728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Shaped Windows or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen

Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen

The Tafco Octagon Window is manufactured with a heavy duty extruded fully welded main frame. The solid main frame insures a weather tight seal. Insulated glass and durable seals keep cold air out and warm air in. An Octagon window will enhance the curb appeal of your home by adding uniqueness to the overall design. The Tafco Octagon Window is the perfect choice for your new construction or remodeling needs.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product23 of 27reviews
Rating Breakdown 29 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(14)
4
(7)
3
(5)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product23 of 27reviews
Customer reviews for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
Review 1 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Rocky Mountain Region
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Little Window...Seems Well-Built

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are solid windows, and great for vaulted areas that need a little extra light or accent. My ratings were '5' all across the board except for 'Ease of Installation'. While this isn't an issue with the window itself, the purchaser should be aware that a little extra framing will be needed both inside and outside. Just think through the process a little before installing...how you will trim it outside with the various angles, and how the drywall will install around it on the inside.
We purchased it online. It came well-packed in lots of bubble wrap. Shipping time was a bit slow, but not bad.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Omaha
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Octogon Window

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The window was exactly what I wanted, was ease to install and goes prefectly in the house.
Pros: Easy to Install, Well Made
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from High desert... Idaho
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If looks matter... keep looking.

PostedApril 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I had to remove an old metal frame arch window on a stairway landing and wanted to keep the arch look without paying the big bucks 60” x 22” window would cost. I went with this one because I would not have to remove the header or cut the wall down further. However, I could have purchased a rectangular slider for about the same price and that’s probably what I should have done. The fit and finish on this is not what I’d expect in such a small window at nearly $100. the exterior trim is cut improperly and needs to be caulked. The interior of the window has terrible cuts on the metal that frame the glass… and it’s visible when you look through the window. The interior is a flat finish vinyl and seems to be missing a finish cap on it… there’s an open trough that runs around the entire window. Overall, pretty disappointed in the build quality and it’s not worth a 40-mile drive to return it. The good news is that shipping was free, it was very well packed and it arrived quickly. I would not recommend it if you are the least bit concerned about the points I mentioned… but since it’s about 10-feet off the ground the exterior imperfections won’t be noticed. You also need to be able to cut a series of pieces at 45-degree angles to make the frame.
Pros: Good Size & Fit
Cons: Quality, Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Chesterland, OH 44026, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value and simple to install

PostedJune 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a pair of these to install up high, near the roof peaks on a small lawn cottage I am building. They look great, especially now that the white vinyl siding is on. Note that the section thickness of the window frame is much narrower than a typical 4" stud wall, so you'll need to do a little bit of millwork on the inside of your building to trim the window frame out flush with your interior wall. I plan to miter up some pine boards and paint them white to match the window frame. I would buy these windows again and I think that they are a good value if you are looking for a custom accent to your project but don't want to spend a king's ransom. Note that there is a drain hole in the window frame, so you need to make sure you mount the window with the drain hole at the bottom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Chatham County, North Carolina

Octagon 22 in. Fixed Window Tafco

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I first went to the competing store and didn't find what I wanted. Saw this window online but had questions and was hoping to see one. Stopped at local H.D. store in Apex, NC and visited window dept. Window Dept. Manager there was extremely knowledgeable, helpful etc. Answered my questions. I went online at the store and ordered this window. Info online said delivery might take several days. It arrived in 2 days! Quality and construction appear excellent for the price. Only downside were the instructions included with the shipment. They were for a rectangular opening window. No info about the vent / drain holes, but lots of info on how to clean the window. Overall I am very pleased and now have it installed.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Pueblo, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Assembled with is NOT 21.75"

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this window and made the mistake of framing the opening to 21.75" assembled width. The ruff in opening is ACTUALLY 22.25 as per instructions that came with the window. Be forewarned. Okay so after RE-FRAMING the opening the window went in fine and we love it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Fit
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Richmond, VA

Perfect

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new bathroom has an 11 foot high sloping ceiling and a 5 x 7 floor space. The tub surround eliminated the planned window. I needed some natural light to avoid a cave feeling. This window sits 9 feet off the floor, was easy to install, (blocking out the octagon shape to fit the window requires intermediate carpentry skills) and provides the welcome lighting. I ordered it on a Monday and had it by Friday. In fact, ordering it online saved me money and the hassle of lugging it home. One of the best experiences I have had in a while.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Kingston, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I returned these windows due to overall poor quality

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
-Product was purchased online.
-Product looked much better in the picture but was not acceptable quality once received and inspected.
-Poor overall quality of the windown interior setting
-Did not install due to poor craftmanship of product.
-returned to store for refund.
Pros: Fits in Various Rooms
Cons: Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Charlotte, NC, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The window was exactly as advertised.

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I would highly recommend this window if you have a place for it. My builder had no problems with the installations. I would advise that the purchaser pay close attention to the instructions on how the window should be installed (open slots should be on the outside of window and see the red instructions on the bottom of the window that says "This part of window should be at the bottom).
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen

Thin nailing flange

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The nailing flange was broken on a corner upon arrival. It is very thin compared to other windows I have installed. The window installed easily and looks well in the house.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from ponte vedra
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good basic window

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No frills Octagon. Good product for the price. There are no detailed installation instructions included. If you have never installed a window there are many good online tutorials. This was a new install on an existing stucco wall. It went in with no issues. It should last a long time as it is made up of only glass and vinyl.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen

Meets specifications

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Fit properly in 22 inch opening. I'm told I need to write more. Fit properly in 22 inch opening.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Fit
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Amelia, OH
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exactly as expected

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got two octagon windows for our addition. They were the best value of any window I searched for in stores or online. They delivered super fast and FREE. Installation was a breeze (new construction is easy anyway, but no surprises here). Be sure to put the weeping hole at the bottom when installing. Beautiful and cost-effective. Thanks HD!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen

windows arrived earlier than expected and installation went well

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product gave the appearance and quanlity that we wanted in a new room addition. All is good so far!
Pros: Good Size & Fit
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from NM

good product, arrived damaged

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The second time it arrived damaged, I used the first one but sent the second one back when I saw the box was crushed like the previous one that arrived. Part of the flange was broken off on the first one.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Mendon, Vermont
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Reasonably priced replacement option

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This review is from:Vinyl Octagon Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass and Grids
I was looking for a replacement for a wood octagonal window that had deteriorated due to weather. This product doesn't allow me to open the window any longer but it was easy to install and seems like it will be impervious to weather.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Lancaster, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This window installs easily and looks nice.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Vinyl Octagon Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass and Grids
This window was installed between two overhead garage doors to let in some light. I had no problems with installation and it looks good from either side.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen

Great Purchase!

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Vinyl Octagon Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass and Grids
Window was easy to install. It looks great on our house!!
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from West Virginia, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good price, good product

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Vinyl Octagon Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass and Grids
Easy to install, great product for the price.
Shipped on only two days.
I Highly recommend this product.
Pros: Great Value, Well Made, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fixed Octagon Vinyl Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass - no screen
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

poor quality

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Vinyl Octagon Windows, 22 in x 22 in., White, with Dual Pane Insulated Glass and Grids
In for a month, already full of moisture between panes. You get what you pay for.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install
Cons: Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>