728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

65-Pint Dehumidifier

Designed to remove excess moisture from your home quietly and efficiently. A necessity for those suffering from dust mite, allergies or simply for those who want to keep their indoor humidity at a comfortable level. Air that is too damp can cause itchy skin and nasal passages, condensation on windows, water damage to materials, mold growth and rotting of wood materials in your home. SPT dehumidifiers remove moisture from the musty air so you can enjoy year-round comfort in your home or office. Humidity levels for this unit can be set as low as 35% with Normal or Turbo fan speed. Features a retractable lifting handle, washable air filter and casters for easy mobility.
Overall rating:
4.201 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(314 reviews) 314
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product244 of 290reviews
Rating Breakdown 314 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(176)
4
(87)
3
(12)
2
(16)
1
(23)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product244 of 290reviews
Customer reviews for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Review 41 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Highland Park, NJ

Plug it in and go - easy to set up and run.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have been using new SPT 65-Pint Dehumidifier for several months. It's been trouble-free and it has worked admirably in drying out the air and removing damp smell in my full basement. If I set it at 55%, it usually fills in a day and needs to be emptied. Usually, however, I let it run at 60% just to freshen the air. Be aware that the unit does give off heat, so keep it out in the open floor. Although it is fairly heavy it has rollers and is easy to move around.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

Great Product So Far

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used this product for a year and an half after years of coaxing and cursing a similar unit from another company and so far it has worked great. I was so used to having to do something to the old unit that I have sort of held my breath waiting for the other shoe to drop, you might say, on this one. It maintains the humidity level you set and "eases" into operation which must certainly protect the compressor system as claimed in the specs. The only operation I would change, if in a perfect universe, would be to have a timer on the unit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Florida

spt 65pt dehumidifier

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this in my attic in August 2010. It is set at 55 percent and it maintains an l800 sf attic at about 61 percent which is good for this climate (fla). It runs quietly can't even tell it is up there. I cut it into my a/c line so ino problems emptying it. It has a power mode but haven't used it due to heat it creates (Fla is hot enuf w/o adding to it.) Very satisfied with the unit, would definitely recommend it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

This product does a great job

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never knew how much humidity was in my house until I purchased this product. It does a great job of pulling the moisture out of the air. When my central air is running I have to empty the container at least once a day. Love it..the basement feels so much better now. The bedroom downstairs feels so much drier. I would strongly recommend this dehumidifier.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

Answer to our prayers!!!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We cannot tell you how happy we are with this purchase. Our basement LEAKS. Musty smells, Water on the floor. Not any more, thanks to this wonderful machine. We even tried diffusers, which got overpowered by the musty smell. Now we can smell our "Fresh Linen" diffusers as soon as we open the door. We would highly recommend it to friends, heck, to strangers too. Thank you so much.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Baltimore, MD

Seems to be chugging great.

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went with this dehumidifier after reading the reviews. I've been through 3 prior ones in the last 10 years. The last 2were another well recognized name brand. The first lasted 11.3 months and I was able to get a free replacement which lasted 14 months. I too was skeptical about never hearing about this brand. After first starting to use it I was not so sure I made a good choice. It spent alot of time in defrost mode taking the basement from 55% to 40% humidity which made me think I bought a lemon. Now that it has stablized after a week, I rarely hear it run. I think the defrost mode is an advantage over other models ... maybe. All prior one only counted humidity in increments of 5, this one tracks in single digits. It has a regular fan speed which is quiet and turbo mode. I have a super humid basement (below water tables) and regular fan mode seems to be fine. Hopefully in a few years I'll be even more happy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

High energy user

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
As far as removing moisture this unit works great. I keep the unit at 45% and it goes on and off as needed. I haven’t tried continuous drain but the bucket holds 10 liters which is pretty substantial. The auto shut-off is a wonderful feature.
My gripe is it is noisy if using in your main living space. I do not have a basement to store this and wasn’t expecting it to be so loud, can’t have in the same room as radio or TV. This is running on normal mode not turbo.
My other issue is energy efficient or not it uses 710watts per hour which is high. I run this 24/7 and tacked on $55 to my monthly energy bill. I wish I’d researched energy use prior to purchase and gone with something more affordable.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

Product Works Great

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works great!! Made my wet basemant dry in a matter of a few days. Now we just leave it set at 65 and its perfect.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

Dehumidifier is great

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Running great. Easy set-up. Non-stop operational in my basement since May 2011, even thru this miserable wet summer!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Connecticut

Nice strong unit

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This unit is packed extremely well. It was double boxed and easy setup. The hardest part was sliding the plastic hose over the fittings to use a drain hose instead of the bucket. Don't lose the 2 small screws to fasten the connector to the back of the unit.
My basement was very damp, musty smell. I had 2 units from another well known retailer that died in that environment. In a week this unit dried it out to 32% humidity when I last checked it.It started at 80%. My walls are dry and I am very happy, not frustrated anymore
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Westmont, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Best dehumidifier ever!

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am very happy with my dehumidifier. I was considering a smaller one but glad I didn't. I use it in my garage and it keeps things nice and dry. I use the distilled water it creates for my plants. Glad I ordered and bought this product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality, Nice Design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good dehumifier

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had many dehumifiers (70 pint) of another brand and all of them had the condenser quit in a year or so. It was time to try something new and I am very happy with this SPT dehumifier. It is much quieter and it doesn't cause all my lights to dim when it kicks on. So far, so good. I have a century old house and dampness comes through the floor. This has done very well. I was nervous to have it shipped but it came in great condition.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does the job!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had this dehumidifier for 2 weeks, but it removes moisture from the air quickly. Here are a few of the things that concern me: the bucket is awkward to empty. The interior handle on the bucket doesn't seem like it can handle the weight of the water. It is heavy when full. I try to hold on to the sides and empty it, but that is awkward too. I don't have the option of hooking up the continuous flow using a hose. This machine removes the humidity fast and I am emptying it twice a day easily. I am amazed at how quickly it works!! It does blow "warm" air from the top of the unit, but my basement is 1400 sq. ft. so it only affects the area slightly with making it warmer. I noticed that comment on other customer reviews as well. It would not deter me from buying another one. It is quiet, even in turbo mode, especially compared to my previous unit. It was easy to install, just a little heavy to carry downstairs. If you want to remove a lot of moisture from the air, this is a great unit. My only advice, place it where you can hook up a hose to drain or you will get a workout emptying the bucket!!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, Good Size & Fit
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Iowa
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

65 pint dehumidifier

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far, I am very happy with my purchase of this dehumidifier. It was easy to hook-up because it uses a garden hose instead of the plastic tubing, or you can use the tub, which has to be emptied. It is very quiet and no vibration. The instructions could have been more detailed. I had to figure out that I did not want the continuous running. I prefer to set the humidity level and it runs only until it reaches that level. With continuous running, I could not set the level and the room became too warm from the unit running all of the time. This unit is so much quieter than the one it replaced. Like it a lot.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from upstate New York

Worked great for 8 months

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Worked great in our basement for 8 months, then one day there was no power to it. I did my homework before buying this and it was one of the best rated, but I am disappointed that it didn't last longer. Unfortunately, I don't think any of them are made to last more than a year.
Pros: Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well while operating

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Process for attaching hose does not work well. The attachment tools are inferior.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: see review
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Shorewood, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

What a Powerhouse! Love it!

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I knew my basement was damp. . . but this is ridiculous! This dehumidifier sucks 65-pints of water out of the basement air in less than 12 hours! It's amazing! Absolutely no problem setting it up, but it's so efficient I think I have to install a continuous drain hose. I highly recommend this product to anyone who has a humidity problem in their home!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Unit!

PostedSeptember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This dehumidifier is worth every penny I paid for it. It's VERY quiet and really efficient. It runs constantly because my basement is very damp, yet my electric bill hasn't noticed at all thanks to the EnergyStar rating!
If I had to point out one downfall, it would be that the drain hose is extremely difficult to hook up and I've given up after several failed attempts. The hose is a short length of clear plastic tubing that you're supposed to slide onto a port. It's at such an angle that I had to lay on my back to get it on and apparently I didn't do a good enough job because it ended up draining on the floor anyway. Oh well. If that's my biggest complaint, I don't have much to complain about!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Alton, IL

WORKS GREAT!

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this product after reading others opinions. Boy, were they ever right! Love this machine. Came within 5 days, easy to set up, and dried my water puddles within a few hours using turbo setting. It has been on continuous ever since and my basement is nice & dry. The machine is not even loud. When I close my basement door, I cannot hear it. I would definitely recommend this to my friends!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
from Iowa

Product is working well

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this 65 pint dehumidifier to replace my 20 year old 40 pint machine that was freezing up if the basement temp was below 70 degrees. My basement is where the machine sits. The sq. footage of my basement is 810 sq/ft. I have the machine set at 50% humidity and my hygrometer on the other side of the wall stays consistently at 44% at approx. 68-70 degrees. I'm located in Iowa, and I normally only run the machine from May to October.
I'd estimate the noise from the new machine to be about a third quieter than my old one, at the normal setting. The TURBO setting is significantly louder. I wouldn't want to be in the same room with this machine running at normal speed, but that may apply to any dehumidifier.
I have installed the continuous drain hose and have never used the bucket, so I can't say how easily the removal/dump/re-install is on an ongoing basis. Installing the clear tube onto the drain elbow and threaded drain plug was a slight challenge, and the two tiny screws holding the threaded drain plug could have been longer. One screw doesn't quite catch the frame very well.
The controls are all up front and easy to use. The machine took 24 hours, running continuously, to lower my humidity from 62% to 44% at 69 degrees. It now cycles on and off as needed. I measured the output during this time to be approx 1 pint an hour. (Please realize the 65 pint rating is from a controlled lab environment with specific continuous humidity and temp conditions. Regardless, I'm very happy with its volume of output.)
I was a little surprised to see the exhaust air is directed directly up, whereas my other machines have always vented horizontally.
So far I'm happy with its performance, but I want to see how long it will last.
I'd recommend this product for ease of setup, the controls location, and generally quieter operation at the normal setting. It too has good water volume output.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>