728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop LED Light Bulbs or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

The EcoSmart A19 8-Watt (40 Watt) LED Light Bulb can replace a standard 40-Watt bulb. The LED bulb puts out 430 lumens with 8.6 Watts of power and can last up to 46 years for extended use, saving you up to $176 per bulb over the course of the bulb's life. The bulb is designed for indoor use and features an A-line shape and medium base.
Overall rating:
3.945 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(165 reviews) 163
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Rating Breakdown 165 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(84)
4
(32)
3
(22)
2
(10)
1
(17)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product125 of 156reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Review 41 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

good light, low heat

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I wanted to replace two 60W incandescent bulbs in my smallish (by Texas standards) extra bathroom, because it was apparent that the room would heat-up appreciably whenever I turned on the lights. So, I consider these bulbs winners as far as adding little heat to the room. Now I can have the lights on without the room becoming a sauna. Pro: light output is adequate. Con: cost.
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Haines, OR

Good quality light

PostedJune 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered two of these bulbs for my boys bed reading lights. While they are not Made in USA, I'm still satisfied with the bulb's light and overall quality.
These are MUCH safer than an incandescent light for reading.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Western Mass

this had a great price

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The bulb provides excellent lighting for fixtures facing down, but when used in a fixture that face up with a frosted glass shade the tapered neck portion of the bulb has no light and makes a black area on the shade. The area of the bulb with no light also shows up in other types of lamps with various shades. The price that I payed for this LED blub can't be beat. You have to try the bulb in various type of fixture to to see what looks right.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great - just what my desk lamp needed

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the dimmable LED bulb because I'm tired of changing light bulbs. This LED bulb puts out the right amount of light, stays cool, and won't need replacing for a long long time. The fact that it reduces my power bill is a bonus.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great buy

PostedMarch 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I give it four stars instead of five because it could be a wee bit brighter, but it's pretty hard to find a better value. I really like the tone of the light you get from these + you can't complain about how little electricity they use. In my opinion, it represents a genuine option for replacing a 40W incandescent or a 13W CFL.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

LED bulbs are almost there!

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
With these "house brand" bulbs, LED home lighting technology finally hit the price point where I felt comfortable buying a few. I run them in my living room lamps which I leave on frequently. I've been running them for a few months with no failures or problems. They work well with my z-wave dimmers. The light color is a bit cool, but is quite acceptable. The lights are fairly directional but they work well in a lamp with a shade that provides good light diffusion. If you've been waiting for LED bulbs to drop in price, it might finally be time for you to pick up a couple of these and replace your most frequently used lights.
Pros: Nice light tone, very efficient, works well with dimmers.
Cons: Still relatively low output for the price, I'd like to see these for about 1/2 the current price before I start replacing all my bulbs. Still fairly directional light output.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Kentucky, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

LED's have come of age!

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is rated as a 40w replacement, but I find it more comparable to a 60W it works well in an overhead fixture facing down, has a rather focused light. It might not work as well in a lamp or situation requiring more diffused light
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really great price for an LED

PostedFebruary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is great for its price. And the color is so bright for an LED bulb.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Brookhaven, MS
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This model - Excellent light and excellent price ($9.95)

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light color is perfect. Light brightness appears to be nicely omni-directional, You really have to look at it carefully to see it is not a regular filament light bulb when it is installed.
Bought my first one a year ago and have purchased several since then. Comparable bulbs are twice to three times this price. Have them installed in a desk lamp, track lights, ceiling fixtures and a bedside lamp.
Very happy with this LED lamp and I own at least 6 other brands and sizes of LED lamp until I settled on this one.
Pros: Easy Replacement, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Great Dimming
Cons: heavier than an a conventional light bulb.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Dayton Ohio

ECOSmart A19

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great product except for RFI with a clock radio. Light output is good, perfectly dimmable.
I would give 5 stars for this product if not for the RFI ; radio is very static-y now that this bulb is in the room.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the most efficient LED bulb but it works & can be dimmed

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bulbs are spec'ed to output 429 lumens which is a little below the 450 lumens (minimum) for a 40 watt incandescent bulb, It is spec'ed to draw 8.6 watts while some more expensive LED bulbs draw only 7 watts and put out 450 lumens, or even a little more. Other than that, these bulbs are first class.
They are dimmable but many buyers are not aware that most in-wall dimmer/switches require a minimum wattage load to work and these very low wattage LED bulbs are too low for use with these dimmers unless the same dimmer controls multiple bulbs/light fixures. Depending on the specific dimmer used and if all of the bulbs on the circuit are these LED bulbs, then you will probably need 5 or more of these LED bulbs to create a high enough load for the dimmer to work. There are some relatively new models of in-wall dimmers specifically designed to work with low wattage loads.
Also many in-wall timer/switches require a minimum load (e.g., 40 watts) in order to work, but some such timers can be found that are specfically designed to have no minimum load requirement.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Phoenix Arizona

Very good Dimmable and good color output

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My TV room has 6 recessed lights and I purchased 6 of these and one Phillips to compare. The price of the EcoSmart at $9 is better than $18-22 Phillips and performed just as well. You must use a incandescent type dimmer switch not the traditional ones in order for the dimming to work properly. These bulbs come with a 5 year warranty too.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Indiana, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Burn out on first use!!!

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Bought two of these and will have to say I was surprised to have one of the bulbs burn out within a minute of being turned on. This is why I gave a so-so rating.
The other one is still working and I will be returning to my local store to return the dead one.
Sad though, because it really puts out great lighting. Much better than the CFL that it replaced. Hope the replacement lasts.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)

Color good. Light pattern limited. Heavy.

PostedSeptember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just installed one of these. The color is good, not as deep as an incandescent but not daylight. I'd actually prefer a little more red, since too much blue in home light can keep you from getting sleepy in the evening, but it's not bad.
It's heavy. It feels about four times as heavy as an incandescent.
And the light pattern is too limited if you mean to install it in a lamp where it will be base down. Too little light is thrown low to the sides. I understand why it is, but the manufacturers need to work on this. I could buy a few more if it weren't for that.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Houston
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Causes radio interference

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used in a garage door opener but the electrical interference caused by the bulb prevented the door from operating. Product claims to be in compliance with Part 15 of FCC rules but, if true, should not have a problem in a garage door. Cell phone and wi fi interference also possible.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New lighting capability beyond just bulb replacement

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used a number of these to replace incandescent lights, with varying success because the two are not equivalent.
The real value to me came when I needed lighting for a medicine cabinet I'd just completed. I was able to use a line of four of these set into an oak strip matching the cabinets. ALL the light comes out the front! The back is open for cooling, but unlighted. The bulb is cool and able to operate safely in contact with the wood. I've never seen lighting before that so definitely didn't have stray light wasted where it wasn't wanted.
A whole new era in lighting design is enabled and it fits my needs much better than anything with chrome light strips (incandescent or LED) or fluorescent (either CFL or tube) that is available on the market.
And it is dimmable which would have been required anyway for incandescent. That works well because it has more than ample brightness.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Radio interference on my garage door opener

PostedMay 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just a heads up. I try to use CFL and LED where I can. I was burning out the CFL in my Chamberlain garage door opener most likely due to cold temps and the constant on/off of the motion sensor. Last week I bought two Ecosmart ECS 19s' and installed them. I liked that they used 14 Watts each and were instantly bright unlike the CFL.
Shortly after this, my wife started complaining that she couldn't get the garage door to close and that the remote key pad didn't work well either. The hard wire control by the door to the house never had a problem. I looked at replacing the batteries in the door remotes and replaced the battery in the keypad remote. Every thing worked. (The lights in the garage were out, so there was no interference.) Later I walked through the garage, the motion sensor turned on the lights and neither the keypad or door remote would work. I realized the only thing that had changed recently was the lightbulbs. I got out my ladder, pulled out the bulbs and everything works like it should.
I don't know if this is common among LED bulbs or just this brand, but there are alot of wireless items out there. How many people would think that a lightbulb would make there remote, garage door opener or any other remote controlled item fail. I plan on using the bulbs in the house but I question what effect they may have on computer wireless, cordless phone, tv remote etc...
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Redford, MI

Perfect, good and not so good

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I rated this bulb in three categories of usage. In the perfect category the gooseneck desk lamp seems to be the best usage, because of its downward mounting and shade design. Next in line is in the garage door opener. My opener uses two bulbs, mounted at a 45 degree angle, with a white frosted cover, very good light output for a total of 18 Watts. Then we have the basement. With an unfinished ceiling, the standard E27 socket, mounted to an electrical box spaced at 80 inches apart from each other sets up the perfect environment for this bulb.
In the good category, the side entry of my home has a hanging lamp that also illuminates the stairs going to the basement. This seems to be quite adequate for that application. In the kitchen I have two hanging lamps, one over the sink the other over the table. The one over the table, I used a splitter that changes the mounting angle to 45 degrees, with two bulbs mounted at 45 degrees, this greatly increases the dispersion angle and overall evenness. Kitchen total 27 Watts. In the bedrooms, the ceiling fixtures use two bulbs mounted horizontally with a white frosted glass cover. This arrangement seems to work well. The added benefit in a changing area is that the 3000 degree Kelvin color temperature allows you to differentiate colors better. Browns, greens and grays can look very different under 2700 degree incandescent lighting compared to daylight. In the hall, one bulb facing downward in a globe fixture works well. In the bathroom above the sink I have a two bulb fixture, downward facing, with white frosted glass shades. When I replaced these bulbs, the lighting was so bright and harsh I had to install a dimmer. I used the Lutron TG-600PR-WH. This solved the problem but as a side note, the recommended minimum load is 40 Watts for this dimmer. With a load of only 18 watts, the bulbs don’t dim down all the way, on the lowest setting. Not a problem, because the dimmer has a switch for off/on and a slider to preset the dimmer. Also a very low buzzing sound can be detected, even when full on, with this dimmer, in this configuration.
In the not so good category, any table lamp with the socket facing upwards will only illuminate the top 180 degrees. In this application this bulb is completely inadequate. And then you have the three-way lamp, in my opinion the three-way 150 Watt incandescent version seems to be the only choice.
Over-all this is a good bulb when used in the proper configuration. I am currently using 16 of these bulbs and have replaced about 800 Watts of incandescent lighting, with 137.6 Watts of LED lighting.
Hopefully the LED bulb, in the next few years will evolve into a, 360 degree dispersion, 2700 Kelvin color temperature, three-way, 150 watt equivalent bulb.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Won't work in garage door opener

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I purchased the bulb I'd asked the home depot staff if it could handle the temperature extremes and vibrations of being installed in a garage door opener motor assembly. I Was told that wouldn't be a problem. I should have asked if it would cause any other problems. After installing the bulb my garage door transmitter seemed to become intermittent and when ever the light was on the door wouldn't open or close. LED bulbs may be great, but not for this application. Not yet anyway.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 8 Watt (40W) GP19 (3000K) Bright White LED Light Bulb (1-Pack)
from Vienna, VA

Good color, lights downward

PostedJuly 20, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This light is just okay. It has good color, but illuminates downward. I got these for use in a downward installed vanity
fixture, and it illuminated the counter top fine, but not the overall room. The other 40W EcoSmart LED bulbs are better, but are too bright (5000K).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>