728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

65-Pint Dehumidifier

Designed to remove excess moisture from your home quietly and efficiently. A necessity for those suffering from dust mite, allergies or simply for those who want to keep their indoor humidity at a comfortable level. Air that is too damp can cause itchy skin and nasal passages, condensation on windows, water damage to materials, mold growth and rotting of wood materials in your home. SPT dehumidifiers remove moisture from the musty air so you can enjoy year-round comfort in your home or office. Humidity levels for this unit can be set as low as 35% with Normal or Turbo fan speed. Features a retractable lifting handle, washable air filter and casters for easy mobility.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(329 reviews) 329
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product245 of 305reviews
Rating Breakdown 329 reviews
4.1 out of 5
5
(177)
4
(87)
3
(12)
2
(16)
1
(37)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product245 of 305reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Review 41 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Pontiac, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks nice but very loud it kicks on

PostedMay 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading all the good reviews on this unit I bought it last spring of 2011 and had it in basement for 3 months, very loud when it kicks on, for 3 months it collect not one drop of moisture and then the unit went dead by the end of that summer. I was very dispointed, and returned back to home depot and got my refund but til this day I don't even know what brand to buy anymore.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Peoria, IL

Great Product/Good Price

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had this in continuous operation in our basement for about 90 days or so. Replaced a Sears model that was 7-8 yrs. old and had given up the ghost.
We're in Central IL so it's not like Southern humidity, but it did get hot and humid here this summer and this took all the damp, musty smell out of the basement. We also have a smaller unit in another room in the basement,and that helped, as well as central air.
It's below grade, it just gets damp and you have to control it, and this model did and is doing a great job.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Murphy NC
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It's a WOW

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had to replace a 12-year old dehumidier in my finished basement space - it was loud and rattling and running all the time. This unit is wonderful - quiet, efficient, gets the job done! I'm thrilled, and already see a dip in the power bill.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Durable, Powerful, High Quality, Nice Design
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product is Junk

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this SPT unit in the fall of 2011 I had one season use in my basement the next year the compressor lost its charge. out of warranty. cost more to repair than to buy New.
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Highland Park, NJ

Plug it in and go - easy to set up and run.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have been using new SPT 65-Pint Dehumidifier for several months. It's been trouble-free and it has worked admirably in drying out the air and removing damp smell in my full basement. If I set it at 55%, it usually fills in a day and needs to be emptied. Usually, however, I let it run at 60% just to freshen the air. Be aware that the unit does give off heat, so keep it out in the open floor. Although it is fairly heavy it has rollers and is easy to move around.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quiet and efficient

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have had this unit for about a month. Thus far, it has kept approximately 1000 square feet of our 1750 sq. ft. basement at the 45% humidity level very quietly and efficiently. I run it on turbo setting all of the time. I will probably get another unit for the remaining part of the basement.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, Quiet, efficient
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Florida

spt 65pt dehumidifier

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I installed this in my attic in August 2010. It is set at 55 percent and it maintains an l800 sf attic at about 61 percent which is good for this climate (fla). It runs quietly can't even tell it is up there. I cut it into my a/c line so ino problems emptying it. It has a power mode but haven't used it due to heat it creates (Fla is hot enuf w/o adding to it.) Very satisfied with the unit, would definitely recommend it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

Answer to our prayers!!!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We cannot tell you how happy we are with this purchase. Our basement LEAKS. Musty smells, Water on the floor. Not any more, thanks to this wonderful machine. We even tried diffusers, which got overpowered by the musty smell. Now we can smell our "Fresh Linen" diffusers as soon as we open the door. We would highly recommend it to friends, heck, to strangers too. Thank you so much.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Baltimore, MD

Seems to be chugging great.

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I went with this dehumidifier after reading the reviews. I've been through 3 prior ones in the last 10 years. The last 2were another well recognized name brand. The first lasted 11.3 months and I was able to get a free replacement which lasted 14 months. I too was skeptical about never hearing about this brand. After first starting to use it I was not so sure I made a good choice. It spent alot of time in defrost mode taking the basement from 55% to 40% humidity which made me think I bought a lemon. Now that it has stablized after a week, I rarely hear it run. I think the defrost mode is an advantage over other models ... maybe. All prior one only counted humidity in increments of 5, this one tracks in single digits. It has a regular fan speed which is quiet and turbo mode. I have a super humid basement (below water tables) and regular fan mode seems to be fine. Hopefully in a few years I'll be even more happy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

This product does a great job

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I never knew how much humidity was in my house until I purchased this product. It does a great job of pulling the moisture out of the air. When my central air is running I have to empty the container at least once a day. Love it..the basement feels so much better now. The bedroom downstairs feels so much drier. I would strongly recommend this dehumidifier.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

Great Product So Far

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Have used this product for a year and an half after years of coaxing and cursing a similar unit from another company and so far it has worked great. I was so used to having to do something to the old unit that I have sort of held my breath waiting for the other shoe to drop, you might say, on this one. It maintains the humidity level you set and "eases" into operation which must certainly protect the compressor system as claimed in the specs. The only operation I would change, if in a perfect universe, would be to have a timer on the unit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

High energy user

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
As far as removing moisture this unit works great. I keep the unit at 45% and it goes on and off as needed. I haven’t tried continuous drain but the bucket holds 10 liters which is pretty substantial. The auto shut-off is a wonderful feature.
My gripe is it is noisy if using in your main living space. I do not have a basement to store this and wasn’t expecting it to be so loud, can’t have in the same room as radio or TV. This is running on normal mode not turbo.
My other issue is energy efficient or not it uses 710watts per hour which is high. I run this 24/7 and tacked on $55 to my monthly energy bill. I wish I’d researched energy use prior to purchase and gone with something more affordable.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

Product Works Great

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product works great!! Made my wet basemant dry in a matter of a few days. Now we just leave it set at 65 and its perfect.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Connecticut

Nice strong unit

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This unit is packed extremely well. It was double boxed and easy setup. The hardest part was sliding the plastic hose over the fittings to use a drain hose instead of the bucket. Don't lose the 2 small screws to fasten the connector to the back of the unit.
My basement was very damp, musty smell. I had 2 units from another well known retailer that died in that environment. In a week this unit dried it out to 32% humidity when I last checked it.It started at 80%. My walls are dry and I am very happy, not frustrated anymore
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

Dehumidifier is great

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Running great. Easy set-up. Non-stop operational in my basement since May 2011, even thru this miserable wet summer!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Northwest WA

Beware!

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bad reviews of this product point out the same failings. Like these others, my product now spends more time in defrost than anything else, and it has stopped removing moisture from the air. I purchased this without noticing there is NO 5-year warranty coverage on the closed system; better-quality units all have the 5-year coverage. Don't waste your month on this one!
Cons: stopped working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good dehumifier

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had many dehumifiers (70 pint) of another brand and all of them had the condenser quit in a year or so. It was time to try something new and I am very happy with this SPT dehumifier. It is much quieter and it doesn't cause all my lights to dim when it kicks on. So far, so good. I have a century old house and dampness comes through the floor. This has done very well. I was nervous to have it shipped but it came in great condition.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Iowa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

65 pint dehumidifier

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So far, I am very happy with my purchase of this dehumidifier. It was easy to hook-up because it uses a garden hose instead of the plastic tubing, or you can use the tub, which has to be emptied. It is very quiet and no vibration. The instructions could have been more detailed. I had to figure out that I did not want the continuous running. I prefer to set the humidity level and it runs only until it reaches that level. With continuous running, I could not set the level and the room became too warm from the unit running all of the time. This unit is so much quieter than the one it replaced. Like it a lot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

overall it seems to do the job

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It does remove moisture from my basement but I wish I had more control with the settings. Instructions say it is preset for 60 but yet it keeps running when the reading is in the low 50s, why does it not stop? The defrost mode seems to be running more than the regular running of taking the humidity out of the basement. I don't understand that. I can't just leave it on and trust it to stop at a low humidity level and only kick in when it needs to. Only been using it for about a month, had to wait until humidity built up in the basement.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Alton, IL

WORKS GREAT!

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product after reading others opinions. Boy, were they ever right! Love this machine. Came within 5 days, easy to set up, and dried my water puddles within a few hours using turbo setting. It has been on continuous ever since and my basement is nice & dry. The machine is not even loud. When I close my basement door, I cannot hear it. I would definitely recommend this to my friends!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 17 >>