 240 Volt TANKLESS Electric Water Heater (at Home Depot $228 + $400 install)
My first electric bill (June 2013) from Nevada Energy arrived under $39 vs. the neighbors at $340 per month in peak summer months. In only 2 months in energy savings, my Durango pays for itself.
Please note, I am single and not at home 24 hours a day however, I wouldn't expect more than another $15-20/month in electric use if I was.
DURANGO vs. MASTER COOL:
I found NO reliable comparison - but here is mine:
US made Master Cool copied Australian made Durango - the units are nearly exactly identical. I first purchased the Master Cool since it was Made in USA and also had a purge pump hoping to save a little water.
However, when I turned the Master cool on medium or high - the entire home vibrated and the noise level of the Master Cool was insanely loud (similar to a whole house fan that you install in your ceiling to draw cool air through the windows and into the attic). For the noise level alone, I returned it and purchased the Durango.
The Durango on medium or high - is extremely quiet. This is the biggest difference that no one publishes anywhere. Master Cool needs to re-engineer their fan / noise issue to become competitive. No way you can talk on the phone with a Master Cool on Medium or High.
WATER USAGE
It seems to use about 2 gallons of water per hour of use. Most of your water bill is fixed. Perhaps using this unit adds $5/month or so far outweighing its electrical energy savings.
HOA's
If you live in an HOA, pickup a flyer from Home Depot and show it to your HOA, asking for approval prior to purchase. It is a clean looking unit, and if you are likely to have it approved.
WHERE TO PLACE THE DURANGO IN YOUR HOME
This was a big question first. I have a 2 story town home. As you can imagine, it will be a little cooler nearer to the cooler in your home. I installed mine on the main floor given the fact that, the evenings are cooler and I'm often on the main floor in the daytime. It works fab !
Place it in the room that you feel balance your needs for cool, given evenings are generally cooler. If you feel better with chilly bedroom temperatures at night, place it there - knowing that other rooms maybe 3 degrees warmer.
Overall - my recommendation is to place it nearer to the living area for daytime peak heat knowing, this little guy will make you happy.
I installed mine in the laundry room connected to the kitchen. This allows the high volume of cooled air to more “evenly” exit the laundry room door area to avoid feeling directly in the way of a powerful 5,500 cuft/min fan.
RHEEM TANKLESS WATER HEATER
On the Rheem tankless water heater, you WILL need to pay a contractor to run 60 AMP electric service from your circuit breaker box to the tankless water heater. Based upon my calculations, given I am a single person, I save about $30 / month compared to my previous 50 gallon electric water heater. Energy savings pays back the tankless water heater unit and install cost in only 18 months.
I advise prior to purchase of the water heater, you get 3 independent contractor's quotes so you know prior to purchasing what the total cost is.
DURANGO SUMMARY
$39/month TOTAL Nevada Energy electric bill for June 2013. I love the damp cool. I feel completely comfortable, not hot in the least, and saving $300/month in electricity - a true hidden gem. Please note swamp coolers only work in dry climates for the evaporation process to work.
Older folks may mistakenly recall old, noisy, stinky swamp coolers. Not this puppy. Tech has made the Durango an extremely low-cost, quiet dream.
The recent 117'F heatwave in Vegas was no problem for Durango's 84'F inside my home. There are many on social security / fixed income that struggle with high summer electric bills that have little or no tech knowledge.
You can help. Review their average summer months' electric bills vs purchase price of Durango and if they don't mind a damp 84'F when outside is 117'F – go for it.
You'd bring permanent annual summer financial relief to them by sharing your knowledge or even buying them a Durango as a gift !
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Phx AZ

PostedJune 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we purchased this right from the store- (they also carry the replacement pad for this which is excellent ( so i dont have to pull my hair out looking for one)
temp in AZ has been 105-109 degrees and with this unit
running the temp has been a very comfortable 80 degrees
during the day, dropping to 68 at night (BRRRRR)
Thus far, we are tickled pink with this unit. the Aussies know what they are doing!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Best $500 we have ever spent

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Live in Phoenix. It has been 105 degrees here and the house has stayed consistantly below 75 degrees. We have to use some small floor fans to move air to the bedrooms, but we are thrilled with the cooling capacity. We have it in a 2100 sq ft house and so far so good. Not sure what will happen when it's 115 here, but when the humidity goes up we'll switch to a/c anyway.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Central California

Love it

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been around swamp coolers all my life. This one is great. It is looks much better in the window than the conventional coolers. I didn't like the way it used so much water so I plugged the bleed line. This is my 2nd season with it and I can't tell any down side to doing this. It still works great and does not waste water. Highly recommend this cooler.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Durango 5,500 CFM 3-Speed Side-Draft Window/Wall Evaporative Cooler for 1,600 sq. ft. (with Motor)
from Bakersfield CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great cooler after 6 years

PostedApril 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has been a great cooler and even after 6 years mine is still running great. The only problem I am having is finding replacement pads.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>