728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ranges or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel

5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel

The LG Electronics 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Range has a spacious 5.4 cu. ft. oven capacity that provides space to cook more dishes at the same time. Featuring a Superboil 17,000 BTU burner that quickly boils water and other liquids, the range's 5 high-performance sealed burners provide flexible cooking power from 5,000 BTUs to 17,000 BTUs to help you cook a wide range of dishes. The range's PreciseTemp baking system helps deliver evenly baked results.
Overall rating:
4.371 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 84
Open Ratings Snapshot
82%of customersrecommend this product72 of 88reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(61)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Features 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
82%of customersrecommend this product72 of 88reviews
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
Review 1 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Professional look & quality

PostedJanuary 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We absolutely love our new range. Everything about it has the look & feel of what you would find in a restaurant kitchen. We bought it from Home Depot along with the other 3 kitchen appliances & they matched competitors sales prices which was great. Just used the griddle for the first time for pancakes and it worked just fine. It takes a "little' longer to heat up for the first batch but, after that, the pancakes cooked quickly. Just ordered a 3rd oven rack from Sear's website for $23.95 plus s&h. If interested, the part # is MHL39256101. They were a lot cheaper than other sites for the exact same rack.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

tricky purchase

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There is a problem with food stains being trapped inside of the double glass of the oven door which enters via the small opening at the top of the oven door. I was told by LG repair service and the maufacturer that the only way to clean that area is to take the door off the oven which may take two people to remove. Also, I was told that if the door is not put back on properly the oven may not operate properly. I was told that this could happen when the food is not covered in the oven atball times. They said this problem is not covered by the manufacturer or warranty. My oven was purchased in Febuary, 2013. I feel like this is a defect and I feel stuck with a new oven that looks terrible with very visible long food stains. Also, LG refuses to take the oven back.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Blount County
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Stainless Gas Range

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We built a new home and bought all new LG appliances. We've had problem with the over from day one. I kept getting an error F11. After several trips by the serviceman and replacing almost all the parts I just knew it was repaired. NO, It took me 4 trys today to get the oven to come on. My husband was on the phone with them for over 2 hr. and nobody there has authority to make any decisions other than send out a serviceman. He's already replaced everything, been in touch with the techs and doesn't know what the problem is. I've only had it a few months.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great
Cons: Not Durable, won't work
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Spring, TX

LRG3093 Stovetop Review

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is for the LRG3093. We purchased this in white and it was delivered on Saturday, 15JUL. We have not used the oven or broiler yet, however, I was so disappointed in the cook top that I wanted to come leave a review on that portion. We made pancakes Saturday, shortly after it was installed! Couldn't wait to use the center burner. What better way to test this than to cook up some pancakes? What a let down. We used a cast irion griddle. First of all the flame, while set on HIGH, didn't even come close to touching the bottom of our pan. We had to leave the control set to high the entire time while cooking about 12-15 pancakes and they took forever. Then, we started turning on all of the burners and placing a pot on top of its grate. The only flame that even comes close to touching the bottom of your pan while set to High is the Super Boil. The grates are just too high. We have always used gas ranges and are very familiar with cooking on gas - just wanted to give other's a heads up.
As mentioned We have not yet used the oven or broiler portion. I will be using these a lot to cook dinner this week and will update this review if allowed.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Baltimore, MD

So disappointed with LG

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So disappointed with LG. We purchased washer, dryer, fridge, gas range, dishwasher and microwave. All LG. Huge mistake. I am writing a review for this gas range which I don't normally do. The oven didn't cook even from the beginning, one side of my cookie sheet was darker than the other and things that I have baked for years would come out over cooked following my recipes and I now have to check constantly if things are done. Now my oven is 2 years old, did not buy the extended warranty and my oven shuts off and flashes the fan icon after about 30 minutes of cooking time. This frustration comes after a year long battle with LG for a dishwasher that didn't clean dishes, the dishes had food on them after even the power scrub. LG replaced numerous parts. After numerous visits by technicians they did replace the unit and new one seems fine (thank you for that LG) but no sooner did they replace it this happens with the oven. Also will mention my washing machine holds mold in the pull out detergent drawer in areas that are impossible to reach. I also have a samsung washing machine that does not do this. Most of the reps I speak to at LG 800 number have been polite and say they are sorry but sorry doesn't cut it when I need to cook or clean and I have spent thousands on appliances.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel

Griddles are Rusting!!!

PostedMay 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the stainless steel model and have had it for less than a year. I was very happy with the stove until the grills where the pots sit on top of started to rust! It's upsetting that customer service won't even do a thing about it even though I've had it for less than a year. I can't imagine what it'll start looking like after a few more years of use. And, I never use any abrasive or harsh cleaners - only mild dish washing detergent and warm water. I worry that the rust may somehow get onto the food that I cook for my family. How disappointing, really. Don't buy LG just based on customer service (and I'm Korean too! Was thinking that I was supporting a good Korean company, guess I was wrong).
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Butler, PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Disappointment with Knobs melting !

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I never realized until sometime later that when you leave the door open after the oven was on that the knobs would melt ! They are not stainless !!!!!!! I would have NEVER thought this could happen, that's only common sense that they would make a product that would not melt or disfigure if the door was open after the oven was shut off !!!!!! Only real problem, but, I will need to order all new Knobs on outside. This product should NEVER do that !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Not Durable, knobs melted when door open after heated.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel

great except one thing

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
love this range...fantastic to finally have a gas range, and the the convection oven is awesome. i broke it in over thanksgiving and it's a joy. However, the center burner does not have sufficient BTU's to cook a pancake. really. i even tried preheating the griddle for 10 mins and they won't even brown. they are basically dehydrated blonde things. it's good for simmering, made gravy over it with the large roasting pan, but grilled cheese and pancakes, anything with the griddle(which i was very excited about), useless. very annoying as it is one of the "features"!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Hackensack, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

UPDATE: 30 in. Self-Cleaning Freestanding Gas Range in Stainless Steel

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We've had this range for 10 months and initially posted a good review. We now feel obligated to post another review to elaborate on the quality of this range. The range looks great. The burners and oven work well (We've never used the middle burner). The knobs are made to look durable but in fact are made of cheap plastic. The knobs on our range started to crack and the aluminum appearance seems to be flaking apparently from not being able to withstand the high heat emitted from the stove top or oven. (We have never used the self cleaning feature). We have contacted LG regarding this matter and have been promised a new set of NEW and IMPROVED replacement knobs made to correct this issue which so many have complained of! We'll see if this corrects the problem. Will post again.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Cons: cheap plastic knobs, stove top paint easily chips, stainless look smudges easily
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from San Marcos, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Decent Range, but cheap components and poor support

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had owned the LG for just over one year. The range is simple to operate and the burners work well. However, although the stainless steel control knobs look heavy duty, they are anything but. All of mine have broken inside and seem to deteriorate with heat from the oven cleaning cycle....the front and top get extremmely hot. The knobs are cheap plastic on the inside and get brittle. I have had to glue mine back together. I am still waiting for replacement knobs from LG.....now 2 months and they say another 2 weeks!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Anchorage, AK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This stove works better than anticipated! Great Purchase

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was a little leery since it was on sale, but after getting it home and hooked up, it has exceeded our expectations. The griddle function is extremely nice and the oven is superb!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This oven is amazing!

PostedMarch 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this oven 8 months ago right after we bought our house. It is amazing! The oven preheats so much faster than our previous one. I love the variety of burners (power burner, simmer burner, etc.). I also love that the digital display. It looks sharp and cooks everything evenly. My husband installed it with my Dad because we didn't want to pay $150 to have someone install it. Installation went surprisingly quickly and no complaints from either of them! I definitely recommend it to others.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel

Love my LG!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We changed from an old Kenmore glass top electric to gas so anything was a move up from what we had before. What I love about the LG is that it has a super boil burner so I can do canning and jams. We have used our oven for cookies, a roast, and other caseroles and it is nice to have a strong oven with reliable cook times. The cook options are simple and easy to follow.
Only issue was some off gassing the first time we used our broil option, but that has gone away now.
All in all, LOVE the LG!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Port Hueneme, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

so far so good

PostedJune 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only had this range for a few days. I am very worried after reading the other reviews especially since my husband picked this one and I wanted the GE Adora (which has better reviews by the way). But we have it now....it is beautiful, not too hard to keep clean and I really like the 5th burner but it does seem to take longer to heat up. I used my older griddle on the side using 2 burners to cook pork chops and it took much longer than I expected it would. Overall I like this range.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Southern California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

There are hidden costs

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a slightly older model then this one. I bought it based on looks, price, and perceived value. The looks are what they are and I like it. After 1 month the ignitor kept firing. I had to unplug it and a service person came by. It has not done that since. The grill sits high above the burner so it appears to waste gas if you want to simmer on a low heat. Lastly, We never used the middle burner until recently and the knob was broken (the plastic housing was cracked). It likely came broken but I did not check at the time of delivery. I had a second knob break while a cleaning person did their thing. I called to get it replaced and the cost of each plastic knob was over $70. Unbelievable. I complained to no avail. This also occurred to a friend of mine. I am very disappointed with LG's support of their product. Hidden costs my friend. Look elsewhere for a better product, I will.
-1point
9out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Hackensack, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Range

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looks and works beautifully. We haven't tried the middle burner yet, but the the burners and the oven work great. Love LG appliances....We decided to buy the LG Microwave, Dishwasher and Refrigerator as well. All look beautiful and work well. No complaints
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it!

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this Range! It is very easy to clean and I love the different size burners.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Horton, KS 66439, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Stove

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Recently moved and needed to replace my stove. I looked and looked on the web and finally decided on this stove. WOW, is all I can say. This stove is everything they state and more. Everyone who has seen this stove cannot believe how truly great it is. Why did I wait so long to buy this. The installers were professional and did a fantastic job.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel

beautiful

PostedSeptember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have a really outdated kitchen and this seems to really make it look spiffy. The stainless steel looks so great and the oven so far (i have only had it 2 months) works great! I love the different burners having specific jobs due to amout of btu output and the oven is great for baking and broiling because it is a real flame cooking not an electric coil. It is also easy to clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5.4 cu. ft. Single Oven Gas Range with Self-Cleaning in Stainless Steel
from Minneapolis, MN

Great Range...

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this LG gas range over a year ago and still works like new. This range has easy to use controls, oven heats quickly & cleaning feature works great.
My only issue is one of the knobs cracked so won't turn burner on but we resolved that but replacing with center knob. (Don't use center burner but works great to use as extra cooking space.)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>