728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel

4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel

The LG Electronics 4.2 cu. ft. Ultra-Capacity (DOE) Front-Load Steam Washer has energy-saving features, such as ColdWash and True Steam technology, that keep your fabrics clean and your utility bills down. With 14 wash cycles, the washer can handle all of your washing needs. The washer's Allergiene cycle is ideal if you have family members with allergies; it removes over 95% of common household allergens from fabrics.
Overall rating:
4.821 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(67 reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product63 of 66reviews
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(60)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product63 of 66reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
Review 1 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Pittsburgh PA

Excellent Washer

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this washer as an upgrade to a top loader that had died very early, and rather unexpectedly.
It has failed to disappoint.
Key features we love:
1. Very quiet. We have a second floor laundry, you can run this at night, not hear it with the exception of the "its done chime"
2. Vast array of settings/cycle options. Somewhat overwhelming, but after a few weeks of use, appreciate many special settings like the bulky items setting
3. Cleans exceptionally well. I was skeptical, but after running a few loads, the clothes came out much cleaner. Add the Steam Cycle, its worth the extra time (if you have it)
4. Reduces the amount of drying time. Clothes are amazingly not oversoaked, and our savings on dryer time has made up for the longer cycle times for a few settings with the washer
5. No issues with mildem/moldy smell, has a partially ajar door latch that allows for great ventilation
Wish list:
1. Get the pedastal if you can, we are going to do that
Overall, haven't been happier with an appliance purchase to date. I'm quite picky, spend months researching items (we waited weeks to purchase despite having a broken washer) - and this has been better than I could have ever expected. ANother review commented on how people in the household became excited to do the laundry -- well I can tell you that it has happened in our house as well!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Kenedy, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

You get what you pay for

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far an excellent purchase. I work in the oilfield, needless to say my clothes are a little oily-dirty. This machine is able to get my clothes cleaner than my top load. The steam feature definitely does the job. Very user friendly, even my 11 year old does laundry. The spin cycle almost dries the clothes, so the time in the dryer is greatly reduced. Money well spent, I demand alot from this washer.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Michigan

Great washer, but...

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will start out by saying that this washer looks great! My wife and I were extremely excited about the potential of this LG washer. It has many great features including steam, many different wash choices, and spins clothes very dry. I would give this washer 5 stars, but... The washer leaks!! (Seen this comment mentioned elsewhere online) We've actually had LG technicians out here three times (4th time tomorrow) and they have been unable to fix the mystery leak (trickle). So far they have replaced sensors, seals, and other miscellaneous parts. Still no love. My wife and I are going to visit Home Depot to see about getting a replacement washer and dryer. I've seen very few (almost no) negative comments about this washer/dryer pair. If we are seeing these types of issues in the first few months of ownership, I worry about what may happen 6 years from now, after the extended warranty expires. We planned to keep this -expensive- unit for at least 15 years and needless to say, the washer is not off to a good start. I really struggle to say that I would not "recommend this washer to a friend." But after my experience with the mystery leak, coupled with other reports of this leak and LG's (thus far) inability to cure the problem, gives me reason to not be able to recommend this washer. (Begrudgingly not recommended)
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Chicago, IL

If you have the money, buy this washing machine!

PostedDecember 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ended up buying this washing machine and the matching dryer after my old top loading machine died. I was a bit skeptical about buying a front loading washer after reading reviews about mold growing in the rubber moulding around the door of the machine. But I needed a washing machine, and this one did have great reviews, so I took a chance.
Now that I've had this machine a few weeks, I can't tell you how happy I am with this washer! First of all it uses so much less water. The machine actually detects how full of a load you are running and adjusts the water accordingly. It runs so quietly that I without the LCD panel, I wouldn't even know it's running. There are more cycles than what I know what to do with, and it has sanitary and steam options when I really need something cleaned through and through. The large capacity allows me to wash an entire Queen comforter with room to spare. One thing that I immediately noticed is that my clean clothes smell wonderful! The fabric softener seems to work much better in this type of washer. The rubber moulding around the door was modified with this product so I haven't noticed any pools of water that would create a mold issue.
All in all a great washing machine for the money. You pay more, but believe me, you will get your money's worth!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Texarkana, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Beautiful and stylish, yes, but even more important, quality results

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The front load steam washer has many cleaning options for custom-like results. I even cleaned my king sized comforter with beautiful results. I love how the washer senses the wash load and uses water accordingly. it is also so quiet, I had to make sure it is running during the first few washes!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Fremont, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Amazing steam washer

PostedDecember 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A bit expensive but a superb washer with steam cycle and many other options.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from San Diego, California

I was skeptical...

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have put off a purchase of a front load washer for years because the more I read about them, the more confused I became. I just want to do the laundry!
My 2 year old GE top load was on it's last leg and I had to bite the bullet and accept a front loader into my life. I had chosen an old fashioned top loader two years ago when I had to replace my washer, and I had regretted my decision every day since...and now I had to replace the washer again!
After a week of research and reading reviews I decided on this LG 4.8 Steamwasher. My husband had told me just to go out and buy a top of the line washer...LOL...he still doesn't know how much this thing cost!
The sales associates at Home Depot were very helpful. The deciding factor in choosing this machine was the 4.8 CF capacity. We have a lot of dogs and I like everything very clean. So I do a lot of laundry. Especially king size comforters and quilts and lots of dog blankies. It was worth the extra money to me to be able to launder these items at home. The allergen and steam cycles are icing on the cake.
This washer and the matching dryer are just incredible. I could not be happier. Very state of the art and so easy to use. I did not even have to consult my manual to do the first few loads. Long cycles for certain options.The drying time is less than half with my old set-up. LG has addressed the moldy smell when the door was not left open. This was a big deal to me. I didn't want to walk into my laundry room and see an open washer door. They have devised a magnet that holds the door "almost shut" and allows air circulation. The outward appearance is of a closed door.
While laying in bed the other night reading a book I kept smelling a fresh soapy smell. Then I realized it was my king quilt that I had laundered that afternoon.
This is a first for me to actually love a washing machine...and the dryer is great too.
I would recommend this product and I only hope that I get many years from this washer and dryer because they cost more than my first car!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Pittsburgh, PA

Another great product from LG

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this set 1 week ago. I love the large size of the washer and dryer. I have washed every single blanket in my house. It fits all my king size comforters, no more laundry mat. The steam cycle is very nice and worth the extra money! I had a wrinkled shirt and put in under steam fresh and it came it out a little damp but wrinkle free. I, also, love the graphite steel color of these. It is painted not a stainless so fingerprints don't show up all over.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Lansdale, PA

Really worth every penny

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I brought this washer and dryer combo 3 weeks ago and I absolutely love it!! We were upgrading from a top loading washing machine that used up a lot of water. After setting up everything, we tried the new machine. It was so quiet that we had to peek inside the machine to make sure it was running. The only time someone can hear the machine is when the water rinses the detergent compartment. I noticed right away the machine used way less water than our previous machine. I would recommend anyone who is looking for a washing machine and dryer to get this particular model because you will simply love it. One more thing. You have to make sure you use the HE compatible detergent for this machine!!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from GA

Much better then previous model

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is my second set to purchase in last 3 years. Two houses. This set is much better then previous. Much quieter, less vibration, cleans better ( at least I think so - at a minimum just as good). I have owned high end front loaders from asko and Bosch. These are great washers and dryers. You won't be disappointed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Houston, Texas

greatness

PostedMay 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this for a week and my life has totally changed. I have realized first that my old washer and dryer were major pieces of junk and second that LG has won me over. I have three boys ages 3-7 and if they dont rub dirt in it they go #1 on it. This washer holds so much that I can't seem to fill it up. This morning I washed my king size sheets and matress cover at the same time with NO problem at all. I havnt even read the owners manuel yet but I can still easily work this machine. My clothes are clean and fresh and you wonder if it uses any water at all?!? It's very quiet, so quiet that I often walk into the laundry room to make sure I turned it on. I have only owned this set for a week but so far so good. I didnt get the pedastals because I like to use the top as a folding table. The chime to let you know the wash is finished is such a great added feature-almost makes you excited to go do a change over!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Baltimore, MD

HANDSOME STYLISH HOT

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This a second unit i bought to my properties. I can't be more happy and satisfied with the design quality, functionality. The Handsome, Stylish, Hot man you always wanted ;-). I recommend to anyone who is considering to buy a new washer! GREAT CHOICE FOR YEARS TO COME! Trust me on this!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent!!!

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought the washer and dryer and it is the best! The washer seems to not beat my clothers up like my previous washer. I know it's a bit pricey for some, but if you can afford it, buy it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Pittsburgh, PA

EXCELLENT

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE THIS WASHING MACHINE. I HESITATED ON MY PURChASE BECAUSE OF PRICE BUT I AM GLAD THAT I DIDNT. I LOVE IT. IT IS VERY QUIET. CLEANS EXTREMELY WELL. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THAT THE LG DIRECTIONS FOR THE PRODUCT ARE NOT THAT GREAT!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Stamford, CT

Excellent Washer across all fronts!

PostedJuly 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried multiple brands and when replacing my Maytag Neptune, I looked carefully to multiple reviews. The actual performance of the machine exceeded my expectations!
The washer is extremely quiet - I had to check a couple of times at the beginning to make sure it was indeed working. The capacity is a plus - we are 6 at home! You can place a lot of things and still have space for more, so it allows me to reduce number of loads per week.
The clothes come out of the washer almost dry - the spinner does a terrific job at extracting as much moisture as possible, hence reducing drying cycle.
On top of all the performance benefits - I like the look!
Very satisfied and extremely recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Fort Worth, TX

Product is a marvel of engineering

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am male and 67 years old. Maybe not the typical buyer and/or user. The machine not only looks good but has many options and the clothing comes out just fine.
Buy it with the pedestal and you will enjoy the extra height.
As somebody who didn't go through the laundry university I would love to see more explanations about the usage of the different options. Simple questions as what options do I pick to wash my underwear?
Again, I am working myself through all options and should be able to handle it nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Phila, Pa.

Excellent Washer

PostedAugust 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I waited a week before I wrote this review to make sure I could give an honest opinion. This washer is amazing. It has a large load capacity, runs extremely quiet, does an excellent job on water extraction, and its pretty to look at. My clothes come out very clean, I can now wash my comforter for my king size bed at home, instead of taking it to the cleaners, and its a pleasure to do laundry now. I highly recommend this washer, and the gas dryer that is paired with it. Glad I purchased both!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Eudora, KS

LG SteamWasher

PostedJune 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine is totally awesome! It has completely changed my life. Now I can do twice the amount of laundry in half the time. No more chasing the washing machine down or closing the laundry room door to cancel out the noise and thumping from the old washer. I don't have to run another spin cycle to get the clothes drier. There is a wonderful selection of cycles for my laundry needs. Our clothes smell fresher and less wrinkled. I can't wait to see how it effects my water bill!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from Cummiong, GA

Excellent Washer

PostedAugust 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finally upgraded to this front loading washer. So far have had it for two months. It works great. Clothes come out cleaner than with our old top loader and it doesn't ever get out of balanced. It is very quiet and you almost forget that it is running. It does take longer than the top loader but the clothes come out cleaner and usually spins at such a high rate that it takes much shorter time to dry. An Excellent washer and I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4.2 cu. ft. DOE High-Efficiency Front Load Steam Washer in Graphite Steel
from South Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

SO GLAD I SELECTED THIS LG MODEL! I LOVE IT!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Yes the price is up there...
That being said I do LOVE this washer - especially the Allergen setting and digital screen.
It's very easy to understand - mostly without having to read the manual, which was my concern with a high-tech washer like this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>