728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile

209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile

Shanko Nail up decorative metal wall & ceiling tiles are manufactured in the USA by the original tin ceiling company dating back to 1896. The 2 x 4 nail up tiles overlap each other for a quick and easy direct apply to wood furring strips or plywood. Perfect for remodeling or a new construction. Shanko tiles are made from original turn of the century, sand casted dies instantly giving any installation instant authenticity. Don't settle for plastic when you can have the real thing. Finishes include bare steel (for self finishing) white, clear lacquer, brass, copper, chrome, and stainless. Our stainless tiles come 18.5 x 48.5 and are perfect for backsplash applications.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product12 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product12 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
Review 1 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
Craig
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

This product looks beautiful!

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After removing a closet and part of a wall out of our entryway, we found that the header had made the ceiling horribly uneven. While looking at our options, we came across these ceiling tiles. We went to Home Depot, unfortunately they don't carry them in store, but they ordered it for us that day. Three days later the tiles arrived and we were ready to install. Installation was very easy using tin snips, nails and a partner. I added crown molding to give it a professional/finished look. It looks absolutely beautiful and reflects the light in our small space. We are now looking for other places we can use it!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight, reflects light
Cons: sharp edges
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
Buzz
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Met my needs

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used two tiles for a heat shield on a wall behind my woodstove. Works great and have received many comments about how nice it looks.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
JHiggins

This product was exactly how it was featured on the website

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love the product - worked perfectly. Used ceiling tin for cabinet insert and turned out beautiful.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
Mike
from Killingworth, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

perfect match to product replacing

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product matched perfectly to what I already had.. It was easy to put up. The quality of the product was good.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
frankie1
from baltimore

metal panels

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
product is everything it should be and not to hard to work with, looks great, unfinished panels- says in description that they have a protective coating- they do not. plan on painting or clear coating. also the decorative nails are very expensive, but they add more dimension to the finish and are worth the extra.
we almost bought the plastic version, but they didn't fit in with our decor
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
gg1946
from Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to work with.

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using for a backsplash. Limited tools necessary to do the job. Very fast shipping. The speed surprised me.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
maggie
from Bakersfield, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT FEATURES

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
put this product up in my kitchen. It reflects the light back down into the working area and makes the kitchen so much brighter and easer to work in.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
Mary
from Elk Grove, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very easy to use and instant gratification.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:209 Lacquer Finish Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-Up Ceiling Tile
I used this product to decorate my vintage camper.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
BoilingD
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Beautiful addition to kitchen ceiling

PostedApril 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:209 Lacquer Finish Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-Up Ceiling Tile
We used these tin ceiling panels on a 4'x8' section of recessed kitchen ceiling. It looks spectacular and is a really excellent quality product at a great price. It was relatively easy to put up. My only gripe would be that they don't include the special nails you need to actually attach it to your ceiling, and they don't mention on the product page that you need these special nails. We only figured this out when the product arrived & my contractor called the company . Even after that, I couldn't find these nails on the Home Depot website. We had to call customer service and order them. Would have saved a lot of time if the information was on the product page in the first place.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
Cons: No Instructions, don't forget to order special nails
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
Silver1
from Beaumont, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Beautiful, high quality product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:209 Lacquer Finish Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-Up Ceiling Tile
We replaced two recessed fluorescent lights in our kitchen with these tiles. They were the same size as the lights that were remove:. We added pendant lights in the center of the tiles and the effect is beautiful. I am so glad we went with these rather than the plastic ones that are readily found. These are the real deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
backsplash

looks great

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:209 Lacquer Finish Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-Up Ceiling Tile
Looks good easy to cut. Installing was easy. This is still too short
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Straight, Good Shape, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 209 Unfinished Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-up Ceiling Tile
Tony63
from staten island

Tin Ceiling

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:209 Lacquer Finish Steel 2 ft. x 4 ft. Nail-Up Ceiling Tile
Best way to make your room look like aTribeca loft without the $1,000,000 price tag
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.