728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

This THERMOROCK 2.0 cu. ft. Vermiculite is an organic, asbestos-free soil amendment that can be used to improve moisture retention and aeration in potting mixes. It helps support root structure and stimulates root growth.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product81 of 85reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(74)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product81 of 85reviews
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
Review 1 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Central PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1/3 of Mel's Mix for Square Foot Gardening - exactly what I needed

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I searched around for large bags of Vermiculite and landed at Home Depot Online for the best deal. The All New Square Foot Gardening requires Vermiculite as 1/3 of Mel's Mix - the essential mix of soil for this amazing gardening method. The Vermiculite is very light an airy, but holds water in close to the plants roots. It was easy to mix with the other ingredients and is exactly what I needed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+65points
65out of 65found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Deerfield, NH,USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good for our hard clay type soil.

PostedMay 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have never been able to grow vegetables so successfully before. We use it in our "high tower" type greenhouse which we planted in March. I have spinach like I never had before along with kale, beets, radishes, lettuce and carrots. I have started all my plants to put outside using vermiculite mixed in with my soil. In my garden we just mix it in along the rows when we plant. And to think it is only May and we are enjoying our vegetables in NH.
Pros: Great Quality, a great asset to our garden
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from New Jersey

Brick Oven Builders

PostedAugust 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Hi All....
Anyone that has tried to build a brick oven will know that getting this stuff in large quantities can be very difficult. When mixed with portland cement... 6-1-1----- 6 vermiculite, 1 part portland cement 1 part water, this makes an incredible insulator for the dome...then covered with mortar or I used SBC (surface bonding cement) will keep the heat in for some fantastic baking.. Also can be used to line fire pits.. Thanks home depot for another great product, Just wish you would carry it in the stores,,,,, you can see in the pic that the oven is so well insulated the snow wont even melt... that was after 4 hours of fire... I wish they would start carrying Fire brick and heat stop mortar as well, then it could all be bought in one stop from a trusted friend.......
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+68points
71out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Springfield, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product, great price--delivered to your door--who could ask for more :). <3 Home Depot

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this vermiculite in my sq. ft. garden. The product was the right one--organic. The price was reasonable, and Home Depot delivered it to my door--FREE!! My garden is doing well :)
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just the ticket!

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this in my raised bed garden along with perlite and compost/topsoil mix. Just the ticket! Don't use on windy day. Use a dust mask, fine particulates.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Dallas, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

So impressed with what it does

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found out that with my plants I was using too much potting soil by it's self, so I went u-tubing for a good plant mix, so I said what the heck maybe my plants will like vermiculite. I mixed this with perlite and regular potting soil repotted four of my plants and I must say, after 2 weeks my plants are finally getting growth and I'm getting the good drainage that I need. This is a keeper for me, $20 is a little pricely, but it costs way more to replace plants that drowned because the soil stayed very wet at the bottom. I'am going to go buy another bag very soon, because I love growing plants during the spring/summer. A must have for us plant growers.
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Dublin, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Only place to get it, really

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We started Square Foot Gardening this year (Mel Bartholomew's method) and needed this for Mel's Mix of 1/3 peat moss, 1/3 compost, 1/3 vermiculite. After scouring the internet, this is really the only place to get it at a reasonable price (and ususally free shipping)! This stuff is worth every penny, our garden has really taken off in just 1 month. We have gorgeous vegetables that taste so much better than store bought. Try Square Foot Gardening and use the vermiculite, even though it may seem like a pain.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Charlotte, NC

FINALLY!!! I CAN GET VERMICULITE FOR SFG & STARTING SEEDS!!!

PostedJune 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Home Depot comes through again!!!!!! I have my vermiculite for seed starting. You will not believe what this stuff does to start your garden. Lightning fast with just vermiculite alone. It cuts off weeks of waiting for seedlings. It is also wonderful for Square Foot Gardening and in Mel's Mix, if you are into the whole SFG lifestyle. Going GREEN for so little pocket GREEN has never been easier. You can use this over and over, so it will last forever. I don't need to wish you luck, I just need to tell you to make room for ALL THE PLANTS AND VEGGIES you ever wanted to grow. YOU ROCK HOME DEPOT. PLEASE KEEP THIS ITEM IN STOCK AS I WILL BE SENDING FOLKS YOUR WAY. Happy Gardening. Peace, Me
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Forget Perlite

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Do yourself a favor and forget Perlite. Perlite floats out of your mix and really doesn't give the value it is supposed to give.
Vermiculite on the other hand not only helps keep your soil fluffy and light, it also holds 7 times it's own weight in water.
The clay soil in my yard is so bad things die very shortly after planting because any hole in the clay becomes a water filled bowl. To counteract this I use a post hole digger to dig a deep shaft under my plantings and fill the shaft with Vermiculite to absorb the water in the rainy season which the plants can use during the dry season.
The best soil mix I've ever used is 1/3 Vermiculite, 1/3 Peat Moss, and the final 1/3 is a combination of Black Kow branded compost... Black Kow composted cow manure, Mushroom compost by Black Kow, and Black Hen composted chicken manure in equal parts. Everything was up and growing in record time and has doubled in size.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Works for our square foot garden

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have fallen in love with the Square Foot Garden method of gardening, but it is very difficult to find vermiculite in our area (within 100 miles). "Our" Home Depot (60 miles away) does not carry it either, so we were thrilled to find it online for a good value. Many will try to say that perlite is the same thing, but it is not. (There are pros and cons of both, but Mel recommends vermiculite and it is what we need for our climate.) This is not the "coarse" grade recommended in the book, but it has worked fine for us.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Memphis, TN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Finer than expected, but the only affordable source

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a good value. This vermiculite is not as course as I would prefer for mixing for my 3 ingredient potting/gardening mixture, but it does the job. Honestly, Home Depot is the only company offering free shipping of this product. Shipping from other companies exceeds the product cost. I WISH Home Depot would stock this product locally, in even larger bags, as I feel certain it would sell well (and save them a bundle in shipping costs).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

little bit goes along way

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
A little bit goes along way. Home depot needs to sell this at the store. Other than than thank you Home Depot for carrying this online and most importantly, shipping it to my house for FREE!!
Pros: Multi Use, Functionality
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Pineallas County, FL
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

difficult to find in large size

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My two large bags of vermiculite were delivered quickly. This is the easiest and most economical way to purchase the larger quantities needed for my square foot garden and the free shipping made it affordable.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

GRRRREAT STUFF

PostedMarch 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Vermiculite,peat moss and compost makes THE BEST soil for growing veggies ANYWHERE. I use this in my raised beds in the Southern Nevada desert. Follow directions and use a mask or the dust will choke you.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Excellent service!

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I could not find this product at any commercial stores locally and was extremely happy to find it at The Home Depot on-line store. This is one of the three ingredients for square foot gardening and it was important for me to find a supplier. The best part is that shipping was free and I received the product in less than a week.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

like product and packaging

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
home depot is always easy to work with and has good products and customer service
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Saint Regis Falls,NY

Vermiculite

PostedSeptember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was the first time I have used this type of product in mysoil in flower pots. It is awsome!!!! My flowers have never looked so full and beautiful. THANK YOU
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Container gardening potting mix

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product is very finely ground and very dusty. I definitely recommend using a dust mask when handling it dry out of the bag. I would have preferred it to be more coarse for better drainage and to achieve a lighter potting soil mix for my patio garden planters but a more coarse product was not available. Hence, the reason I only rate it a 4 of 5.
I mix one part of this vermiculite with one part of Kellogg's N'Rich Compost and two parts of Miracle Grow Spagnum Peat Moss to make a potting soil mix for my containers ranging from three to 15 gallons in size. My vegetable plants all grow very well, especially tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, and peas. This is the second year I have used this mix in my patio garden containers with very good results.
The mixture does hold moisture well enough so I don't have to water as often and is a little heavy when wet, especially in the larger containers. Dry, the mix is light enough to move the planters with ease, so I make sure they are located where I want them before I plant and water them. Overall, I am very satisfied with this product and will continue to use it unless a coarser version becomes available.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

These Rocks Rock!

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Shipping was as fast as blading at 45. I spread the rock in Arock pattern in my garden for maximum retention of water. I used 1/3 of 87 cubic feet for the ratio. I highly recommend these to anyone needing Vermiculite. I did my research for the best place to order online, at the liebary (where I met a girl, but that's a differnt story, oorah!).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Perfect for Garden Soil

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice addition to garden soil just be aware it can kick up some dust. I use Peat Moss, Vermiculite and compost.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>