728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

The Makita 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder has a labyrinth construction that seals and protects the motor and bearings from dust and debris for a long life, with an additional, protective zigzag varnish that seals the motor from contaminants by forming a barrier under rotation. This UL-listed grinder provides high-output power with its 7.5 Amp motor that maintains a 10,000 RPM speed to produce excellent grinding with a 2-1/2 in. small-circumference, barrel-grip handle for added comfort. All ball-bearing design and metal gear housing provide durability.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product8 of 9reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Review 1 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Milwaukee , wisconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

professional

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I own a 4" makita grinder and love
It. I needed a backup , and I didn't
Even think twice to buy makita again.
I upgraded to a 4-1/2 inch and am even
More impressed.
Truly professional quality !!
Sometimes hard to find at typical retail.
New customer for life.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, welders, metal working
Cons: needs different spanner wrench
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Glendale, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What was I thinking?

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Big projects require adequate tools. I've been chopping parts off an old Honda motorcycle using my trusty ol' Dremel MultiPro, mostly for lame budgetary reasons (logic was to use what tools I have) and it was taking forever. Cutting parts off not only took forever with my Dremel, as you could imagine, but I had to go back and clean it all up with some tiny stone and sandpaper bits... Enough was enough and sure I had my choice of going the budget Harbor Freight route as many do but Makita is such a trusted name and for good reason. Easy to unpack and go. It's pretty quiet too considering I'm chopping stuff off (I do wear earplugs anyway). This angle grinder has been the best purchase I made in a while. I know I'll be getting a lot more use out of it. I love it.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Great tool, good value

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grinder has efficiently done tile, grout and plaster removal during demolition, concrete floor cutting, and cutting into brick walls without skipping a beat. It has a simple and robust means for adjustment (e.g. handle and shield) and wheel changes. This is a solid performer.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Gloversville, NY

excellent

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this grinder to do body work on my rusting 1990 Ford Ranger. Is holding up great and doesn't overheat like many grinders in this price range. Excellent product for price!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Great

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best Grinder for the money... Own a fabrication shop and we grind all day. Out performs the other brands by months
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Louisville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My purchase

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

Excellent grinder

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recommend the Makita 4-1/2in. to everyone looking for a small grinder.
No need to constantly hold trigger to keep on.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Jackson, SC 29831, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this once, (have owned them before) but it works great, perfect for the job I had to do. will be coming back for more grinding blades and accessories, for this
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Chico, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so so

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i've used lots of different angle grinders heard alot of good about makita I bought a brand new one in the middle of June and went out on me the first week of september got another reconditioned one for half the price of a new one and it lasted about two weeks so gonna try a different one next i was using it to grind down welds and cut some metal for a restoration jobs im working on
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Angle Grinder

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very please with quality, performance and price of this tool.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.