728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

This THERMOROCK 2.0 cu. ft. Vermiculite is an organic, asbestos-free soil amendment that can be used to improve moisture retention and aeration in potting mixes. It helps support root structure and stimulates root growth.
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(95 reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product80 of 84reviews
Rating Breakdown 95 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(74)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product80 of 84reviews
Customer reviews for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
Review 21 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Vermiculite for my square foot garden

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is hard to find locally. after searching a few garden centers, I decided to save myself some time and look online. HD had it in stock, at a cheaper price, and with free shipping! Better than any other retailer.... I'll definitely buy again. Thank you! MSB
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from St Regis Falls, Waverly, NY 12980, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good consistency

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I will use this product to mix in soil to start seeds in my house
for my veg garden. We have short growing season where I live
so it really helps in seed starting.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from New Mexico, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A bit fine

PostedApril 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I ordered this product for my square foot garden. It works well even though it is a little fine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Cosby, TN 37722, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product, should be in stores each Spring

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is invaluable in setting up growing beds each Spring, especially if you have clay soil. It helps loosen and lighten the soil, making it easier for the seeds to sprout.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Great for garden

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this in the soil mix for my SFG (Square Foot Garden) beds. Works great and would highly recommend. It's a little on the expensive side, but what ain't these days.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from San Antonio, TX
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed for the garden!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is difficult to find in garden stores and elsewhere. I put in a raised-bed garden and mixed this with compost, peat moss, and garden soil to create an excellent growing medium for my tomatoes, cukes, cantaloupe, peppers and zucchini. They're growing strong!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Vermiculite as advertisied

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used 6 bags in my outdoor wood fired pizza oven. It was delivered, no cost shipping, and worked well mixed with concrete as oven cladding
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from McKean, PA 16426, USA

exactly what i was looking for

PostedMay 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good price and free delivery, like others using for mel's mix for raised beds
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Forget Perlite

PostedMay 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Do yourself a favor and forget Perlite. Perlite floats out of your mix and really doesn't give the value it is supposed to give.
Vermiculite on the other hand not only helps keep your soil fluffy and light, it also holds 7 times it's own weight in water.
The clay soil in my yard is so bad things die very shortly after planting because any hole in the clay becomes a water filled bowl. To counteract this I use a post hole digger to dig a deep shaft under my plantings and fill the shaft with Vermiculite to absorb the water in the rainy season which the plants can use during the dry season.
The best soil mix I've ever used is 1/3 Vermiculite, 1/3 Peat Moss, and the final 1/3 is a combination of Black Kow branded compost... Black Kow composted cow manure, Mushroom compost by Black Kow, and Black Hen composted chicken manure in equal parts. Everything was up and growing in record time and has doubled in size.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hard to find a big package for vermiculite. Perfect unit to buy for gardening. It does what it's supposed to do.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Container gardening potting mix

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is very finely ground and very dusty. I definitely recommend using a dust mask when handling it dry out of the bag. I would have preferred it to be more coarse for better drainage and to achieve a lighter potting soil mix for my patio garden planters but a more coarse product was not available. Hence, the reason I only rate it a 4 of 5.
I mix one part of this vermiculite with one part of Kellogg's N'Rich Compost and two parts of Miracle Grow Spagnum Peat Moss to make a potting soil mix for my containers ranging from three to 15 gallons in size. My vegetable plants all grow very well, especially tomatoes, cucumbers, peppers, and peas. This is the second year I have used this mix in my patio garden containers with very good results.
The mixture does hold moisture well enough so I don't have to water as often and is a little heavy when wet, especially in the larger containers. Dry, the mix is light enough to move the planters with ease, so I make sure they are located where I want them before I plant and water them. Overall, I am very satisfied with this product and will continue to use it unless a coarser version becomes available.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Works for our square foot garden

PostedMay 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have fallen in love with the Square Foot Garden method of gardening, but it is very difficult to find vermiculite in our area (within 100 miles). "Our" Home Depot (60 miles away) does not carry it either, so we were thrilled to find it online for a good value. Many will try to say that perlite is the same thing, but it is not. (There are pros and cons of both, but Mel recommends vermiculite and it is what we need for our climate.) This is not the "coarse" grade recommended in the book, but it has worked fine for us.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

Wanted the course

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really wanted course vermiculite, but settled for the medium. It good and I will buy it again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Dublin, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Only place to get it, really

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We started Square Foot Gardening this year (Mel Bartholomew's method) and needed this for Mel's Mix of 1/3 peat moss, 1/3 compost, 1/3 vermiculite. After scouring the internet, this is really the only place to get it at a reasonable price (and ususally free shipping)! This stuff is worth every penny, our garden has really taken off in just 1 month. We have gorgeous vegetables that taste so much better than store bought. Try Square Foot Gardening and use the vermiculite, even though it may seem like a pain.
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Medina, OH 44256, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading other comments on how the grade was too fine I questioned whether this was the vermiculite for me. After having used it in the soil mix for my garden I recomend it to anyone. Yes it is a little fine but when mixed with the other soil amenities it works out right. Not to mention how expensive it is to buy locally this product is a great value.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment

vermiculite- what is there to say?

PostedMay 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Vermiculite was surprisingly difficult to find locally (even at the brick & mortar Home Depot) so nice to find it online with free shipping for orders over $45
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Central PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

1/3 of Mel's Mix for Square Foot Gardening - exactly what I needed

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched around for large bags of Vermiculite and landed at Home Depot Online for the best deal. The All New Square Foot Gardening requires Vermiculite as 1/3 of Mel's Mix - the essential mix of soil for this amazing gardening method. The Vermiculite is very light an airy, but holds water in close to the plants roots. It was easy to mix with the other ingredients and is exactly what I needed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+61points
61out of 61found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from Viper, KY 41774, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed in 3 bags, delivered to my door.

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was unable to find this product anywhere locally. I was very happy to find it at Home Depot, and with free shipping, too. It will allow me to finish my home garden project and the material is easy to work with, and should do the job. Will find out when vegetables come in.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Used for my Square Foot Garden

PostedMay 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Even though this was only medium vermiculite instead of the coarse it seems to be working just fine in my garden. Vermiculite was very hard to find in my area, having it shipped for free was a cost effective way of obtaining it, instead of driving for an hour and actually paying more per bag. Shipping was fast and I received the 5 bags I ordered in about 4 days. I will definitely use Home Depot online for more of my purchases rather than driving 30+ miles to my closest Home Depot store.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 2 cu. ft. Medium Grade Vermiculite Soil Amendment
from New Hampshire, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent value

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I added this product to my garden soil, as recommended by the Square-Foot gardening author. This was the most economical way to get the amount I needed. I just wish they would carry this product in the stores.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5 >>