728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Creosote Sweeping Log

Creosote Sweeping Log

Get peace of mind and help reduce your risk of a chimney fire by burning this Creosote Sweeping Log. It reduces and treats creosote buildup in your chimney and can also reduce new creosote buildup by approximately 50%. It's compatible with woodstoves, fireplaces and inserts.
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(7 reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product5 of 6reviews
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(5)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product5 of 6reviews
Customer reviews for Creosote Sweeping Log
Review 1 for Creosote Sweeping Log
from Little Rock, AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great way to help a chimney stay clean

PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been using these logs since our house was built 10 years ago. In our house, we rely solely on wood fire for heat during the winter (fireplace insert). So I use two of these logs each season and follow up the next morning with a wire brush in the chimney. To this day, I still can see the original color of the chimney as I look down from the top. Definitely a worthwhile product----but you definitely should still sweep your chimney as these logs help control the soot..........but they don't eliminate them completely.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Creosote Sweeping Log

Log burning worked okay

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Took 2 tries to get the log to burn completely. When followed by a mechanical cleaning, the chimney is pretty clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Creosote Sweeping Log
from Kansas City
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

best prevention product

PostedNovember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have used one every year since 2000. Checked my chimney 3 years ago and very little build up of creosote but brushed my flu anyway. I'm on my way to buy one for this year just to keep things safe. I hope this recommendation helps if you had any questions about this product.(I live in a 60 plus year old house)
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Light Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Creosote Sweeping Log
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not impressed

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think this product is a gimmick. First one I bought did not burn the entire time only 45 min. Called and emailed company for a replacement but did not hear back. Tired again and see absolutely no difference. You read other people's review stating the see debris fall down as time goe on for me nothing and I vacuumed my fireplace to specifically check. As fas a being easier for the chimney to be cleaned that remains to be seen. Fire season now so the companies jack up their prices so will wait to the spring time when their business slows down.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Creosote Sweeping Log

It seems to work

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used it a couple of weeks before performing a mechanical sweet of my fireplace. It seemed to loosen up the creosote and made the sweeping job really easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well
Cons: smells
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Creosote Sweeping Log
from St.Paul,MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Safe than Sorry

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Keeps my fireplace clean and safe. Would recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Creosote Sweeping Log
from Refuge Cove, BC V0P, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This is an excellent way to keep your chimney clear of creosote.

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent way to keep your chimney clear of creosote. I live in a very rural location and heat with wood. I only rarely sweep my chimney with a broom. Great product!
+16points
20out of 24found this review helpful.