728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower

One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower

Get it while it lasts, this Season is the perfect time to get on board the one+ platform with a String Trimmer and Blower combo pack. The String Trimmer/Blower combo pack comes with a 12 in. battery powered String Trimmer, and best of all, you get a battery powered Blower absolutely free in the box. These two convenient outdoor tools are both powered by the 18 V Lithium ion batteries- a one+ battery that powers all of the 40+ tools in the Ryobi one+ system. The Lithium-ion battery features a longer run time, shorter charger time, and eco-friendly components, so there’s never been better time to upgrade your one+ system, or start your collection with two tools for the price of one.
Overall rating:
4.262 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product37 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product37 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
Review 1 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Portage, MI

Accept Nothing Else!

PostedMay 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This trimmer is the best I've had and I've had gas, corded electric, and manual. I waited and waited for HD to receive a shipment and when they did it was the box with the free blower, what a bonus! You will not find a better trimmer on the market. I used this for my yard THEN used the blower to clean off the side walk and driveway.....with the SAME battery, no charge required. In fact, I'm still using the blower. I would say the battery lasts at least an hour with one charge, but it last so long I can't tell. One of the best purchases I've made in a long time. Thanks Ryobi and Home Depot.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower

Buy it

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an awesome set, only 119.99 is a great deal for such a great kit. The weed eater is extremely simple to use, yet very capable for every application I've used it for. The leaf blower may lack some power but its great for after you mow the lawn and use the weedwacker to blow off the driveway and keep down little brush here and there. Strongly reccommend that everyone buy this kit, especially since the battery works in so many applications.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Danville, NH

Who knew I needed one?

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have always wanted a cordless, electric string trimmer, but have stayed away out of fear of difficult or expensive battery replacement. I have a half dozen Ryobi 18v tools, so, with those fears allayed, I jumped in.
The trimmer is great. Does what a string trimmer is supposed to do except quieter and further from an outlet. Very happy with its cutting performance and battery life.
I had no interest in a leaf blower -- that's what wind if for. BUT, this weekend I had to work on a bunch of old computers. I will never buy compressed air again! I opened the cases, dragged the computers onto the driveway, and completely cleaned the lot in a couple minutes. No need to stick my head in the case and no more paying for air.
Also, the kit with lion battery and charger is a bargain. I highly recommend this tool for handy men and geeks alike.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Midwest

Ryobi 18-Volt Cordless Trimmer

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice trimmer, easy to assemble, and simple to operate. Great for lawn maintenance. When used on more difficult jobs such as trimming back ornamental grasses, it just slaps the grass around. Charged fine before first use. Would not charge thereafter. Indicative of very poor manufacturing quality controls. Would absolutely not recommend this trimmer to anyone for its ineffectiveness on any job other than small lawn maintenance and charger
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Otsego, MN

Works great for a smaller yard!

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't even have a quarter acre of lawn. Yet I need a trimmer to clean the up the spots my mower doesn't get after I mow. With this trimmer I have it down to a science. Pop the battery on the charger, mow the grass, pull the fully charged battery off the charger, attach it to the trimmer, trim everything the mower couldn't get, pop the batter off the trimmer and onto the blower, blow my dirty/dusty mower off and my garage and call it a day.
Trimmer has excellent power
Not a lot of moving parts to worry about like a gas trimmer
Don't have to worry about gas issues when they add more ethanol to fuel in the future
extremely light
Battery has fuel guage built into it
Battery potential is constant until the very end
Only bad thing I noticed is the shaft has some play in it near the extensioner. Also, if you have a big yard you may want to pick up an extra battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Atlanta, GA

Great time saving & powerful tools.

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already had an electric weeder and blower but I wanted to be free of cords. I am so happy that I happened by the deal where I got the blower free with the weeder. The equipment even with the battery is lighter than the electric products that I was using. They are both super quiet and I was very surprised with how powerful they are! I am so completely satisfied that I am now looking for other yard products from Robi.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Elkridge, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have any size to your yard don't buy this trimmer...

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you have any size ot this yard don't buy this trimmer. While it works well, it is not heavy or even medium duty and the small cutting swath requires a number of passes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Monroe, Washington

Good Value

PostedJune 6, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I tried this out yesterday and I was amazed to see how powerful this trimmer was. It felt like I was using a corded trimmer. The battery lasted much longer than I thought.
There are some issues I have run into though.
First is the trigger and safety button, requires a lot of pressure to keep this running, so I had to switch hands every so often. Second would be the amount of string lost when edging. I learned it's better to edge with the guide on and slowly otherwise you lose a lot of string and I couldn't get the auto feature to work unless it did without my knowledge and maybe thats why I lost so much string?
The blower is great could be better for wet debris but it cleared things well with plenty of juice. The battery is great it's Li-Ion so it takes about an hour for a full charge but it runs for a good 30 mins at least. I was looking at the WORX brand trimmer since I have a WORX cordless mower but I stayed away because of all the negative reviews regarding the battery life being less than 20 mins. Also this is a better buy as I got the blower and can use the RYOBI battery on other ONE+ tools down the road. If I ever get a bigger yard I may look to buying something with more power or at least more comfort.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Portland, OR

Straight Scoop...

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 1/4 acre to trim. Half lawn half landscaped. After charging the battery for the first time (should run longer after a few more chargings as is typical with Lithium-Ion batteries). I ran the trimmer for 20 minutes, half the time chopping 18" grass in half, and half the time doing normal edging. Then I took the battery out and put it in the blower and blew off the driveway, and walkways that had received grass clippings, this took 5 minutes then I walked around for another 2 minutes or so running the blower unitil the battery died. I timed all of this to see how long the battery would last. The trimmer has the same power as your typical corded electric trimmer. I have no complaints at all. I was cautiously optimistic, wondering if the trimmer would be under powered. It wasn't. Keep in mind the blower isn't designed to clear your yard of leaves. Although it will certainly move some dry leaves, it is clearly designed as a partner to the trimmer with the focus being to blow away the trimmings from driveways etc, that you just created. The great thing about this unit is it frees you from dragging around extension cords or messing with gas/oil. Also gas trimmers require draining for storage during the winter and over time fuel system parts wear out and need replacing. It comes with the large Ryobi lithium battery (about 3 amp/hour I believe) this battery retails alone for $89 and the charger for $30 which means your essentially getting the trimmer for free. Also, once you buy it, you will be able to use other Ryobi tools with the battery and charger that comes with the trimmer. YOU WILL NOTICE THE TRIMMER/BLOWER COMBO IS OUT OF STOCK ONLINE AS OF 6/26/10. I FOUND THE COMBO IN MY LOCAL HOME DEPOT STORE. THERE WERE 4 UNITS LEFT. 2 WITH BLOWER AND 2 WITHOUT. ALL PRICED AT $119. SO IT PAYS TO CHECK.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Chicago suburb 1/2 acre lawn.

Great deal take advantage

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a good deal for the price. I have read negatives about the leaf blower. It works really well for cleaning my deck garage, and driveway. I used the p104 lithium battery and it was enough for my deck and garage. It is not strong enough to blow leafs out of a lawn.
The grass trimmer works good for trimming around my lamp post and mail box, and garden area. I don't know if it will knock down tall standing weeds.
The price was the same as a new battery & charger alone. It was like getting the trimmer and leaf blower free. Can't beat that.
Don't pass up this deal if you have other 18v Ryobi tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Virginia

Weak Battery

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pros: The string trimmer/edger works as expected
Cons:
1. The blower is weak. It can't blow away small leaves on grass.
2. The Li 18V battery is even weaker. It lasts for a short period of time. After working for just 15 minutes, the battery will stop working! This is because it's too hot and the temperature-protection mechanism kinks in and the battery starts to "go on strike". You have to wait for a while for the battery to cool down to resume working.
I really hope Ryobi can improve their battery. Plus, it could be better if they put in a yard vacuum w/ leaf shredder into this combo.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from homeowner in Michigan, retired

Excellent value

PostedMay 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not as powerful as my old gas trimmer but more than adaquate. Liithuim battery is a huge improvement over the NiCad batteries included with my old set of power tools. The blower they throw in with it is a bonus. It does a nice job of blowing leaves and other debris off my garage floor, sidewalr, and patio and it is so light and easy to use. Again not a replacement for my backpack blower but more than adequate. Next purchase is the hedge trimmer. That will get me a second battery for backup.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower

Terrible Product

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is more of a toy then a piece of lawn equipment. The weed eater is weak and you need to move real slow to get it to cut properly. Not sure why they even put the blower in the box, it couldn't blow a leaf off the patio.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Clermont, FL

Good Deal

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchase was a good deal, when you figure the cost and value of the items separately. I have several ONE+ tools and overall have been very happy with the quality and utility of the items.
I used the trimmer for the first time today and it performed as expected. I used a partially drained battery yet had enough juice to complete trimming of my 1/3 acre lot. The product is clearly not intended for heavy duty use, so take that into consideration before purchasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Minneapolis, MN

Great deal for a decent trimmer

PostedMay 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The real reason to buy this package is the Lithium battery and charger which cost $130 if purchased separately. I have 6 other Ryobi tools so the upgraded battery was a no brainer.
The trimmer is great for an averaged sized yard. It worked fine on my 1/4 acre yard. If you have a lot of property and tall grass/weeds, this is not the trimmer for you. On a fully charged battery I was able to trim my yard and the charge indicator was still green.
My only complaint is the line advance system. Every time you stop the trimmer, the line advances whether you need more line or not. I can see how this will waste a lot of line.
The blower is only good for clearing your sidewalk or deck. It's not something I would use to gather large amounts of leaves in the fall.
Overall a great deal, especially if you already have other Ryobi tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Powdersville, SC

Great trimmer

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Trimmer is fantastic and when combined with the blower you get a great value. The trimmer is very light weight and simple to use. Much better than gas. Would absolutely buy again and recommend. Auto feed line works perfectly. A great great buy.
The blower is perfect for blowing off the deck and blowing out the garage. Not a substitute for a gas powered unit...but works well.
Lithium power makes it last a good long time and covers my 0.6 acre lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Omaha, NE

Ryobi 18v string trimmer

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The string trimmer is light and easy to use. The rotating head is useful for trimming and edging your lawn. The trimmer is perfect for homeowner lawn care. The free blower was good for blowing grass clippings of the sidewalk. The blower is a little underpowered for much bigger jobs. The battery will last long enough to trim the average yard and blow off the clippings. For acreage homeowners the battery may not last long enough to finish the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Buhl, MN

Ryobi 18volt String Trimmer and Blower

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered these about two weeks ago through Home Depot and just got a chance to try them out today.
I am thoroughly satisfied with both. The trimmer performs as expected and the battery life so far is excellent. Time will tell.
I definitely would recommend this for a person with a smaller yard and wants a lightweight, quiet trimmer.
I have yet to use the edging feature, but feel confident that it will do the job.
I am very pleased with both units.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Nebraska

cordless edger

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have struggled with edgers forever and absolutely hate the bump advances, but now my prayers have been answered. I did a lot of research and narrowed down my choices to the Black and Decker and Ryobi cordless edgers. I choose the Ryobi because of the battery and I have not been disappointed. I can do my entire yard in one charge, plus use the blower that came as an addition to my purchase. This product is well made and a bargain for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Phx Arizona

what a bargain!! Thank you Ryobi and HD!!

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a one plus string timmer purchased in 2008....loved it so much wanted to get more for daughter and a friend..could not find Anymore! even wrote Ryobi trying...said they had quit manufacturing them..so disappointed! Then a few weeks ago saw the new lithium one and the Blower separately. Purchased the trimmer for my daughter And my friend --Both absolutely LOVE them!! Purchased the blower for myself...LOVE , LOVE , LOVE! Wanted to purchase the string trimmer on line to send to sisters in Illinois and your site said not available. GLAD I waited! Just purchased the Dual Pack for them at the original Trimmer price (what a bonus!!) And, Free Shipping to boot! Ryobi and Home Depot have just Made my Holiday Weekend!! I have MANY Ryobi one plus tools, never disappointed, now a new lithium battery to use in any of them. You guys are Awesome!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>