728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for True HEPA Air Purifier

True HEPA Air Purifier

Start breathing cleaner air with this Honeywell True HEPA Air Purifier that is 99.97% effective at capturing airborne irritants and reducing odors. It can repeatedly circulate and freshen the air in a large room up to 5 times an hour for easier breathing, and its 360 degree design and patented HEPA SurroundSeal ensure its working at maximum efficiency. With its Intelli-Check filter indicator, maintenance is made easy by eliminating any uncertainty.
Overall rating:
4.155 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(97 reviews) 97
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product76 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(51)
4
(28)
3
(6)
2
(6)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product76 of 88reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for True HEPA Air Purifier
Review 1 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Finding my home healthier due to less dust and allergens. It's a tad noisy...but I have it on "High" constantly...fine when turned down. Great quality, and my local HD has always taken care of my needs..!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for True HEPA Air Purifier

Good unit with small drawback.

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This unit works well and I have noticed an improvement of air quality in the house, although it's not really as quiet on the low setting as the description suggests. Also, you apparently cannot buy full size replacement filters like the one that came with my unit. Instead, they only offer smaller "stackable" filters and a foam "spacer" ring which look's to me will greatly cut down on the filtering area. I'm hoping by the time I need to replace mine they will have reevaluated the situation and started offering the full size replacement again.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Air smells cleaner.

PostedDecember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great air purifier. Have used this brand before but have never had one that pulls air in 360 degrees. I would suggest when you first turn it on to spay some Lysol near the purifier, this eliminates the plastic smell that the machine has. We now have 3 of these. For me as an asthmatic it's the best. I highly recommend this. I know some review mention that there is white noise from the machine but for me it is very soothing. The only negative is the blue light is very bright so I put a washcloth over it at night.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable
Cons: blue light too bright.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for True HEPA Air Purifier

so far, so good.

PostedMarch 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far, after about a month, I have no complaints. It does a good job of filtering the air, the light isn't too bright, and you can vacuum the hepa filter and only replace it once every 3 years or so....you need to replace the pre-filters every 3-6 months, but no big deal, not real expensive. This is a big unit that does a large area and comparitively speaking it is a great value. Had done research before buying - had been considering an $800 unit before I found this does a great job for just under $200 with much less expensive HEPA filter replacement costs. On low/sleep, it is quiet. On TURBO it is like a TURBINE, and standard/normal it is loud but tolerable.
Looks good, feels solid, no issue so far. Hope that trend continues.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for True HEPA Air Purifier

Great value for the price

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for an air filter to help with my dog and seasonal allergies and this was a great choice! I have moderate dog allergies and recently got a dog... however since I have been using this air filter I haven't suffered from ANY allergy symptoms indoors. The size is great and you can move it from room to room without any hassle.
I've read many reviews complaining about the noise however it doesn't bother me. But the highest setting is loud enough to hear from another room with the door shut. My mom has a hospital grade air purifier and it is much much louder than this purifier. It seems that if you want a decent filter the noise is something you're just going to have to deal with.
Overall this product is a great choice especially for the price!
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for True HEPA Air Purifier

Exceeds expectations

PostedOctober 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews about this model and noise was the major complaint. The noise is not that bad. It has to be loud to move as much air as it does. On turbo it was pulling dust bunnies across my desk from 10 ft. away. The daytime or medium setting seems to be sufficient after running it on turbo for the first few hours. I'm a smoker and a pet owner and wanted something to clean up the air during the fall and winter when I can't have my windows open. The results are noticeable in a very short time and I wish I would have bought one sooner.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from NC

I have used this model for years and recently purchased a second unit. The "white noise" helps me sleep!

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These units push a lot of air and really make a difference in the dust and pollen levels. I like the "white noise" as it helps me sleep and one unit is in the bedroom and runs all night. The tower units do not move much air so choose wisely. There is a website "Simply Noise" that streams white noise to help people sleep - I get clean air and "white noise." If you are looking to purify the air in a large area this is the unit to get. The tower unit my mom had did not do much and we replaced it with this model with great success! The unit has an easy to clean carbon pre filter - ours has been running for years with no issues!
+16points
17out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Los Angele
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well, air cleaner, allergies down, noisy, too much light

PostedApril 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nothing new to add to other reviews, just confirming that it is noisy. Wife likes this, especially during sleep time. Likes to turn it up to full if she can. I prefer quiet. Our meditation students seem to like the white noise as they meditate.
After buying it the air did feel cleaner and fresher here in Los Angeles - the desert. We get a lot of dust and filters need to be replaced more frequently. They didn't mention filter length when I was researching this last year - basically the outer filter lasts up to 3 months and is around $6 to replace and the inner filter lasts 1 - 3 years. It seems that you can't get a single inner filter which is how it ships, instead the replacement is 3 smaller filters stacked.
Wife's allergies have almost disappeared since using this. From about 2 allergy attacks per month that left her lying down she's now only had about 1 in 4 months.
It's on 24 hours per day and uses about $9 per month in electricity on low and about 50% more on high. This is at the 100% green electricity rate of CA.
It's quite large and is not something you can tuck in the corner.
As mentioned by others, the light on the on dial is very bright at night. This is an oversight on the designer's part but bearable. Sometimes I tape some paper over it.
I also noticed on the iallergy site that this model is discontinued. I don't know if that's a Honeywell thing or just on that site.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install
Cons: on dial light is too bright at night, noisy - but this is a pro for somer
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for True HEPA Air Purifier

Effective but Noisy

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm allergic to dust, pet dander etc. I need clean air when I sleep and wherever I spend continuous hours...
I have a central HVAC unit serving the bedrooms and study. This is my "safe zone". I move the Honeywell True HEPA Air Purifier between these rooms to get clean air circulating throughout.
As an engineer I appreciate the design of this unit: the air suction encompasses the vertical surface of the complete circumference of the unit whilst the air is exported through the top along a circular slot recessed slightly from the rim. Furthermore, the internals of that slot are slanted like a funnel so as to expel the air at an angle rather than directly up. It's as though it creates a circulating symmetrical mushroom-shaped wind pattern in your room. Where possible I use an extension cord to situate the unit towards the center of the room to improve the circulation. Cosmetically, I also like the black.
The unit is very powerful and effectively moves the air. How else can you clean it? I don't waste time using the lower settings. I set the unit to "blast" and evacuate. Initially, every few hours I moved the unit between the rooms of my "safe zone" until I was reasonably satisfied that the air circulating between the rooms was relatively clean (i.e. a few days). Now I just move the unit to another room that I'm not in to avoid the noise. Of course, I also make sure to have my HVAC filter cleaned routinely.
Anytime you push air through ports or filters you will generate noise. And this unit makes enough noise, even on the lowest setting, to let you know that it's working. It's not much but is louder than hearing the air move through the vents of my central HVAC system. For those who don't mind some background hum while sleeping it's probably not going to be disturbing. I however don't. I never intended to keep it on while sleeping, or at least, not in the same room. Furthermore, my unit's rotor is slightly unbalanced so the hum is not smooth but slightly oscillating. This can get irritating if it's the only source of noise (e.g. TV off etc.) in the room. Note that there is always going to be a correlation between moving air (effectiveness) and noise generation. You've got to determine what is important to you and how much you are willing to trade-off. For me, it makes no sense having a unit that does a mediocre job even if dead silent. I want effective air cleaning and believe that this unit achieves my goal. I eliminate the noise concern by either not using it while sleeping or by using it in another room served by the central HVAC unit.
Although the unit is intended to be used continuously, I don't use in that manner. It helps that I'm something of a neat freak (although some would argue against my use of the word "something"). I use it daily, for a few continuous hours, but only when I'm out of the room. Now, after two months of use (at the time of writing this review), I checked the filter and sure enough found enough evidence of the unit's effectiveness.
In conclusion, I have no experience with comparable alternatives but am satisfied that this unit is effective although noisy enough to keep it off while sleeping.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 10 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Kokomo, IN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Excellent Air Purifier

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great air purifier. It's big enough to do a large room with ease. And small enough to take with you. The top handle is nice to make it portable. And the dual filtration system is a thorough way to filter any impurities out of the air. I like the way it notifies you which filter needs replacing. And the easy of changing the filters is awesome!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it enough to give as a gift!

PostedDecember 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had allergies most of my adult life..,,after sinuses surgery and various meds you come to a point of "what the heck"....I'm not saying this a miracle product it just works for my husband and I. He doesn't snore as loud and I can breath better. As for the "white noise"....can't go to sleep without it now ...I recently visited my daughter and her boyfriend who have two shedding dogs and a cat (which I"m allergic to) and decided they needed an air purifier...so Merry Christmas kiddos...... my next visit I will be able to breath better too.....
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Bay Area CA

What Noise?

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this machine after returing the Holmes becasue it did not work for the space and it was one sided. Have fallen asleep with it on TURBO and stayed asleep with it on medium I live on a busy street and this drowns out the noise. This is the best purfier by all beacause of the 360 degrees purfiring that it does. It clears the apartment of orders in no time and keeps it clean, also can hear the Tv and and strereo with it on meduim it is a good way to circualte the air also. For the price it is good investment and the price of filters outwieghs the benifits of the clean air that I am breathing when I awake in the morning
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for True HEPA Air Purifier

True Hepa Air Purifier

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is my third unit. We use them all throughout the house and find that they are a big help. They are easy to clean and on the lowest setting very quiet
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for True HEPA Air Purifier

Good and a Little Noisy

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The unit has three speeds. And the highest, most effective speed is noisy enough to make you raise the volume on the TV. But it can be good white noise for sleep. The best part is how clean the air smelled in the room. I knew I made the right choice. The cigarette smoke that somehow made it to my bedroom from the apartment below me was just not in my bedroom air. And I woke up breathing easier.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Park Ridge, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EXCELLENT PRODUCT & A GREAT PRICE

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LOVE THIS AIR CLEANER - ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE WITH IT IS THE FACT IT MUST BE AT LEAST 3 FEET FROM WALL. IT'S HARD TO HAVE SOMETHING THAT MANY FEET INTO THE ROOM WITHOUT IT BEING IN THE WAY.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Hazel Green, AL, USA

This is an update to my initial review made Aug 2012

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this in July 2012 and on my first review, after a month of ownership, I gave it 5 stars as it does a great job of filtering the air. The light and noise do not bother me.
Now here I am 7 months later and I'm not so happy but glad I paid the $24.95 for a 2 year replacement warranty. I recently shut the unit off to change the pre-filter. When I tried to turn the unit on the motor hummed but no air came out. I unplugged the unit and took it apart and found that the motor shaft and the propeller (for a better word) were not turning. Tried by hand and found it hard to turn but after a few turns it freed up. Unit came on fine. Ran it a while and turned it off, waited 5 minutes and turned it back on. Same problem. It seems that after running for a while, either the motor bearing or something is getting hot and once the unit is turned off, it will not rotate afterwards. So, this one goes back to the store and I'll see just how well Home Depot replacement warranties are. This is the first time I've done this.
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Charlston, SC

best air purifier for the money

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bot this air purifier for 180$, it turned out that it was the newest honeywell round air purifier model and only Home Depot sells it. i have not been able to breath clearly for a very long time, a couple days after i bot this machine i was able to breathe clear again. This machine has a very large and effective trueHEPA filter that is actually made out of glass fibers and is very good at cleaning the air. The pre filter wraps around the hepa filter and captures all the large particles and will pretect and enlarge the life of the hepa filter.
you can vacuum the hepa filter and it will last you 3 to 5 years. The pre filter has Zeolite in it which cleans out any gases in the air. if you don't replace the pre filter every 3 months for 12$, you will have to replace the 60$ hepa filter every year or two. it pays off to replace the pre filter.
the machine is loud on Turbo ( high) so i use it on that mode when i really want to clean the air in a room quickly. Normally i have it on day (medium) all day and i have it on sleep (low) all night. I can sleep with it on low mode, it produces i white noise that actually helps some people sleep better.
the customer service for the machine is outstanding.
i cant find anything i don't like about this machine.
i truly hope you buy this machine if you are looking to buy an air purifier.
THANKYOU.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 18 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Virginia Beach

Great air cleaner

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It didn't take long to choose this model. I knew I didn't want an electronic ionizer of any kind, due to my infant and toddler. There are studies showing ionizers can reduce lung capacity and lung growth in small children. I already knew that the Honeywell HEPA's were great at cleaning the air, but they were noisey. This new black model is much quieter than the old white one. I had bought and returned the large room white model in the past due to excessive choppy, oscillation noise and noise overall. This new black model is smooth. In fact, I have to turn it on medium speed just to get the white noise high enough to sleep. High is a bit noisey, but that's for heavy air filtration with a full house of people, or when you're not home.
You can easily watch tv when it's on low. Just wish it were remote controlled like one of the other Honeywell HEPA's I have.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am allergic to my fiance's 90 lb pure bred labs and this definitely makes a huge difference!! The noise on low really isn't that bad.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for True HEPA Air Purifier
from Erie, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes a big difference in our air quality.

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I drove myself nuts researching the internet on HEPA air purifiers. Prices on some of them were rediculous, & the cost of replacing the HEPA filters on them was almost as much as the unit itself! I wanted no Ionizer, as Ionizers are a danger to people & animals with asthma. This air purifier has no ionizer.
I came across this Honeywell, read the reviews, & decided to give it a try. Well all I can say is; I am VERY glad we bought this air purifier! I noticed a huge difference in the air quality of our home, within hours of running it for the first time! The air in our home really does smell & feel clean from using this everyday.
We have a kitty with asthma, & she was our main reason for buying a air purifier, but little did I know how much this would help her & us, breathe easier. It has dramatically cut down on my dusting, because there's no dust on our furniture! That's proof right there it works, because before I had to dust every day.
I do wish the cord were longer, that's why I did not give it 5 stars all around. If Honeywell wants us to keep the unit 3 feet away from everything, they need to make the cord longer.
There is no issue with noise, & the tiny, blue indicator light is much too small to be annoying. On turbo it's loud, but you dont run it on turbo all the time. None of the other settings are loud enough to complain about. We sleep just fine with it running on low. For the price, this unit cant be beat. Buy it, you'll be very glad you did.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>