728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Grinders or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

The Makita 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder has a labyrinth construction that seals and protects the motor and bearings from dust and debris for a long life, with an additional, protective zigzag varnish that seals the motor from contaminants by forming a barrier under rotation. This UL-listed grinder provides high-output power with its 7.5-Amp motor that maintains a 10,000 RPM speed to produce excellent grinding with a 2-1/2 in. small-circumference, barrel-grip handle for added comfort. All ball-bearing design and metal gear housing provide durability.
Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(14)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product13 of 15reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Review 1 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Best Grinder I have Ever Owned!

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use this grinder daily working with metal. I have put probably 500 hours on it, and have never had any issues. I have even used it with a paint disk to strip a car and despite the air ducts being clogged from paint it never over heated!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Denver CO
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked fine!

PostedAugust 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought the grinder to remove half inch bolts that were imbedded in concrete base that held a deck together. It ground off the bolts in no time. My buddy who used the grinder loved it so much he wanted to take it from me! No lie! I love Makita tools. I was a Dewalt guy but Makita seems to make better products. Besides, I like blue better than that obnoxious yellow that Dewalt prefers.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Great price

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Top quality product.all the power that you will need.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Glendale, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What was I thinking?

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Big projects require adequate tools. I've been chopping parts off an old Honda motorcycle using my trusty ol' Dremel MultiPro, mostly for lame budgetary reasons (logic was to use what tools I have) and it was taking forever. Cutting parts off not only took forever with my Dremel, as you could imagine, but I had to go back and clean it all up with some tiny stone and sandpaper bits... Enough was enough and sure I had my choice of going the budget Harbor Freight route as many do but Makita is such a trusted name and for good reason. Easy to unpack and go. It's pretty quiet too considering I'm chopping stuff off (I do wear earplugs anyway). This angle grinder has been the best purchase I made in a while. I know I'll be getting a lot more use out of it. I love it.
Pros: Powerful, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Milwaukee , wisconsin
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

professional

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I own a 4" makita grinder and love
It. I needed a backup , and I didn't
Even think twice to buy makita again.
I upgraded to a 4-1/2 inch and am even
More impressed.
Truly professional quality !!
Sometimes hard to find at typical retail.
New customer for life.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting, welders, metal working
Cons: needs different spanner wrench
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Great tool, good value

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This grinder has efficiently done tile, grout and plaster removal during demolition, concrete floor cutting, and cutting into brick walls without skipping a beat. It has a simple and robust means for adjustment (e.g. handle and shield) and wheel changes. This is a solid performer.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Gloversville, NY

excellent

PostedJuly 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am using this grinder to do body work on my rusting 1990 Ford Ranger. Is holding up great and doesn't overheat like many grinders in this price range. Excellent product for price!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder

Great

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best Grinder for the money... Own a fabrication shop and we grind all day. Out performs the other brands by months
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a Beast

PostedMarch 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought my Makita 4 1/2" angle grinder about 10 years ago for tiling projects. I still have it and still use it for cutting tile as well as a lot of other purposes. It's a beast and if I ever need another angle grinder, Makita will be my first and only choice.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA

Excellent grinder

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recommend the Makita 4-1/2in. to everyone looking for a small grinder.
No need to constantly hold trigger to keep on.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Angle Grinder

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this because my brother has had one for years and loves it. Reliable and good value.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Wilmington, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedNovember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm usually a fan of Makita. I have an impact & hammerdrill I've put through heck & they are still going strong. This angle grinder is another story. I did minimal work with it, maybe 4 hours of grinding & cutting brackets off a Jeep & axle & the drive gear completely stripped out of it. Hopefully it was just a defective one, but I will be getting a Milwaukee for the replacement while this one gets repaired.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Chico, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so so

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i've used lots of different angle grinders heard alot of good about makita I bought a brand new one in the middle of June and went out on me the first week of september got another reconditioned one for half the price of a new one and it lasted about two weeks so gonna try a different one next i was using it to grind down welds and cut some metal for a restoration jobs im working on
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Louisville
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

My purchase

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Jackson, SC 29831, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used this once, (have owned them before) but it works great, perfect for the job I had to do. will be coming back for more grinding blades and accessories, for this
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 7.5-Amp 4-1/2 in. Angle Grinder
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Angle Grinder

PostedNovember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very please with quality, performance and price of this tool.
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.