728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pots & Planters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED

SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED

The SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter is made of resin and resists rotting, mildew, dry out, splintering, freezing, and heating for long-lasting use. This planter features indented drainage knockouts to help prevent over-watering.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product12 of 13reviews
Customer reviews for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from Greenwich Village

Solid resin that looks it

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The metal bands are not copper colored as shown, but just cheap looking metalic bands. Though the planter is solid, it just doesn't really look like a whiskey barrel. For the serious price you get a solid planter, that certainly no one will ever think this every was an authentic copper bound whiskey barrel.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from Garden City Park, N.Y.

I Use This Product To Store My Garden Hoses, Works Well !

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I Ordered 2 Of These Planters To Store My Garden Hoses, When Not In Use. I Had A Wooden Barrel That Rotted Out After 3 Years. Make Sure That They Are Not Damaged When You Receive Them. They Ship Them Without Any Packing Material. 1 Of Mine Was Cracked Down The Side, When Received. They Are Great Products !!!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from Sedona, AZ

Close, But Not Entirely Unbreakable

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered 4, and received them promptly. Unfortunately, one was cracked starting from the top down its sides to about 5 or 6 inches in several places. The box did look like it had been tossed and tumbled. The problem is with the packing I believe. You see the barrels were loose inside the box, with no padding whatsoever around them. Luckily the rest of the barrels were fine. Took the cracked one to my local Home Depot and they processed the refund with no problem. Sadly, when they tried to order a replacement for me, they were out of stock. Barrels look great though and are very sturdy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from SC

Good barrel.

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This barrel is great compared to my wooden ones! I love the no splinters! It doesn't look like real wood, but it isn't bad. It needs more holes than suggested. If I had it to do again, I would drill an extra drain hole in the middle. Overall good barrel, good value.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina

Love these!

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have always had the real whisky barrels for planters on our patio. They last for a pretty long time and look great when they are new, but these planters are much better. Wood ones dry out faster I think and require more watering. We did drill holes in the bottoms of these for drainage, but they seem to retain moisture better than the wood ones. I love the color and hope they will retain the color and not bleach out too much with the sun. That is yet to be seen. We have had them a month probably with not signs of color change. My husband loves them too, which is a miracle because he is so picky and loved the "real whisky barrels". I think I have order a total of 6 and we are using a couple for vegetables until the last of the wood barrels give out. I wanted to order them now so they would match the others. If I waited a couple of years, I am sure the products will be different. I cannot say enough good things about these. Could not find them in the stores, so bought them online. Fast delivery by our great UPS driver and no damage to the boxes or barrels. Great product. The very best part is that they are made in the USA. Yeah!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from SC

Synthetic half whiskey barrel

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great alternative to a traditional wooden whiskey barrel. I use mine as an outdoor water garden and fish pond, so there is no need for a liner as would be needed for a wooden barrel. The synthetic version won't rot and fall apart over time in the elements, and has held up well against freezing and the heat for over two years. It may not have quite the look of a woodn barrel, but more than makes up for this with its durability and practicality. An item that is definitely recommended, and not always easy to find.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED

Great Product!!!

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought three of these resin whiskey barrels to replace our old, termite infested, wooden barrels. They were shipped the next day and arrived in two days. They arrived without damaged although there was nothing to protect them in the boxes. They look great and are a perfect fit for our garden. Hopefully they will last for a long time.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from North Billerica, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Our planter arrived promptly and in great shape. I can't wait to fill it with flowers this Spring!

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The planter is lovely, the only (negligible) problem is the bottom decorative strap is out of level and since it's permanently attached I can't fix it. But I think only I will notice! Definitely a great addition to our landscape.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from Elk Grove CA

The product is great

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived timely. Perfect for container gardening. Lightweight, yet durable heavyduty "pvc-like" material.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED

Very frustrated - where are the metal bands?!

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The barrels arrived, complete with a picture inside the barrel showing the 2 metal bands -- but the barrels themselves had no metal band detail (?!). Now we have 2 enormous planters that we need to bring into a HomeDepot to return -- exactly the inconvenience we were trying to avoid by ordering them online.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from Cullowhee, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our old Whisky barrells have deteriorated and need to be replaced. This is easy to handle and looks great on the apartment grounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED

easy to order at the end of the season

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The site made it easy to order this particular item. It got me out of hot water. I thought that I was going to have to pay more, but I ordered one and had it sent to someone. Easy, practical, and life saving. Now I have to figure out how to get an indentation out of my bumper.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from Festus, MO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Just what we wanted

PostedFebruary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We liked these barrels so much that we ordered 2 more Nice quality just the right size for tomato plants and they will look great in our flower garden
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED
from Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very nice planter.

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not find anything like it in the stores. It is just what we wanted for a particular plant. And the delivery was very fast. Practically overnight.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SmartWare 23-1/2 in. Black Resin Whiskey Barrel Planter-DISCONTINUED

fast delivery

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The barrels are fabulous and we will get years of use out of them. The fact that they are resin is what sold me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.