728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

This THERMOROCK 2.0 cu. ft. Vermiculite is an organic, asbestos-free soil amendment that can be used to improve moisture retention and aeration in potting mixes. It helps support root structure and stimulates root growth.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product80 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(74)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product80 of 84reviews
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Deerfield, NH,USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for our hard clay type soil.

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have never been able to grow vegetables so successfully before. We use it in our "high tower" type greenhouse which we planted in March. I have spinach like I never had before along with kale, beets, radishes, lettuce and carrots. I have started all my plants to put outside using vermiculite mixed in with my soil. In my garden we just mix it in along the rows when we plant. And to think it is only May and we are enjoying our vegetables in NH.
Pros: Great Quality, a great asset to our garden
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Central PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1/3 of Mel's Mix for Square Foot Gardening - exactly what I needed

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched around for large bags of Vermiculite and landed at Home Depot Online for the best deal. The All New Square Foot Gardening requires Vermiculite as 1/3 of Mel's Mix - the essential mix of soil for this amazing gardening method. The Vermiculite is very light an airy, but holds water in close to the plants roots. It was easy to mix with the other ingredients and is exactly what I needed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+61points
61out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So impressed with what it does

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found out that with my plants I was using too much potting soil by it's self, so I went u-tubing for a good plant mix, so I said what the heck maybe my plants will like vermiculite. I mixed this with perlite and regular potting soil repotted four of my plants and I must say, after 2 weeks my plants are finally getting growth and I'm getting the good drainage that I need. This is a keeper for me, $20 is a little pricely, but it costs way more to replace plants that drowned because the soil stayed very wet at the bottom. I'am going to go buy another bag very soon, because I love growing plants during the spring/summer. A must have for us plant growers.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Springfield, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product, great price--delivered to your door--who could ask for more :). <3 Home Depot

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this vermiculite in my sq. ft. garden. The product was the right one--organic. The price was reasonable, and Home Depot delivered it to my door--FREE!! My garden is doing well :)
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from New Jersey

Brick Oven Builders

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi All....
Anyone that has tried to build a brick oven will know that getting this stuff in large quantities can be very difficult. When mixed with portland cement... 6-1-1----- 6 vermiculite, 1 part portland cement 1 part water, this makes an incredible insulator for the dome...then covered with mortar or I used SBC (surface bonding cement) will keep the heat in for some fantastic baking.. Also can be used to line fire pits.. Thanks home depot for another great product, Just wish you would carry it in the stores,,,,, you can see in the pic that the oven is so well insulated the snow wont even melt... that was after 4 hours of fire... I wish they would start carrying Fire brick and heat stop mortar as well, then it could all be bought in one stop from a trusted friend.......
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+62points
64out of 66found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just the ticket!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this in my raised bed garden along with perlite and compost/topsoil mix. Just the ticket! Don't use on windy day. Use a dust mask, fine particulates.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finer than expected, but the only affordable source

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good value. This vermiculite is not as course as I would prefer for mixing for my 3 ingredient potting/gardening mixture, but it does the job. Honestly, Home Depot is the only company offering free shipping of this product. Shipping from other companies exceeds the product cost. I WISH Home Depot would stock this product locally, in even larger bags, as I feel certain it would sell well (and save them a bundle in shipping costs).
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

SATISFIED MY NEED FOR AERATION OF THE SOIL...

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bag was easy to lift,open, & distribute into the soil.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent soil amendment

PostedDecember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I decided to do test square foot gardening style raised beds this past year, including a soilless mix of compost, vermiculite and peat moss as the primary ingredients of my raised bed planting medium. This vermiculite performed beautifully in helping maintain light and airy consistency, yet maintain a damp *soil* condition conducive to excellent root growth. These raised beds were hugely productive!
Here is my ratio for a 4x4 raised bed, 8-10 inches deep, using a 10 cu foot dump cart as my mixing tub. Eacgh cart is roughly 1/2 compost, 1/2 bag of peat moss and 1/2 bag of vermiculite. A 4x4 bed needs just under 2 dump carts.
While the initial outlay is high, the payoff is worth it, because each successive year will need fewer amendments, and the cost for tremendous productivity will decrease.
My 25 x 40 garden of raised beds cost appx 1200 for the compost, vermiculite, peat moss and the doug fir used in building the raised beds. For that price I got 100-150lbs of peppers, 4-500lbs tomatoes, 50-100lbs beets, 40-6lbs tomatillos and a plethora of other veggies. All organic, Had I been more painstaking in care and harvesting I could have easily managed 30-50% higher productivity, I think.
To summarize, vermiculite is a key ingredient in a square foot garden mix. This vermiculite worked as intended.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
+52points
52out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Dublin, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Only place to get it, really

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We started Square Foot Gardening this year (Mel Bartholomew's method) and needed this for Mel's Mix of 1/3 peat moss, 1/3 compost, 1/3 vermiculite. After scouring the internet, this is really the only place to get it at a reasonable price (and ususally free shipping)! This stuff is worth every penny, our garden has really taken off in just 1 month. We have gorgeous vegetables that taste so much better than store bought. Try Square Foot Gardening and use the vermiculite, even though it may seem like a pain.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

like product and packaging

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
home depot is always easy to work with and has good products and customer service
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Charlotte, NC

FINALLY!!! I CAN GET VERMICULITE FOR SFG & STARTING SEEDS!!!

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot comes through again!!!!!! I have my vermiculite for seed starting. You will not believe what this stuff does to start your garden. Lightning fast with just vermiculite alone. It cuts off weeks of waiting for seedlings. It is also wonderful for Square Foot Gardening and in Mel's Mix, if you are into the whole SFG lifestyle. Going GREEN for so little pocket GREEN has never been easier. You can use this over and over, so it will last forever. I don't need to wish you luck, I just need to tell you to make room for ALL THE PLANTS AND VEGGIES you ever wanted to grow. YOU ROCK HOME DEPOT. PLEASE KEEP THIS ITEM IN STOCK AS I WILL BE SENDING FOLKS YOUR WAY. Happy Gardening. Peace, Me
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

little bit goes along way

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
A little bit goes along way. Home depot needs to sell this at the store. Other than than thank you Home Depot for carrying this online and most importantly, shipping it to my house for FREE!!
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Performing as required for a garden

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used the vermiculite in mixing a garden soil called "Mel's Mix" for a sq. ft. gardening. The product is performing quite well in the mix, giving me a good producing garden, working with my 6 yr. old granddaughter.
Pros: Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

mixes well with soil

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Mix vermiculite with compost and soil for a great planting medium
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Forget Perlite

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Do yourself a favor and forget Perlite. Perlite floats out of your mix and really doesn't give the value it is supposed to give.
Vermiculite on the other hand not only helps keep your soil fluffy and light, it also holds 7 times it's own weight in water.
The clay soil in my yard is so bad things die very shortly after planting because any hole in the clay becomes a water filled bowl. To counteract this I use a post hole digger to dig a deep shaft under my plantings and fill the shaft with Vermiculite to absorb the water in the rainy season which the plants can use during the dry season.
The best soil mix I've ever used is 1/3 Vermiculite, 1/3 Peat Moss, and the final 1/3 is a combination of Black Kow branded compost... Black Kow composted cow manure, Mushroom compost by Black Kow, and Black Hen composted chicken manure in equal parts. Everything was up and growing in record time and has doubled in size.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Works for our square foot garden

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have fallen in love with the Square Foot Garden method of gardening, but it is very difficult to find vermiculite in our area (within 100 miles). "Our" Home Depot (60 miles away) does not carry it either, so we were thrilled to find it online for a good value. Many will try to say that perlite is the same thing, but it is not. (There are pros and cons of both, but Mel recommends vermiculite and it is what we need for our climate.) This is not the "coarse" grade recommended in the book, but it has worked fine for us.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have used this product several times in my graden and works much better than Perlite. Doesnt break down as easily which is great for helping the soil say loamy and airy. Great Price for the size and very happy HD carries it and is available at almost all local stores
Pros: Durable, Multi Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Columbia, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value for lightening soil

PostedApril 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you mix your own potting soil, or need to fill a planter with something light weight, this is the stuff. It is not easy to find in most gardening stores.
Pros: Functionality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Pineallas County, FL
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

difficult to find in large size

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My two large bags of vermiculite were delivered quickly. This is the easiest and most economical way to purchase the larger quantities needed for my square foot garden and the free shipping made it affordable.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>