728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop z_Old_Two-Piece Toilets or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White

Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White

Save water with this Sterling Plumbing Stinson 2-Piece High-Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White which features an elongated bowl for comfort and subtle curves with a clean design to complement a variety of interior styles. Using just 1.28 gallons of water per flush enables this toilet to meet strict water conservation standards while ProForce technology ensures dependable and powerful flushing.
Overall rating:
2.914 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product18 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product18 of 34reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
Review 21 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
NotAHeroAnymore
from Queens, NY

Make me looks bad in the eyes of my family

PostedJune 17, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1. Flushing power
Home Depot's rating system is not accurate regarding the toilet's flushing power. This one was rated 10, but it really wasn't. I went to Home Depot to buy the Kohler Wellworth toilet because I already have one at my business. They are out of stock. I thought this model is similar due to the displayed flushing power rating, and it's a Kohler company. Big mistake. The flushing works like a conventional toilet, water push down from the front of the rim. It's not powerful. I often have to flushing twice to remove all solids. The Wellworth model is much better. It flushes by jetting water at the bottom of the bowl, so it is more like sucking the water down. It's very clean.
2. Water tank attachment
The water tank attached to the bowl with three bolts through the tank. It works OK. The Wellworth toilet is much better because there are no bolts through the water tank at all. No chance of leaking.
3. Water splash
Let's just say some water splash reaches the toilet seat cover on your back, and we are not even talking about flushing while sitting down.
I was a hero for getting a new toilet, now I am a zero for getting this model.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
gfd1182
from ROUND ROCK, TX

worst toilet ever!

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First of 2 toilets I purchased, decided to purchase this one first due to its nice looks, I should of read the reviews first. I did the install myself which went fine, i sealed it with silicone. The first initial flushes were disappointing, but in the manual it states to adjust the waterline to increase the flush. Which I did, the flush did get better but it is still horrible. Most of the time for solids you will need to double flush, I truly regret buying this junk. Stay away if you dont want to waste money. For my second toilet i will go with the riverton, hopefully this will be better I will definitelly review.
Gerome
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
vprgtsr
from nj

do not buy!

PostedApril 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would have given this toilet more than 1 star according to looks and ease of installation except, like some of the other reviews have stated upon flushing, the toilet splashing. I've had this toilet installed for about 3 months now and numerous times i've had to wipe, not just the underside, but the top of the seat due to waste being splashed up upon flushing. I would imagine this is mainly due to the fact that the waste is forced down from the water starting below the rim instead of at the bottom of bowl. And like the one review has stated, putting the plastic tube in the overflow tube does NOT stop splashing. Save yourself the aggravation and buy a different toilet unless you like wiping down your toilet with lysol after each use.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
Bruter

Worst toilet I ever had or bought

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have to flush twice. Design flaw for sure. In the store (Home Depot it has a #10 rating for flushing which I thought would be the best but it must mean the worst). It's going back to the store.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
Kyle
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sterling (Kohler) Toilet PLUGS UP

PostedAugust 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this because I have a Kohler toilet and figured this Sterling Kohler would be great. SERIOUS DESIGN FLAWS. Drain area has tight bends that plugs easily. WORSE- you CANNOT use plunger to unplug since bowl hole design is longer than large plungers so you cannot apply pressure/suction. Only way to resolve is with a snake. DO NOT GET STERLING TOILETS.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Use, Performance, Maintenance, plugs up easy, can"t use plunger
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
jacson
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lid does not stay up

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I would have read the reviews...I have bought many toilets and usually the new ones are all fine...but this design has a major issue, the tank and tank lid are too far forward making the toilet lid stand at barely 90 degrees, thus the lid falls down....I installed two of these and both the same problem, The Kolher people said to loosen the front screws on the tank and tighten the back one, although this does tilt the tank about 1 degree more and the lid stays for a second or two, but then the tank leaked too, so I had to tighten the tank to its level position...Kohler did refund me both toilets and now i am stuck throwing them out and installing something else. Its a major design flaw.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
Noname
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

PoorFlusher

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Too bad we didn't read the reviews about this toilet before we bought it. It does not flush with just a push of the lever. Instead you have to hold the lever down to get a good flush. I cannot recommend this toilet at all!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
BathroomReno
from Quincy, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awful toilet

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This toilet is terrible. Takes at least 2 flushes for solids and the seat doesnt stay up. We were also fooled by Home Depot's rating. Wish we had read the reviews...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
Whocaresaboutanickname
from Kansas City

Install trouble

PostedMay 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're going to buy this toilet buy 3 rubber ring/washers for the inside toilet bowl attachment bolts and maybe some wing nuts for them.
When I put the tank on the the bowl I didn't over tighten the nuts like the instructions said but it was leaking water through the rubber gasket. When I tightened it up to stop the leak it cracked the bowl, voiding the warranty.
Spend an extra $50 on something else or be prepared for comlications, or in my case $150 worth of junk.
One more thing to add the box says 3 easy bolts install in no time... if it were true it would come with wing nuts, instead you have to tighten the nuts with a wrench risking cracks.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
trombone
from Lexington, SC

foiled again

PostedOctober 21, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
What was supposed to be an upgrade from a standard toilet is in fact not. Looks good, sounds good, water flushes around like magic is about to happen....then comes flush # 2. Remnants remain so flush #3, with the handle held down longer finally clears the bowl. Can one return a used toilet?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
rocky
from Boulder, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY

PostedOctober 17, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The toilet seat will NOT stay up due to the poor design on the tank and lid. Tank flares outward and lid sticks out and pushes the seat back down. The ones on display have the same problem once we went back to get a new seat, thinking that was the problem. Then Kohler sent us a special seat -- and now 3 toilet seat changes later, the seat still won't stay up. Kohler now says the bolts on the tank were overtightened and we should call our installer back. No way an extra turn on a bolt can shift the whole tank forward to push the seat down. Basically this is very poor design and I would not recommend purchasing this model. If I could give this toilet a minus star, I would.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
Consumer

Avoid

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolutely do not buy this item. The seat bottom won't stay up. I have checked the installation carefully for level and parallel base and tank. Kohler customer service is slow and unresponsive. They do not directly answer questions. Very disappointed and regretful to have bought this ridiculous toilet. Don't make the same mistake. Look for another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
mwild00

Keep looking....

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The price and design look very good. Do yourself a favor and stay away from this toilet. I was dumb enough to buy it without looking at reviews. My three year old and stop up this toilet. And when he does it's a bear to unclog. After going #2 this toilet needs to be flushed multiple times because it leaves unwelcome guests floating around OR clogs up completely. Please -- Do yourself a favor and keep looking. You owe it to your plunger....
Pros: Sleek, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Depth, Comfortable
Cons: Quality, Performance
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
eg15
from MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor design leads to leaks and seat problems

PostedDecember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The 3 bolt connection between the tank and the bowl is the worst I've seen. After several attempts to take it apart and reseat so the leaking would stop, I had to resort to plumbers putty to seal around the bolts. And when you raise the seat, it falls back down so you have to hold the seat up when using the toilet. I imagine I'll be replacing this one before too long, but it will not be with another Sterling product.
Pros: Strong Water Pressure, Stylish
Cons: Leaks, Quality, seat doesn't stay up
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Stinson 2-Piece 1.28 GPF High Efficiency Elongated Toilet in White
Not2happy
from Omaha, NE, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One glaring design weakness

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tank-to-bowl connection is a very bad design. It leaked on the first try, and so I thought I had over-tightened the three bolts. I took the tank off and re-installed it using care not to over-tighten the bolts. It still leaked.
After close examination, I determined that there was no direct means to keep the rubber gasket from pushing out of the tank holes, and the design relies on a perfect mating of the tank and the bowl. The gasket at the front right bolt stubbornly refused to seat properly.
Fed up, I took the tank off and put a washer and nut on each bolt to hold the gasket up into each tank hole. It doesn't leak now.
I think the design is problematic and expect it to leak at some future point in time.
It seems to flush well, it looks nice and may even be very good quality, but I would not recommend this product due to the extremely difficult installation.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2