728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower

One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower

Get it while it lasts, this Season is the perfect time to get on board the one+ platform with a String Trimmer and Blower combo pack. The String Trimmer/Blower combo pack comes with a 12 in. battery powered String Trimmer, and best of all, you get a battery powered Blower absolutely free in the box. These two convenient outdoor tools are both powered by the 18 V Lithium ion batteries- a one+ battery that powers all of the 40+ tools in the Ryobi one+ system. The Lithium-ion battery features a longer run time, shorter charger time, and eco-friendly components, so there’s never been better time to upgrade your one+ system, or start your collection with two tools for the price of one.
Overall rating:
4.262 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(42 reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product37 of 42reviews
Rating Breakdown 42 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(24)
4
(12)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product37 of 42reviews
Customer reviews for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
Review 1 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Elkridge, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you have any size to your yard don't buy this trimmer...

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you have any size ot this yard don't buy this trimmer. While it works well, it is not heavy or even medium duty and the small cutting swath requires a number of passes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Chicago suburb 1/2 acre lawn.

Great deal take advantage

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was a good deal for the price. I have read negatives about the leaf blower. It works really well for cleaning my deck garage, and driveway. I used the p104 lithium battery and it was enough for my deck and garage. It is not strong enough to blow leafs out of a lawn.
The grass trimmer works good for trimming around my lamp post and mail box, and garden area. I don't know if it will knock down tall standing weeds.
The price was the same as a new battery & charger alone. It was like getting the trimmer and leaf blower free. Can't beat that.
Don't pass up this deal if you have other 18v Ryobi tools.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Powdersville, SC

Great trimmer

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Trimmer is fantastic and when combined with the blower you get a great value. The trimmer is very light weight and simple to use. Much better than gas. Would absolutely buy again and recommend. Auto feed line works perfectly. A great great buy.
The blower is perfect for blowing off the deck and blowing out the garage. Not a substitute for a gas powered unit...but works well.
Lithium power makes it last a good long time and covers my 0.6 acre lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Omaha, NE

Ryobi 18v string trimmer

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The string trimmer is light and easy to use. The rotating head is useful for trimming and edging your lawn. The trimmer is perfect for homeowner lawn care. The free blower was good for blowing grass clippings of the sidewalk. The blower is a little underpowered for much bigger jobs. The battery will last long enough to trim the average yard and blow off the clippings. For acreage homeowners the battery may not last long enough to finish the job.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from NJ

Good Trimmer, Great Bargain Combo

PostedOctober 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an corded electric Ryobi string trimmer which broke, and so bought the Ryobi One string trimmer. I have been very happy with the product, and bought a few more Ryobi One tools: the hedge trimmer and chain saw. The string trimmer was easier to handle and allowed me to travel further than my extension cord would allow. It was easy enough to use, that my wife used it in her vegetable garden to get the weeds between her tomatoes.
I bought this combo essentially for the battery (which is the larger capacity one). The battery alone is $89.00 and the charger $30.00 so essentially the trimmer and blower are free!
The trimmer last for about 30 - 40 minutes on a charge which is about when I come in for a break anyway. I have a few extra batteries so I just change out the battery, have a cold drink, and go back out. Charging takes about 60 - 90 minutes, so if you have three batteries, you could theoretically work continuously.
The blower is not much, but helps clean up after the trimmer. It is great for "sweeping" out the garage, since a lot of stuff blows in during the week.
Learn to work with it's limitations (less power, shorter working time) and you will be pleased. Don't expect these tools to do the work of a gas powered equivalent. The advantages of avoiding gasoline, maintenance, etc., and the fact that you can store them in the basement during the winter are an additional advantages.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower

Buy it

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an awesome set, only 119.99 is a great deal for such a great kit. The weed eater is extremely simple to use, yet very capable for every application I've used it for. The leaf blower may lack some power but its great for after you mow the lawn and use the weedwacker to blow off the driveway and keep down little brush here and there. Strongly reccommend that everyone buy this kit, especially since the battery works in so many applications.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Virginia

Weak Battery

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Pros: The string trimmer/edger works as expected
Cons:
1. The blower is weak. It can't blow away small leaves on grass.
2. The Li 18V battery is even weaker. It lasts for a short period of time. After working for just 15 minutes, the battery will stop working! This is because it's too hot and the temperature-protection mechanism kinks in and the battery starts to "go on strike". You have to wait for a while for the battery to cool down to resume working.
I really hope Ryobi can improve their battery. Plus, it could be better if they put in a yard vacuum w/ leaf shredder into this combo.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Midwest

Ryobi 18-Volt Cordless Trimmer

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice trimmer, easy to assemble, and simple to operate. Great for lawn maintenance. When used on more difficult jobs such as trimming back ornamental grasses, it just slaps the grass around. Charged fine before first use. Would not charge thereafter. Indicative of very poor manufacturing quality controls. Would absolutely not recommend this trimmer to anyone for its ineffectiveness on any job other than small lawn maintenance and charger
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from ROUND ROCK, TX

Super Deal!

PostedJune 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw the price for this set I was amazed. For the price your getting a great value. Based on the prior review I was anticipating a good product.
This set was better than good it was great! the lithium ion battery is great it died after 40mns, which was more than enough time to complete my front and back lawns. What I like is that it keeps on running full steam than shuts off, so there is no loss of power, it works full force throughout.
The weed trimmer is light-weight and easy to handle for me this was important since this is my first weed trimmer. the others i tried out in the store seemed to heavy to keep steady.
The edging feature is a pluse works well.
Very importantly the lithium ion battery charges up rapidly! I would say with-n 60-90mins. this is from being completly drained.
The blower is also a great bonus. it does what it is intended to do, its good for grass clippings, leaves, dust, and dirt to name a few. dont expect to move a rock!
I am anticipating purchasing the tree hedger as my next ryobi one purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from St Peters Missouri

Great trimmer

PostedJune 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
More powerful than I thought. Was able to trim my hole yard on one charge, and no gas/oil. The blower isn't much, but does take care of the dry clipping on the walk ways, is also light to carry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Portland, OR

Straight Scoop...

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 1/4 acre to trim. Half lawn half landscaped. After charging the battery for the first time (should run longer after a few more chargings as is typical with Lithium-Ion batteries). I ran the trimmer for 20 minutes, half the time chopping 18" grass in half, and half the time doing normal edging. Then I took the battery out and put it in the blower and blew off the driveway, and walkways that had received grass clippings, this took 5 minutes then I walked around for another 2 minutes or so running the blower unitil the battery died. I timed all of this to see how long the battery would last. The trimmer has the same power as your typical corded electric trimmer. I have no complaints at all. I was cautiously optimistic, wondering if the trimmer would be under powered. It wasn't. Keep in mind the blower isn't designed to clear your yard of leaves. Although it will certainly move some dry leaves, it is clearly designed as a partner to the trimmer with the focus being to blow away the trimmings from driveways etc, that you just created. The great thing about this unit is it frees you from dragging around extension cords or messing with gas/oil. Also gas trimmers require draining for storage during the winter and over time fuel system parts wear out and need replacing. It comes with the large Ryobi lithium battery (about 3 amp/hour I believe) this battery retails alone for $89 and the charger for $30 which means your essentially getting the trimmer for free. Also, once you buy it, you will be able to use other Ryobi tools with the battery and charger that comes with the trimmer. YOU WILL NOTICE THE TRIMMER/BLOWER COMBO IS OUT OF STOCK ONLINE AS OF 6/26/10. I FOUND THE COMBO IN MY LOCAL HOME DEPOT STORE. THERE WERE 4 UNITS LEFT. 2 WITH BLOWER AND 2 WITHOUT. ALL PRICED AT $119. SO IT PAYS TO CHECK.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Houston, Texas

Not enough juice for a full job

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
As a point of reference, I live in the suburbs with a smaller 1/5 acre lot (not a big yard). My yard grows St. Augustine grass. I mow my yard every 1-2 weeks and I have gotten very good and methodical in my approach. I was using a standard gas trimmer before buying this combo unit.
Good:
- The battery charges very quickly (1 hour as stated). There is a convenient 3-stage battery life gauge so you kinda know how much juice you have left.
- The rotate and lock motion to convert from trimmer to edger is fast and easy.
- The blower works as expected - it's weak but blows grass just fine. The on/off is a flip switch so you don't have to constantly hold some kind of trigger.
Bad:
- The battery doesn't last very long. I was only able to trim/edge less than half my yard (and I have become very efficient for my yard). I had to grab my gas trimmer to finish the job. Yes, I know I can get another battery but 18V just doesn't have enough juice to justify the price - not to mention the battery is $90 (Ouch!!).
- The spool is only designed to accept 0.065" string - that is too weak. I find I am constantly advancing the string because it wears down very quickly.
- The "no bump" string advancing system is inconsistent. It is performed by letting go of the trigger, waiting 1-2 sec, pull the trigger. I have to alter my trimming style because the string wears down too fast. I have to trim in short bursts so my total trimming time takes much longer.
- The trimmer trigger is a terrible design. It has a safety lock you have to depress before you can squeeze the trigger. The trigger itself is too small so you are only squeezing with 2 fingers at the most. This gets tiring since I have to trim in short burst (comment above).
- This is a 1 string design. Most spool designs have 2 or 3 strings to get a more consistent cut.
In short, I am returning this unit since it just doesn't cut it for me. It is not convenient enough for me to ditch my much stronger gas trimmer. Other reviewers say this unit is good for light use - I can't agree because light use should not equal half a job. I thought I would build upon the ONE+ system with this but the trimmer is not powerful enough to be a part of that system. Maybe if they came out with a 24V lithium battery, this trimmer would be better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Clermont, FL

Good Deal

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchase was a good deal, when you figure the cost and value of the items separately. I have several ONE+ tools and overall have been very happy with the quality and utility of the items.
I used the trimmer for the first time today and it performed as expected. I used a partially drained battery yet had enough juice to complete trimming of my 1/3 acre lot. The product is clearly not intended for heavy duty use, so take that into consideration before purchasing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Minneapolis, MN

Excellent for light trimming

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Was looking for a cordless trimmer for trimming my 1/3 acre suburban yard. The free blower is a bonus.
Keeping in mind that the trimmer is battery trimmer, not a gasoline powered one, it does an excellent job. It does well for light trimming but will bog down in heavy weeds. Ditto for edging. It is much quieter than a gasoline trimmer, without the hassle of mixing gas & oil, tune-ups, or the long extension cord of an electric model.
Battery life has been fine for me - I can trim my entire 1/3 acre lot and fence (about 20 min) without a problem. The indicator is usually still on green when I'm done, and it takes less than an hour to fully charge the battery.
The blower works fine, but don't get this for the blower. I've only used it a bit, so I have no idea how long the battery would last, but I get the impression it wouldn't last too long. The switch is poorly located and designed, so it's easy to hit accidentally. Other than that, it will blow stuff around fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Muskogee, Ok.

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much better than I expected, though I would prefer a bump feed system, The blower works beautifully.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from PA

Ryobi Trimmer & Blower

PostedJune 23, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was pleased to find out how much power the trimmer had. I was not as impressed with the blower's power, but it is still adequate and I'm not sorry that I purchased it. With the cost of this combo pack how can you go wrong!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Mt. Sinai, New York

18 volt Trimmer/blower combo pack

PostedJune 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First off the combo pack is a great deal. Basically they are tossing in the blower worth around $50 or $60 for free. Add in free shipping and the $5 off Home Depot online coupon I found and you really have a hot deal here. The P104 battery alone goes for $89 so for $30 you get both tools and the battery charger. I found both tools to be very light weight and surprisingly powerful. The trimmer is multi-adjustable for length, head pivot and hand grip which adds greatly to comfort and usability. The blower has a compact design and is great for quick light work when the gas blower isn't required. Also not having to drag an extension cord are the yard is worth its weight in gold. I have found the set to be a great addition to my other 18 volt Ryobi tools and I really love the extra power and run time of the lithium battery. I highly recommend this set while they last.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower

Terrible Product

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is more of a toy then a piece of lawn equipment. The weed eater is weak and you need to move real slow to get it to cut properly. Not sure why they even put the blower in the box, it couldn't blow a leaf off the patio.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Otsego, MN

Works great for a smaller yard!

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't even have a quarter acre of lawn. Yet I need a trimmer to clean the up the spots my mower doesn't get after I mow. With this trimmer I have it down to a science. Pop the battery on the charger, mow the grass, pull the fully charged battery off the charger, attach it to the trimmer, trim everything the mower couldn't get, pop the batter off the trimmer and onto the blower, blow my dirty/dusty mower off and my garage and call it a day.
Trimmer has excellent power
Not a lot of moving parts to worry about like a gas trimmer
Don't have to worry about gas issues when they add more ethanol to fuel in the future
extremely light
Battery has fuel guage built into it
Battery potential is constant until the very end
Only bad thing I noticed is the shaft has some play in it near the extensioner. Also, if you have a big yard you may want to pick up an extra battery.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One Plus Cordless 18 Volt Lithium-Ion Battery Powered 12 in. Trimmer with Free Cordless Blower
from Lancaster, NY

Ryobi Cordless Trimmer/Blower

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. Run time is exceptional and power is great. Charges very quickly. I would recommend buying it. It was a great price for a cordless trimmer and a blower set. Replacement batteries are expensive.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>