728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)

14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)

For your next contracting or home interior design project select the 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack), featuring a tongue-and-groove design for reduced application time.
Overall rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
62%of customersrecommend this product5 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
62%of customersrecommend this product5 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)
Review 1 for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)
from Brick N.J
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad Product

PostedJune 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Most of the panels are unusable due to holes along the tongue, groove or middle of the panel. Panels cup as soon as they are removed from package. Pieces are almost impossible to join. Tried installing for a customer but gave up after 1/2 hour of trying to join planks together. tongues or grooves would crack. wound up using another product. Had to absorb the cost of the panels.
Cons: Difficult to Install, most panels unusable, hard to join together, panels cup
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)
from olympia Wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Time Consuming Installation

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
More than half of the product in each 6-pack was damaged or unusable. Most common was the grove side damaged or broken, warped and very hard to line up the tongue into the grove. If your going to install this on a wall longer than 10ft, plan to take a lot of pieces back to the store or plan to cut off the back side of the grove and install like shiplap. Product is nice looking once installed but the installation process is incredibly time consuming.
Pros: Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)

Decent product

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After preassembling these for it, I found the job to be much easier. Still there is 25% waste on the job that I used these for. Out of 12 packages I only had 3 that I used every board.
Pros: Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: quality varies
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)
from Provo, UTah

plank installation

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The cedar planks were very easy to install. They kept their shape and V notch was not broken; as the pine planks I have also installed.
The cedar planks looked and smelled great. I used the Behr clear coating for cedar. A fun project to do for the weekend. Enjoy!
+17points
21out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)

Many broken tongues and grooves

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We actually ended up returning most of this as it wasn't overly easy to work with. Many of the tongue and grooves had been broken.
What we did put up does look good.
Cons: quality of material
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Value

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A good value product that provided consistent quality for home remodeling project. Everyone who see's the end result of installation raves!
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

maybe i got rejects

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the package i grabbed looked like it had already been opened. A few of the tongues were broken before I left the store. I had a hard time lining up the tongues and grooves, which isnt surprising considering each is less than 1/8". I had a few tongues snap off. All this aside, the wood itself is quite nice for the price. I only used it for a small spot. If I were to do a whole room, I'd contemplate cutting off the bottom groove and using it more like shiplap.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Stylish, Light Weight
Cons: fragile
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 sq. ft. Western Cedar Planks (6-Pack)
from Grants Pass, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good product for lining an armoire

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We used these planks for lining the back of an old entertainment center we were repurposing as an armoire. After removing the cabinet's original plywood back we cut the planks to length and nailed them at the top, bottom and center shelf edges as well as the side edges. Directions for using the planks as wall paneling were included, as well as information on sealing the wood but we left ours unfinished for the moth-repelling cedar scent. Now I have the perfect freestanding cedar closet for storing the woolens I use in crafting handmade rugs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.