728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED

15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED

The Lifan 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine provides you with industrial-grade power when you need it. The horizontal shaft engine is ideal when you need performance for heavy-duty equipment like cement mixers, roofing elevators, paint sprayers, aerators, agricultural equipment and construction equipment. Safety features include a fuel-shutoff switch to protect your engine. Ideal for many applications where 15hp horizontal shaft engines are required such as Construction Equipment, Agricultural Equipment, or Recreational Vehicles.
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product9 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
bbell
from ash grove, missouri

15 hp OHV engine

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i really love this engine, it's cheap and has lot of power, i will use it for a go kart which i'm wanting to build by the end of theis year. i would recomend this engine to everyone who would ask!!! it is perfect for any aplication!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
Moe2
from NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this engine for my leaf blower. I was a little concerned about the mounting holes because there was no online documentation. This proved not to be a problem. I only had to make a slight modification to the exhaust cover. One pull usually starts the engine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
TexasFabricator
from Woodlands,Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great power,easy start

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this for my mini bike,this thing fly's on it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
OlJames
from Ala-By-Golly-BAMA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lots of POWER

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Make sure this fits your application. I put this on a small garden tractor. After some inventive engineering,( plenty of spacers and such). Filled it with oil & fuel. Cranked on the second pull !!! Man, this engine has power to spare!!! All the threads are metric. Be sure to chase the threads before bolting anything up. (8mm & 10mm) The folks at Lifan were very helpful. This spring it will be put to the test. More reviews later.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
Vexim
from Minnesota

Perfect engine for the money.

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this last year to be used in a homemade mudmotor I was making. Definitely the least expensive engine that I could find. Was delivered right to my doorstep, started up just fine. After a few weeks, I got it set up in the mudmotor, and took it out. This thing has power! Worked like a charm, was able to push my 16ft flatbottom fully loaded at pretty reasonable speeds, and through some nasty weeds and muck. It got rained on, snowed on, and frozen, still is working fine. Had to tip it over in the bed of the truck when the boat trailer broke, which got oil in the cylinder, clogging up the valves and making it impossible to pull. Just popped the spark plug, pulled it over dry a few times, sprayed in some carb cleaner and it started right up, although a bit smokey till the oil burned off. Otherwise have had no problems with it. Is understandably loud at full power, doesn't have that big of a muffler, but it isn't overly obnoxious.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
Jaynegj
from Zionsville, Upper Milford, PA 18092, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't beat the price per HP

PostedDecember 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Awesome product Thanks......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
Buckmaster
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put this motor on a log splitter and it works beautifully
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
MrSchmaa

perfect

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mounted, put in oil and gas, started first pull. Runs smooth and quiet. Couldn't ask for more.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 15 HP 420 cc Horizontal Shaft Engine-DISCONTINUED
john
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great poduct but oil cap is broken

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I think this motor is a great value.I liked the quick service and delivery however the oil cap is broken!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.