728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Top-Rated Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Charcoal Barrel Smoker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Charcoal Barrel Smoker

This Brinkmann Charcoal Barrel Smoker slow cooks and smokes barbeque favorites for delicious meals. This smoker features a generous 427 sq. in. cooking surface to accommodate a variety of food and is versatile enough for everyday use. With an adjustable smokestack to regulate heat and an adjustable charcoal tray for precise control, this smoker allows you to perform like the professionals. The heavy-duty steel construction is durable and a pull-out ash tray makes for a quick cleanup on this smoker.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
Review 1 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from Kansas

Greatest bbq ever.

PostedJune 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have long been looking for an affordable well-built bbq/smoker. This ended up being the one.
Since it's me and the other half, we didn't need anything big so this really fit the bill. With hardly any charcoal this guy will sit at 250-300 degrees for a long time. With soaked smoke chips it'll sit around 225-250 as well.
As for the person that complained about no vents, you simply pull or push the ash tray in and out and you have a great venting system - actually better than most other grills.
When smoking adding or removing charcoal is very easy - you don't need a separate firebox. Simply remove half the cooking surface (yes, it's conveniently split for this) and put your charcoal in the open half. Add your water pan on the warming rack and it'll be over the charcoal and then simply smoke on the other half of the grill.
Only bad things about it are the lack of a shelf (but who doesn't have a table nearby) and no included water pan for smoking. That's it. I'm very happy with this one.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker

Great Charcoal Grill, Poor Smoker

PostedJune 1, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Although this charcoal grill is called a smoker, it really isn't a smoker. It is simply too clumsy to use as a smoker. Since there is no offset firebox on this barrel "smoker" you have to place the charcoal or wood at the bottom of the barrel on top of a charcoal grate. Since smoking meat takes several hours, adding more charcoal or wood to the smoker often is very clumsy because you have to remove any meat you have on the cooking grates and then the cooking grates themselves to be able to access the bottom of the barrel. It works fine as a charcoal grill, since you can finish grilling before you have to add more charcoal, but when smoking, it becomes a hassle. I would rather go with a true smoker that has an offset firebox so that adding more wood or charcoal is not a pain. Even one of those vertical standing smokers is a better alternative, since most vertical smokers have an access door so that you can easily add more wood or charcoal to the smoker.
The best thing to do when smoking with this thing is probably to remove one of the cooking grates entirely. Since cooking on a grate that is directly over the charcoal is not really ideal, because the charcoal can flare up and burn the meat. This will also make it easier to add more charcoal or wood.
I also found it hard to control the temperature inside the smoker because there are no side vents to control how much air gets into the smoker. At one point while curing the smoker, the internal temperature reached 400 degrees and I couldn't get it back down very quickly. Shutting the top smokestack vent seemed to do nothing.
Also, there are no side shelves and I found myself repeatedly trying to set down my tongs or a plate on an imaginary shelf every time I was standing in front of this thing.
Otherwise, this thing is very well built and sturdy. The Temperature gauge is of nice quality and the legs are strong and sturdy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from East Lansdowne PA

The best I've had

PostedApril 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a small family and this grill can do it all. I'm new to smoking and this is a dream. For this price this is a winner!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from Toledo Oh

Great Exceptional Grill

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about this grill at first, But my mind told me to buy it after i read the reviews and such, I went to local home depot store to pick it up me and my wife, I was skeptical, Ahh should I buy it or not, But let me tell you. I put this grill together in the van, That's right the van it took me about 30 minutes to put together, I was so excited bout this grill, I finally grilled over labor day weekend and by far this the best smoker and grill i have ever purchase, i smoked some chicken n ribs with hickory wood. This grill out performed all the grills I have ever had. far as temperature goes it very consistent 250-300 quick this thing can go. So all those doubters out there is well worth the money expecially in this economy.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker

Hinge Broke.

PostedJune 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The Welds holding the right side hinge to the lid. Broke during assembly. Poor quality. However as always wonderful service at Home Depot. My wife got this for me for fathers day and when I returned it they met me half way on the much higher quality Char-Broil grill.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker

Great for smoking and Grilling!

PostedJune 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to see what it could do. I have have smoked foods before and was very surprised how good this smoker works! With about 2lbs of charcoal it will hold at about 225-240 degrees which is exactly where you want to be. Real easy to use and clean. Comes with easy cooking instructions. I dont think Im going to use my square stand up brinkmann anymore now that I have this one! Great price and great Smoker/Grill! I love it!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from Virginia

Not worth the money.

PostedApril 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unable to control temperature of burning charcoal because the lid doesn't fit snugly. Closing the vent stack completely did not help. Temps rose to 400 degrees and cooked the meat instead of smoking it. Had to keep putting water on the coals. Unit works more like a grill than a smoker. No instructions on how to use the smoker effectively. One can make it work by using only a small amount of charcoal placed other than under the meat. There is no side tray to hold accessories. Grill removal to add charcoal is awkward.
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from Baltimore, MD

it's great for the price.

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I partially regret buying this one, because it's just not as well made as its more expensive peers. However, with some minor modifications, it works well. Do an internet search for how to modify smokers. I'm using aluminum foil to limit airflow into the grill, and to protect the bottom of the grill from ash. I've also made a charcoal basket from an aluminum gutter guard to help coals light fast and stay contained. This works great as is for grilling, and can work well for faster smokes (250*+) with mods. If you want to slow smoke salmon, you need to buy a $200+ smoker.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from Midland MI

Excellant product and price.

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill/smoker went together easily and does an awesome job both with grilling and smoking. This one was actually purchased as a gift after finding out from my own purchase what an excellant product this is!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from Fairfax VA

Great Heat Distribution

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My mother in law got one last month. It works wonderfully! The heat distributes well. It's light and easy to transport.
I'm planning to get one myself!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from Hawaii

smoker bbq

PostedJune 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I love this smoker and how easy it is to use. My wife got it for me for Fathers day, and it is awesome. Love smoking the ribs on it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Charcoal Barrel Smoker
from Ohio

Great as a smoker, but kind of small for straight grilling

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a nice add-on as a smoker, etc. I use it for grilling potatoes, corn...longer grilling foods. But for normal grilling it doesn't offer a lot of space. Regardless, this grill is well built and for the price is a great add-on if your looking for a nice little smoker.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.