728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dehumidifiers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 65-Pint Dehumidifier

65-Pint Dehumidifier

Designed to remove excess moisture from your home quietly and efficiently. A necessity for those suffering from dust mite, allergies or simply for those who want to keep their indoor humidity at a comfortable level. Air that is too damp can cause itchy skin and nasal passages, condensation on windows, water damage to materials, mold growth and rotting of wood materials in your home. SPT dehumidifiers remove moisture from the musty air so you can enjoy year-round comfort in your home or office. Humidity levels for this unit can be set as low as 35% with Normal or Turbo fan speed. Features a retractable lifting handle, washable air filter and casters for easy mobility.
Overall rating:
4.213 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(305 reviews) 305
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product237 of 281reviews
Rating Breakdown 305 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(172)
4
(85)
3
(11)
2
(15)
1
(22)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product237 of 281reviews
Customer reviews for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Review 41 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
67ythg

It seems to work reasonably well, for now at least.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This dehumidifier, unlike a competitor brand, works reasonably well. It turns on and off on command and certainly dehumidifies the air. The only complaint I have is that it seems to go into "P1" mode quite a lot (sort of like defrost). In reading the literature it seems this is "normal" when running the machine in temps under 88 degrees which near Seattle is always. I only use it during the winter in an attempt to minimize the sweating of my aluminum frame windows, & I have no definite answer to that question to date since I have only been using it for two months. It runs well, is quite audible, but not overly loud. Additionally, it doesn't seem to effect the electric bill to any great degree. I appreciate its apparent dependability, but like I said, I have only been using it for a short time. The only other complaint I have is that the cost seemed high, but after my other experience with a comparably priced machine from a competitor(Freidrich) I am thankful that it seems to work reasonably well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Mayor
from Marlborough, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Quickly removed moisture from our 1100 sq ft home on a slab.

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product that effectively and quickly removes moisture from our small ranch home. Does make more noise than expected when in defrost mode.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Jerryq1000
from Peoria, IL

Great Product/Good Price

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We've had this in continuous operation in our basement for about 90 days or so. Replaced a Sears model that was 7-8 yrs. old and had given up the ghost.
We're in Central IL so it's not like Southern humidity, but it did get hot and humid here this summer and this took all the damp, musty smell out of the basement. We also have a smaller unit in another room in the basement,and that helped, as well as central air.
It's below grade, it just gets damp and you have to control it, and this model did and is doing a great job.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
SadCustomer
from Flint MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One Year Dehumidifier

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Heed the warnings of the other reviewers who had their unit fail after a year or so of operation. My unit worked wonderfully as long as it worked, which was just over the warranty period. Stopped recovering water and got louder, so opened it up to see if there was a visible problem. Compressor pooped out, and as the other reviewers sadly discovered, cost of repair exceeds the price of a new one. It has to be shipped back to them (California) for $150, and then the repair costs begin. Still looking for a dehumidifier whose life expectancy isn't measured in minutes.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
pepsi
from north carolina
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very satisfied with this product

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy set up. quiet operation. container easy to empty.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
artinthepark
from Highland Park, NJ

Plug it in and go - easy to set up and run.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have been using new SPT 65-Pint Dehumidifier for several months. It's been trouble-free and it has worked admirably in drying out the air and removing damp smell in my full basement. If I set it at 55%, it usually fills in a day and needs to be emptied. Usually, however, I let it run at 60% just to freshen the air. Be aware that the unit does give off heat, so keep it out in the open floor. Although it is fairly heavy it has rollers and is easy to move around.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Drier

Great Product So Far

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used this product for a year and an half after years of coaxing and cursing a similar unit from another company and so far it has worked great. I was so used to having to do something to the old unit that I have sort of held my breath waiting for the other shoe to drop, you might say, on this one. It maintains the humidity level you set and "eases" into operation which must certainly protect the compressor system as claimed in the specs. The only operation I would change, if in a perfect universe, would be to have a timer on the unit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
DZone
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Avoid it like the plague! This is the worst humidifier I've ever owned.

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 2 units at the same time to be used in the basement of my house. The first one I opened was dead on arrival. The second unit worked great but the control panel started to separate from the main body of the humidifier after 3 hours of use. The bucket is very difficult to replace. I've purchased 5 dehumidifiers over the last 15 years and SPT brand is the cheapest unit I've ever used.
Do yourself a favor and buy a different product.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, cheap!!, poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Trish

This product does a great job

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never knew how much humidity was in my house until I purchased this product. It does a great job of pulling the moisture out of the air. When my central air is running I have to empty the container at least once a day. Love it..the basement feels so much better now. The bedroom downstairs feels so much drier. I would strongly recommend this dehumidifier.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
OR61

High energy user

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
As far as removing moisture this unit works great. I keep the unit at 45% and it goes on and off as needed. I haven’t tried continuous drain but the bucket holds 10 liters which is pretty substantial. The auto shut-off is a wonderful feature.
My gripe is it is noisy if using in your main living space. I do not have a basement to store this and wasn’t expecting it to be so loud, can’t have in the same room as radio or TV. This is running on normal mode not turbo.
My other issue is energy efficient or not it uses 710watts per hour which is high. I run this 24/7 and tacked on $55 to my monthly energy bill. I wish I’d researched energy use prior to purchase and gone with something more affordable.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Steviebnbud

Answer to our prayers!!!

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We cannot tell you how happy we are with this purchase. Our basement LEAKS. Musty smells, Water on the floor. Not any more, thanks to this wonderful machine. We even tried diffusers, which got overpowered by the musty smell. Now we can smell our "Fresh Linen" diffusers as soon as we open the door. We would highly recommend it to friends, heck, to strangers too. Thank you so much.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
musical1
from Florida

spt 65pt dehumidifier

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed this in my attic in August 2010. It is set at 55 percent and it maintains an l800 sf attic at about 61 percent which is good for this climate (fla). It runs quietly can't even tell it is up there. I cut it into my a/c line so ino problems emptying it. It has a power mode but haven't used it due to heat it creates (Fla is hot enuf w/o adding to it.) Very satisfied with the unit, would definitely recommend it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
DoItYourselfer
from Baltimore, MD

Seems to be chugging great.

PostedMarch 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went with this dehumidifier after reading the reviews. I've been through 3 prior ones in the last 10 years. The last 2were another well recognized name brand. The first lasted 11.3 months and I was able to get a free replacement which lasted 14 months. I too was skeptical about never hearing about this brand. After first starting to use it I was not so sure I made a good choice. It spent alot of time in defrost mode taking the basement from 55% to 40% humidity which made me think I bought a lemon. Now that it has stablized after a week, I rarely hear it run. I think the defrost mode is an advantage over other models ... maybe. All prior one only counted humidity in increments of 5, this one tracks in single digits. It has a regular fan speed which is quiet and turbo mode. I have a super humid basement (below water tables) and regular fan mode seems to be fine. Hopefully in a few years I'll be even more happy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
HappP
from Chardon, OH 44024, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does the job!!

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had this dehumidifier for 2 weeks, but it removes moisture from the air quickly. Here are a few of the things that concern me: the bucket is awkward to empty. The interior handle on the bucket doesn't seem like it can handle the weight of the water. It is heavy when full. I try to hold on to the sides and empty it, but that is awkward too. I don't have the option of hooking up the continuous flow using a hose. This machine removes the humidity fast and I am emptying it twice a day easily. I am amazed at how quickly it works!! It does blow "warm" air from the top of the unit, but my basement is 1400 sq. ft. so it only affects the area slightly with making it warmer. I noticed that comment on other customer reviews as well. It would not deter me from buying another one. It is quiet, even in turbo mode, especially compared to my previous unit. It was easy to install, just a little heavy to carry downstairs. If you want to remove a lot of moisture from the air, this is a great unit. My only advice, place it where you can hook up a hose to drain or you will get a workout emptying the bucket!!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Powerful, Good Size & Fit
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Monl

does the job

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This system does what it claims and helped to bring down the humidity level in our new basement from 70 to under 45.
The only downside is that it doesn't work well now because of the cold weather - coils keep freezing up. But when spring comes around again we'll put it back on and feel confident the basement will be dry
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
BOZZ
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality appliance

PostedJune 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set up and operate. Dehumidifies about 1200 sq. ft. with ease. Auto de-icing is a nice feature as is the auto humidistat. Unit is not as quiet as others but it is so effective I can easily overlook this. Shipping was pretty quick. It did lower my electric bill about 5%. I would highly recommend this unit.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Mike
from Seattle
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well, for a month.

PostedOctober 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these in August and it worked very well, turning a damp basement into a dry one. But after a month I noticed the humidity readings going up and the machine ran all the time, but had stopped sucking water out of the air. Thankfully, it was within HD's 90 day return period for which I am grateful. Also, it is worth noting, that it was very loud. I could hear it on the second floor with the basement door closed.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, loud
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
PghShawn

Product Works Great

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works great!! Made my wet basemant dry in a matter of a few days. Now we just leave it set at 65 and its perfect.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
cat6710
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good dehumifier

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had many dehumifiers (70 pint) of another brand and all of them had the condenser quit in a year or so. It was time to try something new and I am very happy with this SPT dehumifier. It is much quieter and it doesn't cause all my lights to dim when it kicks on. So far, so good. I have a century old house and dampness comes through the floor. This has done very well. I was nervous to have it shipped but it came in great condition.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 65-Pint Dehumidifier
Kate

Dehumidifier is great

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Running great. Easy set-up. Non-stop operational in my basement since May 2011, even thru this miserable wet summer!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 16 >>